The J Team (2021) Poster

(2021)

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Entertaining
mvasilion3 September 2021
I loved this movie. The story. I love Tisha Campbell and her for this role was amazing. She had me dying laughing. I loved the characters. Her guy best friend. I totally recommend this.
16 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
.
marianaborgesoliveira4 September 2021
This movie surprised me positively, it's very amazing.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What the..... was that?
jeff6813715 September 2021
Really? That was the most boring garbage I have ever seen. That phoney smiley upbeat dialogue is nauseating. TV programming has really gone downhill.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie!!!
candyaceswag4 September 2021
Loved the energy, passion and commitment to being yourself, friendship and the power of team. Great music, great cast led by Jojo Siwa, Tisha Campbell, Julia Marley and more! Our family will certainly be watching (and soon be singing along to) this fun, spirited movie again and again!
7 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Impressed
zcfcwryzs8 September 2021
I just watched this movie thinking it was going to just be a movie down the drain, but man was I wrong . This movie has such a deep meaning that so many people will probably over look. From what I got from this movie is " be yourself , and don't change for anyone. Love yourself and don't be afraid to show your true colors" I highly recommend this movie and really pay attention. You may find your self surprised on how she captures a subject that so many people push aside every day out of fear.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
If you're watching this and you're not a tween....
jessicaacrow21 September 2021
Or a parent of a tween, then WHAT ARE YOU DOING???? This movie is PERFECT for the audience it is intended for. Good message, positive role models. Enjoy!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Entertaining for Tweens and Teens . . . So there's that
bluvd-560127 September 2021
High energy, tons of color, masterful Disney Channel acting -- and that's about it. Drawing on what I consider to be a painful backstory, Jojo is being attacked for her individuality and style by a bully of a dance coach. Sound familiar? This dance coach pales in comparison to the real life coach Jojo was submitted to endure during her tenure on Dance Moms. Still, these spunky teens work through problems that are appropriate for the plot to be enjoyed by targeted audience. And the ending is predictable.

One of the things I most appreciated about this film is that Jojo maintains a relationship with a coach who models a healthier perspective. Also, this coach can dance. She doesn't dance like a teenager, but she is still in the dance scenes, up on her feet and moving. Hoorah for a coach who walks the walk AND talks the talk.

I wish there were more positive adult role models in this film. Other than the former coach, there really aren't any. Where are these dancers' parents really? More of that dreaded Disney disease where a mother or father or both are dead and poor orphan dancers are left to their own devices? (Exception: one dancer who won't approach her parents about leaving a dance team because they already paid for the costume and will get mad? Not a good example of solid communication.). It's not really addressed.

There is miscommunication, pettiness, and a lack of stepping up to address solving a problem in a timely manner to avoid more problems because those are the easy, typical conflicts in teen-dom flicks. Owning who you are is a pretty common trope, as are the outcomes of forgiveness and rising above. At least those are positive lessons taken away.

It could have been deeper . . . But, it is what it is -- a very dance-y Jojo Siwa showpiece where she is fully committed to being her energetic, bow-wearing, colorful self. She's hardworking and positive. If kids can be inspired to hold on to those attributes, then the movie has hit its target.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
cassiehensley-287789 September 2021
Not gonna lie i really thought it was gonna suck. I'm literally 17 watching this movie it was actually really good. The best part honestly was almost all of the positivity. There where a few times i was bored but my guess is just because it was mostly to entertain younger kids than myself. I'll also probably recommend this to my friends bahaha.
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Kids Will Love It.
STEVE24BUS6 September 2021
So why is a sixty five year old bloke watching a kids dance film? Because my wife loves Jojo. This is actually entertaining and full of energy, full of quite catchy songs. A great film for the children, you know the story, you know how it's going to end, but it's a great fun feelgood movie. Not something I would normally give the time of day to, have a fun family day with it, the kids will love it.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's Cute...For a kids movie
matteatch19 September 2021
Yes it's formulaic, and yes you can probably predict the ending within the first half hour of the movie. But it's cute and really is it such a bad thing to have multiple movies telling kids it's a good thing to be unique. The songs are pretty good actually and the dancing is really well choreographed. It's not winning any awards but if you want to watch a lighthearted movie that you don't have to think too hard about the plot of it's good for that.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed