Torn Hearts (2022) Poster

(2022)

User Reviews

Review this title
30 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Katey Sagal makes "Torn Hearts" watchable...
paul_haakonsen20 May 2022
Stumbling upon the 2022 movie "Torn Hearts" and seeing it starred Katey Sagal, I opted to sit down and watch what writer Rachel Koller Croft and director Brea Grant had to offer with this particular movie.

Granted, I must admit that the movie's synopsis didn't really had me convinced, but I do believe in giving a movie a fair chance, hence I sat down to watch "Torn Hearts".

Well, the movie was watchable, but that was just about it. This wasn't a particularly outstanding or memorable movie experience. However, while Rachel Koller Croft did something I have never seen before, and that being setting a horror movie against a country music scene backdrop, then the storyline was ultimately just a bit too generic and monotonous.

"Torn Hearts" is a bit slow paced, which caused the narrative to suffer.

It was definitely really nice to see Katey Sagal in the movie, and she performed quite well. She was actually rather convincible in the role of Harper Dutch. And truth be told, "Torn Hearts" is actually worth sitting down to watch because of her performance here. It should also be said that both Alexxis Lemire (playing Leigh) and Abby Quinn (playing Jordan) put on good performances.

This movie is watchable once, but the storyline and script just doesn't have the contents to support more than a single viewing.

My rating of "Torn Hearts" lands on a five out of ten stars.
19 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Okay
Tweetienator22 May 2022
Like another reviewer already stated, to watch Katey Sagal (fine performance) is the true star of Torn Hearts. Production and the rest of the cast are solid for a movie made on a not too big budget. Torn Hearts is one of those movies you watch once and then forget. The story simply does not offer anything new and on the scale of the horror-o-meter this is a rather weak entry: what you get is a psycho-thriller with a very few scenes what the mainstream may call horror. Not bad, but not really good either. Exact rate: 4 + 1 for Katey Sagal's performance only.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It's a 5 but Katey Sagal made it a 7
Sluggish beginning, but later redeems itself slowly and kept me interested. It was good and just the right amount. It could have gone a bit deeper on the creepy factor (there were several opportunities).

I enjoyed it. I enjoyed it much more when Katey Sagal's character appeared. The other actors played their roles authentically and true to character.

I felt the movie held up all the way until then end. I felt it was actually closer to being a true IRL thriller/horror. I think we are more accustomed to a different style - and there is something truly original and unique about this film, although, I can't quite place it.

I feel that it could have taken a next level darker, creepy, weird vs. TV safe. I feel there is definitely more to come from the creators and we will watch in awe as they further continue to excel at their craft. Well Done!
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Out of tune
tomrothmansony21 May 2022
Had a lot of potential to hit an indie flash cult classic status based on the synopsis, but hit a MASSIVE flat note.

Katey is believable, and by far the best thing about this film- but she even delivers a restrained performance in a crisp white cami. Why wasn't the direction pushing her past first base with such a whacked out character to play?!

The women playing the two performers are unfortunately forgettable, and seem to also suffer from the strange editing choices and bizarre camera set ups (and lack there of).

Pacing problems, thin character development and overall-repetitive. Missing the sizzle you'd expect from a Dolly Parton, Baby Jane, Grey Gardens mixed tape.
21 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fun but flawed
This was fun but as another reviewer remarked, mostly just watchable thanks to Katey Sagal. I think it needed to really let loose and have more fun with itself. There was a level of crazy that Katey Sagal seemed ready to unleash, but that the script and story hampered. There were a few pacing decisions I also thought were jarring, particularly in the last few minutes.

Which is not to say there wasn't plenty of pink and a warehouse of wigs hanging around.

All in all, a decent afternoon but not a classic.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Country Music Horror Film
stevesinger-200123 May 2022
"Torn Hearts" is a "country music horror film," and I believe it may be one of the first of its kind. The film deals with Jordan and Leigh, the titular "Torn Hearts" country duo (played by Abby Quinn and Alexxis Lemire, respectively). The film begins with them performing at a club where their manager Richie -- who is much older and also Leigh's boyfriend -- has brought them to meet country star Caleb, who is looking for an opening act. He and Jordan hook up, after which he tells her that they won't be the opening act because his record label wants an "all male" tour. Jordan is understandably bummed, but finds something more valuable -- that Caleb knows Harper Dutch (Katey Sagal), one of the legendary "Dutchess Sisters." She gets her address and suggests to Leigh that they go visit her and try to talk her into performing with them. Well, Leigh is the world's biggest Dutchess Sisters fan, and she can't possibly pass on the chance to meet her hero. So they travel off to Harper's house where they manage to convince Harper to let them in. After a little bit, Harper seems to be open to helping them, but things do not quite go the way they had anticipated...

"Torn Hearts" is a bit of a mixed bag, but mostly positive. The acting is really good, all three of our main leads are totally convincing. There's real, original country music which is a nice touch. In addition, there several really suspenseful scenes that are pretty unnerving. The main issue is some of the plot. Some things don't make sense -- for example, after Caleb tells Jordan flat out that his record company is not hiring a female act, she just doesn't tell anybody and instead let's people get mad at her. Harper's actions don't seem totally consistent throughout, and when the final "explanation" comes it's sort of underwhelming and not really logical. And man, the screenwriter clearly has some issues with the country music industry with special vitriol reserved for attractive women in country music!

But overall, a pretty solid film that's worth checking out.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Something different
mjsreg29 May 2022
Perhaps other reviewers were expecting some teeny slasher movie, because I don't know why it has been rated so low.

The story is different and solidly written with well rounded characters brilliantly performed by all the cast.

The best thing to do is watch it and make your own mind up.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A fun, great movie.
xpittenx21 May 2022
Katey Segal is amazing. The story wasn't hard to follow, but it was satisfying to see to the end. The tension was thick! We knew some atrocity was about to happen, but not what, or how badly. Thanks for complex female leads and douchy supporting male characters.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Whatever Happened To Misery Psycho
TheFearmakers20 October 2022
Imagine if, when James Caan woke up from his coma in MISERY, Kathy Bates was staring at him with seething venomous rage, and HE NOTICED ALL OF IT happening at first glance...

Now imagine if, when Janet Leigh met Tony Perkins as Norman Bates in Psycho... before he even gives her her room key, he's staring at her with confused-lustful insane delight...

Well Caan and Leigh would both instantly know what the audience already knows coming in, and that's not supposed to happen because the audience should always be one-up on the character in a horror movie that has to first provide a slow-burn, subtle climb until the victims reach the nightmare...

The problem with Katy Sagal's performance is there's no nuance... Plotwise she's basically playing Wynonna Judd from The Judds but her sister instead of mother was the pretty superstar, and now she's all alone...

And our two young heroines deliberately mirror that aspect: one is really pretty, the other's rather homely but tomboy-cool, and actually writes the tunes, and they want to become a duet like what Sagal and her sister were decades ago (when The Judds reigned) and...

Basically there's a whole bunch of expository dialogue; meanwhile, an ominous soundtrack not only orchestrates the intended spooky parts but spoils them as well...

So it's really the director's fault here... Obviously influenced by said Psycho and Misery but especially Whatever Happened to Baby Jane, he or she forgot that the best thrillers take their time... and without dragging, like this does, but instead, to reach the right moments that matter: And TORN HEARTS is a lot of.... well... unmattered moments.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
no torn attention for a movie that reuires none
fabiovicentini21 May 2022
Ridiculously superfluous. Endless minutes where no one comes in with something interesting to fill up the unoriginal dynamic that the whole film is set around, in the inconceivable idea that someone might have thought that there was something worth watching.
8 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
+2 for Katey Sagal
rayje25 October 2022
So just to be up front, I've never seen Sons of Anarchy, so this is the first time seeing Katey Sagal outside of comedy. GD did she deliver. The movie was decent. Well shot. Well acted. Fairly predictable, but entertaining. It is what it says on the tin.

What elevates it is the acting, and I know my title gives all the credit to Katey, but that's just because I don't really know they other actors enough to know how much of the heavy lifting they did. Everyone was believable in their parts. There was no giant leap in logic where you can't understand why a character did what they did or they acted stupid just so the plot could advance (which I suppose is also a credit to the writers).

Over all one of the better offerings for Halloween I've seen this year.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
No....just no
Otte123 October 2022
Positives: I like Kaey Sagel. I have been a fan of hers since Peggy Bundy days and even have two of her music CDs(yes she is a certified singer). She plays her part well, chewing up the scenery and making the other actresses almost invisible.

Cons: Direction, pacing, writing, story and atmosphere. The story was never really understood until the very very end, by then it was too late. So you are watching some awkward conversations with an up-an-coming musical group and a has been. The tension was completely manufactured when it did not have to be. There was too many situations where even dumb people would have said 'this is enough' and left. But here the writing is too stupid to give a compelling story so it throws anything out there and hope you don't notice..(but you will). This is definitely one of those times you want to throw something at the TV.

Also....this really is not a horror.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
With My Name On Your Lips
wandernn1-81-68327423 October 2022
So a country music movie involving women, written by women, directed by women. Basically the plot boils down to Greed. Everyone is greedy. Which basically sums up the music business no matter what style.

Sagal is great as she usually is if she has the material to work with. The other two actresses were fine also. IT's a simple story, predictable, somewhat fun and also somewhat boring. Which really makes it pretty average.

Can only give it 5/10.

And IMDB has now made it so a review has to have 600 characters before it can be entered. I really don't expect that to last very long because people are sure to complain about it. But until that happens I guess we have to expect reviews to be long winded and sometimes about absolutely nothing to do with the show in question.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not great, but watchable
Sergiodave3 August 2022
An average Blumhouse production is better than most horrors, but this one was barely watchable, the acting was okay, but the plot was poor. Maybe I would have enjoyed it more if I was into Country music. A well made movie with a lousy plot.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not horror
pomeu-638504 October 2022
I guess today's definition of horror is very broad and people going into this movie expecting a classic horror film might be disappointed.

It's a small movie, limited budget, but it is right tight. Good dialogue, great directing, interesting story. I was never bored.

It's not Halloween, but what it is is a breath of fresh air in the current stale state of both adult thrillers and horror movies. Leave your expectations at the door and try to enjoy this closed-room Psycho meets Nashville story.

I have seen enough Marvel movies to last me a lifetime. Gimme more of these small, original, women driven stories, please.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Decently acted "Crazy for Fame" movie
jmbovan-47-1601731 November 2022
Two young female country singers try to catch fame and stardom, but they face "the harsh realities" of fame and male dominance in the industry. They seek to record a song with the remaining half of a sister duo star country team. Things don't go easily or as planned. Solid acting of the over the top crazy "I'm insane" trying to get fame, power, wealth, etc. Nothing spectacular in new ideas and plotting, but the acting helps keep the movie moving. Small twists don't make for much intrigue, but the play of the characters striving for different things does bring an almost psychotic tension to the movie. This at least does make the movie worth while.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why?
simoncoram-0676615 June 2022
Godawful and extremely boring. Katey Sagel tries, but fails miserably. The rest of the cast don't seem to know what they're doing or why. All in all, I really can't see why they bothered making this film. 🤔
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
This movie is A LOT better than 5/10!
TerribleKatherine18 September 2022
I don't understand, why this movie has such a low score. It's not the best I've ever seen but it's a lot better than any generic horror movie made at the same time.

I love Katey Sagal so much and wanted to see this because of her. She did not disappointed, because yet again, she aced! I loved to watch her sanity slowly crumbling as Harper had to face her own doings. Every cast member did their job well and they were all believable.

The movie was just a bit slow and the plot was what I expected, but overall the movie was paced well and I didn't get bored at all. I was tempted to give an 8 just because the rating is so unfair, but I'm going to stick to what I decided first, which is a 7.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Yeah, a 4 and that's me being Generous! ;(
midnitepantera24 May 2022
I love Katey Sagal and that creepy country mansion, but they wasted her here and the potential for a good gothic/country horror show. Too BAD. The 2 main girls just didn't work right and the script was complete Garbage!! It's a one and done for me folks.
0 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Leela goes all Grey Gardens and Mindy McCready
Otkon22 May 2022
It's a fairly enjoyable if low-budget tale. Probably not to unrealistic plot-wise for the cut-throat world of the country music business and the instability and insecurity of many of its stars.

Good to see that one guy escaped the Blair Witch.
0 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Terrible start, but gets better
katalist42025 June 2022
The first 15 minutes are so bad, almost unwatchable. It looks bad, the acting is meh and its just not a good start to a horror movie at all. With that said, once they get out of the city and into the country areas the movie is alot better.

Katey is the best part of the movie of course, but there are also soem really nice locations they get to after the start of the movie.

Worth a watch, it won't blow you away but its not the worst movie ever either. Just watch past the first 15 minutes.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
This was great
calicut11018 October 2022
I'm inflating the rating a bit, I'd really give it a 6 but I want others to see this movie and the current rating is 5.1 which is very harsh. This movie has a slow building tension and some very moody scenes. I was impressed it didn't feel slow at all and the pace was good. The acting was top notch and very believable performances. There was suspense and some gore so it should be considered a horror but it's not very scary by the typical definition. The ending was satisfying and there are some nice twists and turns all along the way as the story is unfolding. If you want a decent horror/thriller I would recommend this!
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Horror, Country Music and Katey Sagal
Nightmarelogic8 November 2022
Horror, Country Music and Katey Sagal what more can you ask for? Torn Hearts is a fun low budget movie in the likes of "Whatever Happened to Baby Jane" but instead with Country Music and Katey Sagal. It is about the corrupting force of fame even against sisterly bonds but also the possibility of atonement. In a weird way ir is also a meta commentary on the often insensitive way men treat women in show business. This is also a horror movie grounded in reality which I like. You have two young country western duo who make their way to a legendary artist in order to make a tape but things don't go as planed when she tries to turn them against each other. It is a simple concept but it works as a horror story. How far would you go for fame?
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Country music has a fresh hell
lwalt-7505822 May 2022
Katey Sagal is very believable as a country star whose career has faded. Abby Quinn and Alexxis Lemire are fun to watch as the story gets told. Plenty of Nashville humor, whiskey, and bullets fly while these ladies find out who the real Diva is.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fame And Fortune
slapdog325 June 2022
The Price Of Fame And Fortune Could Be a Heavy Price To Play Especially If You Have Stars In Your Eyes, Then It May Be a Deadly Price To Pay as This Movie That Was Bad At All Shows Us...Don't You Just Love "KATEY SAGAL" I Do, It's One Time Watch For Me, May Be More For Some, But It Is Watchable I Wouldn't Care What Other Viewers Say, Or Rate!
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed