Godspeed (2022) Poster

(2022)

User Reviews

Review this title
44 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Twists and Turns Along the Road
piroglubaysangur23 May 2022
The original name of this movie is "Yolun Acik Olsun", which literally translates to "May Your Road be Open" in English. The prayer itself might be manifested throughout the movie in that the road might be constantly open, but oh boy are there some sharp turns that makes you wish for a full stop... Always make sure your prayers are fully-inclusive lmao

I presume the Turkish cinema was waiting for the economy to collapse to sublime in producing top-of-the-class movies such as this. I'm not going to give any information regarding what happens in the movie, just go ahead and dive.

Good luck in coping with the after-effects of this movie; a cold shower usually works.
24 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The film is an absolute visual feast
blakuna24 May 2022
The film is a masterpiece with its cinematography, music scoring, plot, performances by the actors... Endless thanks to everyone who contributed to this: symphony of landscapes, the harmony of notes, the poetry of gazes, the visual feast of the performances, the ocean-depth of emotions.
30 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A movie for open minded people, for those who are not stuck in stupid American blockbusters.
jellybon24 May 2022
Yolun Acik Olsun aka Godspeed, a movie that stirs you from start to finish. I still haven't recovered from the disturbing and unexpected ending. A sweet-bitter happy ending, but behind this ending are hidden truths, traumas that you only get over if you make the ultimate sacrifice. A masterful interpretation. Engin Akyurek was Salih to the bone. Every look, every line brings a drop of the drama that is about to be revealed until the end. The traumas of war, the connection between the two comrades-in-arms, the promises made that must be fulfilled, the consequences that war brings on everyone's lives are so well and sensibly rendered, without force, without unnecessary violence. A story from which many lessons can be learned.

Bravo Engin Akyurek 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 Bravo Tolga Saritas 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 On top of that, Toygar Isikli soundtrack 👍🏻
27 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The long shadows of combat-induced PTSD
paul-allaer25 May 2022
As "Godspeed" (2022 release from Turkey; 119 min.) opens, we are introduced to Salih, and ex-army captain who lost his left leg in combat. Salih and Karim, who served under him as a lieutenant, are about to hit the road, "to crash a wedding", per Salih. Whose wedding? And why travel 700 km in an old (1974) Mercedes which Salih has faithfully restored to its former glory? At this point we are 10 min into the movie.

Couple of comments: this is the latest from veteran Turkish director Mehmet Ada Oztekin. Here he looks at the long shadows of combat-induced Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, and how it affects not just one guy (Salih), but indeed everyone around him. The movie is structured as a road movie, as Salih and Karim drive to the wedding and along the way run into unexpected challenges and situations, but it is in the flashbacks that we find out what exactly happened in Salih in combat and later as he is in the hospital. Even though these events unfold in Turkey, the themes explored in this film are universal and timeless, as indeed the characters are easily relatable for us American viewers. This film is not for anyone in a hurry, but you will be rewarded plenty for it.

"Godspeed" premiered on Netflix earlier this week. If you are in the mood for a foreign road movie with a lot of underlying emotional drama and as portrayed by well developed characters, I'd readily suggest you check this out and draw your own conclusion.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant...thought provoking! A must watch!
tempresident24 May 2022
I laughed so hard and cried even harder.

What a brilliant, thought provoking movie! With excellent actors, excellent directing. It takes you into the world of a soldier...the trauma they have to deal with when returning from war, having lived through the most horrific moments, unimaginable.

This movie leaves you with deep thought and appreciation for what soldiers sacrifice. As well as their loved ones.

That boat scene at the end...wow.
27 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Engin Akyurek the best actor ever
shoshstar-9134723 May 2022
I loved it and enjoyed it a lot. It is an integrated movie in terms of heroes, acting, directing and story. I will watch it again and again. The actor Engin Akyurek is a genius and international creator and a real talent😍
21 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Godspeed is a small masterpiece
Maisala3823 May 2022
Godspeed is a small masterpiece.

Very well performed.

Excellent photography.

Sublime soundtrack.

Congratulations to the whole team.

It is a film worthy of cinema collectors.
22 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A masterful Piece...A must watch movie!
faryalruttee24 May 2022
It's a movie that stirs you till the end with truth and traumas.

The movie illustrates another dimension of Engin's skills and acting power. Tolga also came through and reveals to be a perfect companion. What a brilliant combination!

A masterful piece... Engin Akyürek is awesome in his new character and such in control of his role. He never ceases to amaze us with his supreme and brilliant acting.

A story that values friendship, relationship and respect for everything on earth and from which many lessons can be learned.

You can't help admiring Engin Akyürek and the movie over and over again....though makes you cry each time.

My standing ovation to EnginAkyürek and my salutations to TolgaSaritas.

A must watch movie.
26 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Story of frienship broken by the war
tprosello-0816624 May 2022
Warning: Spoilers
Heart breaking story about consequences of war. The story of the friendship of captain Salih and liutenant Kerim is tell in a way of a very particular road trip, one that to understand you will need to watch with attention.

The acting is outstanding, as well as the music and photography.

I highly recommend this story to people that like touching and well acting dramas.
26 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Extremely beautiful!
shafsa-4445623 May 2022
Literally have no words to express. Feeling kinda over emotional to write. Kerim and Saleh made me cry so much. My heart is hurting for Salih. Acting performed by both the main leads are extremely magnificent. High work can be seen in every scene.
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Godspeed Review
benitaferreira23 May 2022
Excellent spellbinding movie. Expected nothing less from Engin, he is a phenomenal actor. All the cast gets a 10/10 from me. Good storyline. Laughed and cried.
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Mehmet Ada Oztekin
yusufpiskin27 May 2022
The film, adapted from Hakan Evrensel's novel of the same name, produced by Lanistar Media and Same Film, directed by Mehmet Ada Öztekin, starring Engin Akyürek and Tolga Saritas, was released on Netflix on May 23, 2022.

Mehmet ada oztekin definitely understood this job...

Öztekin is always in the director's chair whenever there is a work on netflix that can be watched lately.

The movie is technically very good.

4k dolby vision image and 5.1.2 channel dolby atmos sound reinforce the story of the movie.

I felt those explosions and gunshots in my heart...
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Real Facts And Story Line ,Predictable part of sections...A masterpiece for those people live in Reality !!
Austista24 May 2022
What A Movie !

Even though it was a simple and ordinary story at the beginning, it was a movie that has a deep story and you can feel the pain most deeply. I think that movies like this will be more beneficial to people than classic Hollywood movies.

The actors did a good job in the movie.
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A very eye-opening and high quality project!
pepperval26 May 2022
This movie is simply a masterpiece! The acting, the cast, the cinematography, the music, everything works in perfect harmony to create a robust and a very realistic scenario that millions of soldiers go through in their everyday's lives. The message is simply mind-blowing, outstanding! I highly recommend watching it!
17 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing film
ginoak24 May 2022
Amazing film Amazing cast Amazing acting Engin Akyürek, you are the best Have a unique performance Beautiful eyes expression And so handsome Love you so much.
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant!
soldeorog26 May 2022
This movie have everything, is funny is drama is emotional and is real, real traumas that happens all the time but is ignored by people, this movie is Hollywood style made, the acting is beyond any other Turkish actors, both main actors delivered very well every emotions. Bravo.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie
yosomary24 May 2022
Warning: Spoilers
The characters are amazing and engage in each seen! I love the movie so much. Specially the end I didn't expect that and i so really respect any country make any effort to raise irs military members!! Cheers turkey.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Totally Worth it.
soldeoro_g26 May 2022
Recomend to wach, you would be amazed by the quality of the whole project. Actors are superior of anything previous add in Netflix made in Turkey. The music was amazing, director did a great job, screenwriter described very well the characters psychology.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Godspeed
rcook-5171324 May 2022
Best movie I've seen in like a very long while. Every character was fully engaged ! My best is the protagonists showing us in every sense the damage that war inflicts both mentality, physically and our emotional well-being !!! What a great story for us all to learn from and glean from. Congratulations.
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I could not even breathe properly...
majlissolsson-7907025 May 2022
A beautiful story line, but also a very intelligent and sophisticated way to tell the story, You were kept on your tows to see what ending it would be... I think Turkey has a unique way to tell stories, this is a good example. Good acting, good atmosphere!!
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Without words , speaking with his eyes
halimamoslima28 May 2022
What a performance from Engin Akyürek, how he showed the problems from soldiers who faught, who were in the war . He is an actor who can speak without words , and only uses his eyes , you feel his pain, sorrow. He deserves much more appreciation . Further i never saw a chameleon actor as him , every other performance he changes his look.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing👏👏👏
josefinaliccioni28 May 2022
A most watch movie! Engin Akyürek as Captain Salih outstanding, a very touching and beautiful story about friendship and PTS a road trip that will touch your soul .
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Unmissable
cvalenze28 May 2022
I haven't seen a movie as intimate, deep and captivating as this one in a long time. It is a tragic story, masterfully performed by the main actors Engin Akyürek and Tolga Saritas.

The music, the locations and the photography are a tremendous contribution to the whole story. For me, unmissable!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wauw
yeeylisz1 June 2022
I don't get the ratings below 10. It was a great movie. Cried at the ending. And i love the actors they were really good. Some people say that it was like every other " soldier movie" but I don't think so.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One viewing not enough Akyürek is SUPERB
FriendsofEngin25 May 2022
Yolun Açik Olsun (Godspeed) is a brilliant rendition of an army veteran, grappling with his experience of war while back in society. Superb in every way, from every possible angle. Perfection from the two lead actors Engin Akyürek and Tolga Saritas plus the expertly assembled supporting cast. The role of Duygu is phenomenally played by Belfu Benian. The film forces us to face, head-on, the complex emotional issues of the forgotten soldier. Once again, Engin Akyürek outdoes himself - constantly setting new heights of the pinnacle that is his illustrious career. Wrap it all up with gorgeous cinematography, plus spectacular story and screenplay and viewers will find the need to watch over and over again. BRAVA!

#enginakyürek #tolgasaritas #yolunacikolsun #netflixturkiye #netflix #netflixmovies Yolun Açik Olsun is a brilliant rendition of an army veteran, grappling with his experience of war while back in society. Superb in every way, from every possible angle. Perfection from the two lead actors Engin Akyürek and Tolga Saritas plus the expertly assembled supporting cast. The role of Duygu is phenomenally played by Belfu Benian. The film forces us to face, head-on, the complex emotional issues of the forgotten soldier. Once again, Engin Akyürek outdoes himself - constantly setting new heights of the pinnacle that is his illustrious career. Wrap it all up with gorgeous cinematography, plus spectacular story and screenplay and viewers will find the need to watch over and over again. BRAVO!

#enginakyürek #tolgasaritas #yolunacikolsun #netflixturkiye #netflix #netflixmovies #enginakyurek #belfubenian #friendsofengin #turkishactors #extraordinaryenginakyürek #enginakyurek #belfubenian #friendsofengin #turkishactors #extraordinaryenginakyürek.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed