Vendetta (2022) Poster

(I) (2022)

User Reviews

Review this title
73 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Brucie wasn't all that bad in this one.
Top_Dawg_Critic28 May 2022
But for Jared Cohn, an experienced writer and director to give us this nonsense, is inexcusable. The writing was worse than a 5th grade drama class would present. This was such a plot-hole riddled lazily written bag full of cliches, it was cringe. Then he had his actors pretty much acting like clowns, I couldn't take Mr. Smiley and Pipe Smoker seriously. It's a shame, because this had potential and could've easily worked in the hands of any other capable filmmaker, especially considering the decent casting. It's a generous 4/10 from me.
16 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Name-drop cash-in!
bosporan17 May 2022
A violent, driven revenge movie loosely derived from all the other revenge movies. Tired trope after copycat cliché, this is a stereotypical story with few redeeming features. Formulaic recipe, sprinkle a few known names, albeit past their sell-by-date, cook up a random murder and garnish with carnage.

This is so poor, with diabolical dialogue, a ponderous, predictable plot and epilepsy-inducing camera work. This is all overlaid with an annoyingly intrusive soundtrack.

Terrible movie, not worth the required time investment.
37 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Vendetta
Prismark1019 May 2022
Bad story, bad acting, bad action.

William Duncan is out for revenge when a hoodlum's son killed his high school daughter as part of an initiation killing. With the law unable to give him justice, Duncan brings war to the hoodlum's family.

You know the movie is in trouble when then the best performance comes from Mike Tyson.

This is a rock bottom rehash of both Death Wish and The Punisher. Both Bruce Willis and Thomas Jane appeared in remakes of those two films.

Shame on those who deal with Willis's affairs that they send out an ill old man to make such rubbish.
24 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the LAST movies Bruce Willis will ever star in. Is it worth watching? NO.
imseeg23 May 2022
One of Bruce Willis LAST movies he will EVER make, because Bruce is retiring from acting, due to severe bad health, because he is suffering from a neurological disease which affects his speech and facial expressions. Really tragic!

I have watched EVERY movie Bruce Willis was starring in. I keep hoping, I really do, that some director, some producer, has got the wisdom to recognize what a great actor Bruce Willis is and make a better picture than this one.

BUT... unfortunately Bruce Willis is (by contractual obligations) restricted to only work with these inferior directors and producers, who dont give him the room to show his real talents.

You already guessed it, this is another flop in which Bruce is only starring in, due to contractual obligations. The man has got to pay the bills for his many ex-wives! I can understand that!

Not any good? NO. Sorry, I must be honest about this. There are several less terrible movies that he starred in recently. And mind you, Bruce has been starring in 5-10 movies A YEAR. That's mindboggling to think of. You might now better understand why this aint gonna be a quality action movie.

At an (excrucially) important sidenote, let us not forget WHY we are watching Bruce Willis movies to begin with. We watch Bruce Willis movies because of DIE HARD (1988). THE ONE AND ONLY BIGGEST ACTION AMERICAN ACTION CLASSIC OF THE CENTURY.

This classic is still standing strong after more than 30 years. Millions of people still REwatch it during every Christmas holiday. Recently a petition was launched to rename Nakatomi Plaza into DIE HARD plaza.

A life time achievement award for Bruce Willis is in the making as well, so I have heard...

DIE HARD (1988) NEVER DIES but is still ALIVE AND KICKING in 2022. Let's celebrate that.
18 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Nothing great but watchable.
FridayElmStreet22 May 2022
Well with the Bruce Willis films winding down Im still seeing what work he has just done. This one is called Vendetta and it also stars Mike Tyson and Thomas Jane.

And the thing is...its not that bad really. I mean its far from great but its the best film Bruce Willis has been in in years. I give it a 5/10. Most of his newest films I gave a 1 to 3 rating. Its a basic vigilante film much in the spirt of Death Wish. A young girl is murdered by a gang member and her father decides to kill him instead of testifying against him. That gets the whole gang angry and they go after him.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Unbelievably Stupid Script
jollyjumpup1 July 2022
Literally - the script is unbelievably stupid, filled with illogical actions and idiotic characters. I couldn't even comprehend how a screenplay this bad could get past the usual phalanx of development execs, producers, agents, actors and at least one director a script usually needs to please to get made. Then I checked the credits and discovered that the writer was also the director and he cranks out half-a-dozen of these crapfests every year - a bad case of cinematic diarrhea.

So I guess he doesn't have time to watch Cops or otherwise figure out how police operate in the real world or how real gangsters handle their business.

Nothing in this movie rings true. It's just a series of dumb and dumber scenes designed to accommodate a bunch of gunfire and martial arts shenanigans.

To be fair, the film looks pretty good. The cinematography is very nice and the actors give it their all. Unfortunately, for many - including the bigger name actors in this mess - that amounts to the level of thespianism usually reached by stunt men cast to pad the ranks of the bad guys in B movies. Stiff, shallow, overwrought characterizations.

Bad acting, a ridiculous script with not a drop of suspense or a single character you care about. Braindead fun for the feeble-minded.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Luckily there is Mike Tyson and Thomas Jane!
frank-liesenborgs21 May 2022
In this movie, former U. S. Marine William Duncan (Clive Standen) strikes back at the thugs who murdered his daughter and therefore provoking a cycle of violence. A revenge movie in which Bruce Willis (Donnie Fetter) plays (again) a crime boss who orders his loose-cannon son Theo Rossi (Rory) to clean up the mess. Another boring Bruce Willis movie, whose unfocussed and empty performance is really hard to watch after the news of his Aphasia diagnosis. Bruce spends most of his scenes sitting behind a desk and you can see he is struggling with his dialogue. Heart-breaking! The good news is we have Thomas Jane playing an arms dealer and Mike Tyson playing the leader of a gang and dealing stolen cars. If you like to see Thomas Jane (and he is really outperforming here) smoking a pipe and always drinking a bottle of beer, this movie is for you. Mike´s role was very small but he passed with flying colours!
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
41 mins in and I was done.
wisemanfromtowne18 May 2022
Couldn't get to the ending because it was just too much bad acting and ridiculousness. For a really enjoyable revenge caper, Mel Gibson's Edge of Darkness and Gerad Butler's Law Abiding Citizen will not disappoint. Those are two of my favorite the bad guys had it coming films. 41 mins of Vendetta and I was done. That was more than enough time wasted on crap. Very hard pass.
19 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Willis last hurrah
mcummings-890922 August 2022
I believe this is Bruce Willis final film, like many others I've watched his recent glut of films over the last eighteen months literally stunned at how bad most of them are with only a couple barely ok. For what it's worth this is probably one of the better ones but it still has a lot of problems. Here we see Willis, along with Thomas Jane relegated to the role of interesting background character, both do a relatively ok job considering what they have to work with. The plot itself is a rehash of other revenge type films where a lead has a loved one killed them sets out to take revenge on a criminal organisation. Oh and said lead just happens to be a well trained military person.

The problem here is there are huge plot holes everywhere, it literally takes place in small town America in place which is very clean and clearly affluent yet we are led to believe there are armed gangs of drug dealers running around. This same gang require new members to kill innocents as part of their initiation too, yet whilst doing this there are zero people around in the middle of the day on the main high street? Seriously thought this up? Then we learn the local cops (all four of them) know they are selling drugs but turn a blind eye, yet they leave a protection duty because a kid throws something at their patrol car. This is where what could be a relatively fun revenge movie packed with a number of recognisable faces falls very flat. It's probably just about watchable if you want to see every Willis movie but the plot holes need some excusing.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Is this a comedy because if so I need to raise my stars to 2
jamiesbeck28 August 2022
If you dont laugh at least 3 times I'd be shocked. This has to be a joke.

The dialog had to be written by a child.

Who would make this movie?

Perhaps some favors were cashed in.

At this point I believe Bruce Willis is taking roles that Nic Cage knew were really bad.

I actually like the main actor. Not sure if I remember him from other movies.

Tysons cameo was good but it was what it was.

Maybe an AI Computer spit this out because there is NOTHING WHATSOEVER original in this film other than the bad dialog. Maybe it's a throwback to cheesy 90s movies? You knew what was going to happen from start to middle to end.

I actually recommend you watch this because you will NOT believe how bad the dialog is. Seriously.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
90 minutes I'll never get back.
harryatasker20 July 2022
Don't waste your time. It was the exact plot of Death Sentence with Kevin Bacon, but at least Death Sentence was watchable. I really found myself rooting for the bad guys just so the movie would be over. The dialogue was horrible and I have seen better acting in 70s porn. You know the movie is in trouble when Mike Tyson gives one of the better performances.

If the plot sounds interesting, watch Death Sentence or even better, Law Abiding Citizen.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So so bad
gilesadhamilton24 May 2022
Where to start with this film? The absolutely awful lead actor? The ludicrous ultra violence against women? The utter destruction of Willis' career? Thomas Jane, once a first class b movie lead, putting in the worst performance I've ever seen by a decent actor. And a completely inconsequential one at that. The plot itself would disgrace an episode of Hart to Hart. As if a criminal organisation of Willis' inept gang here could run a bath. This really is the worst film I've seen that contains at least four actors I've heard of.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Good production but old and predictable
supermellowcali19 May 2022
Same ol same ol. You'll probably get exactly what you'd expect from the poster- another forgettable revenge story justifying the violent action. It's not badly done, but it's not among the best in spite of the good cast, whose acting couldn't save a script full of poor dialog and overall seemingly lazy writing... but I've seen much worse, and this is at least a pro production.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What is wrong with Hollywood?
kensacca20 August 2022
Who watches this stuff and thinks it's worth releasing. The acting is horrific. Bruce Willis being in this means his career is over. This is just awful, pass it by.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Basically a rip off of death sentence
john_carlin24 June 2022
This is basically just a rip off of James Wan's death sentence. Death sentence is wayyyy better, if you haven't seen it skip this and just watch death sentence.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Save yourself an hour and a half
russell_ellis1 June 2022
Truely awful. Bruce Willis has no reason to be in this and his role could be played by anyone and it wouldn't add or takeaway anything. Why he agreed is beyond me. Similar Tyson. No point and his presence just distracts. I can watch almost anything but this dreadful so please spare yourself.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Grade a
camman798 June 2022
The only thing good about this is the ending credits Willis fan but this is grade a poop bad sound guns sound like the old wamo gun.script in belevable. The actors could have done a better job adlibing it Tyson did a ok job.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not the worst thing I've seen.
benwilliams19999 July 2022
The plot itself is interesting, but messily executed. Performances are okay, but the dialogue felt as if a 10 year old wrote it. Everyone seemingly had the worst aim in existence when shooting their never ending supply of bullets at each other. Mike Tyson is in two scenes, one completely random scene which isn't needed, and in the final scene where he says a cheesy one liner.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Action packed and fast paced...
paul_haakonsen17 May 2022
Now, I wasn't really expecting a whole lot from the 2022 action thriller "Vendetta", given the fact that this movie had Bruce Willis on the cast list. And let's just be honest, his track record these past many years haven't exactly been top notch movie productions. And seeing that the movie also had Mike Tyson on the cast list just didn't crank up any expectations to the movie.

But still, I opted to watch the movie, since it also had both Clive Standen and Thomas Jane on the cast list as well. And of course, also because it was a movie that I hadn't already seen helped play a part in making me sit down to watch what writer and director Jared Cohn had to offer.

And color me impressed, "Vendetta" was actually a good movie. Sure, the storyline was pretty straight forward, if not actually generic for an action thriller of this kind. But it sure was entertaining.

The movie has Clive Standen in the leading role, and he does carry the movie quite well with his performance. I wish that Thomas Jane would have had a bigger role, both because of his acting skill, but also because his character was one of the more colorful and interesting in the movie. Much can be said about Mike Tyson, but I will admit that he was actually fairly good in the particular role he had in the movie; it wasn't a big role, but he actually nailed it well enough. And I would also say that "Vendetta" is one of the better movies for Bruce Willis in a long, long time.

The soundtrack for the movie was just downright bad. I loathe that kind of music, so it stuck out like a sore thumb.

If you enjoy a good old fashioned action packed and fast paced action thriller then writer and director Jared Cohn actually delivers a wholesome movie with this 2022 movie titled "Vendetta".

I was genuinely entertained by the storyline, and it was nicely paced from start to end. So if you have the chance to sit down and watch "Vendetta", do so.

I am rating "Vendetta" a six out of ten stars.
14 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I will be honest here .
myaslioglu9 August 2022
I have never seen a worse movie.. Ever.. This is the only comment that can be made.. And, I've seen really bad movies. This one has no acting skills (even Bruce Willis acts 4th degree), no script, no creativity, no plot, no nothing..
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It's a Bruce Willis film
phanes-9483122 May 2022
Watched this for a laugh, just to see if it was as bad as all the other Brucie films over the past couple of years and I wasn't disappointed.

The oldest and thinnest of revenge plot films, with a script that was written over a weekend by some 12 year old gangster wanna be kiddies. Some many inconsistences to list, acting, well enough said, Big Mike Tyson is absolutely not the worst actor here.

Great if you need some background noise but it will seriously lower your IQ if you listen to the script or wonder why a guy hell bent on getting revenge for his brother's death is such a limp d...
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad at all
dongillette122 May 2022
This is getting a lot of bad slaps because of Bruce Willis and it really doesn't deserve them. Neither does Bruce Willis for trying to put some $$$ in the coffer before he was forced to call it quits.

It's not a bad little crime/action/thriller at all. Clive Standen is passable and does the best with a passable script. Thomas Jane was good but shoujld aim higher in the future. Mike Tyson was a kick to watch in a small role--he's got some phenomenal screen presence and might have found a new niche making cameos like this.

The story line was very good--nothing like a revenge tale to make you want to see the bad guys pay.

Overall, only a 6 out of 10, but still very watchable.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A Bruce Willis "B" Movie????
dantharpe24 May 2022
I recently learned Willis is having some health issues, which might explain the difference in the recent movies he has made. This is sad and we wish him good health and a speedy recovery. Even still, when paying money for an expected quality movie, one should be able to deliver a quality performance... not one that the dialog sounds read.

This story-line "vendetta" is lacking a bit, the action scenes , for us, were not that believable, although some of the characters offered some realization to their acting parts (very few), this movie is in the "B" movie category for us.

This is another rainy day movie when nothing else is available.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
srossab10 June 2022
Full of holes, terrible acting, unconvincing characters just dont waste your time.

Unfortunately I have to add a few more characters as review has to be 150...
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible Everything...
Kryptonite-Dragon30 May 2022
I wanted to like this movie but it was another predictable and poorly acted, crappy plot waste of time. The real world part of the justice system and how it works (or doesn't) is always way off in scripts. Regardless of these failings, the music always cranked up when we had whisper level dialogue making hearing what was being said next to impossible. Way to make a dud of a movie as one of Bruce Willis' last.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed