Bigfoot Famous (2021) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
Justice for Jericho
nogodnomasters11 December 2021
Warning: Spoilers
Washed up vlogger Coley Nation (Steph Barkley) and her partner Jericho (Sam Milman) go on a quest for Bigfoot in an attempt to go viral. They go into the woods with two guides. The film is about what goes viral after that. It really has nothing to do with Bigfoot.

The film is silly. The humor was at a low level, almost slapstick using ridiculous characters poorly played.

Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A hard swing and a miss...
paul_haakonsen8 November 2021
I stumbled upon the 2021 movie "Bigfoot Famous" by random chance. This was a movie that I hadn't even heard about prior to watching it, so I wasn't sure what I was in for here. But I did assume that it was a comedy, given the movie's cover/poster.

As it turned out then "Bigfoot Famous" from writers Steph Barkley, Chris Kleckner, Sam Milman and Peter Vass wasn't exactly top notch entertainment. Sure, this 2021 movie was watchable, but it was far from an outstanding movie experience, much less a particularly memorable one.

I managed to sit through the entire story, though drifting off once or twice along the way, as the storyline and the narrative was just so horribly bland and mundane. And I can't really say that the storyline had much of any particular appeal to me.

The acting in the movie was adequate, though this was by a cast of all unfamiliar faces. Now, that is usually something I enjoy in movies, but "Bigfoot Famous" just wasn't a great movie, so there was precious little to like here for me, as the movie fell short of providing me with a good time.

Visually then "Bigfoot Famous" was nothing to write home about. There was a particular low budget feel permeating the movie, for better or worse.

My rating of directors Sam Milman and Peter Vass' 2021 movie "Bigfoot Famous" lands on a mere three out of ten stars. I was expecting a comedy, but I didn't laugh once. In fact, the movie didn't even manage to put a smile on my lips.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Influencers against the cryptids
BandSAboutMovies4 November 2021
Warning: Spoilers
When a viral video of Bigfoot emerges, a once-popular influencer goes on a mission to film a video with the creature and get famous again, which really seems like this should be something that really happens.

An improvised film made in eight days and shot on location in the Redwoods and Los Angeles, this movie is all about getting likes and follows, no matter how close to ending your life you have to get.

Made by creative duo Sam Milman and Peter Vass, there's a good chance that the like and submit buttons may not be the only thing that gets smashed. Here's to an entire gaggle of influencers trying to hunt down the Jersey Devil, White Thang, the Fouke Monster, Altamaha-ha, Sharlie, Champy, the Loveland Frogmen, Taku-He and the Beast of Bray Road.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Wackiness overdose!
Go_For_The_Jugular5 November 2021
This film had some potential.

Competent actors, decent cinematography and sound...but the thing that kills it, is that EVERY SINGLE CHARACTER IS A FRUITLOOP!

I mean literally everyone, the main character is crazy, her 'boyfriend' is crazy, the man and wife whose house they visit are crazy, their daughter is crazy, the Bigfoot shop owner is crazy, his sister is crazy, the guide is crazy, the dude at the lake is crazy, it's just too much crazy for one film!

Take Dumb and Dumber, the 2 leads are crazy, but the supporting cast are 'normal', so Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels bounce off them...and are hilarious by comparison. Now imagine a version of Dumb and Dumber, where EVERYONE is crazy like Lloyd and Harry - it's too much, right!

I could only manage 40 minutes of this...it started to make me nauseous. Such a shame, as I wanted to finish...and enjoy this film.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Didn't finish
greggman7 November 2021
I feel like i wanted to like this movie and I feel that it could have worked though I have no idea how to make it work. Some have complained that every person being crazy and no non-crazies to play off of is one reason why it doesn't work but I feel like there has to be some movie out there that made that concept work.

Mostly though it just wasn't funny enough. Without spoiling anything I made it until they got to the river at which point I realized I didn't really care about anything and stopped watching.

I guess one issue is there is no one to care about. I certainly didn't care about Coley who I guess is the main character.

Maybe it magically all comes together later. Honestly I wouldn't have started watching except the rating 7+ when I started. 2 days later it's down to 6.5 and falling.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Just watch it..
jcallender1212 November 2021
This took me completely by surprise, I thought it was another cheap, lashed together pop-tart film but it really isn't. You might try and take a message away with you about the transparent riches, fakery and quest to be loved of todays social media circus but that's just a by-line of this film. The lunacy and brutality contained in such a basic story is fantastic, you really need to be awake because truly laugh out lines and moments are just tossed around without the usual build up to hammer the comedy home, which shows a real confidence very seldom seen. It's not often that I get totally immersed in such a simple film but the absurdity of the characters and lovable madness that unfolds had me grinning like a cat sleeping on a dog.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Watch at least 30min It takes a turn
completenutri12 November 2021
Warning: Spoilers
I almost cut it off. I was online messing around soni let it play. Reminded me of the first time I saw Napoleon Dynamite. Painful to watch. Its not as good of course but its that ridiculous vibe.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
GREAT dark comedy rental
artyflowdo882 November 2021
Rented this flick today on the recommendation of a friend and I really enjoyed it. I really can't stand the whole influencer culture and I thought this flick satirized the space very well. The cast is super strong and it's clear they all come from improv backgrounds as their performances were natural and the character development was well executed. Seeing how this film was an indie, the cinematography was impressive and the Redwood locations in particular looked beautiful. Tonal shift towards the end threw me for a loop, but the ending was perfect. Definitely worth the rental if you like dark comedies.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very entertaining movie!
xddjajp2 November 2021
Great effort on low budget. These actors and actresses are up and coming. Visuals, editing and music good to excellent. I cannot wait to see directors, writers and actors in upcoming projects.

Movie is very fun and keeps your focus.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
FUN AND SILLY JUST WHAT I WANTED
barkleybooking2 November 2021
Sometimes you just need to sit back and watch a funny silly movie and that's exactly what this movie was for me. Chaos and ridiculous humor in the best way. I read they made this at beginning of the pandemic for close to nothing in 8 days???? Pretty impressive. I honestly loved it, I was thoroughly entertained. I wish there were more films like this that didn't take themselves too seriously but that is hard to find now a days. So in conclusion, I loved this movie and I'm glad I bought it. Thank you!!!
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So worth the watch
jaimewidmar3 November 2021
This movie turned out to be very very funny and if scenery has any influence on your enjoyment of what you're watching, this will not disappoint. The characters are unique and well-developed and the setting is beautiful in the Redwoods with some amazing shots. There are some one-liners that had me howling and that's really all I want out of a good comedy, so I highly recommend!
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Comedy Gold
StevenFleesberg3 November 2021
Stop your digging, you've struck comedy gold with this movie. The team behind this movie really outdid themselves this time. From improv comedy to feeling the drama, this movie gives you all the feels and will have you laughing for days. Definitely a movie that will be added to my collection. Highly recommend watching this movie.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great comedy, great characters
vassn-374973 November 2021
How could you not want to watch a comedy about "influencers" looking for Bigfoot to get more views, likes, and subscribes? The cast is incredible and there are a ton of hilarious characters throughout the movie. There are also a ton of little moments that are subtle and would make for a good rewatch, noticing something new each time. The production quality was on point with a great score and cinematography taking advantage of the Redwoods. I highly recommend watching this movie!
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Entertaining for any demographic!
donnaproctor-8191110 November 2021
Looking for something to watch after a hard days work, and I find Bigfoot Famous. Although I was very tired, this entertaining movie kept me interested and I thoroughly enjoyed the storyline. I have never watched a movie about Bigfoot before, but I'm glad to have found this one. Exactly what the doctor ordered, after a hard days work and wanting to just relax in front of a good flick!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
BIGFOOT FAMOUS is a pure unadulterated comedy
blieberman903 November 2021
I know a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend who posted something about this a few months ago and had absolutely no expectations going in. Boy was I more than satisfied.

The guys behind Bad Weather films never disappoint and they certainly didn't here. Great characters, fun story, smart writing, unexpected twists and emotional hooks. The only thing I would've changed is the running time and made it longer.

Do yourselves a favor and buy this today because one view is simply not enough.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A MUST-PURCHASE! BFF speaks to the pitfalls of social media through a stream of quotable humor.
newportsci-2723611 November 2021
Bigfoot Famous is like a melty grilled cheese sandwich oozing intelligent wit, drama, and a timely nod to the dark side of social media. The entire cast delivers perfectly timed improvised humor, easily becoming a citeable movie like Napolean Dynamite. Let's not forget the cinematography, simply stunning shots on the trek to find Bigfoot (or, as Marty would say, "Sasquatch"). Most of all, I found myself fully invested in the storyline rooting for Coley Withers and Marty Meltzer. Great movie, a must-see!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed