"Lost" The Incident: Part 1 (TV Episode 2009) Poster

(TV Series)

(2009)

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Lost Delivers a Fitting Finale
ajaymittal15 May 2009
Far too often do TV dramas hold answers back until the end of each episode. This, quite obviously, is employed to retain the viewers' attention; very much like a child eating through their vegetables in pursuit of that promised dessert! However Lost is a pioneer in the unpredictable answer-feeding, a method that has given the series that extra edge when it comes to invoking surprise to its max. The Incident does exactly that as it introduces a very unfamiliar yet rather familiar character right from the outset.

The rest of this 2-part episode is very Lost-like in its script; polished to perfection resulting in 90 minutes of captivating and pulsating drama. In keeping with tradition the episode follows the usual framework that has served every one since the Season 1 – flashbacks (or forwards) with characters giving us their reasons for what they are doing. Enlightening the viewer with a sense of purpose keeps you more involved than you would be but also, and more importantly, it stirs up emotion as well. I thought that giving each main character a share of the limelight was in tune with the 'purpose' of the episode – that everyone had a part to play, not just Jack and Locke.

Yet what is Lost without unanswered questions? In what I believed to be a fantastic ending, Lost has kept us talking, theorizing, speculating and ultimately wanting more. What more can you ask?
51 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Too good
JackShephard198914 May 2009
It's known that Lost is one of the best TV-series ever but this episode is too good even for Lost standards. Even from the start (I mean the beginning of the first part of the Incident, in fact it is one big episode, not two) you discover things that you wanted to know just from the very first episodes. And the action really keeps you in tension. The finale of the episode is just brilliant. It let me thinking: "Why didn't I think about this?" It's just logic, everything makes perfect sense. It's very touching too. I can't wait for season 6, until now Lost got better and better,and after an episode like this, better means more than perfect.
76 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An incredible piece of storytelling prowess
ametaphysicalshark16 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
"The Incident" represents an incredible piece of storytelling prowess. The work of master storytellers who know their twists and turns, and with such an emotional foundation and rich mythology that the twists could not possibly feel less cheap.

The show is done with trying to satisfy a mainstream audience. If you don't know the ins and outs of "Lost" you would not have gotten everything out of "The Incident". If nothing else, you have to respect the fact that this is a major network show which rarely ever makes concessions to non-fans or casual, occasionally-tune-in viewers. It's almost a miracle it lasted this long, and with "The Incident" it could not be clearer that "Lost", during season 2 and the first few episodes of season 3 a clear example of dragged-out storytelling (as the network didn't set an end date, there was no way for the writers to properly plan the rest of the story). Once they got an end date for the show, they kicked into high gear and haven't slowed down since.

Season 5, overall, needs another viewing or maybe even two for me to make my mind up definitively about it. The entire thing definitely feels like an iffy whole, but looking back at specific episodes only a couple really disappointed. It also feels like a whole lot of setup for the final season, which at this point looks to be absolutely mind-blowing. They got a lot of clutter out of the way, which at times definitely got in the way of fluid storytelling, sometimes during episodes where that was an absolute necessity ("The Variable").

But with "The Incident" in mind season 5 seems much better. Usually a "Lost" finale is a payoff for the final few episodes of that season and setup for the next season. "There's No Place Like Home" felt especially like that, mainly concerned with tying up the loose ends of the season, and answering a big question from the previous finale. "The Incident", on the other hand, goes all the way back to season one for stuff to cover, and in fact doesn't tie up the major loose end introduced in the latter half of season 5. It's a different sort of finale, even deliberately slower-paced. It isn't just about tying up loose ends, it's about truly developing the story, pushing the complex (and I mean complex, not complicated) mythology of the series to new heights.

The obligatory action scenes are exceptional not only for their style but also for substance. Jack and Sawyer's fight has been expected for years, and nothing about the lead-up to it within this episode or the consequences feel unnecessary. The shootout at the Swan site is probably the best sustained action sequence of the series, and also serves a purpose. "The Incident" does fall slightly short of some of the show's high points in some of its sillier dramatics (mostly involving Sawyer, Juliet, and Kate), but the actors are so convincing and seemingly convinced by the material that the rare hackneyed moment really works.

Fortunately however, little about "The Incident" is hackneyed, especially nothing to do with the Jacob character. Mentioned first in season 2 (or was it just his list mentioned then? I forgot, but latest by season 3), and spoken of frequently since, he retains his mysteriousness here despite us being shown a lot of him. I am rather pleased that he is not some silly ghost, and am intrigued by the possibility which the first and penultimate scenes suggest of this being something reminiscent of the biblical Jacob & Esau. It would hardly be unfitting considering the many biblical allusions on the show.

"The Incident" is consistently intense and involving, with no scenes wasted on anything even remotely unnecessary. The closest to fluff filler here is Rose and Bernard's scene, but that was adorable and still necessary as a sort of closure. The drama in the final fifteen minutes is beyond thrilling, and the show returns in this episode to the days when a shocking reveal was really a shocking reveal. The penultimate scene contains a reveal so incredible I can't talk about it in a non-spoilery review. The fact that they did that, and that they ended this episode the way they do (the black-on-white thud-LOST at the end has to have significance, though I sincerely doubt it's anything as literal as some people think it is), along with pretty much every single narrative turn this episode took, suggests to me that these writers are among the best working at the moment in film or television. There is literally not the slightest indication at the end of this what next season will be like (hardly difficult to guess that season 4 would show us how they got off the island, for example), and that is frustrating. Frustrating, yet so exciting.

Not going to bother with recap or theorizing, but I can say that I'm on this ride and I like where it's going. Damon Lindelof and Carlton Cuse don't just play with grand concepts and ancient mythology, they have created their own grand concepts and their own grand mythology, and when all is said and done "Lost" will either stand as great entertainment with many high points and some sophistication, or as the high point of multi-season genre television, a truly complete and brilliant mythological epic. Right now it's on its way to being the latter.
17 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Fantastic
gridoon201814 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
LOST Season 5 has been uneven on the whole (by this series' standards, it's still great by "normal" standards), but in the last few episodes you get the feeling that it's building to something great, and right now in "The Incident" I'd say the series is back to the level of "Through The Looking Glass" - several separate plot lines/group of characters, all of them gripping, suspenseful and unpredictable, and extremely well-directed by Jack Bender. (Spoilers follow, so beware) In one of the best opening sequences I've seen in a long time, the identity of Jacob is finally revealed - and I felt relieved that he is NOT one of the previously introduced characters. That's what most fans were expecting, but it would make no sense from a storyline perspective, since none of the people who time-traveled had the opportunity to become powerful, feared bosses even at the 1950's ("Jughead"). And he is not a supernatural being, either - he is an ordinary-looking man with supernatural powers. The flashbacks in this episode are brilliant - just like in "Exodus", they belong to multiple characters, and we see how Jacob contacted each of them at an earlier point in their lives. It makes sense that nobody would remember him, just BECAUSE he looks so ordinary. And it also clears up the concept, again first suggested in "Exodus", that these people were selected and brought to the island on purpose - not exactly by "the island itself", but by Jacob. The fact that the episode finds time for genuinely sentimental moments (Rose and Bernard, Sun and Jin, etc.) in the middle of so much tension and mystery is one of the reasons the previous finales, and especially "Live Together, Die Alone", have such a classic status. Just one warning: the more familiar you are with the whole series, the more rewarding this episode will be for you. The script defies expectations and tricks the viewers at every turn, the mythology is thicker than ever before, Jack Bender directs in a very cinematic style, with suspenseful action scenes and clever revealing shots, the special effects are convincing, the music score is effective and the performances are top-notch.

"The Incident" is now part of my TOP-5 of the entire series, along with "The Man Behind The Curtain", "Flashes Before Your Eyes", "Pilot", and "Live Together, Die Alone". **** out of 4.
21 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Best. Finale. Ever?
itsgillian_w23 August 2009
I LOOOVE this episode. I was not expecting it to be as perfect as it is. That beginning! That ending! Just- - everything was perfect. Even the sweat stains. From that awesome beginning that is like any other Lost opening (premiere-wise) to that awesome skin-tingling cliffhanger ending, I've got nothing bad to say (except for the lack of sleep it caused, but it was worth it) about the Incident. This is definitely the best episode of the season. The face I had when L O S T banged onto the screen at the end of it was shock. Pure shock. And giddy. Oh, it was good. Deliciously good. The plot twist I did not see for 2000 miles coming.

Damon and Carlton know how to write their episodes of Lost. When it's all said and done next May, I will flood the house with my tears. Then I'll stop, and watch season 6 again. Then I'll cry and flood the house again.

Awesomely good. I will spare you from my rambling, now. See you in January!
22 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
opinion
harpua0316 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I think jack and the crew are gonna pop up back into present time.

Thats why Jacob's dying words were "They are coming" which evil Locke(Esau) expressed concern in facial expressions. Another interesting thing i saw was each of the things Hurley was released from jail with was an item Jacob conveyed to the people he interacted with. Jack - candy Sawyer - a pen Kate - money not to mention Jacob touched each of the people he interacted with in the past(is this the key to being able to come to the island?) I cant wait until next season. The finale really made up for all of the previous episodes this season which I felt were kinda lackluster. I also think they used a number of cool biblical references.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
What lies in the shadow of the statue
Dorje Wangden15 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
The comment I write will be for "The Incident" (Part 1 and 2), because it is a two-in-one episode as usual for the season final.

This episode again reveals some of the long hidden secrets, as for example, what is behind the wall of the hatch(season 2), who is Jacob, why does Richard Alpert not age, how did Locke come to life again after Ben killed him. And at the end of this episode there is a cliffhanger, similar to the last seasons, which will make the time waiting for season 6, quite long. What happened after the detonation of the hydrogen bomb? Will they be at LAX? Or still in 1977? What happens after Jacob's death? We are left with questions again, but that's what I love LOST for. See you in some weeks/months.
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
I'm Sorry I LOST Faith
MatrixMickey25 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Just to preface this I'm the biggest LOST fan of all time. Period. Every summer I re-watch every episode from every season, and I still cry at all the emotional parts. But the writers' strike during Season 4 did a serious number on the magic and beauty of the show, unforgivably cutting out two episodes. I was disgusted that my show was decaying, almost falling to the level of strict and predictable plot with no magic or beauty whatsoever (cough 24 cough). In Season 5 it started to recover, but it still was not at it's prime, and I feared that my show would conclude in Season 6 not nearly as wonderfully as it began. Then along came this season finale. Juliet has been my favorite character ever since she broke it off with Jack in "Something Nice Back Home," and every time she cries I can't help but cry myself. So "The Incident" took me to emotional levels I had never reached before. When she was being dragged into that pit I was screaming at the TV, yelling for her to hang on, and I haven't screamed at the TV since Prison Break Season 1. Then the fact that she was the big hero at the end made it even better. Then the fact that Jacob was reading "Everything that Rises must Converge," which I've actually read, made it even better. Then the fact that Locke hasn't been Locke for about half the season gave us something to look back through episodes for and made it even better. Don't say that this is the best finale since Season 3, say this is the best finale. Period.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Wow. Lost's best season finale since Through the Looking Glass
gizmomogwai23 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Just to clarify right off the bat, this review is for both parts of The Incident, which were aired as one episode. This is the best season finale of the show since season 3.

I didn't think season 5 was as great as everyone else thought, but the episode before The Incident came to a shocking conclusion. John Locke was leading the Others and Sun on a pilgrimage to Jacob, supreme leader of the Others- so that Locke could kill Jacob. The burning question is why? Why would he want to kill this man that we know nothing about? I realized that with the final season 5 episode, they were finally going to reveal Jacob. His identity was supposed to be a huge deal; in season 3 Hurley talks about a TV show he watched where the big bad guy's identity was kept a secret and he turned out to be someone previously thought to be a good guy. That seemed to foreshadow a similar revelation about Jacob. However, we finally see Jacob at the beginning of the episode, and he's no one we know, unless he's baby Aaron from the future, which I guess is still a possibility. We see him, but we still don't really know him. And that's a big part of the appeal of this episode. Like the rest of the show, Jacob is intriguing and mysterious. The expression on his face and the music associated with him make him god-like; as we see him in various times meeting future survivors of the plane crash, he comes across as the good guy despite the fact that we really know nothing about him. That mystery is a big part of Lost. Other things are mysterious: Who's his nemesis? Who did Jacob say was coming? (It couldn't be Widmore's people; they already came.) What was that ship we saw at the beginning of the episode? Could it be how the Others first arrived at the island?

Compared to the story following Locke, Ben, Jacob and Richard, the Jack vs. Kate and a bomb storyline isn't as compelling, I guess because, as Rose and Bernard point out, it's more of the same conflict we've seen before- even though it leads to the ultimate fight between Jack and Sawyer.

This episode is also interesting for Ben being given the task of killing Jacob. In having to turn against the master he served so loyally, the villainous, untrustworthy Ben is actually becoming a tragic character.

I don't know what the sixth and final season will bring, but I don't think Lost will let us down.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Well, it's a wonderful foot, Richard, but what does it have to do with Jacob?...
Chalice_Of_Evil4 June 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I'm someone who enjoyed the first three seasons of Lost, feeling that it reached its peak in Season 3, but then went downhill when certain annoying/pointless new characters were introduced towards the beginning of Season 4. I saw no point in the characters who were dropped onto the island via helicopter, and they ruined the season for me pretty much. It's a good thing that two out of those four characters got offed during Season 5 then (too bad it couldn't have come earlier).

'The Incident, Part 2', like a lot of 'Part 2's, was definitely better/more interesting than Part 1. Here's a list for you, Jacob...

What I liked about 'The Incident, Part 2': Finally seeing the origin of Jack's 'count to five' story, complete with him nicking his patient's dural sac and freaking out (no angel hair pasta, though).

Sawyer actually being the *mature* one and explaining that "what's done is done" to Jack (whose reason for wanting to blow the island sky high and change everything was so he could have a second chance with Kate), then proceeding to kick Jack's butt (and Jack returning the favour). It was great to watch five season's worth of animosity between the two finally getting released (bet Ben was glad it wasn't *him* getting beaten up for a change).

Juliet's simple, calm, "I've changed my mind." answer (when Sawyer questioned why she was suddenly all for Jack's plan) and watching Sawyer almost lose it was pretty funny. Her reasoning, however (ie. not wanting to lose Sawyer, because she loved him so much), was such a sad, emotional moment, and Elizabeth Mitchell killed me. She acted the HELL out of that scene (and it wouldn't be the only time she did so this episode).

Season 3 has always been my favourite, and that's because it introduced us to Juliet (as well as giving us more insight into Ben). Juliet's consistently been the most intriguing female character on the show since her introduction, and I felt that after Season 3, she had been getting short-changed. I was happy to see her with Sawyer this season and felt they were a much better couple than Jack/Kate, Sawyer/Kate or Jack/Juliet. Sawyer/Juliet had much more chemistry and were a far more mature couple. Of course, Jack and Kate had to come along and ruin things. I was glad when Sawyer yelled "I had a life!" whilst pummeling Jack.

Although I thought the Locke, Ben and Richard storyline kind of dragged and took away from the more interesting storyline of what was going on with the bomb, it did get interesting near the very end. I must say, the flashbacks to Jacob interacting with our characters off-island didn't really seem to have any payoff. What did it tell us besides the fact that he got around a lot? He didn't even bother appearing in Juliet's flashback. In the end, he was sitting under his wonderful foot statue, in his rocking chair, and decided that ticking off a knife-wielding Ben was a smart move. Just for that, he deserved to get repeatedly stabbed and kicked into the fire. Though, even for Locke, burning a still-alive man was pretty cold (though Jacob probably found it HOT...that came out wrong).

Everything from when the gang showed up to save stupid Jack's life (as he went to drop the bomb) was great. The shootouts, the electro-magnetic energy causing all manner of metal objects to go flying (and impale that one guy). It's such a shame that Juliet's demise was SO telegraphed beforehand, what with the red top she was wearing, her chance to get to safety on the sub but coming back - everything was pointing to her getting the shaft (quite literally). The writers didn't disappoint, going so far as to have some random chain snag her and drag her into the hatch. While I was glad to see Kate be the first one to attempt to help Juliet, she proved kind of useless when "reaching" to grab Juliet (though nowhere near as useless as Jack who, after hesitating for like a gazillion years to drop the bomb, got knocked out by a flying toolbox).

This scene, for me, was ALL about Juliet and Sawyer. Her crying in agonising pain, telling him how much she loved him, and him with his repeated "No!"s (though maybe he should have made his final words to her "I love you." instead?). Elizabeth Mitchell (as always) knocked it out of the park in this scene, and so did Josh Holloway, as a matter of fact. His cries of loss matched my own. That was it, I thought - my reason for sticking with the show had now gone. However, when we found bloodied Juliet still alive (barely) at the bottom, I was all sorts of happy that she was still breathing, but also saddened at the thought of the pain she was obviously in. But what a way to go out! Being the hero of the episode and the focus of the final minutes, making that bomb explode. You HAVE to come back, Juliet! Sawyer bestowed upon you his one and only nickname for you this episode: Blondie! (Is it just me, or has Sawyer been getting a little less imaginative/lazy with his nicknames for people over time? Three years of sedate Dharma life must've got to him).
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Seriously, they need to end it right here
mighty-hobo16 May 2009
I loved Lost as much as anybody could have, But I think that I'm simply too fatigued to devote myself to it anymore. I got so used to the awe and mystery of The Island that I should have known it couldn't last. When they sort of explained what the monster was, it was impossible for it to satiate my desire for an amazing explanation; the answer couldn't hold up the feeling of wonder.

And here is what I think is wrong with JJ Abrams. This is also seen in Cloverfield. He's talented at making the audience metaphorically drool for an amazing movie, but he spends so much time building up and building up that he can't satisfy. After watching so much Lost, Losing myself one might say (ha ha), I think that it is way too late to be answering questions that were raised in the first season. Most of us just don't care anymore. In fact, I don't think most of us could care as we don't have the emotional energy.

I think that they could just as well end the series right where it stands. This episode was brilliant, and I loved every minute of it. Everything but (perhaps evil?) future Locke is resolved, and that might be the only leg this show has to stand on in another season.

That said... I'm going to cry when this show is over. It's an amazing watch.
24 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Meeting Jacob
Claudio Carvalho20 April 2013
Frank Lapidus comes to the island with Ilana's group and she shows the mysterious content of a box that they found in the plane. Juliet, Kate and Sawyer escape from the submarine in a rescue boat and they meet Bernard and Rose. Jack, Saying, Richard and Eloise remove the core of the bomb and Jake and Sayid and goes to the Dharma barrack that is in security alert. Sayid is shot by Ben's father and they are rescued by Hurley and Miles. However they are stopped by Sayer, Kate and Juliet. Locke and The Others head to Jacob and Locke tells Ben that he should kill Jacob since he would do whatever he says. In flashbacks, Jacob meets Kate and Sawyer when they are children; Sayid, when Nadia is killed in a hit-and- run accident; and Ilana severely wounded; and Jin and Sun in their wedding.

"The Incident – Part 1" is an episode that goes nowhere and the viewer sees characters meeting Jacob. The mystery is actually a mess due to the non-chronological presentation of the story that seems to be in the end a confused puzzle where nothing is clear. My vote is five.

Title (Brazil): "The Incident – Part 1"
6 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Lost has lost it.
killdestroy15 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
My love for these series has been building up since episode 1 of season 1. At a certain point my love became so unconditional that I was prepared to swallow any sort of Michael-Bay-people-will-eat-anything-type of nonsense the creators of the show were going to come up with. But with the show becoming more and more promising, I just didn't expect them to treat their audiences like that.

Why turn every character into useless pawns when for 4 seasons they were complicated, motivated, deep people? Why trivialize most of the mysteries the island contains when for 4 seasons you had John Locke convincing people that everything on the island happens for a reason(which he did in my case)? Why stuff the show full with platitude when for 4 seasons you had nothing but pleasant surprise for us? I saw an interview with J.J. Abrams about the mystery box thing. Why contradict your own principal when it was working so well for the show? In the end, after episode 17, it suddenly came to me that I had no questions left that need answers.

What's the black monster? Don't really care anymore. What's the statue? Jacob lives there, but otherwise, don't really care anymore. Who's Jacob? He's the island God, but otherwise, I don't care anymore. Who's the other dude? Jacob's ex-friend-gone-nemesis dude, but don't care anymore.

I just hope the bomb-exploding-"Lost"-phasing-from-pure-white ending means that they wiped the slate clean and are going to try and make up for our and(most importantly) THEIR time spent making these useless 17 episodes. Although it didn't leave me wondering about what happened the way the other season finales did.
15 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Season 5: Not as smart as fans would suggest but the forward motion is a continued blessed relief that engaged me and made me want more (suggestive spoilers)
bob the moo22 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
As a result of Ben's actions those remaining on the island are finding themselves in a state of flux on the island, jumping with it through time. Meanwhile, the Oceanic 6 are having their own troubles despite having made it through the initial media interrogations, as Ben starts to recruit them to return to the island or risk the deaths of all those left behind. As every of course, nothing is as it seems and events see the survivors and the Oceanic 6 spread across time on the island.

Season 4 of Lost came to me just in the nick of time because although season 2 had been pretty good, season 3 felt like they were dragging their heels with no forward motion or direction for the majority of the time and instead a focus on pointless back story or one-off episodes (Jack getting a tattoo and Hurley fixing an old van still stick in my mind). S4 was much, much better and made me decide to stick with the show for the remaining seasons if it could keep it up. For the most part, season 5 does keep this up by actually delivering episodes that appear to be going somewhere and filling in some of the blanks while also expanding upon the bigger picture. Finally the time-travelling nature of the island starts to come together and it is across time that a lot of the action takes place once the return to the island is "resolved" (in so much as anything is ever really resolved on this show).

Although there continue to be far more questions than answers, this does give the impression that the writers know what they are doing and where they are going and this makes it more engaging to me. It may not be perfect and there may be plenty of holes that are visible or that feverish fans will be able to pick at once it is finished but it manages to delivery an engaging 40-odd minutes each week. It does have some weaker moments though and in particular I find the episodes with a heavy sort of religious mysticism to be the ones that struggle to hold my interest the most. These moments suggest that the bigger picture cannot be understood and that it just needs to be accepted and that riles me a little – fortunately season 5 doesn't do that very often and it is better for it. Mostly things start to come together, opening up other things for us to move into in the final season. Sure there are still holes and there are things that have been conveniently left behind unexplained but, for all its flaws, season 5 is engaging, interesting and dramatic and I, like everyone else, look forward to the final season to really be able to judge the show for what it was.
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews