Bait (2012) Poster

(III) (2012)

User Reviews

Review this title
108 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Surpsingly enough not horrible.
Boba_Fett113815 September 2012
It was real surprising for me to find out how watchable this movie actually was. I mean, a movie in which a shark attacks a bunch of people trapped in a supermarket, after a tsunami hit, doesn't exactly sound like high quality stuff. As a matter of fact. you would normally expect a movie like this to be extremely bad and cheesy but the movie, as it turned out, was far from cheesy and simply was being pretty good for what it was.

I still expected the worst, after the first 15 minutes or so, which wasn't exactly being a very promising start for the movie. It looked horrible and I feared for the rest of the movie. I expected it to be a very formulaic genre flick, in which nothing exciting or original ever happened. And even while the movie isn't being all that original, it still feels like a good watch, since it manages to entertain and takes itself serious enough.

That was perhaps being the key as to why the movie worked out; it took itself serious. Normally modern B-movies are very self aware and actors and directors obviously don't take their work all that serious. They make things deliberately cheesy to add to the fun factor and while this does work out at times, at others it makes the movie noting less but bad and annoying. In that regard it also was being refreshing to see how serious everybody involved took this movie. It definitely adds to the overall quality of the movie and its nice to see that this is a movie that took its audience serious and didn't treated them like a bunch of popcorn-eating-no-brainers, who only wanted to see lots of blood and nudity. The movie is not like that at all, even though the first 15 minutes would still suggest otherwise. Perhaps it was all deliberate and in the first 15 minutes they were like; 'this is what you expect us to do' and what after that follows was 'but this is what we are going to do with the concept'.

Thing I also liked about the movie was that it didn't featured one main, heroic character, in it, who saved everybody. instead there is a wide range of different characters in this, who all, just about, share an equal amount of screen time. None of them is pretending to be a hero, which also lets all of them all feel somewhat realistic and human-like.

On the downside; the special effects in this are pretty horrendous. Sort of funny that after 40-years, "Jaws" still has the most convincing looking shark in it. This movie too often relies on CGI effects, which aren't exactly of the best quality. But still, as far as shark movies go, this definitely is being one of the better ones, believe it or not.

Definitely watchable!

6/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/
59 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It was good
hobgoblinlol14 September 2012
OK when I saw the trailer for this I thought to myself that this movie was gonna be another cheap ''Shark night 3d'' but no. This movie had effort put into it and it's not a cheap awful Shark Night 3D. I enjoyed the movie. The acting was good, suspense was good, it had some twists that were nice too! and a great character development with humor. I enjoyed character development and relationships and the team work was great too. Yes, the CGI shark wasn't the best, but there were a lot of good scenes with non-CGI shark and gore scenes too.

This wasn't an average flick with no effort, it was a good movie. With effort put into it and does not deserve to get trashed by dumb kids with ''oooh, the movie was bad! I expected this too be God Father, but it disappointed me!!! skip it!!! 3/10 durr'' no, and that also applies to the first user reviewer (no offense) this is not cheap bad shark money- grabber for me. It's good flick

Yes, some facts about the shark may have been unrealistic, but so? doesn't make it a bad movie, cause it's a movie! and the idea is also nice and rare. You don't see a lot of movie with sharks, tsunami, and markets.

Check it out if you like Shark horror movies. It's not a masterpiece, but it's entertaining. Don't listen to ''average'' IMDb Mr.Negatives who won't give the movie 7 unless it's Citizen Kane or Pulp Fiction. Check it out.

6/10
61 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
More than just flesh...
BreakawayDaily14 September 2012
Some shark movies are laughable, cheesy, and way too far fetched (Sharktopus). Some shark movies and horror movies in general can just be unbelievably bad. This Australian film was a pleasant surprise. There wasn't scantily clad girls walking around topless (Piranha) or cheap thrills. This had some genuine pillow clenches, it had some unpredictability, great acting, and had a location I had not seen before in a shark movie, Australia. Most importantly it had characters I actually cared about! There is more to this shark flick than just sharp teeth and flesh. Dig your teeth into this film if you are a thriller, horror, shark movie fan.
44 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Remarkably watchable
jack_woods1 May 2013
Shark movies, how many good ones are out there? Well, after the obvious the list is pretty baron. However, Bait is remarkably watchable. I was quite surprised to find myself glued to the screen after over half an hour of character show and tell and only the opening shark scene to reel us in. The CGI and casting are the only two factors that plead with me to turn the movie off. For a thirty-mil budget the shark animations were truly inadequate, yet Bait managed to survive considering. Which is more than can be said for most civilians who aren't trapped in a supermarket given the state of that Australian coastline. Matthew Lessall and Ben Parkinson (Casting) need a job chat, some sideline characters offer absolutely, indescribably the worst performances I have ever seen. Listening to the psychotic Aussie robber, frantic store manager and squabbling couple in their car really made me shudder with anger. More time establishing deeper character backgrounds instead would have pleased, although they hold up pretty well for a shark flick.

Despite some teeth grinding actors and reminders of Bruce from Finding Nemo, Bait is visually very pleasing and makes for a worthy shark movie.

7/10.
21 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Good Stab
Wuelly14 September 2012
This was a good stab at a shark thriller.

I was actually pretty impressed with a few of the actors. Mind you I find a lot of Australian films to have really decent acting in them even with unknowns, regardless of the plot.

An original concept for a shark movie, good use of lighting and tension, and a few nice little plot twists.

A great balance of antagonists and protagonists in a "bunch of strangers" stranded setting.

The filming quality and mechanics of the feature are superior to the budget spent, in my opinion.

I found this to be a not bad at all Friday night watch. Great "BAGGAPOPCORNER" if you are in one of those moods where you aren't sure what to watch.
33 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Excellent directing, acting, and unfortunately some bad CGI
martinphoto17 September 2012
Right off the bat, I give this title 8/10. First, it needs some lovin'. At the time of reviewing this title, it has a rating of 5.3, which seriously, is way too low for such a campy horror film. Second, it's a shark in a supermarket, and really, how more original can you get? Anyone expecting an Oscar movie-going experience is knocking at the wrong door. But you know what, the thing is, this film is a lot better than most would have expected, me included. The cinematography is really nice. It clearly shows this movie was made with great care, attention to detail, and with passion for horror movies. The casting was perfect, the dialogues were well written, the location was great, and the suspense was very well created. It's just too bad they didn't get more budget for the CGI, because some scenes could have done with a better nip-tuck, especially the very first dramatic scene in the ocean. But overall, don't let that distract you: this film is a must see for any horror fan of the Shark genre. The film may be just a small fish in the sea of movies, but it's got all the gusto of the bigger ones out there.
28 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Best Shark Flick in 3D
elliott7821227 September 2012
I had mixed thoughts after reading reviews here but I decided to buy the 3D BluRay since it was on sale, glad I didn't listen to all the negative reviews. Phoebe Tonkin of the Secret Circle, Julian McMahon of Tip/Tuck and Dr. Doom in the Fantasitc Four, Xavier Samual from the Twilight Movies, not to mention a few other actors I did recognize from the movie Sanctum. First the good news the use of 3D in this movie is spot on everything coming at you from shark attacks to the minor details of other sea life like jelly fish and crabs, this movie is everything Shark Night wasn't. No its not boring its well paced with solid actors who take the material seriously. The movie never winks at itself and your become drawn in by the relationships, there is no one person who is the big hero and some unexpected deaths add to the drama. Now the bad while I will admit the special F/X could have used a bit more work they are miles above those seen in your typical SyFy Saturday Flick. I enjoyed the movie will watch again with friends and recommend it especially for those of us with 3D TV's you'll enjoy it all the more.
15 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Thoroughly Enjoyable
Australian's make great films. This is one the greatest in recent memory. My favourite Aussie flicks are Rogue, Triangle and The Reef, and now Bait 3D joins in too. The reason why I love Australian movies is because they are always character based and best of all they are interesting characters too, there's always playful banter between them or broken relationships. Bait throws a whole assortment of fun characters into a tightly packed, water filled feeding ground. A freak tsunami leaves a group of people trapped in a supermarket with a 12ft Great White Shark. Sounds over the top? Well actually the level of realism in this movie comes as a shock, because at first I thought this was a cheap straight to Blu-Ray but yet again the Australian's have proved that with strong set design, great casting and acting and nail biting tension scene you can create a realistic shark attack movie that never goes campy or unintentionally funny. Xavier Samuel and Sharni Vinson are outstanding, two great hero leads plus the rest of the cast are so exciting. There's an injured cop, two criminals, a down on his luck assistant, an argumentative couple, an ass-hole manager, old partners and shop workers, all these trapped in one room create rising tension, surprising laughs and plenty of development meaning you dig for the survival of this unlucky bunch. The 3D is brilliant, depth is apparent in every scene and the pop out effects are insane, from the actual shark jumping out at the screen as well as the supermarket shelves sprawling into the distance, this is how 3D should be and the opening beach scenes are jaw dropping! This is great fun, a must own and cannot be missed.
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Some of the worst CGI I have yet seen in a movie
alistairewallis6 December 2012
Good grief I'm glad I didn't go to the box office to see this bomb. The special effects are worse than a cheap mini series and spoil the entire movie. Who cares how well the actors try, with effects this bad the whole story is so unbelievable its only good for stoned surfers after a particularly heavy night, and even then its enough to give you a pounding headache. In fact its so bad I registered just to review this movie. Skip - skip skip... hey maybe the tsunami scene is better than the crap up until now... oh no its even worse! Seriously - the original Star Trek series has better effects with models. If I did any work in this movie I would be wearing a paper bag. Avoid at all costs.
17 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great Movie
lozzarox9827 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
At first I was expecting an average movie but when the tsunami hit and they got trapped it started to get better from there, some of the shark scenes were very unrealistic and I thought they could have done better than that but it was still OK. After awhile the movie got a bit boring and predictable, they would need to do something then everyone would stand up and try to be heroes and end up getting eaten by a shark.

Some things in the movie were a bit off, the bodies in the car park had already decomposed after not even a day and the sharks wouldn't continue to eat people they would stop after one or two, but that didn't really affect the outcome of the movie I just thought that they could have done better with that. Personally, I found this movie quite enjoyable because I actually live where the movie was filmed and the shot at the end where it shows the whole town destroyed was quite interesting and left me wondering if it would ever really look like that.

Overall I think it was an enjoyable movie and if you're looking for a disaster/shark attack movie this is the one for you.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Better than I had Expected! Go watch it!
saadgkhan24 September 2012
Bait 3D – CATCH IT (B) Bait is about a group of survivors from different walks of life find themselves trapped inside a submerged grocery store when a tsunami hits the coast of Queensland, Australia. As they try to escape to safety, they soon discover that there is a predator among them more deadly than the threat of drowning-vicious great white sharks lurking in the water, starved hungry for fresh meat. As the bloodthirsty sharks begin to pick the survivors off one by one, the group realizes that they must work together to find a way out without being eaten alive. Bait is Australia's first 3D movie and to be honest its better than I had expected. The special effects, the cast, the monstrous sharks and supermarket half in water is pretty convincing. The movie manages to have pretty famous young and old faces so Xavier Samuel (Good), Sharni Vinson (Too skinny), Phoebe Tonkin (Cool Brat), Lincoln Lewis (Hot Jock), Alex Russell (Cute Guy), Cariba Heine (Hot Chick) and Julian McMohan (Cool). Bait is really entertaining and unlike other horror/thrillers it keeps most of the good people alive so for a killer shark movie that was a new thing.
14 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Boring
rivertam2618 September 2012
I can't imagine it's all that hard that execute a killer shark flick. However I must be wrong because there are only a handful of them that really work like the original Jaws, the silly but incredibly entertaining Deep Blue Sea and Open Water amongst a few others. It's hard to believe something could be less effective in this sub genre recently than the cinematic dud Shark Night but here it is. A film populated with even dumber characters and tortuously painful pacing. The film features on a group of annoying characters after a painfully unnecessary setup who are given generically long back stories only so we can dislike them even more.They become trapped in a supermarket after a freak tsunami hits the coast with some hungry cgi sharks. The only positive thing about the film is a few bits of nice cinematography and decent spfx. Other than that its a hodgepodge of expected genre film clichés populated with some of the most annoyingly dumb characters I've seen in quite sometime. Unfortunately what could have been a cheesetastic gory foray into fun ends up committing the biggest cardinal sin of all it's terribly boring. Bait is a sad disappointment after seeing the tightly crafted trailer I expected so much more but I guess I should have known better it's just another in a long line of over budgeted flicks with less imagination and entertainment value than watching a leprechaun sequel, who knew looking back on the mediocre Jaws sequels that it would been some of the highest points in the cinematic sub genre. So sad, so very sad.
18 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Miserable, don't watch!
laidhie23 October 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This movie lacks anything I'm interested in when watching a horror movie (if it even aimed to be a horror movie - but even as a drama it fails in every aspect). The build-up is rushed and never explained. You're never sure how many sharks there actually are and what their motivation is. The sharks themselves behave completely unnatural. But let's boil it down a little more: 1. Where and/or why does the Tsunami come from? While not unheard of I doubt that a Tsunami of this magnitude (it pretty much destroyed half the city and flooded many buildings) wouldn't have been predicted.

2. How the f*** did the sharks get into the supermarket and what are the chances of two of them ending up there - let alone two great white sharks? 3. The whole layout of the supermarket and how the survivors were spread out after the tsunami hit was completely unbelievable.

4. Where was the shark while they were all still in the water.. SLOWLY moving towards the shelves? 5. How could the shark have had enough space to gain momentum for most of his out-of-water attacks? 6. What was the sharks motivation to kill? We see a scene where he refuses a pig and they explain he only wants fresh meat - fair enough but how much meat does he actually need? We saw him kill and eat at _least_ two humans within a short amount of time I doubt a shark can or even needs to eat that much - especially if he can be picky about what he eats 7. Loud noises were explained to attract the sharks in this movie - the opposite is the case. If you make loud noises the sharks will be slightly thrown off/confused - certainly not attracted though.

8. The "shark cam" (at least I presume it was supposed to be the point of view of the shark) was swimming in water WAY too shallow for the shark to get there. In general the water in the supermarket was insanely shallow for a shark of that size.

Now the really ridiculous:

9. They had at least 2 or 3 guns - only one of them held on to his gun and he never even thought about using it on the shark? WTF almost everything is wrong about this.

10. They just _had_ to shut off the electricity? Are there no fuses in Australia? I have a hard time believing that there was still electricity in this building to begin with. And now if you tell me that even if the fuses kick in there's still electricity in the cable - true but flipping the switch - in effect doing the same thing the fuses would do - wouldn't change that.

11. Electricity has such a high voltage that it will visibly produce sparks along the cable? b/s.

12. The way both sharks were killed was also unbelievable and ridiculous.

All the acting was terrible.
13 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
please kill this shark
cashiesbigbird19 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
one of the best ideas for a shark film, falls flat in this not scary, too dumb to be funny, shocking cg shark film, the cg was crap, there are no scares, and why did they not use the "robot" shark more it looked cool, the ending was a massive let done, not worth a rent, stick too these 3 great shark films "JAWS", "DEEP BLUE SEA", "THE REEF",and I can not get my head around the fact that there will be a part 2 of this, so glad that I did not waste money to watch this at the movies,I would not rate this film as a b film, it would be lucky to be a d movie, and also the cast is from the land down under and half of them seem to speak like there from the us and half from the gold coast, what gives?, Don't WASTE YOUR TIME OR YOUR MONEY.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
OMG! A shark in a grocery... yawn....
dipmonk9 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Spoilers!

I love creature features and shark films, but this movie makes it seems like the Aussie film industry is about 20 years behind Hollywood (which, if you've seen films like THE LOVED ONES or ANIMAL KINGDOM, isn't the case).

This movie...

...has TERRIBLE CGI. Like from a 90s TV show.

...is STUPID. The hero KILLS a great white with a Tazer. What!? And he kills the other great white with a shotgun. Is that the best the writers could do?

...is BORING. The countless talkie moments between characters drag - flat characters spouting flat dialogue.

...is PREDICTABLE and RACIST. It's perfectly obvious that the criminal with a heart of gold will redeem himself, the wayward grieving teen will make up with her father, etc. Also, the only characters to die are the unimportant ones, the jackasses, and... the Asians. Apparently Asians are to Australian movies what black people were to American ones a few decades ago. And while one is supposedly dating a white girl, the filmmakers don't even allow a kiss when she sends him off to die.

There are a few redeeming qualities - a shark in a grocery store is fun, a death involving a jumping shark is unexpectedly great, and a bit involving a dog is funny. But 20 seconds of cool is not worth 90 minutes of yawn. Stick to DEEP BLUE SEA.
12 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Without any logic!
pramandeep13 November 2012
Warning: Spoilers
The movie is full of illogical events. you will love it if you don't use your mind while watching a movie. A guy hits a shark with a shotgun, OK, But under the shark? was shark just swimming over or taking a stroll when you decided to shoot it with a shotgun? And sharks don't Eat humans! please watch some discovery, filmmakers. One dialogue is very true- They are Curious. yes they are, and they have nothing except their teeth to check a thing. That is the main reason behind Shark attacks. And where's Ryan? he just disappeared from the climax. he was safe and sound in the parking lot but didn't came up along with others.

in the starting they showed some events from each character's past but they were not connected anywhere in the whole film, just useless.

moreover, the graphics are not good. seems like an animation at times.

I'll give 3/10 to this one and won't recommend it to a friend.
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Giant killer shark in aisle four!
Woodyanders11 December 2012
Warning: Spoilers
A monstrous freak tsunami wave slams a previously peaceful beach community and floods a supermarket. A motley assortment of folks find themselves trapped in said grocery store with an enormous and ferocious giant shark. Director Kimble Rendall, working from a tight script by John Kim and Russell Mulcahy, relates the gripping story at a brisk pace, generates plenty of nerve-rattling tension, delivers a satisfyingly substantial amount of gore, and handles the potentially ludicrous premise with commendable seriousness. Moreover, the characters are drawn with some depth and the combination CGI and animatronic shark looks pretty cool. The solid acting from the capable cast rates as another definite asset, with especially sturdy work from Xavier Samuel as the troubled, but gutsy and resourceful Josh, Julian McMahon as noble criminal Doyle, Sharni Vinson as the sweet Tina, Phoebe Tonkin as rebellious teenager Jaimie, and Dan Wyllie as despicable no-count hoodlum Kirby. Ross Emery's spirited score hits the stirring spot. The crisp cinematography by Joe Ng and Alex Oh gives the picture an impressive polished look. An extremely enjoyable and suspenseful movie.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
It's a bit of fun. Treat it that way
jemnash206 October 2012
I'm going to start off by saying, this movie was awful. The story itself is ridiculous, the script is very poor, and the acting was average at best (although Julian McMahon put on a solid performance.

But I loved it. This is the type of movie you go see with a bunch of friends and just sit back and enjoy. It's a 'leave your brain at the door' type of movie. There are some comical lines as well as ridiculously stupid lines that just make you cry out with laughter. It's clearly evident that this movie is not taking itself serious at all, the story tells you that.

But you can still have a lot of fun with it. Don't sit there picking out all the flaws (because there are a hell of a lot of them), and don't take it seriously, the movie was not designed that way. Just enjoy the fact that "there's a 12 foot great white shark in here". There are some awesome scenes, as well as some really cool deaths (some that you wouldn't ever imagine)

The bottom line is, just enjoy the badness of this film, don't think about it, don't take it seriously, just enjoy it. That's what it was designed for.
10 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
An overused story-line, and it fails.
Michael-Hallows-Eve17 September 2012
This movie had potential despite the overused storyline. I had high hopes for this film after reading some reviews on well known horror websites. But after watching the first ten minutes my hopes went out the door. For starters, the special effects were not that good, and the 3D was average at best. I admit some of the gory parts were not too bad, but it wasn't enough to save the film. And the acting was below average compared to some Aussie horrors I've seen. You could tell that the accents they were trying to do were orientated towards the U.S market, as most Americans wouldn't understand what they were saying if they were speaking with the full Aussie twang unless there were subtitles, and that made the film even more laughable for me as a Kiwi who lived in Aussie for years. The idea was there but they failed to deliver here, again I'm sure it was aimed towards the U.S market. So I give this movie a 3 out of 10, the extra points for the gore (even though there wasn't a lot).
10 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not another one
Rickting15 October 2014
Stop doing this. Dumb, laughably awful shark movies are not funny anymore. As far as I'm concerned, they never were funny. Stop insulting Jaws and acting as if sharks are evil killing machines when they're not and make something which is actually funny. Yet another shark B movie, this one is The Mist meets Deep Blue Sea, as following a tsunami a supermarket is flooded and 2 horribly rendered great white sharks start snacking on the survivors trapped in the supermarket. That is a faintly awesome premise, and it could possibly happen in real life. The bad acting and writing were to be expected, but surely it would be fun and funny right? Wrong. This is about as exciting and interesting as your routine trip to the supermarket, and despite its potential it doesn't do anything or go anywhere. You can't criticize something which really doesn't care about actual quality too much and the direction is actually decent, but here's a tip: If you can't afford realistic CGI, don't use it at all!

So, terrible writing. That's alright because it's a B movie. The film's biggest crime is that it's not fun or funny. It's actually played relatively straight and it's totally lazy. None of these characters are interesting or funny, and there's no actual tension. Much of the film consists of underwater shots of sharks which could have come straight out of an old Play Station 1 game swimming around in circles. A good example of a dumb shark movie done right is Deep Blue Sea, which at least had some tense moments and clever shocks. This has none of that at all, and it's just another depressing descent into B movie tedium only this time we're in a supermarket. Some may find this a guilty pleasure kind of movie and that's what I was prepared for but instead the film takes itself too seriously even though it's ludicrous and nonsensical. Also, why so many annoying plot holes? If a film features so many stupid things it should at least make them funny. Throw this one to the sharks.

3/10
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Man comes up against nature in this shark-attack flick, which chomps down on a big part of our intelligence
jefflouvre-435-7736720 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
NEVER has being trapped in a flooded supermarket with a giant shark on the prowl feel so ludicrous.

The humans attempt many things to get out of their predicament, including fighting with each other, falling in love (again), bonding and shouting at the top of their lungs. It's a staple of doomsday movies to have couples who have separated to reconcile to overcome their difficulties.

To make things worse, there's another giant shark in the basement car park of the supermarket. By the way, the car park is dark and dingy and is the perfect place for crimes to take place. Malaysian shoppers would never tolerate this as some have been attacked even in brightly- lit underground carparks.

Meanwhile, the photography and editing are mediocre. The movie starts off so slow that viewers will wish that the Goddamn sharks just get into the picture and get on with their jobs.

Later, a woman in a tanktop is filmed to look like a sexy model in one shot. This happens when there's a respite between shark attacks.

Anyway, how did our heroes end up in the supermarket? To start off, we go back one year before the tsunami hits Australia's Gold Coast.

Josh (Xavier Samuel of The Twilight Saga: Eclipse), a lifeguard, is about to marry his fiancée, Tina (Sharni Vinson of Step Up 3D). Our first shot of her is her bikini rear.

Tina's brother is also a lifeguard. But on this fateful day, a shark has him for breakfast. Josh is too late to arrive to save him, and finds time to let out a plaintive wail in the middle of the sea.

A year later, Josh is single and working at the supermarket. Before the perfect storm hits, a teenager (Phoebe Tonkin), is caught shoplifting at the supermarket and handed over to her policeman father. Tina is back in town and bumps into Josh at the supermarket. Hei, where else would they meet in a coastal town?

However, she's not alone as she has a dour-looking Singaporean boyfriend (China's Yuwu Qi) with her. This could be his first English-speaking role as he speaks haltingly. Why didn't the filmmakers get an actor who could speak English fluently? Now everyone would think that Singaporeans can't speak English.

As the cop father puts his daughter in his car in the underground car park, he spots a robber (Julian McMahon of TV's Nip/Tuck) ready for action. He gets a gun from a box in the back of his car and goes after him.

I mention the box because it will play a big part in the finale. However, do cops carry a box with a gun, shotgun and a Taser and leave them unattended in their cars?

Anyway, the tsunami hits the coastal town and the robbers, cop, daughter and supermarket workers are trapped in the supermarket. Singaporean Adrian Phang plays the supermarket manager who gets cut down to size.

Now, there are two parallel actions going one: one in the supermarket and one in the underground car park.

An amorous couple, Kyle (Lincoln Lewis) and Heather (Cariba Heine), just finished rocking their BMW when the tsunami strikes. Why a middle-class couple feels excited in an underground car park is beyond explanation.

But this couple prove to be the best thing about the movie as their niggling arguments about fake Gucci bags and a cute dog are funny and lighten the situation amid the dreariness of the movie. However, I don't think they could have survived so long, and remain chatty, while being trapped in their submerged car.

The Singaporean boyfriend has a man-to-man talk with Josh and tells the latter that Tina was always talking about him. This makes me wonder why the Singaporean wants to be with a woman on the rebound and whose heart is with a Twilight actor.

The Singaporean then dons a weird contraption made up of supermarket baskets and weighed down by cans to walk underwater to turn off a power switch. A hose funnels air into his mask.

However, he stops a few feet away from the switch because the hose is short.

He removes the hose, switches off the power but fails to escape because of the weight of the cans. This begs the question: why didn't he also remove the cans before he switched off the power? In this way, he could have swam to safety.

In the finale, Josh gets to use the shotgun found in the box to kill a shark, but not before the shark hurtles at him and gets close to the shotgun. He then uses a taser to kill another shark.

www.jeffleemovies (FB and Twitter)
11 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Deep Blue Supermarket
BA_Harrison26 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
A tsunami floods a supermarket trapping a group of unfortunate people inside with a couple of ravenous great white sharks for company. It sounds stupid, and perhaps it is, but this shark movie from the pen of Russell Mulcahy (director of Highlander) is loads of gory fun, which is precisely what I want from such a film. The relatively low budget limits what can be done in terms of CGI, and the digital shark effects are the film's weakest point, but director Kimble Rendall doesn't let the obviously fake killer fish prevent him from delivering genuine suspense and thrills.

In the underground car park, several survivors try to avoid being eaten by a twelve footer circling their vehicles, while in the shop itself, a group find themselves trapped on top of shelving units, the aisles now a hunting ground for a great white. Unsuccessful escape attempts see the characters whittled down to a handful, those that don't make it going out in a welter of blood and mangled body parts. The film's gory highlight sees one poor victim having his lower half ripped off leaving his entrails dangling from his ravaged torso. Yum!

According to IMDb's trivia section, a sequel was announced, but there's been nothing yet. I'm up for another bite: when sharks are involved, I always take the bait.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Sharks go to supermarket
nethy-nho13 May 2019
Get together disaster movie and sharks was a great idea, I love pretty much both of two kind, and although don't explain the tsunami, this really don't care, but see how to people prey at a supermarket, fight for your lives is terrify. The movie have very scenes with great thriller and the sharks leaves everything even better. The sharks are well real, just CGI is not excellent some moments, but you still will get scary when they appear. In the end, the movie have cool and diferents characters which provide us good scenes, and have a plot satisfactory and cohesive.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Shopping with sharks
bowmanblue20 January 2015
Going to a supermarket is never a particularly thrilling experience. There are the screaming kids begging their parents for sweets, the queues, the trolleys with the wonky wheels and of course those awful self-service checkouts that never really work. However, the one thing I've never experienced at Tesco's, is a shark swimming down the aisle, chomping at my heels.

In 'Bait' we see just what happens if you let Great White sharks into your local hypermarket. It doesn't end well for anyone concerned. Great White sharks are less inclined to use clubcards and queue nicely at Customer Services departments while trying to exchange a faulty toaster; instead they tend to eat anyone who gets in their path.

Bait follows a long line of so-so B-movies, all with sharks as the main threat. However, whereas most of them are pretty forgettable, this one is actually pretty watchable. You'll notice I said 'watchable' not good. Sadly, the special effects are pretty awful (CGI sharks just don't cut it) and even some of the acting is pretty wooden.

However, that said, it's a fun - if incredibly silly - ride. If you think 'sharks in a supermarket' sounds like a good film, then you're probably the sort of person who can appreciate a daft little B-movie like this. But if you think it sounds totally ludicrous, then you're probably best bending a selection of wire shopping baskets all around your body in an attempt to put as much distance between you and the film as possible (seriously, that's what someone tries in Bait).

Personally, I loved Bait. It was silly, cheesy, fun and totally stupid. A bit like me (I like to think, anyway). I can't wait for the sequel (yes, there's one on its way, if you believe the online rumour mill). I'm hoping this time we'll have either 'sharks in school' or 'sharks in an old people's home.' Classic. I should write those ideas down and copyright them before they're stolen!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Based on a newly discovered play by William Shakespeare
utgard1414 July 2014
A tsunami hits the coast of Australia, trapping a group of (mostly pretty) people inside a flooded grocery store. Oh and there's a shark trapped in there with them. Okay, so just when you thought they couldn't come up with any new twists in the killer shark subgenre of horror, they go and come up with the brilliant idea of a shark in a grocery store. It's all pretty stupid but also kind of fun. It's a watchable popcorn flick. The Aussie cast is nice, including former H2O co-stars Phoebe Tonkin and Cariba Heine. They aren't mermaids here but that would have been cool. There's really nothing about this movie that stays with you after seeing it but, while you're watching, you'll probably enjoy it well enough.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed