Pokkiri (2007) Poster

(2007)

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Perfect Vijay Movie.
akhil0277 June 2020
This is one of the perfect mass-masala entertainer movies in the country. I gave it an 8 because the movie did justice to that genre. I loved everything about this movie. From the intro to the climax. Remember this is a movie made in 2007. And my review is based on what I felt then. The movie starts with some goons chasing Vijay and him fighting them off. Then comes a song. I loved every second of it. Even Asin had chance to actually act instead of just being there and look pretty. The comedy tracks are outdated now but it made me LOL back in the day. All the songs are really good and fun to watch and listen. This movie had the best BGM in a Vijay movie until Kathi. Vijay was perfect for this movie. He didn't overact in any of the comedy scenes or when it came to punch dialogues. His dialogue deliveries were perfect. Pokkiri had the best twist ever in a masala movie. I did not see that coming. I still remember getting the chills watching him run. This made me a Vijay fan and the movies he did after Pokkiri changed my mind. :D
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One Man Show
smartsun_198617 January 2013
This one is sure to satisfy action thriller lovers. Plus points. Hero and Villain. Excellent casting. Chemistry between hero and heroine. Hair raising action. Racy script. Foot tapping songs. Excellent screenplay. Comedy except for the water joke.

I dnt find any negative points. Everything perfectly placed. One of the biggest grossers. An overall showcase of Vijay. Perfectly planned by the director though its a remake. was better than the original Kannada movie which felt annoying . Hate Kannada movies which has no star value. Music has greatly contributed to the film which adds flavour to the scenes. This movie will be an evergreen one for Vijay and to people even who hate him.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thalapathy Vijay
yuganderbhanoth13 June 2021
It is an Blockbuster movie..By this movie Vijay sir is again proven himself as he is a box office king.. Really,Even though it is an remake movieof telugu movie Pokkiri,while watching the movie we didn't address that,this is an remake movie..Vijay sir acting is mind-blowing, action scenes, Romantic scenes which are very cute, and comedy scenes are too good by Vadivelu sir, songs are too good, especially title song is awesome and BGM's are very nice.. At last,over all movie is superb and it is my all time favourite movie... So,I am giving 10/10 for this Box-office Blockbuster movie...
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Perfect ENTERTAINMENT...........................................
nmsuraj17 May 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Here is Pokkiri remake of the Telugu blockbuster with the same title.Prabu Deva has retained most of the scenes with only minor changes.The casting is good.

Prakash Raj and Nasser who acted in the original have done justice to their roles in the Tamil version too.Vijay fits the role well and so does Asin.Vadivel does good except for that stupid water joke.The chemistry between Vijay and Prakash Raj is great (just like in Ghilli).The scene where police restrain Prakash Raj from sleeping was fabulous.

Songs are not that great.

The only thing i didn't like this movie was with Vijay's mannerism in the movie.Most of his reactions in the movie were the same as in the original.I don't know if its the director or Vijay's idea,but it didn't work out well.Those who seen the Telugu version will find this little annoying.

But for others - its a TREAT...........................
17 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pokkiri, 80's American Action is Tamil
Dark_Lord_Mark4 November 2014
Pokkiri, 80's American Action is Tamil! I think this is a remake of the Bollywood movie PoKiri. Similar name, but this one stars action superstar Vijay(My Fav Indian actor behind SRK).

To go along with Vijay, there is Asin....possibly the most beautiful woman in the world.

THis movie is 80's coolness. It has everything an action movie should have. A hero, who MIGHT be a bad guy, who might be a good guy, who might snuff out crime.

Great wire work and great action scenes. America can learn from Indian movies. Apparently Indian action film directors were all 80's American movies lovers.

Is Vijay a good or bad guy? Will he fulfill his mission? Will Asin stop loving him? This is another must watch, without ruining the plot, this is high on action, with over the top heroes like movies should/used to be.

10 out of 10. I prefer this version because of Vijay and Asin.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Vijay's pokkiri
sj-283096 June 2021
Woooww!!! ....it's a complete three hours treat for movie lovers ..... Vijay has carried out this script so well ....few scenes look electrifying oly through his eyes .....this version of pokkiri is better than the original version.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
MASS COMERICAL MOIVE
mageshkumar-5139816 May 2021
One of the blockbuster moive of the year.

Super action comedy drama moive with twist in the climax.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Favorite entertaining movie
friendlyjesh17 May 2021
One of the best mass movie from Thalapathy vijay ... All are good like comedy , songs , fight scene, bgm.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Pokkiri
mukeshkhan-6372516 May 2021
It's very love and action drama. Vijay acting is extraordinary performance. Fight sequence also pure mass. Finally loved this movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Classic
sakthixlnz18 May 2021
Better than the original version Credits to Thalapathy 🔥👌🏻
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Pokkiri (2007)
santhosh-1029024 March 2018
The movie was not good. Nobody acted good in the movie. Only the fight scenes and Vadivelu's Comedy was good in the movie. Songs and BGM were good in the movie.
3 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Pokkiri is watchable for Vijay the entertainer
kumarankulam6 March 2021
Vijay and Prabhu Deva collaborate for the first time in the action entertainer Pokkiri which is the remake of the Mahesh Babu starrer Pokiri. This film looks pretty much like a festival kind film which serves as a perfect star vehicle for Vijay to expand his larger-than-life image by satisfying his hardcore fans. Just like his previous films, Vijay is again an entertainer, and more than performing, he is giving to the audience what they need from him. He proves once again that he is an all-rounder when it comes to action entertainers. While having such a big cast, Pokkiri works only for Vijay because the film sticks around him. We can't see the other actors shine in the film because they don't have much scope in this entertainer. Even the comic villain Prakash Raj is left with nothing more than getting beat by Vijay at the end. Pokkiri feels somewhat too large with its not-so-realistic action sequences and its flat narrative. There's nothing much exciting in the film except Vijay. The film becomes quite predictable and even the pre-climax plot twist is just a well-known aspect of the film that we have seen much in the past decades. The illogical scenes are pulling down the film's quality and it does disconnect the audience from the world that the film exists. There are many subplots in the film. We have a subplot for Vijay and Asin, Mukesh Tiwari and Asin, Prakash Raj and Napoleon and it goes on. This is somewhat an issue for this film because instead of driving into the main conflict the film deviates into unnecessary aspects that does pretty much nothing for the film. Until the scene where Nassar reveals the twist, we are just left with a rollercoaster which might be watchable but not memorable. It becomes inevitable to believe that Pokkiri has nothing much to offer to the audience. You can only retain the punch lines that Vijay continuously throws to his enemies and that's all. After Perarasu and Ramana, Prabhu Deva is the newly appointed director who takes on the usual Vijay template. This film might be a remake but it's still the ordinary Vijay film that you watched probably before with a different cast and crew but with the same Vijay. Overall, Pokkiri is watchable for Vijay the entertainer.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pokkiri Honest Review
gokulcbe13 January 2020
Okay, let me be clear about this. I am an ardent fan of Thalapathy Vijay. But I'm pretty sure that my review will not be biased. Thalapathy Vijay's swag is the one which I personally loved in Pokkiri. His mannerisms and dialogues were different compared to his previous commercial entertainers. Director Prabhudeva understood the pulse of the Tamil audience and us a clinical commercial entertainer of 2007. It ran for more than 100 days in many theaters.

Pokkiri is a full length Action Thriller with a fine twist in the end. I believe that in those days, the films with a twist or too much action were branded as "Thrillers". If Pokkiri releases today, even now I guarantee it can fill the theaters full of audience for 50 days or above except the fact that it will not be called a "Thriller".Again, if the songs ( which are actually Chartbusters ) are cut, maybe we can that thrilling experience.

Never ending laughs are given by Vadivelu. Famous "Vada Poche" started here. Sriman, Vaiyapuri and Karate Raja are also given importance and justice. Sriman becomes one of the core actors in the second half of the film. Asin's performance was lethal and measured throughout the film. Nasser takes a deep dive into the story in the last 30 minutes of the film. His part is less in the film even though it is satisfying enough. Napoleon comes in as a Police officer and does the job wonderfully. It's time to enter into Villain's party now. Mukesh Tiwari was too good as a bad cop, even though his character wasn't needed. Vijay-Tiwari scenes were quite unbelievable yet enjoyable. Anandraj as Narasimman is introduced as a devil but killed too easily. Vincent Asokan as Guru looks like a true don but given limited screen presence. Subbaraju is the one I loved a lot. The conflict between him and Vijay starts from the first scene and continues till the end in a funny way. Brindha Parekh as Mona is not necessary. Her scenes can be cut too. Finally, Prakash Raj is the main villain of the film. He has given his best in his short screen presence. He could have been introduced in the first half which could've given a depth to his character. All the characters in the film become important at last because each one is connected with the other. I appreciate Director Prabhudeva for this "Connection" as it not easy. Action and comedy are well balanced in Pokkiri. As I said earlier, even Villains make fun at parts. Even though songs are a barrier, they are enjoyable. Manisharma has done a great job with BGM and Music. My personal favorite is 'Dole Dole dhan'. Again, Kudos to Prabhudeva for giving Bollywood one of the best remakes in the decade 2000-2009. Cinematography by Nirav Shah deserves an applause too. So finally, Pokkiri is a film which ticks almost all the boxes of being a commercial entertainer. Running time is almost 2 hours 40 minutes. It could have been trimmed to 2 hours 15 minutes mercilessly. But, Vijay in top form and co-actors doing well, it doesn't give you a boring experience at all. I am writing this Spoiler Free review after watching Pokkiri for more than 10 times maybe.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Action thriller
vjpraveenvj12 June 2021
Warning: Spoilers
Super cop gangster blockbuster movie and pokkiri is my favorite movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed