Borrego (2022) Poster

(2022)

User Reviews

Review this title
34 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
The story did sound interesting. The actual movie was NOT.
imseeg11 March 2022
I read this story and I thougt (wow) this might be an independent, unkown thrilling movie.

The bad: unfortuntely this movie is burdened by a LACK of good acting performances. THAT is a problem, because there are only a few actors and the entire movie rests upon their shoulders.

No thrill. No suspense. Cheap sounding music score. The works. This is another TV movie, pimped up to be a feature movie. It is not.

Not any good? It aint terribly bad, but the below par acting is really annoying.
23 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A one time watch.
wisemanfromtowne17 January 2022
Very predictable drug delivery wrong person in the wrong place low budget you've seen them once, you've seen them all type film. A one time watch.....very forgettable.
23 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Botany Bomb
jeroduptown23 May 2022
She's researching desert flowers (dull) when a little mini-plane with drugs and a newbie drug transport (hispanic) crashes and holds her hostage. The sheriff sucks and doesn't do anything to save anybody.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Again?
meramoka16 January 2022
Since no one said it yet, I will gladly: This movie is awful. Don't waste your time like I did.

The idea is made like thousands times before, only this time is boring and VERY slow.

The characters are awful and very bad acted, the rhythm is slow AF, and I could write a story better than that in my shower thought.

Seriously you've been warned, SKIP IT.
27 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So bad, word cannot describe it!
psxexperten22 January 2022
Starts Off Bad, But Wait, it Gets Worse... This movie is insanely terrible. That was an hour and forty minutes of visual torture. I can't believe I actually put myself through that.

No words can describe what a piece of poo this is. The unbelievable content aside, the production/post production quality is beyond horrendous. Story - abominable. Acting - laughable. Concept - WHAT THE F....???
17 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Garbage
kanifuker-847086 April 2022
This was absolute garbage from the overdone plot to the terrible acting to the bad directing. The last half of the movie i thought to myself, is this a comedy?.

Seriously, don't waste your time like i did. Absolute garbage.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not the best...
privatthomasg14 January 2022
It starts relatively weak and it takes a while until it gets more exciting. In the beginning everything is very superficial (also a bit boring), only much later does a personal touch come into the main character. Speaking of the main character, Lucy Hale performed well. The role is very different from her previous ones. Maybe we'll see her more often in such more emotional, more demanding roles in the future. It definitely suits her. At the end it gets more exciting, although it's not that exciting - but it gets better. Overall, however, there is a lack of sophisticated plots, you learn very little about the characters and a lot remains in the dark.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A middle-school "don't use drugs" PSA -- NOT a feature film
h222318 May 2022
If I were a middle schooler, I'd probably be okay being forced to watch this during my health class or something. As an actual movie you might want to watch for entertainment? It's a nope.

I mainly watched it because I live in the San Diego area and I like the Anza Borrego desert. I'll say the film did make me want to drive out there and go for a hike. I haven't been in awhile, and the cinematography was decent.

Everything else mostly stunk. It wasn't tense at all, the acting wasn't very good, the characters were poorly developed so you didn't really care about any of them, the plot was dumb, and the story was wrapped around the opening and closing "tragic facts" about fentanyl and other drugs. It was like someone said, "Hey, what if we take an infographic that warns about the drug problem in America, and try to write a screenplay from it?"

I'm not saying the message about drugs isn't important -- just that this film was a lousy (boring, poorly constructed and acted) vehicle for getting that message across.

And, they had to throw in two additional ridiculous messages: 1) Most people in the drug trade are really just decent folks who came into hard times and are trying to provide for their families and 2) No one in the San Diego area cares about Mexican-Americans.

Give me a break. Neither of these things is an accurate reflection of reality. I could rant a bit here, but I'll skip it because I AM a liberal and I don't want to appear like I'm one of those folks who wears a red cap. I'm just fed up with the messages, that are neither accurate nor helpful, that seem to be seeping into way too many films these days. There's a way to put and keep important messages in front of viewers without distorting the truth, and without resorting to cheap caricature-like portrayals.

Anyway, okay I guess I did rant a bit, but that's the end of it. Back to the movie itself: I'd say you could happily skip it and not miss out on a thing...
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Worth a watch
menonabhishek-9982715 January 2022
Elly and Tomas are great with their acting. U can feel their loneliness in the vast desert wilderness, with guillermo on the hunt like a wolf.

Overall worth watching atleast once.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Simply & Very Borring
HandleWid3 February 2022
I fell asleep twice while watching this movie, slow & not engaging or thrilling. Slow drama lovers might enjoy it, not my type! I wanted to watch it thinking it would be a good survival movie but I was wrong.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Decent thriller
lighterthanair-825693 February 2022
Neither great nor groundbreaking, yet a good way to pass some time. Good acting, particularly Tomas, the pilot, and I liked how there were some backstories for some of the characters, and some bonding between people who had far different backgrounds. Ignore the 1 star and the 10 star ratings, those have to be plants, and check it out.
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Interesting Premise. No Budget
dmoorejr21 May 2022
A botanist meets a teacher turned narco smuggler in the desert. Pretty interesting premise. Lucy Hale portrays the botanist. Pretty surprised this didnt turn into romantic comedy. It has it's moments, but it's very slim. To the point. I enjoyed it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Do not confound with Desierto
searchanddestroy-16 July 2022
It is too smooth, too cheesy and predictable for me, and with those introducing didactic lines about drugs, what's the f...to speak about this? If it was about immgrants, as in DESIERTO for instance, I could understand that the producers want to recall the audiences about the number of immigrants who try to cross the border, but why, in this movie, this information about drugs? Why not speaking about the work of botanists? Because the lead character of this movie is a botanist...ha ha ha It's not a bad movie but so forgettable,lost among batches of others. Yes, concerning desert survival movies involving the USA border, I highly prefer DESIERTO.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Who's on first?
thejdrage16 May 2022
Frankly, this movie is like the old Laurel and Hardy routine of Who's on first. If you don't know it, you're in for a treat. Google it!

I dunno. It seems that this movie is a study in poor choices - in the desert no less.

Is it interesting? If you like deserts. And watching people make consistent bad choices.

It was a fast forward movie for me.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Grade School, less than B Real.
andystebbing15 May 2022
Who writers this crap? Obtain law enforcement guidance. Get second opinion. Ask for help on dialog. The only thing halfway good about this movie is the music.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring
jromshak15 May 2022
What an incredibly boring movie. Was awful. Slow. Absolutely painful. Don't waste your time. And sooo low-budget!!! Not sure WHY we didn't turn it off. Lol. Guess we are gluttons for punishment. Sounded like it would be so good in the description. But failed to deliver.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Bored. Go!
silvermistvio15 February 2022
Initially, I didn't plan on watching is film, "Borrego". But after I checked out the cast and found out Lucy Hale was in it, so, I decided to watch this.

This film can be said as middle class. I mean it's not that bad but it doesn't good that much either. The plot is okay. But maybe because of the director, the film is a little slow and hence, it's kind of boring. But not that boring. Just a little. At least, it didn't make me fell asleep. So, I'd say not that bad.

What I liked of this film is cinematography. The desert is kind of dull and not a happy scene. But they could manage to make desert scenes somehow beautiful. I kind of like those desert scenes. (I even thought of using those scenes as my laptop's desktop wallpaper.)

That being said, I don't quite like the acting of some actors. But if you don't pay enough attention, it's unnoticeable. So, it's still okay.

To summarise this review, although I feel kind of boring, but it's kind of enjoyable for certain amount of limit. Or in the other words, it's kind of enjoyable for first time watch.
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Another drug related movie
claudiapaola15 May 2022
The story plot is boring and lame, there are so many drug related movies out there, its getting really annoying and repetitive. The cinematography was terrible, the acting was not good, but that is perhaps because the story made no sense, it has no direction and many scene's seemed foolish. White people always writing stories about Mexicans in a negative way, don't y'all get tired?
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I like it!
missbella-0496027 May 2022
Great little story. Lucy Hale is a beauty to watch.

I do not understand the bad reviews. It's worth a watch definitely.

Out in the desert alone not the best idea.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Editing threw everything off
CJXzoic197026 May 2022
Not a bad modern western drama to kill some time with. It's not fast paced so it builds up the drama slowly. While it's a twist on a predictable story the question is what is that twist?

What hurt it was the glowing mistakes! So somehow the Sheriff escaped the hole in the desert? I'm still baffled how he magically rose out of there! Then why wasn't there any reception anywhere for the mobiles? I get possibly a few times but every time? How convenient.

The best part was the father daughter relationship which really made this drug caper stand out.

Not a bad modern western but the the low budget editing threw it off.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pretty Good
Barry-510923 May 2022
I thought the action started out slow but did build as the movie went on. It was well made and the scenery was desolate but appealing as deserts go. I made you want to find out what was going to happen next. I was thoroughly entertained.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Action in the desert - original story line
mkayj7 June 2022
The story line is original and the characters are personable. The action was fast enough to keep the audience engaged. Original action of the chase scenes in the desert. Not a block-buster but a good watch.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful Photography and Story
harringtonvideo21 January 2022
Beautiful photography of the desert, good production values and engaging story line. Though you know that it will probably turn out all right, you're not sure how it will get there. There were a few surprising twists, some happy and some sad. Both male and female leads gave good strong performances. I will be watching it again.
6 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Realistic.
alexiemcqueen13 September 2022
This is like the environment I work in, you think no one is there but you will encounter the bad guys traficking drugs or persons, it happens everyday here at the Border. The movie is low budget so don't expect good acting. Overall, it's a movie that tell the story and it's not bad. I didn't feel I wasted my money, rather than that I enjoyed it. Don't judge it if you are from the city, for me that I live and work at the Border it's good enough. What it surprised me is that a Sheriff that works in this environment did not have a long weapon, even in the big cities they carry one. There is a lot of drugs in these remote areas even when you do not see people or vehicles.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Borrego Sticks With You
videoauteur-0247124 January 2022
Borrego has a palpable sense of place. Afterwards, I felt I'd been to the desert. Lucy Hale is authentic throughout as a botanist taken hostage by the inexperienced drug mule played by Leynar Gomez. Gomez aptly accomplishes the tricky task of transforming from a hostile and threatening character to one of integrity and sympathy. (One critic described his last scene as "heartbreaking." That was my reaction. I want to see more work from this actor!) Some have found this movie slow, but taking time with these people gives the movie heart, elevating it above routine action films.
4 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed