Bad Teacher (2011) Poster

(2011)

User Reviews

Review this title
261 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Funnier than the reviews
darklydreamingrahu6 August 2011
Bad Teacher is funny in ways it shouldn't be. Cameron Diaz owns the role of Elizabeth as the foul-mouthed, pot smoking, trashy blonde teacher with a twisted outlook on life. Obscenities and bizarre sexual innuendo roll off her tongue perfectly. Justin Timberlake is hilarious and awkward as Scott. His character is complex and....well he's just awkward....there's no other way to describe it. Lucy Punch is the perfect counterpart to both Diaz and Timberlake's characters as Amy Squirrel. Her over-the-top performance is one you will remember. Jason Segel steals every scene he's in as Russell the equally foul mouthed and dirty gym teacher. Phyllis Smith is an adorable and strange addition to the movie as the confused Lynn Davis, bringing her own brand of corkiness to the plot. All in all, the casting of Bad Teacher is flawless and is really where the movie shines. The punchlines are delivered with punch and the characters are decently developed and complex in their own ways.

There are some setbacks to Bad Teacher which stop it from being a great comedy. The plot devices used to move the story along are unconvincing and overplayed. Character transformations are equally unconvincing, uninspired, and rushed. Some scenes feel forced for the sake of cheap laughs or shock value. None of it though is shocking enough for this to be an effective method of comedy. Sometimes the characters feel a bit too weird even for the universe of strange the movie sets early on. Jason Segel's Russell is the most interesting character in the movie and yet for some reason is greatly underused. He pops up in pointless scenes simply to interject a laugh and then disappears for long stretches of time.

Bad Teacher is a funny movie. The critics have not been so generous with their reviews, but who listens to them anymore anyways? If you are into dark comedies or a raunchy brand of humor, you will find yourself laughing with this one. While the plot devices are forced and some of the humor could have been better with a more subtle approach, overall this is a decent flick to chill out on the couch and laugh with. 7/10
125 out of 179 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Bad Teacher, Average Picture, Good review of the Picture
pawanpunjabithewriter23 April 2020
Just watched it. It's just a timepass movie, watch if you have enough time. We are at a lockdown here, so yeah completely free. It has many funny moments, and a story as well. I went in not expecting one. Turned out to be quite decent. The movie picks up brilliantly and the cast have done great job. The two top teachers are remarkable. Students could have been better had they learn from a great classic movie Kindergarten Cop! Average! Go for it if you have time!
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Let's hope they paid the actors more than the writers.....
diac22824 June 2011
Bad Teacher is a great concept that resulted in a style of humor like most of the Adult Swim cartoons you see today: When the jokes hit they hit well, but when they miss, they miss quite badly. The cast was delightful, but could only go so far with the material. As a matter of fact, it was the cast that saved the movie from being a total disaster by providing their comedic chops, their charm, and their good comic timing that you don't see enough of nowadays. Despite all that however, Bad teacher is a shiny apple with a few rotten parts.

Elizabeth Hasley (Cameron Diaz) is a foul-mouthed, bitter, and quite nasty teacher that is keeping the job only to pay the bills after her rich fiancée dumps her. Facing debt, aging, and loneliness, Elizabeth starts setting her sights on a boob job and on a new (rich) teacher (Justin Timberlake), whom has also captured the attention of a manipulative rival (Lucy Punch). The script was helmed by two veteran writers of The Office (Gene Stupnitsky, Lee Eisenberg) as they use their non-television ratings boundaries to mix plenty of vulgar and raunchy humor with even some tidbits of cruel humor. Unfortunately, their lack of boundaries led to a mediocre script.

This film's biggest falters come in the form of the script. Despite the promise in the premise and the cast involved, the script was convoluted, and didn't have much structure until the second half. As a matter of fact, the film switches up the pace very unexpectedly when the next act approaches. Pretty much almost all the crude and vulgar humor failed to draw laughs, with one notable exception involving one of the odder "sex" scenes in recent memory. The movie was a great idea not exactly explored upon, and was full of smaller ideas that were not utilized. Many good smaller characters did not get enough time in the script; most notably the students, the gym teacher (Jason Segal) and the main character's roommate (Erik Stonestreet).

Despite the writing being a fickle mess, the cast was superb, from the small roles to the big ones. Cameron Diaz I can honestly say is one of the most underrated talents in Hollywood, because she rarely ever delivers a mediocre or weak performance. She has this aura, this energy that can save the worst of films (See: What Happens in Vegas) and it is no different here. Despite her smoking/drinking/vulgar/manipulative/cynical/cruel/superficial ways, we still secretly root for her to succeed in reaching her goal. Very few actresses can pull off this type of charm.

Lucy Punch, despite having a bit of questionable material, delivers as Diaz's rival. Jason Segal could have helped the movie a lot more if he was in it more often, as he delivered the laughs every time he was on-screen with his wit, sarcasm, and I-don't-care attitude. Television staples Phyllis Smith and Erik Stonestreet were hilarious in the far-too-few moments they were on-screen. The movie does indeed have its laughs, but the potential was so much greater considering all the talented actors involved.

Jake Kasdan as a director doesn't have much of a resume, but he does have the comedic chops and timing, and he proved this with the underrated Walk Hard. With Bad Teacher, he did not have as much good material to work with but could have still helped the movie if he had tightened the first third of the movie better. There was a lot more unnecessary fluff in the first half of the movie compared to the second half. Smaller plot lines were never resolved, certain jokes literally fell off without a punchline, and certain situations were brought up but never explored. Many concepts were also never explored: especially that of how shallow and shady we all become towards each other in the workforce.

Bottom Line: Bad Teacher was a great idea, poorly executed, but relentlessly saved by the energetic cast. This movie could have mixed the dark charm of Bad Santa with the subtle workforce ridiculousness humor of Office Space to become something very, very special. But neither style of humor was dwelled upon deep enough. The first half had its laughs, but was far too convoluted and was salvaged mainly because of the hilarity of Cameron Diaz. The movie definitely picks up later, but by then its too late, the potential was wasted. Either way, you will certainly laugh, you will remain entertained, but will also be bothered by what it could have been.
149 out of 243 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad Teacher ?? Maybe. Bad Film? Absolutely
mmccord912630 June 2011
I know others will disagree with me, but this has got to be in the running for the pick for the Razzies this year. What a pathetic piece of crap. The storyline was boring and the jokes either over-the-top, or, worst, not even close to funny. It never fails to amaze me when really bad ideas not only get to be screenplays, but they actually wind up getting produced. And...Timberlake's character...what was he thinking when he took this role??? Yeah, Diaz is still a hot body and all, but even that couldn't save something so downright dumb. I won't bother with any spoilers; it's not worth the effort. Save your money. This one will simply insult your intelligence. I would give it a minus one if I could.
254 out of 441 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Politically Incorrect, Brainless but Hilarious
claudio_carvalho11 January 2012
The gold digger Elizabeth Halsey (Cameron Diaz) quits her job as a teacher at the JAM High School expecting to marry her wealthy fiancé. However, he calls off their engagement and Elizabeth returns to the school.

Elizabeth is reckless, incompetent, pothead and does not give any attention to the students and her coworkers, and she shows movies to her students along the classes. The envious teacher Amy Squirrel (Lucy Punch) hates Elizabeth and they are estranged to each other.

When Elizabeth meets the substitute teacher Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake), she discovers that he is very rich and she flirts with him. Further, she learns that Scott likes big breasts and she decides to have a surgery of silicone-implant. She needs to raise US$ 10,000.00 for the breast-implant, and she learns that the teacher that gets the best scores in the state exam would receive US$ 5,700.00 bonus. Elizabeth changes her attitude and teaches her students to prepare them for the exams. However, Elizabeth uses an unethical means to win the competition and Amy seeks evidences to prove that Elizabeth has cheated the exams.

"Bad Teacher" is a politically incorrect, brainless but very hilarious film. Cameron Diaz performs the most awful teacher of cinema history, the opposite of Sidney Poitier in "To Sir with Love"; Edward James Olmos in "Stand and Deliver" or Michelle Pfeiffer in "Dangerous Minds". Elizabeth Halsey is a slut, pothead, reckless, gold digger, corrupter, cheater, blackmailer and everything that is not good. But I Laughed a lot with this forgettable film. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "Professora sem Classe" ("Teacher without Class")
67 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bad Reviews .... Great Movie !!!
trulycanadian122 August 2011
Great film lots of laughs !

I know that after reading all these horrible reviews everyone is going to think that this movie sucks... In all reality some viewers seem to have lost track of the fact that the film is rated R. The majority of negative comments are most likely coming from the stereo typical views of those very people who in the film were made to seem ridiculous. A.K.A all the mothers who are still most likely listening to there children's poetry hahaha. Cut the umbilical people and lighten up this is an Adult Comedy Rated R so don't rate the film as if you were expecting to watch Bambi on family night.
70 out of 121 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the funniest comedies in recent memory, truly funny.
silver80830 May 2013
Truly one of the funniest movies in recent memory.

This comedy is one of the greats, it pulls no punches and has it all. It is very well written and the characters work very well and are full of themselves perfectly so. Cameron Diaz is amazing in this ultra scheming seductress role, and all the teacher characters are so well written and done, you know there is a perfect recipe for a very well written comedy that is so outrageous at times , yet really does work at what it is meant to deliver. For sure it is gross at times, the scene with Justin Timberlake is way beyond gross, but because of the character he is playing so well, it works and is funny. You will find this movie funny.
24 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
America Continues To Sink
donjeffries26 June 2011
Another comic "gem" to satisfy the cravings of an increasingly stupid viewing audience, "Bad Teacher" is accurately titled. Cameron Diaz, who is also a bad actress, is indeed very, very bad in this film. Her character is entirely absent any remotely positive traits. There's nothing to like about her, and yet we are supposed to root for her. A film with a title like this would once have been relegated to the porn industry. Now it's just part of mainstream "comedy," right there alongside other immortal classics like "Super Bad," "Jack Ass," "Kick Ass," etc.

Yes, it was awe inspiring to watch dear Cameron fire balls at the heads of little boys. Not little girls, of course- that wouldn't be funny. It's only humorous to watch little boys in pain. Ha Ha. Think of it- the writers are depicting an adult abusing children, and we're laughing at it! Reverse the roles- can you imagine a "comedy" where a male teacher abuses little girls, and the audience is amused by it?

Several obvious sequels spring to mind here; Bad Student, Bad Principal, Bad Janitor, Bad Cafeteria Lady, etc. The possibilities are endless. The American idiocracy apparently have an unlimited appetite for these mindless, immature "comedies" that could all have been written by 12 year old boys. I guess these "writers" never run out of ways to portray farting, male asses and men getting hurt (usually by getting hit in the crotch). Thank goodness their "talent" was recognized and is being put to such good use.

Everyone who had anything to do with this monstrously bad movie should be ashamed of themselves. The messages it sends are horrendous. If "bad teachers" start popping up in real life, they should never be held accountable for their actions, no matter how despicable they are. After all, Hollywood has told us that such creatures are hilarious, even lovable. So lighten up, it's all in good fun!
178 out of 359 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Meh...It's Good for a Few Laughs
brando64712 December 2011
First Santa, now a middle school teacher. I feel as if we're on the verge of a new trend of bad *insert occupation here*. Bad toll booth operators, bad samurai deli clerks…where will it end? Anyway, this is the latest from comedy director Jake Kasdan (WALK HARD) and a decently funny movie with some great moments but finds a major problem in its main character. 2011 hasn't been super strong with comedies; there have been some real good ones (BRIDESMAIDS) but most of them have been pretty forgettable (PAUL). This movie is pretty funny but it still ends on the low end of the spectrum. Cameron Diaz is Elizabeth Halsey, a gold-digging narcissist who has somehow made a career of being a middle school teacher. She believes she's found her way out with a rich fiancé to tend to her every need, but it falls apart when he finally realizes she's using him. Elizabeth is forced to return to her teaching job, where she proceeds to care even less than before. She fends off the advances of gym teacher Russell (Jason Segel) and focuses her attention on landing the new substitute teacher, Scott (Justin Timberlake). Elizabeth realizes that the only way she'll snag Scott's attention is a little self-improvement. Not becoming a decent person or anything, just a breast enhancement. From then on, she lies, cheats, and steals her way to the money she'll need for the surgery; and the only one who suffers is the good teacher (Lucy Punch) who just wants Elizabeth to do her job.

In A CLOCKWORK ORANGE, young Alex (Malcolm McDowell) robs, rapes, and commits horrible acts of violence but maintains a charismatic personality that allows the audience to root for him. Elizabeth Halsey in BAD TEACHER, does not. The "protagonist" in this movie also happens to be the least likable person in the film. As a result, the movie comes off as a little backwards. The character we're supposed to support (Elizabeth) is just a horrible person with absolutely no redeeming qualities presented until the final act of the film. And I mean none. She was a gold-digging fiancé, she's perpetually drunk/high on the job, and she coldly dismisses gym teacher Russell's advances without a glance in favor of stalking the new substitute with the massive bank account. It would almost make more sense if the film focused on Ms. Squirrel (Lucy Punch) living out her dream teaching career when trouble-making Elizabeth comes along and steals her thunder in underhanded ways. Punch should be the protagonist, and Elizabeth the antagonist. But it's not; instead we watch as the film's "good guy" punishes the "bad guy" for nothing other than doing her job and doing it well. Oh well, whatever…it's just a comedy after all. Antiheroes can be fun and it works as long as the film is funny, which it mostly is. The movie is good for some laughs, though it's tough to be anything but distant as you watch everything going down without ever really being drawn into the story.

Cameron Diaz really is the best person for this role. Not because she's horribly unlikeable (I assume she's not) but because she's got a decent comedic background in her films and she's still capable of pulling off drop-dead beauty. In BAD TEACHER, she's the teacher we all wished we'd had in middle school. She really drives the point home when she volunteers to work the school's charity car wash so she can pilfer funds. The supporting cast in this movie is what really makes it enjoyable. Jason Segel is always great as a lovable schlub (which pretty much sums up his gym teacher character) and Lucy Punch is hilariously eccentric as Ms. Squirrel. I've also got to give credit to Phyllis Smith as Elizabeth's friend Lynn. She's probably the funniest part of the movie as the soft-spoken conservative friend who wants so badly to be as cool as Elizabeth but can't bring herself to commit to the debauchery. Honestly, the main character may be crap but the movie does have some real funny moments. I just don't know if there's enough to save it from fading out shortly after watching it. If it helps, I find the movie is funnier the less sober you are when watching it.
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Female teacher needs a new sugar daddy. Will it be the new substitute teacher or the slacker gym teacher?
kingownsyou10 February 2011
Beforehand I found Cameron Diaz as the lead character in a raunchy comedy off putting. I was pleasantly surprised I neither wanted to stab her or myself after seeing this movie. She pulls off the recently dumped, vulgar, Junior High teacher off pretty well.

Diaz stars as the titular teacher Elizabeth Halsey. Her fiancé dumps her very early on in an unexpected tone setting scene. She is an educator without a care of education who needs a new man's bank account to rest on. Enter Justin Timberlake as the hot, new substitute teacher with plenty of family money. Timberlake plays the dorky, yet hot teacher very well culminating in his facial expressions in a "moment of pleasure".

Jason Segel guest stars as the slacker gym teach with intent to hook up with the vulnerable Diaz. Segel albeit funny is under utilized in this smart, well written comedy. Lucy Punch is hilarious as the perky, over the top model teacher also vying for Timberlake's attention.

The film is a comedy that should succeed much better than anyone whose ever heard of Cameron Diaz would expect. It comes across very 'Apatowian'. Its smart and just keeps going further down the road of crass, yet enjoyable raunchiness. It also sports the best scene of an exploding bowel movement since Austin Powers.
68 out of 130 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not funny, corny, a real waste of time. Hollywood has givin up trying
fire-5824 December 2011
I gave this movie a 2 JUST because Cameron diaz was smokin hot in this movie.

1. Not Funny Me and my stupid friends could have made up better jokes then who ever wrote this movie, i mean t was really really bad i don't think i laughed one time at all. The only thing funny about this movie was how bad the plot it.

2. Plot not thought out So where is the plot of this movie? She needs money? oh shes a bad teacher, thats right.

They were trying to make this movie float on shock value but it did not work.

I wish i did not even spend a dollar on it at the red box.
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Greatest "bad" movie ever
aliciapereira-8309424 December 2020
This is just hilarious. You can either love it or hate it I guess. I think what really works in the movie is the cast. All the actors are perfect for each role. Of course this is not a great film but it is entertaining as hell and I love the humour
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A parade of unpleasant, unfunny individuals.
rorschach-milk13 April 2013
I had the misfortune of seeing this movie because my roommate was watching it. Rarely do I find a film where absolutely none of the characters are worthy of empathy or laughter. The dialogue is cruel more than humorous and the plot is composed of various unpleasant people doing unbelievable things. A "parade of bad" CAN be funny (see: Always Sunny in Philadelphia, The League) but there has to be some sort of wit and human element. Bad Teacher has neither. I recommend this movie to people who love reality television or those who think being mean is the pinnacle of comedy. Anyone with a modicum of taste should look elsewhere for laughs.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why does this movie exist?
princessbrianna7613 November 2012
Just watched Bad Teacher. WHO ALLOWED THIS MOVIE TO BE MADE?! I watched it mostly because I really like Jason Segel and sometimes Cameron Diaz isn't terrible. But this movie... I'm not sure why this movie exists.If you're not familiar with this "film" I envy you.

It stars Diaz as a crappy, disinterested junior high school teacher named Elizabeth. Her only goal in life is to marry a rich guy and spend as much of his money she can. The movie starts out with her leaving her teaching job, after one year, to marry a rich man, he wisely dumps her and she goes back to being a teacher until she can snare replacement wallet. The next school year starts out and she does nothing but show her class, she seems to have only the one class, movies that somehow incorporate school (Lean on Me, Dangerous Minds, etc.). She meets new teacher Scott, played by Justin Timberlake, who happens to have a rich family and decides that what she needs to snare this man, based on a picture of his ex, is bigger boobs. To do this she needs about $10,000. Hard to achieve on a teacher's salary so she volunteers to help with the school's car wash fundraiser and dresses like a slut in order to earn extra "tips" from pervy guys. All the while she is being pursued by Russell (Jason Segel), a gym teacher at the same school, whom she ignores because he's just a gym teacher. She also does what she can to appeal to the naive and stupid Scott who is interested in Elizabeth's rival Amy who does whatever she can to expose Diaz as a marijuana-smoking-in-the-parking-lot crappy teacher. Elizabeth learns that she can earn a $5700 bonus if her students get the highest scores in some standardized test. She tries to be a real teacher in order to get her students to pass but when it becomes apparent that this tactic will not produce the results she desires she seduces and drugs and employee at the testing company in order to steal a copy of the test. Her students end up getting the highest scores and she gets her bonus check. Amy discovers what she's done, after almost being poisoned when Elizabeth rubs poison ivy on an apply that Amy eats and Elizabeth steals her boyfriend Scott, and turns her in. Elizabeth blackmails the test company employee and escapes those charges. Amy then uses the drug use as a way to get Elizabeth fired. That backfires as well and Amy takes the rap for the drugs in Elizabeth's desk. Amy is sent to a school full of troubled teens, Elizabeth blows of rich guy Scott and hooks up with Russell. All the while never learning a single lesson. She gets away with all of the horrible things she's done and the good teacher who actually cares about teaching gets punished.

Seriously?! This is the message of the movie? Lie, cheat, steal, drug and blackmail people, only be concerned with how much money somebody has, bigger boobs will make you happy, treat kids and your coworkers like crap, smoke pot, poison coworkers, use inappropriate language around kids and just be a bitch. That's what Bad Teacher taught me. This is a horrible movie that shouldn't even exist.
31 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This move is not worth your time
norcalgal6414 December 2011
Most movies move through a plot where the characters go through a journey to an end. This movie is all about crass language (including the "C" bomb), a woman with no redeeming features and just poor taste jokes at the expense of children. And the main character doesn't learn a thing... She's just as crass and tasteless at the end as she was at the beginning.

I have lost a lot of respect for Cameron Diaz for choosing to be part of such a tasteless script. There's really no message in this film, no story, no resolution and definitely no morals.

Hated this movie completely.
38 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Complete Waste of Time
jennessis-116 August 2011
If I could have given zero stars I would have. This movie is absolutely not worth watching. The only remotely good thing is Jason Segel but his role was so marginal, he couldn't help anything.

The story is completely predictable with no lessons to be learned from it. There is no witty dialogue and not a single scene which would make you laugh like you should when watching a comedy. Timberlake's role is supposed to be dorky or something but if you've seen him on SNL, this one does not live up to your expectations. The dry hump scene is not even embarrassing funny but utterly lame.

The only twist in the story is so expected and poorly executed, it's just another super lame scene.

If seeing Cameron Diaz washing cars in Daisy Dukes for about five minutes is your thing watch it. Otherwise, stay away from it. This movie seriously sucked.
91 out of 184 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Bad Teacher, good comedy
Karl Self26 June 2011
I saw this in a special presentation in a cinema full of teachers. And judging from their guffaws they seemed to enjoy the movie.

Liz is a brassy blonde who, at the end of her thirties, is on the verge of fulfilling her lifetime ambition: marrying a rich simpleton. But then his mum calls of the wedding, and Liz has to return to her reviled breadjob as a middle school teacher. To her never-ending amazement, all her other colleagues -- the middle-aged loner, the hippie, the preppy goody-two-shoed apple-cheeked nightmare -- seem to actually enjoy teaching spotty dropouts. The script does an excellent job of lining up every comedic angle of the dreary hell that is school life and linking it together with a fast-paced storyline. Cameron Diaz is excellent because she isn't afraid to actually look old, spent and wrinkled (but never unfoxy), and Phyllis Smith and Lucy Punch also stand out among the excellent cast. Justin Timberlake -- eye candy for the ladies, in case you wondered. The soppy, romantic, test-audience-compatible ending -- best ignored.

This is an enjoyable light-but-dark comedy that everybody who has had anything to do with school life can dig. And I hope that most people here have encountered a school at some part of their lives.
40 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Two hours of wanting to throw a shoe at my TV.
groatski9 November 2011
"It's just a movie, stop taking it so seriously." my fiancé said as she made me watch 'Bad Teacher' with her. Unfortunately all movies must reflect some aspect of our culture in order to be successful, and the fact that this movie was even made I think reflects quite poorly on that culture.

The lead character is a conniving, foul mouthed and shamelessly opportunistic gold digger that's been forced back into the classroom after being dumped by her rich boyfriend. She hates her job, her students and her co-workers and doesn't care who knows it, yet we're somehow supposed to root for her when she embezzles from a student car wash, smokes pot on school property and sleeps off hangovers in class. She wants a boob job in order to land a dorky but wealthy substitute teacher and resorts to theft, extortion, vandalism and outright felonies in order to raise the money to pay for it. Seriously dedicated teachers and parents are portrayed as clueless simpletons that she is able to dupe with relative ease.

In the end she secures everything she sought by framing another teacher and destroying a budding romance, then decides she doesn't want it after all and walks away unscathed. I'm not someone who demands a moral message in the movies I see, but come on!
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Stupid movie really.
dmanning94 February 2013
I thought this movie would be funny but it's just another movie that thinks it can be funny by being as raunchy as possible. Not very funny, maybe laughed once. Getting really tired of these movies that are basically trying to get laughs by being vulgar. You know there are other ways to get people to laugh. Cameron Diaz plays the part fine. Although she has done much better and i think she can find better movies to act in. The guy (don't know who he is) was alright, but his part was not very believable. I felt like i kept watching the movie thinking it would get better, well it didn't. It was just kind of bland.
23 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad Teacher - Worse Movie
eddythedolphin14 October 2011
What a waste of money and talent... Sometimes Hollywood do it just right in releasing the Cream of the Crap, my goodness grace, who in this world wanted to spend this kind of money in such incredible junk/ if the answer is to see boobs on screen, come on, give me a break! Another thing, I got to believe that the stars in it are there just for the $, because there aren't another reason for such a bad taste of choosing script, actually by calling this one a script, I am not being fair with the writers that really know what they are doing. The Directing worked because of the Hollywood's formula, otherwise, it could be used just a robot saying: "action" and "cut", or even, "Ok, let's take a break of five", or should I say, let's us all take a break of such nonsense movie.
46 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So bad, my daughter and I walked out after 20-25 mins
edenney019 July 2011
I can't write a complete review because for the first time in my life I actually got up and walked out of a movie, along with my adult daughter, because it was so bad. The movie was NOTHING like I expected based on the previews. I was expecting risqué, sexy and funny, and instead I got lewd, raunchy, and ANYTHING but funny. The couple slight chuckles I got in the first 20-25 minutes before we walked out, had nothing to do with the lewd, wildly misguided attempts at humor, but rather the subtle things like Cameron Diaz's character avoiding other teachers in the hall that are looking for a shoulder to cry on.

I would liken the ATTEMPTS at humor in this movie to something like Harold & Kumar Go To White Castle... but unlike the mostly very funny White Castle movie, Bad Teacher misses the laugh mark by a MILE and then some. It's just simply NOT funny, and it was pretty awkward to watch with my OVER 17 daughter (you DEFINITELY don't want to take your teenage kids to see this). To sum it up, if you liked that disgusting Battle Sh*ts scene from White Castle, then Bad Teacher is YOUR movie, go see it. If you thought that scene was raunchy, lewd, disgusting, and NOT funny (unlike the rest of the movie), then AVOID Bad Teacher at all costs. Or just play it safe and avoid it period, you're not going to miss anything.
29 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The voids of laugher speaks volumes
freemantle_uk22 June 2011
Bad Teacher had a strong premise for a comedy, a teacher is really bad and hates her job. It was marketed a raunchy hard-R comedy: sadly it was a film that was lacking, despite the best efforts of the actors.

Elizabeth Halsey (Cameron Diaz) is the bad teacher in question who leaves the profession and forced to return when her fiancé dumps her for her gold digging ways. She returns to John Adams Middle High (JAMS) and sets out to win over Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake), a geeky substitute teacher who is the heir to a watch empire. He particularly likes women with big breasts and Elizabeth plans to get a boob job: but needs the money. But Scott himself is attached to Amy Squirrel (Lucy Punch), a quirky caring teacher who gets the best results in school. At the same time Elizabeth has a suitor in the form a Gym/P.E. teacher (Jason Seagel). When Elizabeth finds out the prize for the best school results in the Illinois State Test is a big cheque, she sets about to ensure her class is the best.

The jokes were just lacking through the film. I was in a cinema that was 75% full and there were a lot of teachers in it and I can say with honesty that there was very little laugher, a few chuckles and no belly laughs. That says a lot about a comedy because the point is to make us laugh. I believe one of two things happened, either, that the film was originally going to be a PG-13 film and the producers thought that the film was more marketable as a R-rated comedy, or the more likely that it was cut much of the swearing out to get a PG-13 rating, and failed. Most of the use of the F word in the red band trailer was cut out from the actual film. They were also plot points, like when Elizabeth offered to tutor her students, goes nowhere. The pace throughout was just very slow and Bad Teacher needed more snap.

Acting wise the best performance was Seagel best person the film, having the best lines with his role and the most grounded character in the film. He was simply natural as a gym teacher who just wants to have fun, though he has a dodgy line which makes him sound like a potential rapist. Punch is solid and she is deliberately over the top as a quirky teacher, but she does not have many good lines and Punch has to make the performance as physical as possible. She also gets very screwed over in the film. Diaz does her best but the character is not very well developed and her traits flipped like a switch. Most of the time she is shown as an uncaring person, only interested in herself and only got into teaching for the hours: but at the same time she does help some students and surely she should have cared as some point about teaching. She is also too ruthless, she needed to be a deeper character.

I also have to comment about the actual school On Wikipedia it describes JAMS as a school in a poor area: it was certainly not, it was in a very middle class area. I liked how the kids in the school actually looked normal and not in cliques like the jocks, the nerds, the pretty girls, cheerleaders, etc… They were mixed. But at the same time it seems like that the teachers only have one class: when I was in school the teachers had to teach classes over many years, if they only taught one class then they would have a very short working week.

Overall, a big disappointment.
68 out of 140 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Stupid Stupid Stupid
mcescher_fan11 December 2011
I really think the movie is not worth writing any reviews about it. But I thought I'd write as a service who will ever think about watching it. The movie is simply so stupid. Very poor storyline and not even funny.

Plus it one of the reasons why our societies are all f***** up.

I wouldn't recommend anyone to watch it or let their kids watch it as the whole idea behind it is to be all horrible, insensitive, stupid, drug abuser, cheat, liar and still want us to feel sympathetic to the main character 'Cameron Diaz' and want her to win.

And for parents, this movie is sending a CLEAR message to your kids, is being good, sensitive, talented means you are a loser. otherwise you're cool and smart etc etc..no wonder our schools are full of bullies, gangsters and idiots.
31 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bad Teacher is truly bad
littlemartinarocena28 June 2011
Cameron Diaz is terrific but here she's wasted in a terribly lazy script that resorts to farting to get a laugh. She has the only redeemable moment, washing a car! But the whole thing moves from lame sketch to lame sketch. The film had a 31 million opening week-end so I fear we'll have a Bad Teacher 2, how sad, really. Justin Timberlake, who has shown the chops of a very good actor, here he just appears. Jason Segel, what I can I say, I don't get him. The filmmakers should study the films of Preston Sturges and attempt a comedy, even with he same premise, but with originality and wit. The title reminded me of "Bad Santa" an hoped for something as smartly irreverent but not such luck. Bad Santa was so much better.
54 out of 110 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Really Bad Film
roark18330 June 2011
I don't usually get this far off in judging a film before I go see it. I went to this film, because I thought Cameron Diaz could make it good. Wow, was I wrong. Ms. Diaz' acting is as bad as the rest of the film. She is a very good looking lady, but her acting is really poor and that is exemplified in this film.

The script is really bad. The directing is really bad. The acting is really bad by all actors. This film has no redeeming qualities, unless one wants to simply see Ms. Diaz display her body. She does do that.

Warning - There is pornography (not by Cameron Diaz) in this film. I didn't check the rating before seeing it, but the porno is there. One wonders why producers, directors and writers put that stuff in their films. Here it just further degrades an already really lousy film.
40 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed