The Jack in the Box: Awakening (2022) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
22 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
seems like seven is a lucky number...
ops-5253516 January 2022
In this british jack the box horror flick, written and directed by mr fowler that has fumbled a whole lot on the plot speed, the filmographic brightness gives vibes of 1980's bbc studio tv theater, but thats merely it on the downside.

Its quite good acted, small cast,good screaming, enerving score and sound effects and few sets, light and shadow work are impeccable, and the jack in the box is quite enerving and well acted and styled non-vfx/cgi, the horror segments makes you feel quite uncomfortable and there are a pretty lot of them throughout the screening, so if your nerves are bleeched and your heart faintful, then a small warning to you.

So if you have a tendency towards jacks in a box stories with an alternative clutch on the straw then this might be IT. Of course you couldve written a better screenplay than this you might think, but the grumpy old man , who has shown quite some grit towards british low budget horrorfilmaking may give a recommend to this one.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A good improvement
IsaacLawrenceFilms10 January 2022
The first film was a well-shot, but fairly run-of-the-mill direct-to-video horror. The production value was good for the budgetary constraints, but overall, the story was generic and felt a little padded.

'The Jack in the Box: Awakening' is certainly an improvement. We begin with what seems like a basic horror film setup, but the film surprised me by showing a surprisingly large amount of the story through (one of) the villain's perspective. It's very clever from an emotional standpoint and the acting was actually really good from everyone, but Matt McClure as Edgar is definitely the standout.

So the story, is actually quite well-done, and while there is a somewhat overlong exposition scene, it's more about the emotional journey than it is all the backstory of the demon. There are some very effective sequences of tension building too, often involving lights, which sounds very rudimentary on paper, but, trust me, it's used to good effect here.

I only wish they hadn't shied away on many of the kills though: a disappointing amount of them happen off-screen, which is okay for a few times and I know suspense is more effective than gore, but it is a slasher and I would have like to have seen a little more pay-off with the deaths.

I would recommend this for low-budget horror fans. Aside from being just a little overlong, it's a fairly uniquely-told story with good production value (the locations are gorgeous), well-done cinematography and some decent suspense and scares. Lawrence Fowler has clearly grown as a writer and director and you won't be lost if you skip the original film. I wish the creators the best luck in their future endeavours.
22 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Enough Jack
olcayozfirat21 August 2022
Is a 2022 horror film. The film is the 2nd installment of The Jack in the Box movie. Section. Although it is a little better than the first film, it does not even reach mediocre. The plot of the film is briefly as follows: there is a cursed clown in a box. Whatever you want from this box happens after 6 victims. A ridiculous character and subject. It's also very boring.

There is no nudity and sexuality in the film.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Amazing horror movie
ahmed-ammar200612 February 2022
I really liked the movie especially i didn't see the first movie but this one took my attention from the beginning to the end, i liked the Edgar acting he was the best in the movie.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Crap
edlc197024 January 2022
Its nothing more than utter crap. Its bad acting, bad plot and just utter boredom to watch. They try some jumpscare, but at most you get annoyed. After 20 min. Of watching this crap, i began playing Fishdom on my phone. Avoid.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Pretty good
mr-4796230 April 2022
I think it is definitely a decent demon based film. About as good as the original. Anyone who says it is crappy doesn't truly know horror films in my opinion.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Shoddy film
cherubsflutter16 January 2022
Can't believe people have wasted their career in producing this film it is very poorly written, performed by amateurs one which made for an atrocious evening that I wish I hadn't wasted.
7 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love Love Love It!!!!
MissJedahdyah9 February 2022
So happy to see a second movie. This one is better than the first by far. I bought it and have been obsessively watching it the last 2 days. It is a great movie and so terribly scary!!
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not a good story movie
dy3849329 March 2022
Not a good movie to watch for especially the director and writer have nothing to tell in this movie the movie is totally wasted the actors are all totally wasted.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
This is a step in the right direction from the first film but still is a below average addition to the horror genre
kevin_robbins9 August 2022
Jack in the Box: Awakening (2022) is a movie I recently watching on Tubi. The storyline follows a woman on her deathbed who makes a wish to the wrong old antique box. The box agrees to grant her wish if she releases whats inside...

This movie is directed by Lawrence Fowler (Jack in the Box) and stars Matt McClure (Penny Dreadful), James Swanton (Host), Mollie Hindle (The Highwayman), Nicola Wright (Love Possibly) and Michaela Longden (Book of Monsters).

This was better than the first film. Once again the costume, makeup and sound effects were excellent and created a great "monster;" unfortunately, the kill scenes were still a notch down from what I hoped. The kill scenes show a knife or scissors, a gesture and then not what happens to the victims. The storyline isn't compelling enough to care about the characters and what happens to them and the ending is straightforward.

Overall this is a step in the right direction from the first film but still is a below average addition to the horror genre. I would score this a 4/10 and recommend skipping it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The Sequel to the Greatest Film of All Time - The Jack in the Box; Awakening
arthur_tafero19 October 2022
Just kidding. Not the greatest film of all time. Close to the worst film of all time, but not even bad enough for that. It's a tad better than the worst film of all time, so it gets a two star rating. The original was horrendous (but not in a good way), and the sequel is sleep-inducing ( i took a ten minute nap in the middle of the film and missed nothing from the plot). I got free passes for this and several other turkeys. I got free popcorn and coke as well. It was not worth the loss of my time. I took a nice nap, but still had to look at the meaningless action? On the screen. I wanted to leave early, but it was a very big serving of popcorn.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Jack in the Crack
jeroduptown31 March 2022
Jack in the Boxes are creepy - but this one is a little too predictable. They almost had something with the clown that was being possessed by a demon, but it slips right back into horror cliches...
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's a Good Horror Movie
HorrorNixonAlien2922 June 2022
I am giving this a ten mainly because I found no issues. I mean it was not ground breaking but if that is what you are looking for in every horror movie then your in the wrong genre. Did I jump? Yes. Do I want an origin story? Yes. Did I want to fast forward due to annoyance? No. The other reason I give it a ten is because the reviews I saw for less than 5 were obviously not genre fans and this is a genre film that is light enough to watch at a sleepover in middle school but scary enough to ensure at least one girl at the sleepover never does a sleepover again.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
mphillips110816 February 2022
Ugh, 93 mins of my life that I will never get back! One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Nothing suspenseful and the actors, writers, producers should be ashamed. Have nothing good to say about it...except it is over.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The Jack in the box
marinaant-362174 March 2022
This movie was so unnecessary they didn't have to make another one but however it wasn't that bad, it wasn't boring at all for me but unfortunately it was very repetitive and I was getting tired of it, I wish the would do something else with it. I despised that old woman so much and the demon wasn't even scary once again.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Worse Than the First.
HotHamlet31 August 2022
This movie is worse that the first of which i reviewed a day ago. That being said it's still not a one out of ten.

The story is pretty poor, but for a low-budget horror movie it wasn't abysmal (i've seen worse).

The cast where about as good as the first movie. Nothing special and to be fair nothing even good. It was just mediocre acting. I found myself liking it more in the other movie but i don't believe the first had better acting overall, i just preferred it personally.

Just like the first this movie is not at all horror. There is blood (kinda) and some death but nothing shocking and definitely nothing horrifying. As i believed the first time around, don't watch this movie if you're genuinely looking for a scare or something spooky.

Story - 2.5/10

Cast - 4.5

Horror - 1/10

Overall a poor movie but nothing terrible. Still better than The House on Pine Street.

2/10, don't recommend.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Horror made by an amateur
mautanaug2 April 2022
Poor poor poor and poor in every way. The script is boring, obviously written by an amateur. The acting is very bad, overacting in a very bad way. The actors are the worst, can't be any worse.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Underrated movie
nettapoo2 May 2022
I REALLY enjoyed the movie as far as the thriller aspect and the fact that I had to turn away from the screen through a sacrifice scene, was impressive since I don't scare easy! I believe those of you rating would have to either personally relate to the characters and the plot or have a vivid imagination to visualize the value of the movie even though critics would call it "low budget". The comments, in my opinion or extremely harsh and maybe they can rely on support from those of you who didn't appreciate the effort put into making a movie that kept my attention...which is hard to do.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A sequel that isn't bad?
dizbyy16 September 2022
As someone who actually kind of liked that first Jack in the Box movie, I decided to double down and watch the sequel and I enjoyed it.

There was definitely some more character depth than the first movie. The script is also well-written enough that, in providing more backstory on Jack, it doesn't feel too forced. Less plot holes than the first movie is also another big plus.

The horror sequences are good and stay true to the Jack from the first movie. Edgar's solo scenes are well-paced and really add to his character and the overall plot. He's a more unique character as far as all the horror films I've watched and to have the glimpses into his psyche that the movie provides was pretty gripping.

The movie actually follows a few characters on and off so you can get a little invested in more than just one or two people (however you may feel about them.)

Like I said, I enjoyed it and hope that we may get another Jack in the Box movie someday.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Is the 10 star review from one of the cast
lydanial-7003518 March 2022
This film is truly awful... So slow, there's no horror jump scars or anything exciting.

In fact it's so bad I'm still 'watching' it while writing this..
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
it's just too bad
lunaybaquita12 August 2022
It's really not scary at all, and it's unintentionally funny in many parts. But I'll give it 2 stars because it's a great movie to watch with friends to have a laugh, I would rank it to soap-opera level.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Trash
siewgood19 March 2022
Casting was terrible, McClure is probably a noob. He "over acted". Casting is so important. These guys fucked it. I have seen lower budget Asian productions that are actually scarier than this and excelled in the jump-scare areas as well. This piece of shit movie only has jump-scares to capitalize on and even those parts of the movie is trash. I cannot believe I spent money on this and find it even more unbelievable that money was spent of this sort of production. Talk about burning cash.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed