Sonny Capone (2020) Poster

(2020)

User Reviews

Review this title
33 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Is it a joke ??
apepatch131 August 2020
I feel really sorry for everyone involved in this... There is not much that can be said but it is truly awful...So bad I could only believe its a joke..a terrible,awful joke.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So bad it's good
williamjbarry1 September 2020
I don't know it was a serious attempt at film or satire. It's really really really terrible
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A Masterclass in how NOT to make a movie
seanmurphy-5359031 August 2020
So why 2 stars ?, you may wonder. Sheer entertainment, but for all the wrong reasons. Acting, editing, props, mismatched locations and obviously, directing; the whole project is a disaster. But, even with my mouth agape with disbelief, I had great fun watching this. Yeah, I know, I need to get a life.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It's that badly made its funny!
daviddegiorgio10 September 2020
Think The Room but with no money and gangsters! If anything I laughed my head off at how terrible the film making, acting and writing is, so don't let low scores out you off. You will most definitely laugh, long as you know it's for the wrong reasons in this so called Crime thriller
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Irish Stew and Pizza
dcarroll7431 August 2020
That's about all you'd get for the estimated budget of this negative budget movie. As for the current 1 positive review, it is obvious it's somebody connected to this steaming pile, that is probably a student project. Find a day job and go back to it. Movie making and acting is definitely not the forte of this cast and crew.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Incredibly Bad
aidanco31 August 2020
Acting, Editing, Accents and screenplay all horrendous don't watch
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Made it the whole way through
ejayinc7 December 2020
I've never laughed so hard for all the wrong reasons.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Fantastically Bad
bowdarrell2 October 2020
This film is sooo bad, it's not even funny. I watched Naked Nuns With big Guns a few weeks ago, It was a masterpiece compared to this. This film Has no redeeming features.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not a good movie
dydmoney5 September 2020
Thought it was filmed in an iPhone or a comedy. Horrible if this is what the Italians and irish have to watch I feel for them.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I tried but... no.
ncm-338605 September 2020
In the first few minutes there was horrible camerawork and terrible acting; the narrator was also horrible at explaining the story. I thought this was just the beginning and I should give a shot since not everyone can act and maybe mistakes were made. But as I continued the acting never improved, neither did the cameras, storyline or scenes. I knew if this was how the first 30 mins was going to be, the rest will be exactly the same. So I just, I couldn't even though I am usually a "look at the bright side" type of person.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No Way!
seanprawn3335 September 2020
The best thing about this is reading the reviews...the only entertainment you'll get!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
awful
darr-974534 September 2020
Was one of the worst gangster films iv ever watched but watched to the end dont know why or how
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
This film shows that I too, can be a high flying movie producer / director with my very own iPhone.
dsebring-166-5983993 September 2020
The depth of emotion, was truly staggering. Like a drunk porcupine wandering through a see of balloons. The sheer genius of itlaian mafiosos in Rome speaking with Irish accents was absolutely brilliant!!!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Sorry, only made it 20 mins
Xavier_Stone1 September 2020
Perhaps it is unfair to review a movie after only 20 minutes. But to be fair this was as much as I needed to see.

I'm not impressed with what I see by then I tap out early. And there is a lot to be unimpressed with.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Makes me embarrassed to be Irish
seanq-464169 November 2020
The cheapest rubbish ever. It's like they filmed it on a new iphone and walked around the neighborhood and asked random people do you want to be in a film. The bar couldn't be any lower.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Waste of 20 mins of my life
z3rocool24 October 2020
This was the worst used 20 mins of my life. I couldn't go on anymore, it was so bad, the acting was terrible, the storyline was terrible, I think you could watch TikTok skits and be more entertained than watching this. An half Irish guy as a mob boss, makes no sense at all, you have to be a full blooded Italian and a made man, this guy was literally a pleb nobody.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Plastic, wooden, total garbages
jillyr-7737520 September 2020
This must be a spoof and a bad one at that. Rented it and feel robbed. Acting terrible, sets and props awful, special effects makeup looks like it's been done by a hobbyist face painter. If it is a spoof it's not funny!!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Kiss the Ring
nogodnomasters14 September 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Sonny (Gerard Daly ) has an Italian mother (Maria Fiorentini ) and an Irish father who separated when he was a child. Raised in Rome he inherits the Godfather position from his uncle. When a son he didn't know he had in Ireland is killed (apparently conceived on a trip to visit his dad), Sonny vows revenge against the Irish gangsters.

Apparently this is supposed to be a comedy or a spoof because it wasn't much of a crime story. It lacked the dialogue, swagger, and soundtrack of a comedy and relies strictly on plot which didn't carry the film.

Guide: F-word. sex. brief nudity.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Different from the usual crap
ileddysd1 September 2020
If you're not narrow minded and spoon fed on Hollywood blockbusters, like some of the ungrateful cry babies who posted reviews here, you might well enjoy this effort. It may look a bit cliche',-but it works and It's not pretentious, and it's even funny. I enjoyed this more than the last ten movies i watched; cinema releases included. If you liked 'Blood Car" - you will like this as well.
2 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
fantastic movie !
roger_202031 August 2020
One of, if not THE greatest mobster films of all time. "Sonny Capone" is a cinematic masterpiece from start to finish with it's brilliant pacing, brilliant performances and brilliant storytelling from the director Gerard Dalye. It's a film that is virtually flawless as there's not a single shot or edit that drags. There's nothing you could possibly change or clip from this final cut, you'd be hard pressed to nitpick anything wrong with this 90min classic. What makes "Sonny Capone" stand out from other gangster films is it's brutal portrayal of a life of crime, and nails every detail of the highs and lows in such a way that's cinematically stunning. So many iconic, quotable scenes make this one of the gangster films of all time.
3 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A movie before it's time
sfarrelly657 January 2021
This is a fantastic movie and would highly recommend it to anyone. I felt this movie captured the true essence of life in Dublin. This movie is a work of art and would hold its own against any big studio crime drama. I believe this movie should be considered for multiple Oscars particularly for the screenplay, editing and acting.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
this film grows on you
martenlawism1 December 2020
First time I seen this film , I taught it was a joke but on another viewing I really liked it strange but true
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Has been a very long time I laughed during a whole movie
IrishReg24 November 2020
Well, I assume it was not intended to be a comedy/parody but for the sake of everybody who worked on this "movie" I hope it was.. I could not stop laughing, after blinking my eyes and scratching my head for the first 3 minutes about what it was I was witnessing, I started to see the fun in it.. And yes there is a lot of fun to be got once you stop taking this movie for serious in any way. The acting, the venues, the plot...just hilarious..cult classic in the making
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
great Movie loved the special effects
viewtitalsfast23 November 2020
Its not my usual kind of movie but in this case it is happy
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Brilliant Movie great special effects
billyconnellyaa12 November 2020
Was surprised we are working from home see this Movie on Amazon loved it ,,

great murder scenes ,,
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed