Oasis Knebworth 1996 (2021) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
30 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Mega
garethcrook9 December 2021
I wasn't at Knebworth in '96. I didn't have the money back then. I've more than made up for it since, but still haven't bothered to stump up for Liam Gallagher tickets on the same hallowed ground next year. My point is, do you need to be a fan to enjoy this? No, absolutely not. I mean it helps if you like the music, but there's plenty to get your teeth into. It's as much about the mid-90s and the staging of an audacious event as anything else. A time of ceefax, bucket hats and Tony Blair as a genuine political hero. It's easy to forget just what a huge cultural phenomenon Oasis were. Not musical, cultural! They were bigger than the Beatles... briefly. A cheek considering how much they ripped them off. It's a little strange to talk of Oasis as a past entity. Both Liam & Noel still very much part of the present day UK scene, but the release of this film does feel to underline the passing of Oasis and the steadfast resolve for them not to return. I for one am happy about this. Never go back, it's never as good. Watching a film about the past though, that can be quite enjoyable. Made up of archive (there's a bit of recreation) and narration from the fan perspective. It feels honest and exciting. There's obviously plenty from the band too (well Noel and Bonehead anyway... and about 5 seconds from Liam), talking about the enormity of what's happening and of course loads from the performances themselves. For this you do need to be a fan, although the footage does look lovely and will entertain any cinephile. Plus it helps that this is Oasis at their peak. They sound great and the edit is lovely and especially frenetic on songs like Walrus. It's the stories from the fans that make this tick though. Travelling from around the country in clapped out cars, getting excited as the sun goes down, drinking flat warm lager, for half an hour it's brilliant, a truly great documentary. That's not to say that the performance isn't great, the footage great, Liam's classic sneering and silly white clobber. It's a spectacle, but it halts the stories as the music takes over and becomes a bit more typical. Thankfully the sound-bite narration does pepper the set and the songs aren't played out in full. It's not a concert film, but does enough to scratch that itch if that's what you're after. Despite the tickets being like rocking horse shit, there's no sense of exclusivity. It's a peace and love vibe. There for anyone who loved the music. A tribal mass. If Oasis heaven forbid did reform, you'd be looking at a ton a ticket. Back in '96 though you got The Charlatans, Manic Street Preachers, Chemical Brothers, The Prodigy (and some others)... AND Oasis! For £22.50. This is a celebration of music, not a band. What music can do, how it can bring people together, make them feel something, feel part of something. Give them a perspective beyond their own experience. 125,000 (x2) people sharing a moment. Not a phone in sight. "You we're there because you wanted to sing those words, not because you wanted to post it on Twitter". I'm guessing that anyone at Knebworth that weekend will adore this film, but even if you weren't or don't even like Oasis, it's not a barrier.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bilblical
Donatien320 November 2021
Arguably one of the most iconic gigs from one of the biggest 90s bands ever, this documentary (and accompanying soundtrack - available as as old-school album or on Spotify) chronicles Oasis' two incredible nights at Knebworth Park in August 1996, playing to 250,000 fans.

Appropriately, this documentary focuses on the fans, with numerous accounts of getting tickets (back when you had to either physically wait in line or call a ticket hotline), travelling to Knebworth Park, and the gig itself, or fans at home taping the Sunday night gig from the radio (which required incredible skill and timing).

There's also interviews with Noel, Liam and Bonehead to top it off.

This is Oasis at the peak of their powers (especially Liam's vocals), before the infighting between the brothers took up all the headlines as the hype of 'Oasismania' began to fade away.

Crucially, there's no cutaways to talking heads in a lone room here: all of the footage is in the here and now of 1996. It makes the concert even more magical as you're transported to a time with no smart phones, no social media, and no texting - this allows everyone (including the band) to soak in the moment and the history.

If you're after a more comprehensive account of Oasis' history, check out the 2016 documentary "Supersonic": this one is for the fans, and about being in the moment for two of the biggest nights in rock and roll history.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An absolute treat for oasis fans. Wonderful gig footage live and backstage, interspersed with wonderful fan stories. Also technically a really well put together documentary
mickman91-129 November 2021
I am 30 years old so I didn't go to knebworth. I was too young to be fully aware of the scale of oasis' impact in 1996, but anyone living in Britain at that time regardless of their age knew the oasis hits. I first investigated oasis myself by renting the Heathen chemistry cd from the local library as a school boy. So I am definitely a fan, but I have become much more so in the last 10 years, and also have been really inspired by both brothers evolutions in the last 5 years, particularly liams. So I can't say whether this doc fully captured and did justice to the experience and energy of knebworth 1996, but as an oasis fan (but not a fanboy) I can say that this was a really good documentary which made me nostalgic for an era in Britain I can remember if only as a young observer. A time when there was far less choice and fewer ways of doing things so more people had similar interests and experiences they could share. A time when music was a major part of people's identities. A time before the internet and social media so experiences were cherished more in the present for their own sake rather than captured for later viewing or for more insidious motivations like gaining views or clout (as cliche as it sounds it is still so tragically true). And most importantly, a time when Rock and roll music and attitude ruled for the youth in Britain, rather than vain pop music and the people pleasing attitude as it does for the youth of today.

The production is really well put together, it is excellently paced and features the best bits of all of the songs, interspersed with really lovely stories from fans about what they had to do to get tickets and the sacrifices they made to get there and shenanigans and fun they got up to when there etc. The pacing is excellent, it keeps chugging a long almost like watching a gig, it doesn't wander off into boring discussions about the bands history or press etc. And there is loads of backstage footage of the band never see before that puts you right there with them. It's mad to think that someone has been sitting on this footage for 25 years.

As for the music, we'll it is oasis live at their very best. Liam sounds (and looks) fantastic and it is great to hear noel on voiceover acknowledge this too. All in all it is an absolute treat for oasis fans. Not sure it would be worth much to non fans (unlike eg the new sparks documentary which is really educational and informative even for those who know nothing about them). But for fans it is a must see. But if you are a fan I doubt you are reading reviews you will just watch it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great snapshot into the 90's music scene
malcolmjohnston5 October 2021
Watching this remembering being in the crowd filled me with sort of joy and sorrow of how good Oasis were in the beginning and how much the 2 men childs leading the band messed it all up Great documentary on a fantastic time to have been alive , going to gigs with Cool Britannia in full swing

I just wished Liam and Noel called it quits after Knebworth '96 as it was all down hill ever since.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Once in a lifetime
surfingnaked125 November 2021
This concert could not happen today. This was a once in a lifetime concert . Everything was completely pure and innocent. Even the brothers got along back then.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This is HISTORY!
dtnmusic2 October 2021
An incredible moment in time becomes even more incredible in hindsight. No phones, no cameras, no internet.... just the good old days. A huge band captured at their greatest height as they deliver a rock solid performance just before the money, fame, and drugs took one last gargantuan bite and never returned Oasis the same. Excellent cinematography and sound accompany the festivities, but I do believe the true star of this is the crowd. All 125,000 per night, singing, dancing, bouncing to every note. Such a beautiful thing to watch for anyone with a heartbeat!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Captures the spirit
ro-kunz11 December 2021
Not an Oasis fan per se but you can't deny Noel's songwriting skills so I watched it. Goosebumps! Captures the spirit of the time very precisely. Good to see so many hands up instead of mobile phones. Nice one!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Era defining is right.
garyprosser123 September 2021
This is what people who don't like Oasis will never understand. Sure, there are technically better bands and there are more competent lyricists, stronger vocalists, better singers and more proficient musicians but what that band MEANT to people, well, that can't be bought or taught.

Oasis were a band of the people, for the people. For two nights to still resonate so strongly 25 years later that a film is made about them says it all. It wasn't about gimmicks, pyrotechnic light shows, 360 degree revolving stages, pyramids, dancers and 40 costume changes. It was about 250,000 people forgetting their troubles, forgetting themselves and singing along to every word as five lads from a council estate lived the dreams of every single member of the audience and millions more around the world.

My fear is that such a musical moment may never happen again. The world has changed; the optimism of the 90's has given way to fear, mistrust and falsehoods. Films like this are a welcome reminder that society used to be so much more cohesive and maybe, just maybe, we can get back there.
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Left me teary eyed
fortheboys-6595523 September 2021
Not being a big oasis fan before I saw this, the film really shows you how much the band meant and still means to people. I left the theatre believing that oasis truly were the real deal.
23 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A true blast from the past!
tanya-duffy24 September 2021
To start I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS WAS 25 YEARS AGO!!

My husband and and I were/are true Oasis fans and have continued to follow the brothers separate journeys since the spilt.

We were lucky enough to see Oasis 3 times (Earls Court, Finsbury Park & Hammersmith Apollo) and missed them twice in Paris due to brotherly bust ups causing cancellations but never managed to get tickets for Knebworth, so it was great to hear tales from fans who had actually made it!

This is an amazing time capsule piece as it really reflects on how much things have changed. This gig was Pre social media, mobile phones and internet, as we know today, it reminded us of the buzz just trying to get the tickets in the first place.

Had a little tear as they talked about the Prodigy supporting, it was a nice touch with some great shots of the amazing Keith Flint RIP.

It's brilliant that Liam & Noel were actively involved in the project, although I suspect they were never in the same room at the same time! LOL

Only downside 'Some Might Say' it was a little pricey to see it in the cinema... a hefty £15.95 each with no discount if you are a monthly paying customer, that's amost as much as the original gig of £22:50!

Oh how times have changed 'D'you Know What I Mean?' So just 'Roll With It' pay 'Whatever' and 'I Hope, I Think, I Know' you'll enjoy it!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
self indulgent
danielowen-3663710 November 2021
Just saw this movie, I cringed at some of the filler, namely the fan input, the footage of the band on stage was great, Liam was amazing they were at their peak, where they got these fans from I dunno, I went to the the gig with friends and can safely say no-one would be reliving the gig like it was yesterday, creating a legacy it was the best gig ever... self indulgent narrative.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's up to us to make...
vinchenzo1923 September 2021
The best of all the things that come our way.

Heartfelt and honest as they always were. A wonderful document of a momentous occasion. I've lived in Stevenage since I was two and Knebworth has always been a part of my life and it was cemented in 1996 with Oasis. A very special place.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sunsheeeeiiiinnnneeee....
ozkev23 September 2021
Probably a bit biased as a lifelong fan, but had to say my piece.

Just finished watching the first showing of O-LAK and it was epic. Supersonic gave us the story of the band and Knebworth puts us right in the mix.

This is Oasis at their peak, the very top of their game. You can feel the atmosphere and energy... '96 was an epic year in the UK and this film captures it well.

I tried to get tickets but wasn't one of the chosen ones, so this has to do.... and do it does!

Its loud, proud and raw. And its good.

Do yourself a favour... go see this on the big screen.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful, heartfelt film
alikssepia23 September 2021
Jake Scott and Struan Clay, if you're reading this, THANK you for this beautifully conceived and made film. So much respect towards the fans and the film audience who can relive or just feel the atmosphere thanks to your hard work.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
ITS BIBLICAL!
jlwhit2424 September 2021
I sat, along with thirty other people, in theaters last night singing and enjoying the amazing tunes of Oasis' Knebworth 1996 performance. How is that this music/concert event still resonates after 25 years? Answer, it's biblical!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
96 all over again
timashworth20 November 2021
At first I wasn't sure about much of the documentary being narrated by people who were at the gig (and even less so some of the recreations of buying tickets etc) but, in the end, this just blew me away. The mix of comments by the fans and the band, coupled with some amazing footage (so good in HD) just took me right back there. I was there on the Saturday and it was the first time of six that I'd see Oasis.

This documentary feels like it was put out more by Noel than Liam (the latter barely makes any comment at all) but, ironically, the film places almost like a love letter to Liam Gallagher. His iconic poses and incredible singing are captured brilliantly throughout.

I can't believe they sat on this footage for 25 years.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Take me back !!!
neilhogg-3970123 September 2021
I was 16 in 1996 and obsessed with oasis , I didn't go to Knebworth but I lived through it I know about the hype , the sheer size of it ,the difficulty in getting tickets . I saw oasis 11 times and know about the euphoria the buzz the magic of being down the front so I was well prepared for this film .. or so I thought . I was almost in tears seeing them again at the peak of their powers and listing to the fans stories just took me back to that time . This is how concerts should be fans and band as one in the moment . Well documented, brilliantly edited a fantastic snapshot of a fantastic time

Go see it.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Incredible takes you back!
smbbrum22 November 2021
Glad I seen them live a few times. Liam Noel and oasis all I listen too daily. This is an unbelievable watch, only watched it today, stunning now blasting all albums in order. Don't go awayyyyyyy currently blastin!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Live Forever
utravisoasis24 September 2021
Saw this at a movie theater in Dayton, Ohio and it was fantastic!!! I remember having these shows on bootleg CD's in the late 90's but actually seeing the concerts and unseen footage was unreal. Oasis has meant a lot to me since 1994 and this movie just blew me away. Liam and Noel what can you say, there are no others like them. They were hilarious during both nights and Liam, what a voice. Who could've better sung Noel's perfectly penned lyrics?

Fantastic set and the commentary from the fans that actually went to the shows was a special touch. This movie made me realize how great concerts really were before cell phones wherein you lived in the minute and enjoyed every moment of the show. This movie brought me back to 1996 when I was 21.

So glad to see how much Oasis means to millions of other people just like me. Mad fer it!!!!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Time Flies...
simonjg7824 September 2021
A fantastic snap shot of a time of great music, football and being part of something that still feels special to this day. The connection between oasis and fans is clear to see, in a thoughtful film that delivers on multiple levels. Good times came flooding back and hearing Liam at his peak cannot be beat. Thank you.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Oasis rock and roll stars
daniel_whitt16 December 2021
Unfortunately missed massive opportunities to see oasis in the 90s but bloody loved them Liam Gallagher is amazing he makes oasis love the concert probably one of the best Iv seen highly recommended.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Mesmerizing
godlike-9906723 September 2021
The last great gathering of the pre-internet age. Just a band and its fans, one on one. What a movie. It takes you back in memory lane to a probably lost era where music was the center of it all.

As an Oasis fan who was too young when these concerts took place and could not attend them, I feel like we relived the moment. The music, the vibe, the culture, the atmosphere it is all there, truly epic film for both Oasis fans and music lovers. A milestone to remember and one to be proud of, you will walk out of this movie and bombast the good Oasis tunes all the way back home. Live forever!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow.
garrettgeeslin24 September 2021
Absolutely incredible. I've never gone to a movie by myself but this was an exception. The editing was so on point and it captured just how huge this concert was, I was blown away. I cannot wait until it's released so I can force all of my friends to watch it. One of the greatest bands to ever do it. Live forever!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The closest thing to seeing oasis live
danieladgzf25 September 2021
As a too young Oasis fan, I never got a chance to see them live. Jake Scott and Struan Clay did a great job. If you were at the gig or were a fan of Oasis at the time, the movie will bring back that youth and those memories. But if you're like me, well it's the closest you have. I really enjoy the photography, the style, also the recreations with the off voices of the fans are really nice like the girls who got tickets on the day of the gig in 10 minutes, or the girl with her brother. That gig changed the people who were there and made them reborn; You can see the fans and the band and know much more about Knebworth. If you get a chance, watch it in the cinema to really feel the energy, when I was in my seat I wanted to go mad, scream and cry. I did not want it to end, I hope that in another life I was there. Oasis Knebworth 1996 is more than you can expect, it makes you feel like you were there, that you are going to live forever, it makes you feel SUPERSONIC.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Someone talks all over the show
jimirvaughan25 November 2021
Terrible idea to present this. Begins with 20 minutes of listening to how people had to wait on a phone, then wait on a bus, then wait in a field, waiting for the loos.

Like a bit of waiting nostalgia will make us feel good. Definitely want to hear some total strangers from 25 years ago talking about how they were waiting for stuff because things weren't so fast in the 90s.

Then you finally get to the performance after listening to all these random peeps and you're thinking, thank god they'll shut up and I can enjoy the show now.

Then they keep talking over it, or they cut the intro and outro so that some other random can give a bit more babble.

Imagine you've got someone sitting with you to watch, and they won't shut up during the whole movie, that's the experience the editors/director decided to go for in this.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed