A Boy Called Dad (2009) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A film about a boy neglected by his father out to prove he won't do the same!
i_hate_hatred_936 December 2010
This film is not something I would purposely seek out to watch, it isn't something that would catch my eye if I stumbled on the trailer, but it is something that I am glad to have been shown to. I only watched this as part of my exam preparation for Media Studies and I honestly think it is one of the most eye opening things I have ever seen. It covers issues that are very much alive today and really gets to the raw emotion of the situation Robbie is placed in. The film is incredibly well made and I seriously recommend that people go out and buy it, I promise that you will like it, even if you don't expect that you will. A Boy Called Dad proves the potential that independent film makers have and has blasted a massive hole in the market to be filled with feature films just like this that are hugely successful in doing what they do and are just as worthy of viewers as big Hollywood films we all go to see.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An affecting film that will stay with you long after you've left the cinema
roger-hadfield110 June 2010
You don't have to have a child yourself to feel the emotion seeping out of every frame of this affecting film - everyone will relate to the themes of regret, responsibility and second chances.

A great performance by Kyle Ward, for his first film role he shows a real depth of emotion and surprising subtlety at times and Ian Hart in the role of his absent father is great as always.

An emotionally charged, and in places extremely funny, script combined with some breathtaking cinematography lift 'A Boy Called Dad' above many of its contemporaries. The result is a film that won't just tug at the heart strings, but will shear right through them. A simple story told with honesty and integrity; one that will stay with you long after you've left the cinema.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Captivating and Real!
glds-110 August 2009
Director Brian Percival manages to maintain an even keel between the social relevance of teenage pregnancy and keeping the audience grounded in a young boy's innocence.

Following this personal journey from boyhood to fatherhood is a captivating and precious experience that is sure to tug on your heartstrings.

Julie Rutterford's dialogue is spot-on and the acting is brilliant. Ian Hart gives a great performance as Robbie's dead-beat dad and Kyle Ward (14-year old Robbie) brings a genuine honesty and reality to this film.

This intimate drama is not to be missed and a story that should never to be forgotten.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Worth seeing- great Performances
georgefrancis111 July 2009
Saw this film as part of the Best of the Fest in Edinburgh Film Festival. Whilst it has its flaws (particularly re the lack of representation of any real women characters) this is more than made up for by main story (which focuses on the Dads) which is moving and captivating and the performance of newcomer Kyle Ward (Robbie) alongside Ian Hart as his Dad. The film centres upon fatherhood and whether the chain of bad dads can be broken by Robbie. His interaction with his young baby son, inspired by his own treatment by his dad is especially moving, as is the reaction of the Welsh girl (Nia) he meets on the run with her own father. Definitely worth seeing especially if you have kids or intend to have them and fancy a cry!
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful, heartwarming and moving.
jtebretton23 June 2009
Have just come back from the Edinburgh Film Festival and having seen lots of films there, including the more popular, bigger budget films, this one really stands out as something special. Whilst watching the film I cried with laughter and cried with heartfelt emotion for the characters and their excellent portrayal of their situation. Brilliant acting and gorgeous scenery and camera work. I defy anyone to see this film and not enjoy it! Ian hart, as always, gives a very special, genuine performance but the most surprising performance is the effort put forward from the young lad who plays the teenage dad who goes on the run with his son. It's so heartening to see a depiction of teenage dads which isn't so incredibly negative. I didn't know what to expect but I can know say that I'm so glad to have seen this film.
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Director of Downton Abbey encroaches onto Ken Loach's territory....
tim-764-29185622 March 2012
For those who praised both the directing and writing of A Boy Called Dad might like to know that Brian Percival (who directed the multi-award winning ITV drama 'Downton Abbey') won a BAFTA along with screenwriter Julie Rutherford. That was a short, About A Girl, in 2001.

This re-teaming in 2009, a small £1million budget and a welcome star name of Ian Hart have produced a modest little gem of a Brit movie, filmed in Liverpool and north Wales. A Boy Called Dad stars 14 y.o. Kyle Ward, a natural and fine performance (though according to IMDb, hasn't been in anything since) from a lad who has a one night stand - and then fatherhood. The mother of the child has little contact with Robbie (Ward) and lives separately.

Enter jack-the-lad Robbie's Dad, a cheeky Liverpudlian with a VW pickup. He left Robbie and his mother some years before and says that he had moved to Ireland, when he had in fact, not. Robbie, after some reacquainting and bonding with his Dad, feels rejected and goes off the rails, kidnaps his own son and makes off in a car.

The film does have its moments of action, bursts of anger and a lot of quiet moments of contemplation and emotion. It won't suit everyone, though its very humanity should appeal to us all. It's whether we choose to actually sit down and watch it rather than something more gimmicky and instantly gratifying. It's not a great movie, but a good one.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Well worth a trip to see if you can!
ray-591-97983326 November 2009
Boy Called Dad- How good it was to see a refreshing, moving and relevant British film, something I've not seen since other low budget films like "This is England and Trainspotting". This is a film with a genuine desire to tell a story, convey a message, entertain and educate all with such integrity. The script was imaginative and real, the acting first class with characters we all know from the street round the corner. To see a film that is shot around my own childhood haunts such as the sea front at West Kirby instead of some distant exotic location is exciting and very pleasing. I hope this film launches Made Up North Productions into the mainstream of the British film industry as it should. Well worth a trip to see if you have the chance.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
very enjoyable
julianshouse20 July 2009
I think that overall A boy called dad is a very deep and very enjoyable movie. At first glance the film seems to be about teenage pregnancy, but there are so many more aspects to it. Such as how the method of fatherhood gets passed down through the generations and how the protagonist changes as he takes care of his son. I thought that Kyle Ward did a great job as Robbie, you could see that he was capable of great compassion but at the same time he could get very angry, overall the standard of acting was high all round. The cinematography was very lush, they chose to go lightly on the colour correction which gave it a more realistic feel but it the shots still look fantastic and compel you to watch on. The story was well written and the dialogue felt natural and original which was great. I would have liked to have seen more of the mother of Robbie's son, we don't see much of her throughout the movie and we never hear any of her story which could be quite interesting. But the story is mainly about the four generations of this family. There are some points when I felt like I had no idea what Robbie's plan was or what he was trying to do which didn't really achieve the exciting effect it should have. But these moments can be forgiven, the rest of the story is very compelling and will keep you on the edge of your seat at the end. Overall I really enjoyed A boy called Dad, especially the ending which I thought was very clever.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Amazing Film
sean-anthony-hunt31 August 2010
About a boy named Robbie who goes on a fantastic journey with his baby son. Robbie at first, see's his son occasionally from the babies mother. Later Robbie takes the baby from it's mothers boyfriend in which he thrillingly shoots the boyfriend in the foot and takes his car. This shows how much Robbie Cares about the baby and shows his rebellious side. Robbie then runs away in the car and this is where the storyline begins to unfold. Along the way you see the relationship the boy has with his father, the relationship between the boy and his baby son and where the boy has to hide out. Fantastic film, definitely worth seeing.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Captivating journey into the highs and lows of fatherhood.
bigb911 July 2009
This film could have so easily been lacklustre, miserable, tedious and dismal. After all it's about a fourteen year old (I think?)lad who goes on the run with his small baby, another reminder of the UK's spiralling teenage pregnancy rates. BUT IT'S NOT ANY OF THESE THINGS!!. A Boy called Dad is heartwarming, funny, yeah it's sad and I cried loads as did some of my friends, but this film manages a really difficult theme with great dignity and flair. I identified with someone who, on paper, I wouldn't have thought was possible but you can't help but imagine yourself on this young teenage dad's journey of unplanned fatherhood and the warm expansion of the love he feels for this helpless and lovable little mite. You feel sorry for them both and eventually proud of the young dad for having coped and developed so much as a decent human being.

I love Ian Hart's acting and he's always good value for money. Oh God, Robbie (the young lad) and his baby in the barn with the beautiful light shining on them both asleep (Don 't worry this point not essential to the plot!). Absolutely gorgeous. It reminded me a little of the Hayley Mills film when the kids find a man they think is Jesus. The bit that made me weep buckets though was the sub-plot of the beautiful welsh girl - won't tell you what happens as would spoil it! If I had to describe the film it would be as hard as nails but heartbreakingly sweet.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautifully shot film & captivating storyline!
hothandbags25 October 2010
First saw this film at the opening night of the Wirral Film Festival in Merseyside. This film is excellent, & is moving and captivating and the performance of newcomer Kyle Ward (Robbie) alongside Ian Hart as his Dad. The film centres upon fatherhood and whether the chain of bad dads can be broken by Robbie. His interaction with his young baby son, inspired by his own treatment by his dad is especially moving, as is the reaction of the Welsh girl (Nia) he meets on the run with her own father. There are beautiful artistic camera shots of the countryside, Definitely worth seeing especially if you have kids or intend to have them and fancy a cry!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Very good but maybe a missed opportunity to be even better
MattyGibbs21 May 2013
This is a drama about the father/son relationship. It follows Robbie a new 14 year old father whose disappointment with his relationship with his father leads him to make some wrong decisions concerning his new born son.

It is a well acted but bleak tale with an excellent performances from Kyle Ward as the young lad who wants to look after his son but is woefully under prepared for such a task. Ian Hart also does a good job as the stay away father that his son doesn't want to turn into.

A Boy Called Dad maybe would have benefited by following a more traditional path like the strong start of the movie as the situations that occur later are pretty implausible. As a result it does feel like this was a missed opportunity to create something really special. The middle of the film feels contrived but the ending I thought was pretty thought provoking and pulled the film back from disappointment.

This is a good small budget film and one I enjoyed and would recommend.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed