Deadline (2012) Poster

(I) (2012)

User Reviews

Review this title
17 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
why the bad reviews?
karlericsson22 July 2012
This is most definitely an anti-racist film and an intelligent one at that. There is also a good love story thrown in, in fact two good love stories if you count the one between father and son. That latter one is maybe not explored enough and dealt with in a rather "cartoonish" way but what can you expect to cover during 90 minutes? Eric Roberts has never been better and as far as I can see, being a guy, never more attractive-looking. Never knew he had so much stile.

Definitely one of them feel-good films and a pity to miss. Lucky for me that I expect people who vote for films are usually made up by the same crowd that would vote for a noise like "Stairway to Heaven" being the best song written. The masses are always wrong and there's a lot of deception-work constantly needed to keep it that way.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Intriguing movie re the good ole boys in Alabama
Speedysue200312 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Good movie. Bad music, but good storyline. I obviously am responding to jstreby review. First of all, you should pay attention to the movie. First of all, the 2 reporters are not working the obits. They are investigating an unsolved & un-investigated murder of a 15 year old black child in Amos, AL. The young cub reporter has a very rich parent. The car is a 2009 Nissan 370z. His fiancée is kinda difficult. You made a review based on watching 20 minutes of the movie.

This is a powerful story with a good plot. Based on a true story. This type of story has happened so much over the years that we have become immune to the significance of the story itself.

Racism is not dead in this country, it has just been accepted and people move on. I'm not saying that it is correct, but it is true. Why can't we as a people of this country put aside the color of our skin and respect every color?
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Interesting, I am glad I watched this movie
mistyboogieboo14 January 2021
I found this movie to be really good. I am a fan of Eric Roberts, which was why I wanted to watch it to begin with. It's sad that it's based on a true story, but a story that needed to be told.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Direct to DVD
clashjam23 February 2012
A film with some of the worst acting ever seen, Deadline (an AWFUL title) came across as a bad student film destined for a very short theatrical release. Saw this in Tennessee, and figured it's only in theaters here hoping to capitalize on the that it was filmed here.

Clichéd dialogue, stereotypical characters & unbelievable story development plague this film "inspired by a true story". Felt like a film from the 60s, not one from 2012.

There are many great films dealing with racial issues, but this is not one.

But it was great to Eric Roberts, who was the lone bright spot.

March 5, Addendum Note the two new "positive" user reviews are from the same person. Click on Cole and you'll see that the reviewer's name is Leslie Hutchens! My hunch is she worked on the film or is related to someone that did.
28 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Incredible story
Edservin23 October 2013
At first I thought the story will be depressing, as movies about suffering usually are, but this one is definitely not one of those.

They say it's a real story, which makes it even better. The movie is very interesting, it keeps you on your sit the whole time. Maybe the spins we get during the plot, the thrill, or the excitement, whichever be the case, it's a good movie, great acting for a movie like this perhaps of medium budget. I'll give it a 6 and I'll definitely could see it a second time. I read another review which totally talks down about the movie. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, we don't know who wrote that or why, but I can only say, give it a chance and watch it. And the best thing, the end was totally unexpected.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Deadline is dead
anon-36-96872024 July 2012
Yup it is pretty bad and its hard to figure how who is mostly at fault .. but I'm going to say the direction caused a lot of that stilted acting. We go from one scene to the next of conversation .. two people or three, standing or sitting, and giving either expositional dialogue ad infinitum, or right on the nose dialogue, which is just as boring. So, the accomplice to the murder of this film would go to the writer.

And if wouldn't it be great if actors, having been given such an awful script and such plodding direction, could at least try to find some way to work against the predictable and the stereotypical. If you can't, then try to find some charm in your character, something we'd like, or identify with.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A plot with great potential but squandered by uninspired filmmaking
jstreby00329 July 2012
"Deadline" could have been a near-great film, but the script, acting, and particularly the music and pacing were all badly done. This is the best illustration I've ever seen that any movie needs to have a beginning, a middle and and ending, if only for the purpose of building the dramatic tension needed to propel the story to its conclusion. The rock songs that were heard intermittently throughout did absolutely nothing to set the mood or tone, amounting instead to an annoying distraction. One has to wonder how any newspaper short of the New York Times could afford to pay two reporters to work primarily on obituaries, as apparently was the case with the two male protagonists (Eric Roberts and Steve Talley). The scene in which an inept deputy is drugged is utterly bizarre and unbelievable. It is hardly likely that a young cub reporter could afford a sports car (I was unable to recognize the make or model) that would typically cost upwards of $40,000. The courtroom scene near the end is a prime example of self-indulgent use of dramatic license that could have been avoided in the hands of a better screenwriter. Various other set-ups, which I'll not describe as they might be considered "spoilers," simply didn't ring true, again probably the product of hurried, poorly-vetted screen writing. Did anyone ever inform the screenwriter of this movie that the craft is labor-intensive, and it requires painstaking hours to eliminate the bugs from a plot? Am I sorry that I watched the movie? No. Does "Deadline" stand as further proof that the film industry, far from being any sort of meritocracy, is a dysfunctional system in which---despite all of the barriers that stand in the way of innovation and the infusion of new talent---consistently produces mediocre product? Absolutely. John Streby, attorney and novelist; jstreby003@comcast.net.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
excellent,great
tracihensley5118 June 2013
this was one of the best movies I've seen one netflix in a very long time .If you like mystery and murder lies and deceit well this one is for you.this is a racial movie that is set back during the time when black and white were segregated and was just a bad time for people of color in the south. I truly am glad that I was not there to have to witness the goings on of how the white were during that time and era in the south and not just the south all over everywhere there is actually racism but the way it went down that night here was just so sad. I do hope that movies like this will bring some healing to the people who had to endure such things.god bless
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I'd rather shoot myself in the head with a nail gun than watch this.
goatmetal22 July 2012
Dreadful, horrible, deplorable and extremely unpleasant. Those are just a few words that I would use to describe this movie. The fact that the incredible Eric Roberts is in this movie doesn't help one bit. For the first 20 minutes, the scenes that Roberts was in, all seemed like a cameo. Now for the acting. The acting wasn't bad...It was BEYOND bad. It made me think most of them just came out of a horrible high school play and then into this movie. And just what is with that boss of the newspaper? For those who haven't seen this movie yet, imagine the kid from Bad Santa. Now imagine him trying to be a very loud, mean and angry boss. That's what we got here. It just doesn't work! The soundtrack is very familiar. I know I heard it somewhere before.....Oh yeah, now I know. I heard it sometime during the 80's.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Yes, it is that bad.
ross-mckillop21 July 2012
As fellow reviewer "clashjam" pointed out, the previous (very positive) reviews surely must have been posted by people involved with this film. To compare this movie to "A Time To Kill" is only accurate in that they both cover a similar topic. That's where the similarities end.

The acting is appalling with the exception of a few minor characters who are given so little screen time that they didn't have a chance to be as horrible as everyone else.

The soundtrack/score is so painfully bad I have to believe that the musicians are related to someone involved in its development or funding. Or, the musicians helped fund the movie on the condition that their music was used.

If you haven't seen the movie "A Time To Kill" - watch it instead. If you have seen "A Time To Kill" - watch it again, instead.

I gave the movie two stars instead of 1 because Eric Roberts did have a few funny lines. I would have given it one star if zero was an option.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Low budget but very good story
lukondet24 July 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Wasn't expecting any miracles but I must say I found the plot to be extremely well structured. If you can get past the hackneyed dialog at least the director took time to develop the character of his main protagonist.The story has to do worth racism in Alabama. a crime form the past has remained unsolved for 19 years and an intrepid young reporter is drawn into a web of intrigue by a young beautiful heiress with a conscience. Eric Roberts is guilty of overacting in certain parts of the film but generally it was well shot if one considers the budget available and the characters were compelling. Those dealing with loss and those who have kept secrets for years were surprisingly appealing. We should keep our eyes on Lauren Jenkins; don't think this will be the last time we see her. Apparently it is all based on a true story. Well worth a watch!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Deadline
leslihutchins3 March 2012
I had the pleasure of seeing this film a few weeks ago at one of its premieres. It was even better than I had expected as I had heard about it several months ago. Being a southerner, I was over anxious to see this movie since it was based on a true story. Eric Roberts & Steve Talley both deliver an excellent performance in this film - very different roles for what we normally see from them on film. It was also wonderful to see a movie with such strong themes woven throughout - like family, race, & redemption. It reminded me of a Time to Kill & The Help. I encourage everyone to take the time to see this movie, but also check out the trailer at deadline film.com. You will not disappointed!
7 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must See
leslihutchins775 March 2012
I have to recommend Deadline as a movie you don't want to miss this year. Being based on a true story as well as a book, the story line is excellent & the script was well written. It kept me on the edge of my seat throughout its length. With elements of mystery, action, & even love, the movie flowed wonderfully. Steve Talley & Eric Roberts gave great performances along with the other local Tennessee talent that joined them on screen. I don't think you will be disappointed & I definitely encourage everyone to check this one out when it comes to a city near you. The red carpet experience is also one of a kind & something you sure don't see everyday!
6 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great story highlighting journalism
lesliemccaskey30 April 2012
Good look and insight to social justice and how it still can cause hurt and pain today. As a journalism major in college, it's great to see a film that showcases what we do and how this medium, whether it's online or print, is very important and can still be a hero! Please save jobs and get a subscription and support these hard workers. You never know what facts and stories they may uncover and bring justice to.

As the story starts unfolding, you appreciate the quirky relationship between the two main leads, Eric Roberts and Steve Talley. (loved that car)Another unexpected surprise is JD Souther, who I know from being a Nashville native and musician at heart.
3 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This is a film worth seeing if you're into journalism
bookpacific23 August 2012
Deadline is actually a very surprising, well-thought out little genre film centered around an unsolved murder mystery in the South and a pair of journalists sent in to uncover what really happened. Eric Roberts does a fine job as the older mentor, while Steve Talley is the younger, eager reporter trying to track down the story. For the budget, the film looks impressive and is well edited. Some of the scenes were actually shot on location in a Nashville newspaper newsroom, which adds some authenticity to it. From what I understand, the storyline is based on actual events from 20 years ago, which is an interesting side note. Overall, pretty good job and worth watching if you like 'reporter' movies.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Deadline is a powerful prayer for reconciliation
teddyme30 August 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Deadline's a powerful movie and an important story. Based on a true story that's as horrific as those of Emmett Till or Medgar Evers, Deadline brings to light one of the many little-known stories of racial hatred that have scarred the South for so long. But this is a movie that cares more about the people who are devastated by these events than about the events themselves. Their stories moved me to tears. These are real people who had to somehow find the strength to go on in the face of unthinkably cold-hearted hatred. When they do, and when the truth ultimately prevails, I felt a sense of redemption that was as powerful as anything I've ever felt in church. If you're a person who cares about social justice issues, Deadline is for you. You'll not only want to watch it, you'll want to share it with your friends. As an 8th grade social studies teacher, I'll be showing to my students as part of our study of racial reconciliation. It's that good...and that important.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Worth seeing! Eric Roberts is great
Alliel31923 August 2012
This film is definitely worth seeing. Good solid crime drama.

I was only familiar with Steve Tally from the American Pie movies and similar high school/college comedies. Who knew Steve Tally could pull it off, good for him. This is a great dramatic role for him. And I'm a huge fan of Eric Roberts - great role for him too!

It was actually after reading about the Trayvon Martin case that I stumbled across this movie and thought it was so timely. The stories were so similar and Deadline shows a side of reality that often goes ignored.

Make sure you check out the film!!
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed