Triple Frontier (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
990 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Generally effective
Leofwine_draca9 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
TRIPLE FRONTIER is a twist on your usual heist movie, with a much more expansive storyline and exotic setting. The story involves five ex-special forces guys, down on their luck, who reassemble for one final job: to relieve a drug lord of his unnecessary wealth. The drug lord lives in a heavily-defended compound in the middle of the jungle, so lots of planning is involved.

The first 45 minutes follows said planning in an engaging way; this is a dialogue-heavy movie but the lines are snappy and character-revealing. The cast is appropriately hard-bitten, with reliables like Charlie Hunnam and Pedro Pascal doing well, Ben Affleck with a bit more edge than you usually see from him, and Oscar Isaac holding it all together. The film has a realistic edge without too much in the way of CGI and over-the-top action, which is all for the better. The location scenery is wonderfully utilised, the tension is generally superior and the director isn't overreliant on music to create suspense. The last half throws in the usual big twists and surprises to keep you watching, and that's exactly what I did.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
good overall
SnoopyStyle20 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Santiago "Pope" Garcia is a military adviser working beside the Colombian police taking down the drug cartels. With his beautiful informer Yovanna, he gets intel about the location of a drug lord hide out and his loot estimated at $75M. He recruits other disenfranchised ex-military; Tom 'Redfly' Davis (Ben Affleck), William 'Ironhead' Miller (Charlie Hunnam), Ben Miller (Garrett Hedlund), and pilot Francisco 'Catfish' Morales (Pedro Pascal). They plan to kill the drug lord and steal his money.

This has good action and good locations. It's got good actors and some good tense thrills. A few of the group's move do annoy me. They are well organized but they make a few annoying mistakes that frustrate me. The first annoying contrivance is when they start talking about their plan at a local hang-out. It's kind of annoying when they won't shut up. It's bad enough that they are showing their faces there. On the other hand, I have no problem when Redfly starts pushing back the timeline as he greedily grabs the money. That is a very human concept. Although I have a real issue with not killing the guards. Why don't they have silencers? Why aren't they killing the guards? Are the guards innocent in their eyes? It's awfully unreal like one of those 80's action movies. Then they make the stupidest mistake. The first drop should be the net. It should always be the plan if they don't make it over the hump. They should drop the net on an isolated peak and plan to come back for it later. It's poor planning and they're supposed to be smart. They could still write in a mechanical failure and a crash landing. I just need the guys to be smarter. As for the hike across the Andes, it's somewhat unrealistic to carry that much cargo on foot. At the very least, they should eat one of the mules. There's no way they are carrying that much food. The calories needed to carry that weight would be enormous. Despite the unrealistic turns, I do find the action well done and the thrills intense. The movie is a little long but good overall.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Another Overrated Production by Netflix
claudio_carvalho25 March 2019
"Triple Frontier" is another overrated production by Netflix. The story of greed is lame and insinuates but never tells the country where the drug pin is hidden. The conclusion is stupid, considering that Ben Affleck´s character is separated from his wife. Further, the guys risk their lives to steal the powerful drug dealer, but are incapable to plan to retrieve the money left behind in the Andes. Netflix as usual prefers to invest in marketing instead of in a better quality of their productions, with better stories and screenplays. My vote is five.

Title (Brazil): "Operação Fronteira" ("Frontier Operation")
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Safe House
nogodnomasters21 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
A small group of former special forces/mercenaries decide to hit a cartel leader near the Brazilian border. Things are well planned and it all goes well. Too well. There is more money there than they can possibly carry, but they try. This slows them down and eventually they are traveling by foot, fighting indigenous along the way.

The film had some good scenes, but lousy cardboard characters. Looks like the cast took turns phoning in the bad dialogue. I expected more from Netflix.

Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
So much talent ...
kosmasp23 July 2019
But it seems to be almost wasted. Or as another reviewer put it: Great potential, unused. I would add though "slightly" - because it's not that the talent is not being used. There is quite a bit to love here, like the action sentiment, some of the character motivation and some of the general depiction of Army but more importantly politics and corruption.

But it does have threads it opens that it leaves just laying there. It's a bit annoying and would have been more satisfying if it would concentrate on certain things. The ending is not really helpful by being overly dramatic and completely ... well it may be realistic to a degree but it doesn't really make much sense. You can show respect and brotherhood in other ways ... or maybe I'm just a cynic? Whatever teh case, this is decent but still has quite a lot of flaws
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Triple Frontier
bobcobb30125 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Certainly not a perfect movie, but if you like action or military dramas you will get something out of this.

A lot of chaos, a lot of crazy situations, good throwback to films of the 90's.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
hot-shot military men, a huge heist, and a lot of trouble
blanche-225 December 2019
Ben Affleck, Oscar Isaac, Charlie Hunnam, and Pedro Pascal star in a Netflix movie, "Triple Frontier" from 2019. This film started out with people like Johnny Depp, Leonardo diCaprio, Tom Hardy -- I could go on, but you get the point. They all dropped out for various reasons. One reason might have been the script.

The first part of the film was very exciting. In South America, military men get together to wipe out a drug lord and steal all of his money - put it this way, as they put it, the house is the safe. And they weren't kidding - every inch of the walls was top to bottom with money packs. It was a decent plan, but their greed causes problems when they try to flee the country. You can guess most of it.

I found the end stupid, and I had to ask myself, why did they go through all that they did? And then I asked, why did I?
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Intense, action packed and thrilling
Gordon-1113 March 2019
This film tells the story of five ex-agents who robs a drug lord in South America.

The story is really good. It combines so many elements into one film. It is half heist, half survival, and then has many extra thrills thrown on top of it. The production is great, the locations are beautiful and the plot is simply very good. It is thrilling, action packed and maintains its intensity throughout the film. It is a very pleasant surprise that surpassed any of my expectations.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Is it a joke or what?
searchanddestroy-119 March 2019
Oh my god what a deception. An awful movie, far far below my worst expectations. The basic topic was so exciting, but what a waste. A movie made and loved only for sissies or the wole entire family, including grand ma and auntie. Characters and the last part are so lousy, nearly laughable, foreseeable at the most. I expected a few months ago, when I read the basic scheme, as a kind of WILD BUNCH but what a disaster, a painful experience for me. Forget this crap at all costs. Follow my instructions please. Only the breathtaking settings are worth. Nothing else. That's not a disaster movie but a movie of disaster.
0 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
If only they'd spent some more time/money on the writing....
CinemaSerf1 May 2020
Another decent cast get together to perform an audacious deed from under the very nose of a ruthless South American drug lord that is so riddled with plot holes so as to render it little better than an celluloid version of a string vest. A group of former American Special Forces colleagues head south to relieve the fortified home of the drug baron of $75 million. Initially reluctant, Ben Affleck joins forces with Oscar Isaac, Charlie Hunnam, Pedro Pascal & Garrett Hedlund and needless to say their carefully planned raid goes awry and they find themselves struggling to flee from the wrath of their foe. The story is all over the place; the acting except, perhaps, Isaac - who manages to holds this all together better - is as gung-ho as their antics and unfortunately the whole thing just descends, quickly, onto a well trodden path of cat and mouse capers with an obvious ending written with well over half of the film yet to go.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A BAND OF BLUNDERHEADS
zardoz-1317 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The premise of "Triple Frontier," Netflix's limited theatrical release about retired special-ops who rob a South American drug trafficker, sounded promising. "All is Lost" director J.C. Chandor and Oscar-winning "Hurt Locker" scenarist Mark Boal focus on a team of sympathetic, hard-luck, military types who should appeal to any red-blooded connoisseur of American action cinema. Furthermore, these heroes see this mission as their chance to start over. Despite their faithful military service to Uncle Sam, they received neither proper recognition nor sufficient compensation. Now, they embark on a campaign to plunder millions in blood money from a notorious narcotics honcho. Everything boils down to black and white simplicity. Our heroes are cut from the same clichés as Sylvester Stallone's far more seasoned cronies in the "The Expendables" trilogy, and they do come loaded for bear. Nevertheless, these guys behave like amateurs, compounding one mistake after another, and undermining their own best efforts. Since the good guys must be sympathetic, the villains must be repugnant. Cartel drug traffickers qualify as ideal heavies. Reviled in real life as much as on the screen, they kill without a qualm and hold nothing sacred. They deserve to die a thousand times. Our heroes should be virtuously white, while the villains should be shady as sin. Comparably, James Brolin led a group of amateurs on a similar mission in "High Risk" (1981), but everybody survived with their loot intact for a triumphant finale. "Triple Frontier" had potential, but it wastes its powerhouse cast (Ben Affleck, Oscar Isaac, Charlie Hunnam, Garrett Hedlund, and Pedro Pascal) in a hackneyed hokum about the malevolence of greed. Like we don't know the corrosive nature of greed. Presumably, Chandor and Boal must have cut their teeth on the Humphrey Bogart classic "Treasure of the Sierra Madre" (1948) because "Triple Frontier" contains a similar storyline. Unfortunately, this escapist oriented, testosterone-laden tale turns sour in Chandor and Boal's hands. Imagine what "The Expendables" might have been if they lost, and you may pass up watching "Triple Frontier."

Technically, "Triple Frontier" is a crime movie instead of an adventure epic. Our heroes initiate a home invasion and loot a wealthy cartel mobster's premises. Initially, they search without success for his safe, until it dawns on them the house is the safe! Meantime, since the villain lives beyond the law, he cannot blow the whistle on them without running the risk of the authorities intervening. Greed enters the picture, and our heroes take too many duffels of loot. Until the 1970s, Hollywood maintained a strict censorship policy that crooks never delight in their ill-gotten gains. This policy was part of a larger rule Hollywood struggled to enforce: Crime must not pay! When the Clint Eastwood & Jeff Bridges heist caper "Thunderbolt & Lightfoot" (1974) came out, the studios gave these criminals greater flexibility, but not without the usual life and death consequences. In "Triple Frontier," we are rooting for our heroes to haul off millions when we realize they've completely lost their minds. Poor planning sabotages their heist. Indeed, they pull off the robbery, but pulling off the getaway is something else. Stallone and his "Expendables" cohorts would have gotten clean away, but these loose cannons must pay the piper. "Triple Frontier" takes a tragic turn around its 90-minute mark, and you have to ponder whether you want to shed a tear for this band of clowns-in-camouflage. Naturally, The character with the greatest amount to lose inevitably gets it. This kind of old-fashioned morality takes the joy out of what could have been an audacious adventure epic. During the getaway section, our heroes behave like trigger-happy amateurs. They find themselves against odds even more incredible than those of the cartel. Primarily, they find themselves at the mercy of the local population. The getaway occurs in sprawling, spectacular, mountainous scenery, with Hawaii standing in splendidly for Brazil. Our heroes exfiltrate in a wobbly helicopter with their ill-gotten gains dangling beneath it in a cargo net. Foolishly, they have loaded more than the chopper can accommodate and fly over the Andes Mountains. They disintegrate into their own worst enemy.

"Triple Frontier" gets off to a promising start as Chandor and Boal introduce the heroes and their particular predicament that has prompted them to commit a crime. The chief protagonist is Santiago 'Pope' Garcia (Oscar Isaac of "A Most Violent Year"), and he is a private military contractor who coordinates drug busts with the local authorities. Pope has a confidential informant, Yovanna (Adria Arjona of "Pacific Rim: Uprising"), and she knows the whereabouts of the local drug trafficker. She also knows that he has concealed millions in his walls. She provides Pope with everything he needs to know about this despicably murderous narco. Pope enlists four of his old service buddies and outlines a scenario that each of them could tote off duffels stuffed with multi-millions in cash. Eventually, Pope consults Tom 'Redfly' Davis (Ben Affleck of "The Town") and asks him to draft a combat plan. Reluctantly, Davis designs a scheme with a timetable. Pope persuades a pilot, Francisco 'Catfish' Morales (Pedro Pascal of "The Equalizer 2"), to fly them across the Andes to a ship on the coast. After Davis agrees to accompany them, William 'Ironhead' Miller (Charlie Hunnam of "King Arthur") signs on, and his little brother, MMA fighter Ben Miller (Garrett Hedlund of "TRON: Legacy"), joins them. Afterward, everything goes sideways. Greed overrides good sense, and one of the five takes a fatal bullet in the head. "Triple Frontier" never recovers from the tragic death of this character. In part, he brought it on himself. At this point, our heroes whine like knuckle-heads who bit off more than they could chew and are choking on their own greed. The performances are uniformly robust, but the filmmakers have given each actor little to work with to make their respective characters memorable, for example, like "The Magnificent Seven." If you're hoping for thrills and chills, "Triple Frontier" provides few.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Triplee Frontier review
JoeytheBrit16 May 2020
An overlong heist movie (which may be deliberate given its subtext of state intervention/occupation of commodity-rich foreign lands) which has some tense moments, but which also fails to adequately involve its audience in the fate of its protagonists. Much of the time these guys just don't seem disciplined enough to be former soldiers deep in enemy territory.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Worthwhile.
bombersflyup15 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Triple Frontier is a decent crime adventure film, nothing lasting.

It could of done without the thirty minute prelude. Affleck and four other guys were pretty full of themselves, to think they could pull off this heist without the risk of casualties. They didn't plan it that well for an elite group and got themselves into trouble frequently. They had time to drop more money from the chopper or to discuss it prior to getting in the chopper and give more to the guy in the plane, to look after it for a profit. I just can't accept that their thieving lives are of more value, as Affleck's character shot and killed three or more of the cocaine farmers who didn't attack. He deserved to be hunted down and shot, so the ending is hollow. Solid film though.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
If you need a Narcos type fix
phd_travel15 March 2019
For those who have Narcos withdrawal symptoms this is a cure. It's a heist movie with a Narcos flavor set in Colombia. A famous cast including Ben Affleck, Pedro Pascal, Charlie Hunnam and Garrett Hedlund helps to keep the different characters distinct. Oscar Isaac is as always watchable and keeps the interest through the slower first part when he rounds up his old buddies to pull off a heist and kill a bad drug lord at the same time. After the heist things start to go wrong on their escape journey through the mountains to the sea by helicopter then on land. The camaraderie between the group is fun to watch. One good point is it's quite clear what is going on especially when things go wrong. Not like the Oceans type heist movies where things get confusing. Worth one watch.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
not about the action
trashgang31 May 2019
Another Netflix flick with some really good thespians in it. The flick itself wasn't that bad. Can't say it's an action flick. It does contain actiona dn it do has suspense but it's more about things go wrong and how do you solve it.

So don't think you will see another The Town (2010) or Den Of Thieves (2018) which have a bit of the same summary, go for the money and then things go really awry.

Don't get me wrong. it isn't that bad if you can dig a story that looks like an action but is more about friends for life and how to move through life with some terrible issues. Still worth seeing because the movie was over before you know it even as it clocks in over 2 hours.

Gore 0/5 Nudity 0/5 Effects 2/5 Story 3/5 Comedy 0/5
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Easy entertainment.
deloudelouvain19 March 2019
Don't expect great life changing conversations when you watch a movie like Triple Frontier. It's an action movie about five super soldiers commiting a heist somewhere in the jungle in South-America. The story is very simple, most of the time predictable, but there is alot of action and that's exactly what I expect to get with a movie like this one. The cinematography wasn't bad at all, certainly one of the positive points of this movie. The acting wasn't bad either, but their lines were just not great. Oscar Isaac and Pedro Pascal were enjoyable to watch, Charlie Hunnam on the other hand seems to be only capable to play the same role over and over again, it's like watching Sons Of Anarchy all the time with him. Ben Affleck, not immediately my favorite actor, did what he was supposed to do. All in all Triple Frontier is a popcorn action movie, lay back and relax, just don't expect too much of it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
An Engaging Action-Thriller!
namashi_122 March 2019
J. C. Chandor is a Director to reckon with. With three consecutive brilliant films in his repertoire (Margin Call, All Is Lost and A Most Violent Year), Chandor has proved to be a distinctive voice. And with his latest entry 'Triple Frontier', the talented storyteller has given his fourth winner. This Netflix Film works, and Chandor brings an ensemble, of whom all, prove their prowness yet again.

'Triple Frontier' Synopsis: Loyalties are tested when five former special forces operatives reunite to steal a drug lord's fortune, unleashing a chain of unintended consequences.

'Triple Frontier', as good as the film, begins dull. Yes, this otherwise compelling has an uninteresting first-act and may make you feel a bit underwhelmed. BUT hold-on, Chandor builds up the narrative in his pace, but once the actual drama kicks in, 'Triple Frontier' comes forward with its pleasures. The entire setting, the characters and the heist they're asked to pull and beyond, is engrossing. Also, despite a so many characters being in the frame at many a time, each and every character gets his own story and arc. Chandor doesn't deliver perfection here, but what he does deliver, without a shed of doubt, is an engaging action-thriller, that leaves an impact. Chandor must be commended for creating a human-drama out of a generic heist film, and to those who are aware of Chandor's taste for the unusual, would only feel further delighted with this film. Chandor's Direction is top-notch.

Chandor and Mark Boal's Screenplay could've been more crisp in the first-act, but it gathers enough momentum there-on to earn itself some well-deserved praise. Roman Vasyanov's Cinematography is skilled. Ron Patane.s Editing is good. Art and Costume Design are first-rate. Action-Sequences have been nicely choreographed and executed.

Performance-Wise: Osscar Issac and Ben Affleck lead the pack. Issac, the man in the centre stage here, takes full use of the opportunity and portrays his part with complete ease. Affleck is superb here, delivering a winsome supporting turn that leaves a solid mark. Charlie Hunnam continues to be a commanding presence on-screen, while Garrett Hedlund and Pedro Pascal are admirable in their parts, as well. Adria Arjona is perfect.

On the whole, 'Triple Frontier' is a yet another success from Director J. C. Chandor. Make time for it.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
pretty awesome
FeastMode3 May 2020
I surprisingly enjoyed this netflix original after a friend recommended it. great cast, good acting, solid action, and numerous tension-filled scenes. this movie is not special but it is more than serviceable and is definitely entertaining. (1 viewing, 5/1/2020)
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Ambitious but undelivering action yarn Warning: Spoilers
STAR RATING: ***** Saturday Night **** Friday Night *** Friday Morning ** Sunday Night * Monday Night

During a round up of a drug lord's inner circle, a young woman escapes, however it's all a front, set up by Agent Santiago 'Pope' Garcia (Oscar Isaac) as a front to put a plan he's hatched with the girl into action. Meanwhile, back in the US, his old army buddies Tom 'Redfly' Davis (Ben Affleck), William 'Ironhead' Miller (Charlie Hunnam), his brother Ben (Garrett Hedlund) and Francisco 'Catfish' Morales (Pedro Pascal) are scraping by and struggling to adjust to civilian life. Garcia returns and persuades them all to take part in a plan to go to Colombia and steal a fortune from a drug lord. Naturally, things don't go to plan...

Original concepts and ideas are all but dead in the field of screen-writing, and so the only real alternative seems to be to make distracting variations on old themes. And so director J.C. Chandor has rounded up an impressive, all star cast, for another spin on a most familiar genre: the heist thriller. To be honest, the premise would suitably frame any number of low budget, direct to DVD non-entities, never mind a more high profile production such as Triple Frontier. And so, it's all the more baffling how Chandor seems to want to wring as much depth out of something with so little meat on its bones.

With its set up, featuring a slew of beefed up Hollywood hard men in military gear, it seems billed primarily as an action movie, but despite some subliminal promise of this, the first half at least drags by without much in the way of any exciting action sequences, instead trying to ferment a tense atmosphere. It does get a bit more juicy towards the end, but it's a long wait, in a film needlessly pipping at just over the two hour mark, without generating the tension or emotional investment in the characters, whose behaviour as seasoned military men at times beggars belief, to sustain it for that long.

Chandor has taken a well worn genre and tried to take it in new directions, with less than successful results. Everyone involved appears to be desperately trying to resuscitate a dead horse. **
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A good action picture, nothing more.
MOscarbradley25 May 2019
A disappointment but only slightly. "Triple Frontier" is directed by J.C. Chandor who co-wrote the screenplay with Mark Boal and Kathryn Bigelow is one of the Executive Producers. It's an action picture, a Colombian drugs movie and a heist movie. There are fine set=pieces and it looks terrific; the mostly Colombian locations are beautifully photographed. The problem is for a Chandor/Boal picture there isn't much depth.

This is a buddy movie in which the good guys cum bad guys are played by Ben Affleck, (who never really learned to act in a fairly long career), Oscar Isaac, (who needs better material than this if he is to make an impression), Charlie Hunnam, (who's actually not too bad here), and Garrett Hedlund and Pedro Pascal, who are both cast in very one-dimensional roles. It is, in other words, formulaic even if the formula isn't a bad one but it's no "Sicario" and it's certainly no "Salvador". It's brainless and it's exciting and we've seen it all before, ("Three Kings" had a not dissimilar plot and was a much better film). Chandor and Boal can, and have, done better.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Camaraderie
ThomasDrufke5 May 2019
Assembling an all-star cast of prominent actors, Triple Frontier is a riveting action-heist film about a team of war veterans reuniting to pull "one last job" against a drug lord in Columbia. The first thing to note is that the camaraderie is easily believable between Ben Affleck, Oscar Isaac, Garrett Hedlund, Charlie Hunnam, and Pedro Pascal. In just a few scenes, director J.C. Chandor establishes a bond and a history between these five guys, and you never need to see a single flashback to do it. And really the entire first half of the film is about building up the team, whether that be through dialogue or action, only to enact a brutal second half. One that certainly has payoff, but never truly capitalizes on the building intensity of the first & second act. However, I really liked the last few scenes, which gave the entire film & mission extra weight.

7.8/10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Bloody Ocean's
Cineanalyst14 March 2019
Another forgettable and flawed heist movie, "Triple Frontier" also tries, but largely fails, to inject some social commentary into its action-packed dramatics. It reminds me a bit of "Widows" (2018), which I also saw recently. Both would've benefited from a singular focus on the heist, if not developing its characters more or articulating the social themes better. The dialogue in this one is especially atrocious, as the characters bloviate about being underpaid warriors, being brothers in arms, family, masculinity, war and corruption. All of them wear their emotions on their sleeves and will scream out their various feelings of anger, greed, joy and melancholy throughout. Much of the runtime is spent on recruiting the team for the heist, yet the narrative never manages to add much depth to any of their lives. One was idealistically fighting the war on drugs and has a romantic relationship that's hardly explored, another is a motivational speaker who hypocritically encourages reenlistment, one is struggling to provide for his family, and the two others apparently aren't important enough for any meaningful background story beyond pilot without a license and MMA fighter.

The "Ocean's" series may not always do much better in establishing its bevy of co-conspirators, but at least those movies tend to do so with some cinematic flair, a light touch and snappy dialogue. "Triple Frontier," on the other hand, drags and is heavy-handed both in commentary and characterization. Plus, it's hard to swallow all its talk against violence when its violent action scenes are the only thing worth seeing here.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Ambitious Story. Uneven Execution. Terrible Characterisation.
CinemaClown15 March 2019
A grim & gritty action heist thriller that follows the established tropes of its genre down to a tee in the first half before trying to subvert it during the remaining half, Triple Frontier does a lot many things right yet all of it is nullified by a complete lack of character depth & script refinement. However, J.C. Chandor's mindful direction does manage to instil some freshness into its clichéd & uneven narrative which, in the hands of a lesser filmmaker, would have turned into a total mess.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
First rate movie
85122217 March 2019
Greetings from Lithuania.

"Triple Frontier" (2019) is an action, adventure drama which transpires mostly in jungles. I highly enjoyed this movie because it was superbly made - the great J.C. Chandor ("A Most Violent Year") superbly directed this movie - it looks absolutely gorgeous - cinematography was simply amazing. Pacing was also excellent because at 2 hours run time i was not bored by a second and was glued to me screen. And while "Triple Frontier" is a pure fiction, screenplay by Mark Boal ("The Hurt Locker") was very involving.

Overall, some might and will dislike this movie probably because it lacks tons of action. For me it wasn't a problem because the movie itself was superbly crafted that i enjoyed ever minute of it. And there is a kinda shocking twist nearing the end, which i did not see it coming. Its an excellent movie.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Triple Frontier: Action flick? Check. But a dumb action flick? Also check
Platypuschow16 March 2019
Triple Frontier is a demonstration of just how far Netflix movies have come, a huge scale action movie. But does it deliver?

Well immediately I'm bias, I'm not an action movie guy and never have been. Call me picky but I want more substance from my films than a wafer thin plot, gunfire, explosions, car chases and brain dead dialogue.

Here we have Ben Affleck, Charlie Hunnam (Who I can't stand but don't know why), Oscar Isaac and Pedro "Dude where's my head" Pascal in a rip roaring big budget action heist movie.

Telling the tale of former special forces guys *Yawn* who are roped into a mission, an assassination where they can also rob millions of dollars and turn their lives around. Deep in the jungles of Brazil the heist begins, but as is always the way things don't exactly go to plan.

Sadly this is exactly what I feared it would be, a brainless action flick. It suffers all the usual cliches, it brings nothing to the table that we haven't seen before and quite frankly most of the cast just look bored. Like they're there for the paycheck and can't wait to go home.

Triple Frontier succeeds in looking good, visually its impressive (Even though that's clearly Hawaii not Brazil). But a movie needs a lot more than impressive visuals to be enjoyable, sure they do a good job in its creation but this would have been better suited in the 80's/90's when action flicks had more credibility.

Is it the worst out there? Absolutely not it has it's pros, but it's still just a mindless action flick and nothing else.

The Good:

Excellent soundtrack

Looks impressive

The Bad:

Cast just aren't bringing their A-game

Dumb cliched stuff
9 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed