The Twilight Saga: New Moon (2009) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
929 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Worst movie and actors ever win MTV Movie Awards
londonmarcos6 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
The MTV Movie Awards just ended and the worst movie that I've ever seen, New Moon, won the main Awards: Best Movie, best actress (Kristen Stewart) and best actor (Robert Pattinson). MTV is destroying young people's brain all over the world but specially in America. I feel very sorry for the new generation.

Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson performances in both Twilight movies are by far the worst that I've seen in my 3 decades of life.

Ahh, The couple with less chemistry in the whole World also won the Best Kiss award. Good Lord!!

Congratulations on the "awards"! LOL
19 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
A never-ending stream of awkward moments
deathscythe_4220 November 2009
I will preface this review by saying that I have not read any of the twilight books, but I did watch the first movie before going to see this film, and I am looking at the series purely from a cinematic stand-point.

That being said, I thought this movie was a massive failure. The entire movie was very slow, long, and awkward. As I was watching it, it really felt like I was just watching a very long book unfold on screen, rather than a movie that is BASED on a book. To die-hard fans of the book, this could be considered a good thing, because all the fans really wanted to see was a movie that depicted all of the events of the book and followed it closely. By what I heard from book fans it seemed to have succeeded in that regard, but that is not at all to the film's credit. The film just moved from one scene to the next as if it was counting off a large check-list of scenes that the fans wanted to see, most of which just consisted of very uncomfortable and boring one-on-one dialogues. The film had very little momentum, and was tedious to watch. This was mostly due to the structure and pacing of the film but also due to the characters.

To be fair, some of the characters were likable, but they had very little chemistry. I already didn't quite believe Bella and Edward were in love in the first twilight. In this one I would flat out argue with Stephenie Meyer herself that the two characters were not in love. Their relationship was stiff, there seemed to be no real emotions between them, it merely consisted of silence, staring, and Edward randomly throwing out gooey love phrases like "you are my everything" and "i didn't wanna live in a world where you didn't exist" that just come out sounding hollow. There was a little more chemistry between Bella and Jacob, but even they were a bit awkward together. It seemed like none of the characters could say two words to each other without a ton of awkward pauses. The conversations were incoherent and annoying. There was a little bit of humor in the dialogue that I admit got some chuckles out of me, but even that came out of the awkwardness between all of the characters.

There were, however, a few welcome releases from the snail-like dialogue. Cinematically it had a few semi-redeeming moments. The score was likable, and a couple of scenes were artistically shot, but even so it was nothing that would deserve a best cinematography or best director nomination. The other well-needed break from the awkwardness came in the action scenes. They were very few and far between, and rather incoherent with the rest of the film, but they were enjoyable. The wolves were obviously CG in a lot of shots, but then there were some shots where they actually looked pretty real, and they were presented pretty well. They could have done a bit better job of foreshadowing them but hey at this point in the movie i was willing to accept what I could get. There was also a more intense scene near the end that I won't spoil that I thought was fairly well-done.

All in all, I did enjoy a few scenes in this movie, but as a whole it was slow, incoherent, poorly acted, and a bit uncomfortable. If you're a die-hard fan of the book, there's a chance you'll love it but if you're looking for a truly cinematic experience, this isn't it.

3 stars out of 10
613 out of 885 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
What is wrong with people?! So bad, so bad
emmarustadlyvik26 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Alright. I am 15. And a girl. And this doesn't work for me at all. This movie is so horrible that it's sad. I hear my friends talk about Twilight and how wonderful the books and movies are, and I had to check them out. The first film was OK, but not better than it's rated. And then I sat down and saw this one, and..well, I will actually say it's OVERrated. The only good thing about this one is when Taylor Lautner smiles and takes off his shirt. Nothing else, and that is embarrassing. They can't act, especially this..Kirsten. I mean, I had to ask my friend if she was supposed to be so..cold, and without any feelings at all. And yes, she was, because she was so shy and didn't like any attention. But I don't see her acting, really. She shows just as much acting skills and emotions like Tobey Maguire in Spider-Man. She doesn't have any passion, it looks like she's bored. And yes, Robert Pattinson is way better than her, but there's still a long way to Tom Hanks. In my opinion, the acting are one of the reasons this doesn't work out. Even though the chemistry between Robert and Kirsten is impressive.

Second of all, the film is rather boring. You (finally) get to the plot when there's left 30 minutes of the movie or so. And before the plot, it's very much "oh, my life sucks, I feel abandon, I'm just gonna sit here, being very deep and feel sorry for myself." And of course, there's a little struggle in her head. "Which one of them should I choose?". Cliché. Cliché big time. You have seen this before, with better actors and without vampires.

And yes, the plot. Saving Edward from certain death. And they fight a little, smashing each other to the walls. I usually cheer when people fight in movies, but I get bored of the fighting as well. I don't get that "Oh, this is exiting, I wanna know who's winning even though I already know it"-feeling.

So. Touching story, if you like that kind of story, great music, somewhat OK special effects. But I really don't understand why people say this is good? What is wrong with those little teenage girls? This movie is pathetic. It's boring. So please, stay away from it. Rent (500) Days of Summer on DVD if you have to watch a romantic movie.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
So BAD I find it funny
David Cox19 November 2009
I've read all the books. I know what happens. This never ruins a film for me.

I didn't want to see this film because the previous one was lacking in... well... everything. But girlfriend wanted to see it. I went in and was instantly surprised to see the demographic had widened past 12-16 year old girls who instantly swoon at any even remotely hot guy so that was interesting. It's not relevant to how good the film was- it just reaffirmed to me (and should to all of you) that hating a series on principle or having preconceived notions of how bad something will be is unfair on it.

Not in this case. It was still bad. BUT worth the money I payed to see it because though it most definitely not intended to be entertaining in the way I found it. It was full of melodramatic dialogue and bad acting which, if you take ANY Drama classes at school- Which Robert DIDN'T- you'll notice certain things about how people deliver lines. You notice how they're SAYING lines they have memorised with unnatural and stylised emphasis on the key words in the sentences without giving the (cheesy) dialogue depth or realism. Quite simply, it was so terrible I found myself resisting the urge to burst out laughing in a room full of fans who were probably misinterpreting the melodrama as "Good, emotional drama." No. This film is ridiculous.

As it goes further on it gets less tightly stitched together and I had to become reliant on my knowledge of the books to fill in and pick up the slight gaps in dialogue and plot. They would say things that are based on something that didn't happen on screen (probably deleted scene for time) or their dialogue would just be terrible unrealistic lines that are work as standalone ones for a trailer but in conversation it seems like they're jumping slightly just to get to say something that is dramatic without it actually making too much sense.

BUT! It does have SOME redeeming qualities! The melodrama wasn't nonstop hilarity so thankfully something else held my attention. There was actual effort put into this film. The fight scenes actually used REAL special effects (something the first film was a bit cheap on) which actually looked kinda impressive. Any action was short lived unfortunately but what little there was, they did a reasonable job with.

I was impressed at the presence of transition. The previous film jumped and skipped and the next plot point just WAS without having been caused. This film (until near the end, of course) actually had a pace and a coherency to it that allows you to understand it without reading the books. This is a bonus. Certain things you'd think would drag on as the director tries to give you time to let the "emotion" "sink in" thankfully didn't take forever and the entire movie fit almost snuggly into its 2 hour length. Too bad it fell apart more and more it went along.

The film also shares the semi-awkward character interactions that create the same humour as the first one. Not as deliberately funny as the first one (though, as I said, it was pretty hilarious when it wasn't meant to be) though.

Though it was many failings with only a few things to back it up as being a reasonable film it will definitely make all you little teenage girls out there desperate to see Jacob's hell tanked up body very happy. You can HEAR the audience's reaction the first time Jacob takes his shirt off. He's got all you need: Pecs, biceps, ABS OF STEEL and minimal clothing. Too bad he lacks depth and real character. (Girls love obsessively devoted Zombies, they don't think enough to complain) It is NO WAY even NEAR one of the best films of 2009. NO ONE should say this ridiculous claim.

Really tossing up between 3 and 4 stars. Mmm. I guess a movie's highlight shouldn't be how low it sinks. 3.
1,011 out of 1,540 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Embarrassing
sunsetshoegazer27 February 2010
The first Twilight film was really terrible, and had some moments of unintentional comedy, but this was actually much worse. I spent the entire time just cringing at the poor lines, the acting, the God-awful treatment of mythology, the misogynistic, patriarchal and abusive undertones throughout the film, and the terrible special effects for such a blockbuster series.

A lot of people will dislike so much scorn directed to a film that's just a fun watch - I understand this argument but there's a difference between fun and forgettable and just being complete trash. There are incredibly entertaining movies that aren't Shakespeare but don't actually manage to offend my intelligence and my gender. This isn't one of them. Additionally, popular culture affects our world view more than we can sometimes imagine. Media should be analysed because it's influential.

And it confuses me how this could be so popular. Edward, Bella and Jacob are some of the most unpleasant and unappealing protagonists I've ever encountered in popular fiction. Bella is shallow and yet pretentious, while Edward is controlling and demeaning. These are not people that you would like if one of them wasn't a vampire and the other was snogging them.

One of the worst films I've ever seen, and it's something devoid of both artistic merit and any sort of meaning, message or thought. It really sucks that young women are enjoying this franchise and seeing Edward and Jacob as the ideal love interests.

EDIT: A lot of people giving this film positive reviews are trying to dismiss criticism by saying it's a 'film for the women/girls/ladies'... have any idea how much that furthers stereotypes? I know more than one guy who loves Twilight, and more than one girl who loves *enter generic action movie which people think only men like*. Come on people move behind this shallow 'Boys like this girls like that' already. Popular culture should be analysed, and it sucks if you think just because it's developed for one gender in mind it gets some sort of free pass for being sexist, badly written, poorly acted drivel. It sucks if you think this sort of tripe should be 'for the girls'. Another card being played is the 'Is Romeo and Juliet bad because its unrealistic?' question. Romeo and Juliet, though, is about the tragedy and immaturity of the two young lovers. The relationship fails and ends in such disaster because of the way they rushed and were consumed by lust. And it's one of Shakespeare's most heavily critiqued plays - a lot of people have criticised it. So if the Bard himself is not above disapproval then why should something like this be exempt?
54 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Best thing I could say was it's a chick flick (no offence meant ladies!)
roy-583-45325023 November 2009
Well, my lovely lady wife has been waiting for this movie since Twilight, and is a huge fan of the books, I thought I would keep her company. We saw the Twilight when it first came out, and I wasn't really impressed with that, so though, hey ho, go in with low expectations and hopefully I would be surprised.

The only problem was, I don't think I could have expected less and still been as bored as I was.

When in the theatre I was probably the oldest male at 37, apart from some dads that had been brought along by their kids, and several boyfriends, which is fair as I guess the film is aimed at the younger ladies than us old folks.

So, we sat down and I waited for anything to happen, well anything really. There was no chemistry at all between the leading actors, just a dull numbness which left me bored, I really don't know how Kristen Stewart got the role as she's possibly the most boring actress around and added nothing to the film at all, unless I guess she was just asked to play a spoilt brat with no brain.

I thought, maybe there is some suspense? Nope, none of that either. Bella does a very good job of not really showing any emotion either way and where in Twilight you there was at least a couple of times it made you think "something good might happen" there wasn't really a single moment in this film that stood out, although I was at some point expecting to see the teleprompter which some of the actors looked like they might have been using, so wooden was the performance.

It's a shame really that the other film I have seen recently "UP" you feel more attachment to the characters in that, than you do to the actors in this.

Yes, the CGI was good, the Wolves were pretty great. But like in 2012, throw a lot of money at CGI and be amazed, but that's about it. There so many little bits of story that really didn't seem to do anything, it really reminded me of another film directed by this lovely director, Golden Compass anyone?? All in all, pretty much a letdown, and that's with low expectations, if felt like just another suck on the wallet by Hollywood to our pockets.

If you are thinking of this film, and really if you read most of the reviews on this site I can't imagine why, wait until it comes onto DVD. Rent it for £1 and you can get a couple of cheap laughs at the acting, and for the ladies, buff men, apart from that give it a miss.
208 out of 309 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
The Twilight Saga: Teenage Porn
Kristine20 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
It's that time again: Twilight! Ever since last year's release of the mega-successful movie Twilight, our lives have not been the same. With a new director on our hands, Chris Weitz, I actually had hopes for New Moon. Last year with all the screaming fans, Twilight has turned many off. It also made vampires into a joke, New Moon had potential to give the series some life. Unfortunately, we got trash. Not only vampires are a joke to this story, but these movies are a joke and an embarrassment to cinema. I'm trying to not be cruel, because I honestly feel so sorry for this cast, since they don't have much material to work with. For God's sake they have lines like "Your breathing is my gift", "You don't belong in my world", and "I couldn't live in a world without you existing". How could you work with soap opera lines like that? Not to mention, more than 80% of the film is 5 buff meaty guys in jean shorts, which I'm above those jokes, but I was expecting as they walked on screen "Gonna Make You Sweat" was going to play in the background. It seems like this was teenage porn for a while because every girl in the theater kept going crazy with Jacob's 6, no, 12 pack abs exposed. It seems like every chance the director got, he had to make the little girls happy by exploiting these young actors.

The characters are another problem: Bella, Edward and Jacob. I've read the books, Bella never intrigued me. But while last film she was just flat, this film I wanted to kill her. She's 18, now granted I know that she'll probably never find another vampire boyfriend who's so creepy in love with her, but good God, does this girl need to get a gigantic grip on life. Edward leaves and even Hamlet would tell her to lighten up a bit. She goes into this coma state where she's just obsessed on why her vampire boyfriend doesn't want her. It's more sickening, a bad influence on young girls and pretty pathetic rather than sympathetic. Edward is introduced in this sequel with him walking in slow motion as if a rock star just came on the screen, more to just please the fans and give him an applause. He spends the whole movie pretty much saying how much he loves Bella, how he can't live without her, basically any pre-teen's wet dream that a guy will be that devoted when it's actually more so creepy. While Edward is Bella's boyfriend that sparkles, we have a sensitive werewolf, Jacob. I feel so sorry for him in this movie, Bella basically tags him along, starting to kiss him, but then pulling away, but then rubbing up against him, but then telling him he can't have her problems in his life, but then saying he's beautiful and she loves him.

It's Bella's birthday, fearing her aging process she's having nightmares that she will grow old as Edward will stay young and beautiful. Alice and the other Cullens throw her a surprise birthday party; while opening a gift, Bella accidentally gets a paper cut. When the blood hit's the floor, Jasper goes into a violent state and tries to attack Bella, Edward stops him and saves Bella. After months of Bella begging Edward to change her, Carlisle explains why Edward does not want to take her mortal soul. Realizing the danger he's put her in, Edward has to break up with Bella. He tells her that he doesn't want her and that he and his family will never see her again. Bella goes into a coma practically, spending months inside her home and not seeing her friends. Realizing she could see Edward through adrenaline rushes, she convinces Jacob to fix a couple of motorcycles. As the months pass, her and Jacob grow closer as she starts to fall for him, but of course being Bella, he has a "monstrous" flaw, he's a werewolf. Bella accepts it as she tries to move on with her life, but Alice Cullen comes back saying she had a vision of Bella dying. After a misunderstanding, Edward thinks she's dead too and Alice tells Bella that Edward is about to sacrifice himself for her.

To sum this review up, this movie was made for the fans, which MOSTLY consists of 12-15 year old girls and desperate housewives. I'm not looking to insult anyone here, but after reading the books and seeing these two movies, I feel like my IQ sunk a few points. They insult my intelligence and I will never understand why this story is appealing to anyone. Stephanie Meyer is a genius in some aspect: almost every girl in high school doesn't feel special or just average. How cool would it be to have someone who has lived centuries, who is gorgeous, smart, strong and kind who just thinks you're the ultimate catch? That's what sold these stories and I hate it because it makes these girls fantasize about a world that will never exist. These stories are old and over used and Twilight has overstayed it's welcome. The special effects were awful and the material was just lousy. To be kind to the film, the action sequences are a major improvement over the last film, much more exciting and intense. I could go on forever with this review, but I'm going to save some more of my rant for my friends. While I was very kind with the rating in the first Twilight, I understood it who it was meant for and took it for what it was. This is trash and could have had so much more potential. This movie was made for the fans, so if you're not one, there's a very good chance you're going to agree with everything I said in this review.

2/10
66 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
This is one movie where a spoof would be far better than the original
donco64 November 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Hard to believe I wasted 3 hours (hey, it was on FX and they jam everything with mega-commercials) of my life watching this tripe.

If I had to watch one more 360-spinning view of Bella sitting somewhere, mourning the loss of Edward, all to the strains of some overwrought teen pop music, I'm quite certain I would have had to run to the bathroom to barf.

NOTHING happens in this movie. You don't need to worry about spoilers because there can't be any.

What I *am* anxious to see is the spoof of this movie, because it will be deadly funny.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Frustrating
Sjhm13 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Truthfully, the CGI is good. Then we come to the real problem; Kirsten Stewart is not the actress to carry Bella off with conviction. It's a shame. Because this film is all about Bella. She is the core of the story, with Edward absent for a significant portion of the film. Without a good core, the cheesy dialogue and long sorrowful glances are just that, cheesy and long, it's impossible to see past them. It takes FOREVER for anything to happen. Happy or sad, suicidal or in a bad mood, it really is impossible to tell. Kirsten's broody look never changes. Scenes which should have some poignancy are simply flat and dull. I know that the character is somewhat thinly written, but really, come on. And then Robert Pattinson comes back in, and he also delivers his lines as though he's reading from a telephone directory. Very disappointing.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Slightly better than the first, but a far cry from being any good
Bobby74728 July 2010
The reason it took me so long to review this film is because I wanted to wait for it to show on the movie network, as my interest in it was next to none. I got bored today and watched this movie and they basically took all of the redeeming qualities of the first film and removed it.

The most interesting part of the story was the relationship between Jacob and Bella, however it began to get tiresome after Jacobs third attempt to reach out to Bella, and then it just wouldn't stop. Edward and Bella's relationship is totally annoying to me, as there is no apparent passion between the two when they're interacting with each other. Close talking with convenient lighting does not convey passion.

I tried watching this with the notion that this is a children's movie, and I guess its good enough for kids if they decide to like it. However the subject matter leads to a rhetoric that is heavily politicized. I do not wish to discuss that here.

I understand that fans of the Twilight novels wanted this film to do what the previous one could not. Which is to do the novel justice. The script writing was not thoughtful enough to even come close to representing even a poorly written novel. The dialogue was that of an after school teen TV series. You can tell that Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson tried a bit harder to convey emotion. However Pattinson is too caught up in the image he wishes to portray as a vampire instead of becoming his character for the film, and Stewart is likely in a quandary. The acting was so bad in the first one, but there is a huge fan base for Twilight. How does she make the character better without straying too far from what was done in the first film? That being said, Bella's character was ruined before they even started filming New Moon. Unless they rebooted the series, there was no saving this film.

What bothers me is that I know these actors can do much better. I've seen Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart do some good work in the past, and it seems they've both let the Twilight attention get to their heads. Their acting is pretentious and dull in New Moon. I hate seeing scenes with them together because I'm numb with boredom every time they are.

This movie was slightly better than the first as a MOVIE, not as a representation of the novel. I have no comment about the novels because I have never read them, nor do I intend to. Vegetarian vampires, and the struggle of two people who want desperately to be together is not really my thing and quite frankly it's the oldest story ever, are not really my thing. How about every religious person and their desire to be with a God who may or may not exist? That's how old this story is.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Thumbs down for New Moon
jonathanruano28 July 2010
Kristen Stewart once called herself as a "professional liar" when referring to her performances in movies, like Twilight. The problem with "New Moon" is that the performances of Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattison, Taylor Lautner, Anna Kendrick and others are so obviously a lie that it is nearly impossible to believe in any of them. In this respect, New Moon is a very inferior film to the first Twilight which, for all its flaws, at least had believable characters and a believable love story. The main reason for this major flaw in New Moon is that the script lacks compelling dialogue. Most of the dialogue, especially in the beginning, is absurd; and the actors know that their dialogue is absurd because they give the consistent impression that they do not believe in what they are saying. So the result is a superficial vampire movie.

But the problem with "New Moon" goes even deeper than that. The plot is not really interesting. For most of the film, Bella is meant to be depressed after her break up with Edward Cullen that is never properly explained. But Bella never succeeds in establishing a connection with the audience - not least because the Kristen Stewart voice-over sounds so fake - and therefore watching her depressed is a boring experience, instead of a touching one. There is a somewhat interesting part of the film with the wolves, which in my view really do upstage the actors. But the part with the volturi, who are meant to enforce a rather rigid set of vampire laws, was done completely wrong. If the film-makers were smart, they would have done something unique and original with the set, like create a whole new vampire world hidden from human civilization with its own unique look (why do vampire buildings have to look like human buildings, for instance?), culture and way of life. Instead human beings can see the volturi simply by walking into an elevator, clicking the basement floor - how unoriginal (what happened to secret passages) - and then walking into a throne room that looks like a baroque cathedral from a tourist guide. The volturi themselves, moreover, are not that scary, even when they do come close to killing Edward Cullen (I really stopped caring by that point, because I wanted an early end to this film). Martin Sheen is miscast as the head volturi, because he lacks the stature and command to make that role work. Sheen was much better in "Frost/Nixon" because in that film he was supposed to be a mousy interviewer who seemed way over his head financing and carrying out the interview of President Nixon. Perhaps Frank Langhella would have made a better volturi or Eva Green. But Sheen is all wrong for the part. The same is true for the other actors attempting to look scary as volturis. The female volturi, for instance, looks like one of those part geeky, artsy theatre chicks one meets while attending the fringe festival. Of course, the script does not give the volturis much to do or anything interesting to say. So these actors are also hamstrung from the start.

Overall a disappointing film. Thumbs down. The other sad thing about this film is that Graham Greene, who was so brilliant in "Thunderheart" and "Dances with Wolves," is in this film, but the film-makers only gave him a bit part instead of utilizing his considerable talents in full. What a sad day when a great actor's potential is not exploited to make a bad film, like this one, somewhat better.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Sparkly Vampires Vs. Masculine Werewolves!!!
Pumpkin_Man30 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
For the past two years, I've avoided the Twilight saga like the plague because it just looked so melodramatic and ruined the image of scary vampires like Dracula. Instead, we get a Glampire, buff Werewolves, and a whiny teen named Bella who is suicidal over them. There was a double feature at my theater tonight, so I finally decided to cave in and watch. Bella is just ridiculous. After she gets a paper cut at her birthday party, Jasper Cullen tries to attack her. The Cullens soon decide to leave Forks, and Bella goes into a deep depression. Whenever she gets an adrenaline fix, she can see glimpses of Edward. If you love glampires and melodramatic love stories, I'm sure you'll love NEW MOON!!!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Had a few high points, but other than that...
sjmutchie11 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
All right, so I'll try to be kind about the acting given by the inexperienced teenagers.

Kristen Stewart: I never expected much out of her, especially after her mediocre performance in Twilight. And, I was smart not to expect anything. She didn't improve AT ALL. Her lines are still rushed, and emotionless. Bella's character hasn't developed at all either.

When Edward walks towards Bella, or enters the scene, her face doesn't even light up like a real love-struck teenager's would. With Jacob, it does. I do not approve of being a part of the 'teams' that they've invented for Edward or Jacob, but as a third-party observer, she has much better chemistry with Jacob. When Edward leaves her in the woods, do you think that she would shed ONE BLOODY TEAR?! She doesn't even appear to be affected. And when she is 'depressed' for three months, could you fix your screams so that they don't sound like you're going into labor and giving birth? Thank you.

Now Robert Pattinson: His accent was MUCH better. He didn't sound like he had a speech disability this time around. The only beef I have with him is his lack of understanding of Edward's emotions while he says his lines. In the scene when he leaves Bella in the woods, the way he relays his lines makes him sound like he enjoys leaving her. Even though I struggled through the books, I do remember that Edward is supposed to be 'pained beyond description' while breaking up with Bella. And let us not blame Robert for his lack of abs. We all know that no one can compare to Taylor Lautner. (Stifles a laugh) His fight scene with the Volturi was very entertaining to watch, however. That might just be because I enjoy watching Edward getting his trash kicked, but whatever...

Taylor Lautner: The only thing he had that met any expectation was his muscular figure. His lines were very poorly delivered, but his chemistry with Bella was good. A lot more noticeable than Edward's. Jacob does deliver a few witty lines, but they are almost thrown away due to his rushed delivery. I liked him better with the long hair too. According to 'Indian' tradition, cutting your hair is disgraceful to the culture.

I was suffering through the entire film, thinking that there was no possible hope of redemption, UNTIL, the scene with the Volturi rolled around. Despite the fact that it is not NEARLY long enough, I was absolutely blown away by Michael Sheen's acting as Aro, the leader of the Volturi. Even Cameron Bright, who played Alec, only had one line, but delivered it very well. Dakota Fanning played psychotic Jane very well, but the only suggestion I would have to her, would be to input some dramatic pauses in her dialogue. It makes the audience hang on her every word. The few she has, anyway. I'm looking forward to the expansion of her role in Eclipse. Bella's lack of emotion while Edward is being tortured by Jane's 'pain' power just screams how horrible of an actress she is. Christopher Heyerdahl and Jamie Campbell Bower do a wonderful job of playing Aro's wings; Caius and Marcus. Jamie Campbell Bower's glare that rests on his brow adds GREATLY to his character development. I'm almost tempted to skip Eclipse altogether, just so that I can see Michael Sheen again in Breaking Dawn! But then again, I would be missing Peter Facinelli and Elizabeth Reaser, who never disappoint. The rest of the Volturi guard, Felix, Demetri, and Heidi, also did a great job of making a good impression with little dialogue.

So when it boils down to it, every character in the movie, including minor ones like Charlie, and the Cullens, do very well. The only ones I cannot stand are the three main ones: Bella, Edward, and Jacob. If you can get around those, then this movie will be mildly entertaining. I only bought the DVD so that I could watch the Volturi scene over and over again!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
What were they thinking?
lieventje_lagastje9 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
First of all why is everyone so freaked out about Robert Pattinson? Second of all how does this movie get close to be nominated for best kiss let alone winning it on the MTV Movie Awards. He can't even touch her without wanting to eat her alive. Then we come to the clichés of the movie, come on did the movie really have to include a 360° spin around Bella sitting behind her desk whit a sad face, why? Is it really so interesting seeing something like that. And then the wolves. Hah, to me they're just over grown,and over animated, huskies, you know polar dogs. Then over to the acting, could it be worst, I mean Jacob Black is one of the least interesting characters in a movie, or book for that matter. Yeah , I know it's because he's changing he becomes an asshole, but could it be executed a little better. Like, here it go's, so he like just starts getting sick and so on but not start yelling at everyone. Oh, here's the best part. So Jacob and Edward both want Bella (don't get me started on her) but still they're both saying i'm dangerous you shouldn't come near me, but still they are willing to fight a death match over her. Jezus... end now to the ending, 'Bella will you marry me?'. So this it what she should say: 'Yes Edward (blablabla)', but this is what she will say (and haven't read the book) 'i don't know Edward', or 'Oh my God' or 'I don't know how to answer to this...'. That is not a cliffhanger. Cliffhangers work like, 'Will you marry me?' (few seconds) "(Blablablabla)", but still in the same movie you hear me still in the same movie.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Awful...just plain awfulness
jl-freak16 March 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I cannot express in words how bad this movie is. TEARS of boredom. And laughter. Still actual tears. I've read the books and loved them, probably because the dialogue doesn't sound so ridiculous on the pages of the books.

But that's what you get when you pair extreme cheesiness with cringe-inducing acting!

I get that Kristen Stewart wants to seem like she's oh so bored with the world and nothing can impress or make her smile. But still, you're supposed to be an actress for crying out loud. You have to ACTUALLY have more than one single facial expression which you slightly alter to 'show' feelings. It hurts to watch her. I cannot begin to comprehend how she landed this role. I'm convinced that person with facial paralysis would've managed to express more emotion than this girl did. Oh, if you've watched the movie you probably remember the 'moose having a stroke' face she made when she asked Edward to kiss her. Cracked me up so hard.

Also, I wouldn't have ever guessed that Edward and Bella were in love if it weren't for the constant over-the-top cheesy lines, and of course, the books. And I don't remember Edward looking and acting like a constipated guy with a rash on his private parts or something in the books. I get that he's in pain and stuff being around her but STILL. COME ON.

And the eyes? Didn't anyone at school notice that they had YELLOW eyes? They didn't seem so noticeable in the first movie since they were supposed to be a dark gold, but in this one they had, like, painted-on yellow eyes that looked in different ways.

All in all, it was really bad and I actually regret wasting my time watching it. The book wasn't something out of this world, but still. And the movie didn't do it justice at all.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Sorry, but not good enough
LRS10 March 2010
You do not have to be in the target audience of a film to be able to evaluate it. And this film - sorry, but is just not good enough.

At first I thought that the acting was very bad, but then I realised: you cannot really expect much of an actor to do, if the plot is full of shallow clichés. But what is more important - the general direction of the plot just does not cut it (and I guess that is more a problem of the book). Are we really expected to be passionate about heroes that are making unnatural choices? The film did not provide a problem/paradox that I would be dying to find out how the heroes cope with, and sorry - you cannot have a story without that. It is not enough just to have nice art and cinematography (which was actually very good, indeed). The film did not have any tempo to it(though, that is an often thing for an adaptation of a famous book, where you need to include a lot of details that do not benefit the film).

I have to admit that I was not a huge fan of Twilight 1, which I saw just as an average film, but after seeing the terrible reviews of New Moon I thought: "It cannot be that bad!" Well, that is exactly what it is. Sure, the fans of the book will see it, and some will also enjoy it even, perhaps. But if you are not a fan - do not watch it, as then it is just a waste of time.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Sure didn't see that coming.
syerradaps20 November 2009
well to start off, I've read all four books, and saw the first movie which i loathed.It had horrible acting, and cringe-worthy dialogue. so i was extremely disappointed with that one.I saw the trailer for new moon and became very anxious to see it. i was hoping it would be better since they got a new director......well i was wrong.i got my tickets in advance. pulled up to the theater with my mom-she has read the series to and thought twilight sucked-and we couldn't sit together because there was so many screaming teen girls.we got there half an hour earlier thinking there'd be no one there..... anyways,so the movie starts, i'm feeling pretty good.....sure as hell did not see this piece of crap coming.WORST.ACTING. but not from everyone.just Kristen and Robert.there was no chemistry at all between them as some claim. half the time he wasn't even looking at her!he mumbles his lines and its just BAD. then Kristen cant show emotion to save her life. she does this rapid blinking thing i don't understand.if they were replaced it would make a huge difference. Taylor was pretty good for the most part. he over acted at times and it came off as fake to me. like something you would see in a soap opera. but the rest of the Cullen clan,the wolf pack,and her school mates were excellent. the cgi was good,had really good stunt work. some lines seemed out of place to me. the leading roles need to FEEL the words and not just say them nonchalantly. the ending was bad to. they cut too many scenes from the book that would make a big difference to. so overall I'm disappointed. why this is such a big franchise i have no idea. fans are too obsessed, boggles my mind.i was left dissatisfied, but of course the rabid fan base will approve.
772 out of 1,325 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
awful....just plain awful
lexi011320 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I cut them some slack with Twilight, but not with this one. To say the book was butchered is an understatement. I was fully prepared to take a long, depressing ride with Bella into the depths of h**l, but instead took a trip down comedy lane. What was the point of all those ridiculous one-liners? And Ashley (Alice) - she was terrible. She was so much better in Twilight - at least she showed some character, but here it was like watching paint dry when she spoke. And as for the spoiler note, the only scene that gave me any enjoyment was the confrontation between Bella and Paul. It was just as "electric" as I pictured it in the book. Folks listen, don't waste the money. Wait for the DVD, or even better, just wait for Netflix....
233 out of 388 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Garbage
adengenira2 December 2009
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is one of the worst movies out there, even a low budget B-movie is better, much better than this one. Or is it really a low budget movie ? Cause most of the scenes are in the forest, anyway..

I couldn't even laugh at its stupidity. It made me sad and disgusted. They should pay us to see it, not we.

It has very bad acting. Some scenes don't have logics. Has cheesy romance. The special effects a 10 year old can make them better and the list goes on..

Here is the summary: Bella talks, talks, talks and does nothing, then Edward talks, talks, talks and then they go in the forest and they talk some more. Then he leaves and she starts crying. Jacob shows off his pecs and the girls start screaming, then he transforms into a giant wolf and goes all horny for Bella. Edward meanwhile thinks Bella is dead for some reason, whatever and wants to die, but Bella of course arrives just in time and saves him. They kiss and he asks to marry him. Suddenly the end.

Stay away from it! it will hurt, believe me.
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Very disappointing
marina041122 November 2009
I loved the Twilight movie, that's how I started reading the books in the first place. I've read them about ten times each and I still like them. But New Moon's big screen adaptation was a huge let down.

One thing that was improved was that many of the characters actually smiled or laughed naturally when the moment called for it, as opposed to the "I don't crack a smile cause I'm a seriously deadly vampire" routine in Twilight.

I liked the portrayal of Alice, she seemed more like what she should be according to the book, Charlie and I also liked the wolves and the rest of the special effects.

But I couldn't feel the bond between Edward and Bella. I couldn't believe that they loved each other. Hell, I couldn't believe they even liked each other. Even at the end, after their ordeal, after deciding that they would never let each other go, they were frigid. The actors just delivered their lines, they didn't feel them.

The score ranged from awful to non-existent. It seems as though it was not written specifically for New Moon. Carter Burwell's score brings to memory specific scenes in Twilight. This one is an indifferent, generic one, I guess it would fit in whatever movie you threw it in.

However, the most important flaw was that the entire movie seemed very rushed, like it was originally supposed to be much longer but somebody edited it heavily and really, really badly. For example, in an instant we are informed that Edward is going to commit suicide thinking Bella's dead, she drives off with Alice *bang* next thing you know you see a plane in the air, *bang* next thing you know Alice and Bella are already inside the stolen car on their way to Volterra and it carries on like that until the end.

No character development, no bonds between them, no space to breathe, no explanation whatsoever of how things happened or how decisions were made, nothing but a hastily chopped up summary of the book.

Is the actual movie coming out any time soon?
115 out of 187 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
What a disappointment
towards-the-within20 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I'll start with saying that I'm a fan of the original Twilight movie. I'm also a guy, so as to rule out the whole 'crazed over Pattinson' sensation that'd make me go nuts over the first film just because he was in it. I'm also a big Vampire fan...

Twilight despite its many 'original' (for lack of a ruder term) ideas when it comes to Vampires and sunlight amongst other things, had feeling. Had a character development that the books themselves fail to provide with. The lady that directed the first Twilight was what made the movie become bigger than the original book. Deeper, stronger. I can't forget the sight of Bella crying in the hospital bed in thought of Edward living her. I connected with her pain at that very moment. Twilight didn't have many action scenes, in fact it only had one. But it was a means of exploring the character development of a young girl and a very old vampire. And though the reason between their spark was 'God, he's such a hunk', 'Dracula, she smells great !' the film reached out to the audience. Tried to remind audience of feelings of romance, and falling in love and love in itself. All reasons for which I liked the first film. It had feeling.

Back to New Moon. 2 1/2 hours spent in pointless, clichéd dialogs. The actors' faces appeared as if the poor souls were in pain. And I think they were, as they were giving a script written overnight or so it felt at least. Biggest mistake, is how close it kept to the book to the point of ripping out line after line. Basing a film on a book that has less soul than an ancient Egyptian mummy is not a very good idea. The book had interesting ideas, Jacob's ascension to Werewolf (Jacob and the pack being the only thing I enjoyed in that movie). Bella's pain to explore, her need for adrenaline etc etc. But to my eyes it failed, ludicrously. It was even worse than the book.

The Cullens didn't even have any part at anything. They were shallow, empty and standing around like plant pots for the sake of existing.

Bella, Bella. Remember that Twilight moment that made me cringe, seeing her cry? Well it takes a HELL of a lot of directing to have this poor girl weep and slam herself like a widow for the entire movie and the only thought coming to my head, being 'Please, someone SHUT her up'.

Edward, Robert...He didn't want to be in this film and it showed. The teenage-hormone-based craziness of his mindless zombie fans is affecting him and let us not forget the poor guy's 23. He went from having a normal life, to being popular and now he can't even sleep properly probably out of fear a crazed fan might slit her wrists in his name. Praise the star system and the mindless people we bring in our society. I wouldn't be surprised if they'd consider changing him or if he asked to leave.

Charlie was one of the BEST characters in the first movie. He brought in the comic sidekick/relief, along with Jake's father. Both having disappeared completely in this film. As for Victoria, the audience feels her as big a threat to the couple as I feel the moon crashing on earth while I'm sleeping. Typical example of a villain whose only purpose of existence is to get kicked around. Soon.

At the end of the day, New Moon was a terrible disappointment. Save for the inevitable number of 13 year old, fainting and feigning when Robert comes on the screen this movie has nothing to offer to vampire, or non- vampire fans. a waste of time.

Got to give credit to the final cliffhanger though, the 'Marry me' part. Though I knew it was coming, they still brought that one nicely. That'll help them get some of the audience back for the next sequel which, if they keep this director, will probably look like a kung-fu b-movie remake...
106 out of 173 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Do not mess up a winning formula - bring back Catherine Hardwicke & Carter Burwell!!!
justjojo39-119 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I watched Twilight before actually reading all 4 books - several times.To be fair, New Moon was the least of my favorites - I am Team Edward. So far I have seen this movie twice, hoping that by the 2nd time it might do something for me. I was disappointed. From the opening scene, I wanted - expected something to grab me - be it the scene or the soundtrack.. but it fell flat. The film's director or maybe screenwriter tried to reproduce the book faithfully, yes it's closer to the book, but in doing so, the first half just dragged on, and the music score did not help.The pace was so slow, the dialogue just fell flat, Edward's eyebrows were too bushy (they were plucked/trimmed in the 1st movie), the Cullen's contacts looked nothing like the 1st movie. Alexandre Desplat is a great music scorer- but his style does not suit this movie..there were scenes that required music, but there was none. Whoever picked the songs for the soundtrack ought to be shot.

I bought my daughter the CD a month ago, and the songs almost sound the same.Nothing grabs you like in the Twilight Soundtrack. Say when you hear "Super Massive Black Hole" you know it's from the baseball scene, or "Eyes on Fire" when Bella was imagining Edward in her bedroom. Fans still will buy it tho, no matter what.

The pace picks up on the 2nd half when Bella cliff-jumps,and Alice rushes back to see her thinking Bella tried to kill herself. From there the pace quickens, to the point where I thought they were rushed-- from Bella & Alice's trip to Italy to stop Edward from killing himself (or being killed by the Volturi),to meeting them (Volturi)at last, to the Cullens coming back to Forks, etc...it looked like the last half was heavily edited - and badly at that. The scene that Alice shows Aro (to prove to him that Bella will turn into a vampire eventually) made me cringe - that of Edward & Bella running in the woods - people actually laughed in the cinema..it looked really ridiculous and sappy.

Twilight was made on a measly $30M budget, but Catherine Hardwicke made do with what was available successfully, it was a winning formula. Hiring Chris Weitz for New Moon to "take it to the next level" unfortunately, was a disappointment considering they had more $$$ to play with. The CGI was better because they had more money, but that's about it. Weitz hired Desplat whom he worked with previously - but it just didn't work. It looked different, sounded different but for all the wrong reasons. New Moon should have been bigger & better than Twilight, but it's not.

I hope the director does not mess up the 3rd movie - my favorite book--and I hope the people behind the production wake up to their senses and hire Carter Burwell to do the music score. He did a great job with Twilight, anything less would be a crime.

Bitterly disappointed.
212 out of 363 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
I was Blackmailed into Watching this...
jdat_199016 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Seriously. I wouldn't have gone any other way.

At the persistence of a die-hard fan girlfriend, I read the books. While cheesy and obviously not my style, I could see how it would appeal to the Prince Charming fantasy that most high-school girls like. As I got the ending I was gradually wanting more and more bathroom breaks. It's just not my thing. And having it drawn out through not one, not two, but four books just made me... irritable.

Then I watched the movie, with the same girlfriend.

I could sigh here and rub my temples, but let's get this over with. I don't think we need to harp anymore on just how horrible the acting of Kristen Stewart and Bobbie Patinson was. Taylor Lautner deserves some credit too. Obviously picked to be eye-candy, this dude cannot act. He looks sarcastic or angry through the entire film. His attempts at dialogue are pretty sad, and his hatred for vampires somehow makes you think he is a closet sparkly fan. I think he has a crush on Alice.

Speaking of... well, Alice was dainty in the books, but here, they turn her into a pretty little butterfly, flitting and flying, huffing when she doesn't get her way. Jasper was supposed to be intense and controlled, but he comes off more as bored to be here, the same for Carlisle and Esme. Rosalie is a bitch, and even though her acting makes everyone else seem like drawings, she is still irritating and grating and you hate her anyway. The only good thing about this movie is Emmett. He seems to be having so much fun that it just makes us wanna know about him.

The plot makes a sad Kristen Stewart sad, or, in her case, bland. The heartbreak would only make a three-year old cry because he/she has a dirty nappy, and well... even in the book, she seemed like she spent the entire time just... moping. And if anyone did that in real life, if a friend, I would sit her down, and have a serious 'get over him!' talk, and since she doesn't have any friends, all you can do is just pray for Laurent to kill her. Another decent casting choice, in my humble opinion.

So, she is drawn to Italy, where she flies off because Edwards is, yes, gonna kill himself because he realized he sparkles in the sunlight.... no wait, because Alice saw Bella jump into the water, and for some under explained reason she can't see what happens when the wolves are involved. I really didn't get that, in the books or in the movies. Meyer has a lot of these plot holes in her work.

And here we get to the only good side of the movie: The Vulturi. While their build-up is pretty weak, Micheal Sheen, Dakota Fanning, and whoever it is that plays Felix are incredible. Putting fear in the people's hearts, and well, during the Edward-Felix fight, I was chanting 'Felix, Felix, Felix,' In the movie theater, you kinda wished that the series was about them. They have the history, they have the background and something to build with. Hell, even as the bad guys, Meyer could have built them up a bit more.

In the end, nobody dies, and Bella and Edward are back together again even thought nobody understood why they broke up in the first place, Bella goes home to her ever-bland daddy-o played by Billy Burke, who went on to a stunning performance in 'Drive Angry' who, wouldn't you know, grounds his 17-year-old daughter for eternity. The end.

And it couldn't have come sooner.

I would have given this movie 1 star, but due to the excellent casting by the under-developed villains, as well as a couple others, I decided not to drop it down all the way. Overall, not a movie you want to waste your time with, considering the only good thing about it was a few of the side actors. Made for, by, and to honor the fans, and nobody else, which in my opinion, is a blatant lack of respect.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Why this country is going down the drain
jluppek24 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
The entire series is the biggest joke in the history of film making. It is a Hollywood disaster made famous by fanatical teens that clearly support the further abomination of society. The production value of New Moon is better than the original Twilight, but the two dimensional acting and dull storyline is comical at best. The only true validation with regards to this movie is any formal spoof made on it's behalf. But take this into consideration:

There is a line said by soon to be gone actor Taylor Lautner in about the third quarter of the film where he raises his voice to Ashley Greene's character and says "...or I could get very angry." I thought this was a joke. Did they not do multiple takes of this scene? This is the best they could come up with?

Not to mention, they have completely ruined all vampire allegory and novel adaptation for a solid decade if not an entire generation. A sparkly vampire that runs fast? This is so irrelevant and incoherent.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
I think my brain imploded out of boredom
Doc Loc25 April 2010
Well..

There is no plot. It's just a two hour long pathetic teenage girl fantasy about having these strong, immortal vampire/werewolf boys protecting and running after you like whipped chiwawas doing whatever you want them to do as long as you look a little sad. Totally pointless and shallow.

This movie should be put in the "smut for old pedophilic women" section where it belongs. Or they could have let the vampire and the werewolf ravage Kirsten Stewart and won a few AVN awards.

KEEP NEW MOON AS FAR AWAY FROM YOUR KIDS AS POSSIBLE!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews