Deathstroke Knights & Dragons: The Movie (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Just Fine
xtidusxyunax27 August 2020
Not much to say about this film.

It seems to have a brief origin story of Dealthstroke and the impact of him being a hired gun on his family which is a nice way to humanize him, especially in the latter half of the film with his son.

Nice fights, but that is about it. Not one of DC Animated best but I think it's serviceable if you want an animated feature on Deathstroke.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Okay
noahbetancourt25 August 2020
As a fan of the character, this could have been much better. The story was flat and the the voice acting never matched the characters they were playing. The animation style was also weird. What saved the movie was the gory action scene throughout. Nothing too crazy or extreme, but it saved the movie from being bad.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Wasted opportunity
gokuanton23 August 2020
Animation was decent, plot was unoriginal with generic action/superhero cliches, runtime bloated with too much exposition and the characters were one-dimenional and predictable with no consistency in personality, motivation, powers or ability. Deathstroke is one of DCs coolest and most complex characters, yet they gave him a basic superhero revenge/redemption story.

Waste of a great character and as well as an R rating that adds nothing to the screenplay.
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Really good DC animated movie
masonsaul1 September 2020
Despite it's overly melodramatic approach and a forgettable villiain, Deathstroke Knights and Dragons: The Movie is still a really good DC animated movie that's fun and action packed. Michael Chiklis gives a great lead performance and Sasha Alexander, Griffin Puatu and Faye Mata are all really good. Sung Jin Ahn's direction is really good, it's well paced and the animation is also really good. The music by Kevin Riepl is good.
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Deathstroke Expositions & Trops
sylgrio18 August 2020
Regrettably, the writing of the movie prefers to tell than show, in most of the conversations characters pause the movie to explain to the viewer something that could have been better integrated, and most of these times the other characters know the information already. Exposition is important and it is everywhere, in every storytelling format, but this movie is a good example of how to not do it.

The villain has an interesting character design, but he is poorly developed, with a horrible motivation to drive the plot, without spoiling it, you will find his reason for ruining Deathstroke's life quite laughable, and entirely his fault, it feels like an afterthought from the writer, added at the last moment, hurting the plot more than helping.

The animation style matches the theme of the movie pretty well, but it is sadly let down by a generic story that fails at any and every twist and turn. I am not sure why the movie is so violent when it seems to be written for a younger audience, trying to make Deathstroke into a relatable antihero.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Only thing left is to get it on the big screen!
therealjaysmoke7 December 2020
Deathstroke could possibly be the action hero movie that will save DC. They need to work fast and get this on the big screens. I don't know what's taking them so long. The animation was great, the story was great and I love the action n directing.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Bring Deathstroke to live Action Pleeeeease!
thehulkman30 August 2021
Animation was different which i liked very bold move in changing animation styles. But it works Violence is necessary R and used to its full potential. I need more though it was just a taste of what could be but i highly recommend it if you are like man and love the DC animated world that has been created.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful Movie
amirov26 December 2020
I love it soo machhhhhh Why Cansel Series???! I as fan Love to see Complete Series.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Enjoyed the movie a lot
silascriss16 November 2021
My expectations were low after seeing all the negative reviews. But after watching the movie I enjoyed myself a lot. The story, music, voice acting, and animation were cool. It's not a story I will remember in years down the road, but it was a DAMN good time waster. I didn't give a poop about Deathstroke as a character before this movie, but I will keep an eye out for content with him in it going forward.

Deathstoke does seem like a bootleg Wolverine... :P. They are so similar I'm sure there's been much debate which one would win in a fight.

This movie was better than most stuff Hollywood is putting out these days, especially Marvel. Marvel... give me these animations any day over another Disney Marvel movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Mixed Feelings
zwjonas26 June 2021
Great voice acting. Good characters. Nice animation. Good message. Definently multiple moderate-size plot hole that made it less enjoyable though.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Agonizing to listen to the wife
mrambrosio-1938720 February 2021
That ex-wife yikes. It's like I was stuck in a room listening to a divorced couple bicker for 2 hours over which one of them loves their psychopathic murderous children more. The voice acting and dialog made me cringe all the way. I felt bad for Deathstroke, repeatedly sacrificing himself for such awful humans. The story was twisted. The kids murdered all those innocent people and all is forgiven at the end.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not terrible
ijameson7 November 2020
Fairly violent telling of the death-stroke story.

But honestly, do American writers think the rest of the world cares about your landmarks, or your president? It really is the laziest form of writing, and reduces the climatic scene to a cliché.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Pretty dull
jcurtis-2712628 January 2021
It was decent I guess. The dialogue was awful. This family aspect put too much drama in it. Deathstroke seemed like a dad that can't handle his own family.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not a good movie
vegaxobscura7 October 2020
This is not a good movie. The story, the animation, and the voice acting is atrocious. As bad as all that is the wife makes you wonder how he could ever have been with her in every scene. Her dialogue is so bad you can't imagine that anyone could even come up with it but somehow they did.

The action is ok and that's about it.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Snore fest
camhero00723 December 2020
Wow I literally feel asleep watching this. First off hate this new animation direction they are going starting with this and continuing with Superman man of tomorrow, it's terrible and feels like it is taking steps backward not forward so please stop.

Second the story as many have already stated is filled with unneeded exposition and superhero origin cliche nonsense. Characters are boring even the main one.

These movies used to be good not sure what happened or why it digressed in quality. Here's hoping DC can turn it around though especially since their live action films are hot or complete miss.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Exposition: The Movie
MamadNobari9727 November 2020
80% of this movie is just exposition and flashbacks and every tropes and clichés you can think of is here. Slade is berated by everyone the entire movie and it gets tiring really quick. The villain is the villain in every movie and animation you can think of. The story is the same and there's nothing new here. Enemies are the most re*** ****s ever. DC's animations were always better than Marvel's, but jesus christ this is repetitive and stale. I want something new, not another 1 hour and half movie with expositions everywhere and a predictable plot and no good characterization. The animators didn't even bother to actually draw cars and buildings in one scene! We've had years of DC animated movies like this and it's 2020, just stop making movies like this and focus on making new good shows or movies that have something new and it's not full of clichés and exposition and actually put effort in it or I won't even bother watching another one.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Feels more of "Parenthood" than an action Flick
jjag1411 October 2021
Movie dialogues were written by some feminazi. It's all about women 'empowerment' with the wife screaming and abusing her husband and generally blaming him for all her mistakes and BS. Despite her BS she's still his only one despite him sleeping with everyone else.

But animation was good. If you ignore the idiotic dialogues and a barely evil villain you'll enjoy the movie.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Dialog is soooo bad
edarkmknightmshadowa15 June 2021
Story is kinda fine, comic book lights are nice but the lines... über-cringe.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Great Source material; overall disappointed
ryanhjaynes29 May 2021
When written by someone who actually cares about the source material, Deathstroke the Terminator has less to do with Teen Titans and more to do with being the shadowy scourge of 3rd world dictators and despots across the globe (for a hefty price). This is a character that can hold his own with Batman.

The story deserved better than cringe dialogue from the empowered when it's convenient ex-Wife. The tragic father routine loses all merit if you can't make the family dynamic in this story at least passable. Yet everyone's motivations seem completely at odds with with that end state. A strained relationship makes sense, but upon watching this you can't believe they ever cared about each other.

I know Greg Berlanti is the the DCEU rosters most consistent hit maker (except for Legends of Tomorrow, Batwoman, and late series Flash, and the unforgivable Stargirl), but a hard R rating is useless without a story to push it forward. Why is the script seemingly the last thing that people care about?
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
At least batman wasn't in this
Numberis627 February 2021
Deathstroke is known to be cool badass character.

In this series he's violent and still kind of unusual.

The movie is about Slade trying to save his son and learning about his past affairs.

The movie is really violent. Slade and everyone else isn't afraid to shed blood.

The villain is the Jackal, Hive and Slade's Children that he has betrayed. The villains were ok. Honestly The Ex-Wife was more of a threat. Everyone else just seemed like they were there for Slade to kill. They are more like a soap opera villain. Lastly, Jackals motivation didn't make sense at all and was very puny.

The voice work is alright. Nothing to praise or rip on. The Animation looks 75% complete. It looked incomplete. It looks similar to Avengers Assemble animation.

There's a lot of hand-to-hand fighting done and despite bad animation the movie fight sequences were great.

Overall an okay solo outing for the merc with an eye.

What can be learned? Hey Marvel, A Punisher series can be done.

Verdict: A merc with an eye
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed