The Twilight Saga: New Moon (2009) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
929 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
A never-ending stream of awkward moments
deathscythe_4220 November 2009
I will preface this review by saying that I have not read any of the twilight books, but I did watch the first movie before going to see this film, and I am looking at the series purely from a cinematic stand-point.

That being said, I thought this movie was a massive failure. The entire movie was very slow, long, and awkward. As I was watching it, it really felt like I was just watching a very long book unfold on screen, rather than a movie that is BASED on a book. To die-hard fans of the book, this could be considered a good thing, because all the fans really wanted to see was a movie that depicted all of the events of the book and followed it closely. By what I heard from book fans it seemed to have succeeded in that regard, but that is not at all to the film's credit. The film just moved from one scene to the next as if it was counting off a large check-list of scenes that the fans wanted to see, most of which just consisted of very uncomfortable and boring one-on-one dialogues. The film had very little momentum, and was tedious to watch. This was mostly due to the structure and pacing of the film but also due to the characters.

To be fair, some of the characters were likable, but they had very little chemistry. I already didn't quite believe Bella and Edward were in love in the first twilight. In this one I would flat out argue with Stephenie Meyer herself that the two characters were not in love. Their relationship was stiff, there seemed to be no real emotions between them, it merely consisted of silence, staring, and Edward randomly throwing out gooey love phrases like "you are my everything" and "i didn't wanna live in a world where you didn't exist" that just come out sounding hollow. There was a little more chemistry between Bella and Jacob, but even they were a bit awkward together. It seemed like none of the characters could say two words to each other without a ton of awkward pauses. The conversations were incoherent and annoying. There was a little bit of humor in the dialogue that I admit got some chuckles out of me, but even that came out of the awkwardness between all of the characters.

There were, however, a few welcome releases from the snail-like dialogue. Cinematically it had a few semi-redeeming moments. The score was likable, and a couple of scenes were artistically shot, but even so it was nothing that would deserve a best cinematography or best director nomination. The other well-needed break from the awkwardness came in the action scenes. They were very few and far between, and rather incoherent with the rest of the film, but they were enjoyable. The wolves were obviously CG in a lot of shots, but then there were some shots where they actually looked pretty real, and they were presented pretty well. They could have done a bit better job of foreshadowing them but hey at this point in the movie i was willing to accept what I could get. There was also a more intense scene near the end that I won't spoil that I thought was fairly well-done.

All in all, I did enjoy a few scenes in this movie, but as a whole it was slow, incoherent, poorly acted, and a bit uncomfortable. If you're a die-hard fan of the book, there's a chance you'll love it but if you're looking for a truly cinematic experience, this isn't it.

3 stars out of 10
617 out of 890 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
So BAD I find it funny
crazybilby19 November 2009
I've read all the books. I know what happens. This never ruins a film for me.

I didn't want to see this film because the previous one was lacking in... well... everything. But girlfriend wanted to see it. I went in and was instantly surprised to see the demographic had widened past 12-16 year old girls who instantly swoon at any even remotely hot guy so that was interesting. It's not relevant to how good the film was- it just reaffirmed to me (and should to all of you) that hating a series on principle or having preconceived notions of how bad something will be is unfair on it.

Not in this case. It was still bad. BUT worth the money I payed to see it because though it most definitely not intended to be entertaining in the way I found it. It was full of melodramatic dialogue and bad acting which, if you take ANY Drama classes at school- Which Robert DIDN'T- you'll notice certain things about how people deliver lines. You notice how they're SAYING lines they have memorised with unnatural and stylised emphasis on the key words in the sentences without giving the (cheesy) dialogue depth or realism. Quite simply, it was so terrible I found myself resisting the urge to burst out laughing in a room full of fans who were probably misinterpreting the melodrama as "Good, emotional drama." No. This film is ridiculous.

As it goes further on it gets less tightly stitched together and I had to become reliant on my knowledge of the books to fill in and pick up the slight gaps in dialogue and plot. They would say things that are based on something that didn't happen on screen (probably deleted scene for time) or their dialogue would just be terrible unrealistic lines that are work as standalone ones for a trailer but in conversation it seems like they're jumping slightly just to get to say something that is dramatic without it actually making too much sense.

BUT! It does have SOME redeeming qualities! The melodrama wasn't nonstop hilarity so thankfully something else held my attention. There was actual effort put into this film. The fight scenes actually used REAL special effects (something the first film was a bit cheap on) which actually looked kinda impressive. Any action was short lived unfortunately but what little there was, they did a reasonable job with.

I was impressed at the presence of transition. The previous film jumped and skipped and the next plot point just WAS without having been caused. This film (until near the end, of course) actually had a pace and a coherency to it that allows you to understand it without reading the books. This is a bonus. Certain things you'd think would drag on as the director tries to give you time to let the "emotion" "sink in" thankfully didn't take forever and the entire movie fit almost snuggly into its 2 hour length. Too bad it fell apart more and more it went along.

The film also shares the semi-awkward character interactions that create the same humour as the first one. Not as deliberately funny as the first one (though, as I said, it was pretty hilarious when it wasn't meant to be) though.

Though it was many failings with only a few things to back it up as being a reasonable film it will definitely make all you little teenage girls out there desperate to see Jacob's hell tanked up body very happy. You can HEAR the audience's reaction the first time Jacob takes his shirt off. He's got all you need: Pecs, biceps, ABS OF STEEL and minimal clothing. Too bad he lacks depth and real character. (Girls love obsessively devoted Zombies, they don't think enough to complain) It is NO WAY even NEAR one of the best films of 2009. NO ONE should say this ridiculous claim.

Really tossing up between 3 and 4 stars. Mmm. I guess a movie's highlight shouldn't be how low it sinks. 3.
1,013 out of 1,545 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Best thing I could say was it's a chick flick (no offence meant ladies!)
roy-583-45325023 November 2009
Well, my lovely lady wife has been waiting for this movie since Twilight, and is a huge fan of the books, I thought I would keep her company. We saw the Twilight when it first came out, and I wasn't really impressed with that, so though, hey ho, go in with low expectations and hopefully I would be surprised.

The only problem was, I don't think I could have expected less and still been as bored as I was.

When in the theatre I was probably the oldest male at 37, apart from some dads that had been brought along by their kids, and several boyfriends, which is fair as I guess the film is aimed at the younger ladies than us old folks.

So, we sat down and I waited for anything to happen, well anything really. There was no chemistry at all between the leading actors, just a dull numbness which left me bored, I really don't know how Kristen Stewart got the role as she's possibly the most boring actress around and added nothing to the film at all, unless I guess she was just asked to play a spoilt brat with no brain.

I thought, maybe there is some suspense? Nope, none of that either. Bella does a very good job of not really showing any emotion either way and where in Twilight you there was at least a couple of times it made you think "something good might happen" there wasn't really a single moment in this film that stood out, although I was at some point expecting to see the teleprompter which some of the actors looked like they might have been using, so wooden was the performance.

It's a shame really that the other film I have seen recently "UP" you feel more attachment to the characters in that, than you do to the actors in this.

Yes, the CGI was good, the Wolves were pretty great. But like in 2012, throw a lot of money at CGI and be amazed, but that's about it. There so many little bits of story that really didn't seem to do anything, it really reminded me of another film directed by this lovely director, Golden Compass anyone?? All in all, pretty much a letdown, and that's with low expectations, if felt like just another suck on the wallet by Hollywood to our pockets.

If you are thinking of this film, and really if you read most of the reviews on this site I can't imagine why, wait until it comes onto DVD. Rent it for £1 and you can get a couple of cheap laughs at the acting, and for the ladies, buff men, apart from that give it a miss.
210 out of 314 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The Twilight Saga: Teenage Porn
Smells_Like_Cheese20 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
It's that time again: Twilight! Ever since last year's release of the mega-successful movie Twilight, our lives have not been the same. With a new director on our hands, Chris Weitz, I actually had hopes for New Moon. Last year with all the screaming fans, Twilight has turned many off. It also made vampires into a joke, New Moon had potential to give the series some life. Unfortunately, we got trash. Not only vampires are a joke to this story, but these movies are a joke and an embarrassment to cinema. I'm trying to not be cruel, because I honestly feel so sorry for this cast, since they don't have much material to work with. For God's sake they have lines like "Your breathing is my gift", "You don't belong in my world", and "I couldn't live in a world without you existing". How could you work with soap opera lines like that? Not to mention, more than 80% of the film is 5 buff meaty guys in jean shorts, which I'm above those jokes, but I was expecting as they walked on screen "Gonna Make You Sweat" was going to play in the background. It seems like this was teenage porn for a while because every girl in the theater kept going crazy with Jacob's 6, no, 12 pack abs exposed. It seems like every chance the director got, he had to make the little girls happy by exploiting these young actors.

The characters are another problem: Bella, Edward and Jacob. I've read the books, Bella never intrigued me. But while last film she was just flat, this film I wanted to kill her. She's 18, now granted I know that she'll probably never find another vampire boyfriend who's so creepy in love with her, but good God, does this girl need to get a gigantic grip on life. Edward leaves and even Hamlet would tell her to lighten up a bit. She goes into this coma state where she's just obsessed on why her vampire boyfriend doesn't want her. It's more sickening, a bad influence on young girls and pretty pathetic rather than sympathetic. Edward is introduced in this sequel with him walking in slow motion as if a rock star just came on the screen, more to just please the fans and give him an applause. He spends the whole movie pretty much saying how much he loves Bella, how he can't live without her, basically any pre-teen's wet dream that a guy will be that devoted when it's actually more so creepy. While Edward is Bella's boyfriend that sparkles, we have a sensitive werewolf, Jacob. I feel so sorry for him in this movie, Bella basically tags him along, starting to kiss him, but then pulling away, but then rubbing up against him, but then telling him he can't have her problems in his life, but then saying he's beautiful and she loves him.

It's Bella's birthday, fearing her aging process she's having nightmares that she will grow old as Edward will stay young and beautiful. Alice and the other Cullens throw her a surprise birthday party; while opening a gift, Bella accidentally gets a paper cut. When the blood hit's the floor, Jasper goes into a violent state and tries to attack Bella, Edward stops him and saves Bella. After months of Bella begging Edward to change her, Carlisle explains why Edward does not want to take her mortal soul. Realizing the danger he's put her in, Edward has to break up with Bella. He tells her that he doesn't want her and that he and his family will never see her again. Bella goes into a coma practically, spending months inside her home and not seeing her friends. Realizing she could see Edward through adrenaline rushes, she convinces Jacob to fix a couple of motorcycles. As the months pass, her and Jacob grow closer as she starts to fall for him, but of course being Bella, he has a "monstrous" flaw, he's a werewolf. Bella accepts it as she tries to move on with her life, but Alice Cullen comes back saying she had a vision of Bella dying. After a misunderstanding, Edward thinks she's dead too and Alice tells Bella that Edward is about to sacrifice himself for her.

To sum this review up, this movie was made for the fans, which MOSTLY consists of 12-15 year old girls and desperate housewives. I'm not looking to insult anyone here, but after reading the books and seeing these two movies, I feel like my IQ sunk a few points. They insult my intelligence and I will never understand why this story is appealing to anyone. Stephanie Meyer is a genius in some aspect: almost every girl in high school doesn't feel special or just average. How cool would it be to have someone who has lived centuries, who is gorgeous, smart, strong and kind who just thinks you're the ultimate catch? That's what sold these stories and I hate it because it makes these girls fantasize about a world that will never exist. These stories are old and over used and Twilight has overstayed it's welcome. The special effects were awful and the material was just lousy. To be kind to the film, the action sequences are a major improvement over the last film, much more exciting and intense. I could go on forever with this review, but I'm going to save some more of my rant for my friends. While I was very kind with the rating in the first Twilight, I understood it who it was meant for and took it for what it was. This is trash and could have had so much more potential. This movie was made for the fans, so if you're not one, there's a very good chance you're going to agree with everything I said in this review.

2/10
69 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Embarrassing
sunsetshoegazer27 February 2010
The first Twilight film was really terrible, and had some moments of unintentional comedy, but this was actually much worse. I spent the entire time just cringing at the poor lines, the acting, the God-awful treatment of mythology, the misogynistic, patriarchal and abusive undertones throughout the film, and the terrible special effects for such a blockbuster series.

A lot of people will dislike so much scorn directed to a film that's just a fun watch - I understand this argument but there's a difference between fun and forgettable and just being complete trash. There are incredibly entertaining movies that aren't Shakespeare but don't actually manage to offend my intelligence and my gender. This isn't one of them. Additionally, popular culture affects our world view more than we can sometimes imagine. Media should be analysed because it's influential.

And it confuses me how this could be so popular. Edward, Bella and Jacob are some of the most unpleasant and unappealing protagonists I've ever encountered in popular fiction. Bella is shallow and yet pretentious, while Edward is controlling and demeaning. These are not people that you would like if one of them wasn't a vampire and the other was snogging them.

One of the worst films I've ever seen, and it's something devoid of both artistic merit and any sort of meaning, message or thought. It really sucks that young women are enjoying this franchise and seeing Edward and Jacob as the ideal love interests.

EDIT: A lot of people giving this film positive reviews are trying to dismiss criticism by saying it's a 'film for the women/girls/ladies'... have any idea how much that furthers stereotypes? I know more than one guy who loves Twilight, and more than one girl who loves *enter generic action movie which people think only men like*. Come on people move behind this shallow 'Boys like this girls like that' already. Popular culture should be analysed, and it sucks if you think just because it's developed for one gender in mind it gets some sort of free pass for being sexist, badly written, poorly acted drivel. It sucks if you think this sort of tripe should be 'for the girls'. Another card being played is the 'Is Romeo and Juliet bad because its unrealistic?' question. Romeo and Juliet, though, is about the tragedy and immaturity of the two young lovers. The relationship fails and ends in such disaster because of the way they rushed and were consumed by lust. And it's one of Shakespeare's most heavily critiqued plays - a lot of people have criticised it. So if the Bard himself is not above disapproval then why should something like this be exempt?
57 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie and actors ever win MTV Movie Awards
londonmarcos6 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
The MTV Movie Awards just ended and the worst movie that I've ever seen, New Moon, won the main Awards: Best Movie, best actress (Kristen Stewart) and best actor (Robert Pattinson). MTV is destroying young people's brain all over the world but specially in America. I feel very sorry for the new generation.

Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson performances in both Twilight movies are by far the worst that I've seen in my 3 decades of life.

Ahh, The couple with less chemistry in the whole World also won the Best Kiss award. Good Lord!!

Congratulations on the "awards"! LOL
21 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
wow this was baddddddddd, (spoilers)
likeafool6913 April 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I watched this, dreadful movie, and couldn't stand it. but i sat through it regardless. its a terrible hormonal fest. shes running around trying to fill out the gap that her father left when he left her mother, and when she meets one guy he just hates himself and tell her to leave him alone. then she meets jacob, and ends up being told the same thing, 20 min of her whining and crying and sitting while menacingly watching everyone else having a life for four months or something. then her weird obsession of getting into trouble just to see edward is just crazy. she should be locked up in a padded cell, instead she walks around like a zombie and sounding like shes getting strangled in her sleep, this movie was a chore to see a little girls fantasy of being with vampires. all in all. it could just be a dream while shes in a coma and it all started when she thought she got saved by edward but instead shes dreaming all this up. it all makes sense, because how ridiculous the story is. for shame, that could have been a better way of ending it.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Waste of time!
mosleh-119 March 2010
This movie goes on and on! No climax no plot!

Right from the start is all whinnying and whinnying of Bella!

The movies go flat from there, and then she is not sure about Jacob.

No what I expected at all.

I haven't read the book, but the first one was a real attention catcher.

This movie is a waste of your time.

This movie could be done in 60 Min. or less. There was no need to keep the movie going for so long! Waste of film, and our time.

The whole movie is very predictable.

Just a waste of time!
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Sure didn't see that coming.
syerradaps20 November 2009
well to start off, I've read all four books, and saw the first movie which i loathed.It had horrible acting, and cringe-worthy dialogue. so i was extremely disappointed with that one.I saw the trailer for new moon and became very anxious to see it. i was hoping it would be better since they got a new director......well i was wrong.i got my tickets in advance. pulled up to the theater with my mom-she has read the series to and thought twilight sucked-and we couldn't sit together because there was so many screaming teen girls.we got there half an hour earlier thinking there'd be no one there..... anyways,so the movie starts, i'm feeling pretty good.....sure as hell did not see this piece of crap coming.WORST.ACTING. but not from everyone.just Kristen and Robert.there was no chemistry at all between them as some claim. half the time he wasn't even looking at her!he mumbles his lines and its just BAD. then Kristen cant show emotion to save her life. she does this rapid blinking thing i don't understand.if they were replaced it would make a huge difference. Taylor was pretty good for the most part. he over acted at times and it came off as fake to me. like something you would see in a soap opera. but the rest of the Cullen clan,the wolf pack,and her school mates were excellent. the cgi was good,had really good stunt work. some lines seemed out of place to me. the leading roles need to FEEL the words and not just say them nonchalantly. the ending was bad to. they cut too many scenes from the book that would make a big difference to. so overall I'm disappointed. why this is such a big franchise i have no idea. fans are too obsessed, boggles my mind.i was left dissatisfied, but of course the rabid fan base will approve.
777 out of 1,331 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
awful....just plain awful
lexi011320 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I cut them some slack with Twilight, but not with this one. To say the book was butchered is an understatement. I was fully prepared to take a long, depressing ride with Bella into the depths of h**l, but instead took a trip down comedy lane. What was the point of all those ridiculous one-liners? And Ashley (Alice) - she was terrible. She was so much better in Twilight - at least she showed some character, but here it was like watching paint dry when she spoke. And as for the spoiler note, the only scene that gave me any enjoyment was the confrontation between Bella and Paul. It was just as "electric" as I pictured it in the book. Folks listen, don't waste the money. Wait for the DVD, or even better, just wait for Netflix....
235 out of 391 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Very disappointing
marina041122 November 2009
I loved the Twilight movie, that's how I started reading the books in the first place. I've read them about ten times each and I still like them. But New Moon's big screen adaptation was a huge let down.

One thing that was improved was that many of the characters actually smiled or laughed naturally when the moment called for it, as opposed to the "I don't crack a smile cause I'm a seriously deadly vampire" routine in Twilight.

I liked the portrayal of Alice, she seemed more like what she should be according to the book, Charlie and I also liked the wolves and the rest of the special effects.

But I couldn't feel the bond between Edward and Bella. I couldn't believe that they loved each other. Hell, I couldn't believe they even liked each other. Even at the end, after their ordeal, after deciding that they would never let each other go, they were frigid. The actors just delivered their lines, they didn't feel them.

The score ranged from awful to non-existent. It seems as though it was not written specifically for New Moon. Carter Burwell's score brings to memory specific scenes in Twilight. This one is an indifferent, generic one, I guess it would fit in whatever movie you threw it in.

However, the most important flaw was that the entire movie seemed very rushed, like it was originally supposed to be much longer but somebody edited it heavily and really, really badly. For example, in an instant we are informed that Edward is going to commit suicide thinking Bella's dead, she drives off with Alice *bang* next thing you know you see a plane in the air, *bang* next thing you know Alice and Bella are already inside the stolen car on their way to Volterra and it carries on like that until the end.

No character development, no bonds between them, no space to breathe, no explanation whatsoever of how things happened or how decisions were made, nothing but a hastily chopped up summary of the book.

Is the actual movie coming out any time soon?
117 out of 191 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What a disappointment
towards-the-within20 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I'll start with saying that I'm a fan of the original Twilight movie. I'm also a guy, so as to rule out the whole 'crazed over Pattinson' sensation that'd make me go nuts over the first film just because he was in it. I'm also a big Vampire fan...

Twilight despite its many 'original' (for lack of a ruder term) ideas when it comes to Vampires and sunlight amongst other things, had feeling. Had a character development that the books themselves fail to provide with. The lady that directed the first Twilight was what made the movie become bigger than the original book. Deeper, stronger. I can't forget the sight of Bella crying in the hospital bed in thought of Edward living her. I connected with her pain at that very moment. Twilight didn't have many action scenes, in fact it only had one. But it was a means of exploring the character development of a young girl and a very old vampire. And though the reason between their spark was 'God, he's such a hunk', 'Dracula, she smells great !' the film reached out to the audience. Tried to remind audience of feelings of romance, and falling in love and love in itself. All reasons for which I liked the first film. It had feeling.

Back to New Moon. 2 1/2 hours spent in pointless, clichéd dialogs. The actors' faces appeared as if the poor souls were in pain. And I think they were, as they were giving a script written overnight or so it felt at least. Biggest mistake, is how close it kept to the book to the point of ripping out line after line. Basing a film on a book that has less soul than an ancient Egyptian mummy is not a very good idea. The book had interesting ideas, Jacob's ascension to Werewolf (Jacob and the pack being the only thing I enjoyed in that movie). Bella's pain to explore, her need for adrenaline etc etc. But to my eyes it failed, ludicrously. It was even worse than the book.

The Cullens didn't even have any part at anything. They were shallow, empty and standing around like plant pots for the sake of existing.

Bella, Bella. Remember that Twilight moment that made me cringe, seeing her cry? Well it takes a HELL of a lot of directing to have this poor girl weep and slam herself like a widow for the entire movie and the only thought coming to my head, being 'Please, someone SHUT her up'.

Edward, Robert...He didn't want to be in this film and it showed. The teenage-hormone-based craziness of his mindless zombie fans is affecting him and let us not forget the poor guy's 23. He went from having a normal life, to being popular and now he can't even sleep properly probably out of fear a crazed fan might slit her wrists in his name. Praise the star system and the mindless people we bring in our society. I wouldn't be surprised if they'd consider changing him or if he asked to leave.

Charlie was one of the BEST characters in the first movie. He brought in the comic sidekick/relief, along with Jake's father. Both having disappeared completely in this film. As for Victoria, the audience feels her as big a threat to the couple as I feel the moon crashing on earth while I'm sleeping. Typical example of a villain whose only purpose of existence is to get kicked around. Soon.

At the end of the day, New Moon was a terrible disappointment. Save for the inevitable number of 13 year old, fainting and feigning when Robert comes on the screen this movie has nothing to offer to vampire, or non- vampire fans. a waste of time.

Got to give credit to the final cliffhanger though, the 'Marry me' part. Though I knew it was coming, they still brought that one nicely. That'll help them get some of the audience back for the next sequel which, if they keep this director, will probably look like a kung-fu b-movie remake...
108 out of 176 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Do not mess up a winning formula - bring back Catherine Hardwicke & Carter Burwell!!!
justjojo39-119 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I watched Twilight before actually reading all 4 books - several times.To be fair, New Moon was the least of my favorites - I am Team Edward. So far I have seen this movie twice, hoping that by the 2nd time it might do something for me. I was disappointed. From the opening scene, I wanted - expected something to grab me - be it the scene or the soundtrack.. but it fell flat. The film's director or maybe screenwriter tried to reproduce the book faithfully, yes it's closer to the book, but in doing so, the first half just dragged on, and the music score did not help.The pace was so slow, the dialogue just fell flat, Edward's eyebrows were too bushy (they were plucked/trimmed in the 1st movie), the Cullen's contacts looked nothing like the 1st movie. Alexandre Desplat is a great music scorer- but his style does not suit this movie..there were scenes that required music, but there was none. Whoever picked the songs for the soundtrack ought to be shot.

I bought my daughter the CD a month ago, and the songs almost sound the same.Nothing grabs you like in the Twilight Soundtrack. Say when you hear "Super Massive Black Hole" you know it's from the baseball scene, or "Eyes on Fire" when Bella was imagining Edward in her bedroom. Fans still will buy it tho, no matter what.

The pace picks up on the 2nd half when Bella cliff-jumps,and Alice rushes back to see her thinking Bella tried to kill herself. From there the pace quickens, to the point where I thought they were rushed-- from Bella & Alice's trip to Italy to stop Edward from killing himself (or being killed by the Volturi),to meeting them (Volturi)at last, to the Cullens coming back to Forks, etc...it looked like the last half was heavily edited - and badly at that. The scene that Alice shows Aro (to prove to him that Bella will turn into a vampire eventually) made me cringe - that of Edward & Bella running in the woods - people actually laughed in the cinema..it looked really ridiculous and sappy.

Twilight was made on a measly $30M budget, but Catherine Hardwicke made do with what was available successfully, it was a winning formula. Hiring Chris Weitz for New Moon to "take it to the next level" unfortunately, was a disappointment considering they had more $$$ to play with. The CGI was better because they had more money, but that's about it. Weitz hired Desplat whom he worked with previously - but it just didn't work. It looked different, sounded different but for all the wrong reasons. New Moon should have been bigger & better than Twilight, but it's not.

I hope the director does not mess up the 3rd movie - my favorite book--and I hope the people behind the production wake up to their senses and hire Carter Burwell to do the music score. He did a great job with Twilight, anything less would be a crime.

Bitterly disappointed.
213 out of 366 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Had a few high points, but other than that...
sjmutchie11 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
All right, so I'll try to be kind about the acting given by the inexperienced teenagers.

Kristen Stewart: I never expected much out of her, especially after her mediocre performance in Twilight. And, I was smart not to expect anything. She didn't improve AT ALL. Her lines are still rushed, and emotionless. Bella's character hasn't developed at all either.

When Edward walks towards Bella, or enters the scene, her face doesn't even light up like a real love-struck teenager's would. With Jacob, it does. I do not approve of being a part of the 'teams' that they've invented for Edward or Jacob, but as a third-party observer, she has much better chemistry with Jacob. When Edward leaves her in the woods, do you think that she would shed ONE BLOODY TEAR?! She doesn't even appear to be affected. And when she is 'depressed' for three months, could you fix your screams so that they don't sound like you're going into labor and giving birth? Thank you.

Now Robert Pattinson: His accent was MUCH better. He didn't sound like he had a speech disability this time around. The only beef I have with him is his lack of understanding of Edward's emotions while he says his lines. In the scene when he leaves Bella in the woods, the way he relays his lines makes him sound like he enjoys leaving her. Even though I struggled through the books, I do remember that Edward is supposed to be 'pained beyond description' while breaking up with Bella. And let us not blame Robert for his lack of abs. We all know that no one can compare to Taylor Lautner. (Stifles a laugh) His fight scene with the Volturi was very entertaining to watch, however. That might just be because I enjoy watching Edward getting his trash kicked, but whatever...

Taylor Lautner: The only thing he had that met any expectation was his muscular figure. His lines were very poorly delivered, but his chemistry with Bella was good. A lot more noticeable than Edward's. Jacob does deliver a few witty lines, but they are almost thrown away due to his rushed delivery. I liked him better with the long hair too. According to 'Indian' tradition, cutting your hair is disgraceful to the culture.

I was suffering through the entire film, thinking that there was no possible hope of redemption, UNTIL, the scene with the Volturi rolled around. Despite the fact that it is not NEARLY long enough, I was absolutely blown away by Michael Sheen's acting as Aro, the leader of the Volturi. Even Cameron Bright, who played Alec, only had one line, but delivered it very well. Dakota Fanning played psychotic Jane very well, but the only suggestion I would have to her, would be to input some dramatic pauses in her dialogue. It makes the audience hang on her every word. The few she has, anyway. I'm looking forward to the expansion of her role in Eclipse. Bella's lack of emotion while Edward is being tortured by Jane's 'pain' power just screams how horrible of an actress she is. Christopher Heyerdahl and Jamie Campbell Bower do a wonderful job of playing Aro's wings; Caius and Marcus. Jamie Campbell Bower's glare that rests on his brow adds GREATLY to his character development. I'm almost tempted to skip Eclipse altogether, just so that I can see Michael Sheen again in Breaking Dawn! But then again, I would be missing Peter Facinelli and Elizabeth Reaser, who never disappoint. The rest of the Volturi guard, Felix, Demetri, and Heidi, also did a great job of making a good impression with little dialogue.

So when it boils down to it, every character in the movie, including minor ones like Charlie, and the Cullens, do very well. The only ones I cannot stand are the three main ones: Bella, Edward, and Jacob. If you can get around those, then this movie will be mildly entertaining. I only bought the DVD so that I could watch the Volturi scene over and over again!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
That's entertainment?
samcro-685-16896213 March 2010
I also have not read ANY of the books. I'm sure they're great. Having siad that, this "movie" was absolutely so dull and brutally stagnant I absolutely cannot believe it got distribution and people paid money to see it. I took my daughter to see the first movie, Twilight, in the theater. I wasn't expecting anything ground-breaking or spectacular, and I pretty much got what I expected - a tweenage love story with 2 dimensional characters and a thin plot line about teenage vampires and werewolves and how they deal with their issues while going to high school. Transylvania 90210 basically. New Moon, on the other hand, is a movie that looks like they took whatever was left on the cutting room floor and slapped it together and put a couple songs on top of it. The only redeeming quality of the film is the lush forest background. I am pretty sure there wasn't even a script. The actors just showed up on the set and improvised incomplete sentences - I swear to God that's what it felt like: Bella: "You cut your hair!" Jacob: "That's not all that's been going on..." Really? You mean that's not all that's been going on in the course of the school year with vampires and werewolves running around town? I'm on the edge of my seat... Did the head vampire guy get an oil change too? I can't stand the suspense. In all seriousness I commend Summit Entertainment on creating the "pet rock" of the decade and getting people to cough up good money to see... nothing. It's not a horror film because there's no suspense or horror. It's not a drama because there is no underlying tension or tangible conflict... no characters even raise their voices at each other... it's basically a LONG moving photograph of a few shirtless guys and a couple emo girls hanging out. Surely there was a crew member on the set of the film that went home after work and said to themselves "I can't believe I'm working on this. This is an embarrassment." I have never been so un-entertained in my life. If this is where movies are headed, I don't blame people for just staying at home and plugging into youtube for 2 hours instead. No plot, no commendable acting, no substance, and a sequel on the way. New Moon.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Lol, they can't actually like this garbage can they.
jc_mcd9210 March 2010
First off I'll start by saying that this is an absolutely awful film and anyone who thinks otherwise should really open their eyes.

This movie is a blockbuster. There were TV spots on every every 30 minutes encouraging us to go see it. that we won't be disappointed. Truth is this movie was a disappointment. Disappointing that it made so much money. Wow. this movie was so bad. Crappy directing, crappy acting. It felt to me like the actors didn't even care in this movie. Like they just showed up to work and went home at the end of the day. Like they weren't invested in their roles.

This movie is supposed to be a love story and yet the two leads had absolutely no chemistry on screen. It felt like they didn't even know each other. And it felt so awkward, I was embarrassed to watch them at times, and the melodrama which was just about every second didn't help that. By the way before I saw this film I read the screenplay. I wasn't impressed with it, I didn't think it was very good, but the movie was worse. The lines were delivered dramatically when there was no room for drama. Wow, this movie was horrible. Worse than the first which I found mildly entertaining. But this, this raises the bar on how Dodgy Hollywood can be.

On an upside. The scene where Bella wrecks the bike and Jacob rips off his shirt to help her made me laugh for days.

1/5
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The trailer was the movie...
lyfzabytch10 March 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I don't know who edited the trailer for this movie, or who supervised it but they actually told the whole story in the trailer...nothing to expect. Maybe they were hard pressed as their are very few interesting points in the whole movie. It is so slow and stupid. It could have been finished in an hour. Even the title takes a minute to show the name of the movie i.e. new moon across a fading full moon. Another thing which amazes me is how the characters react when they kiss? they shiver.. MY GOD!!! Who the hell does that? I like kristen stewarts's acting because it is really natural and she is like that even in award ceremonies but this movie makes me hate bella. Out of the two hours, 1 hour and 45 minutes are lost on the line "hole in my chest". Edward leaves her right after she gets attacked and she takes till the end of the movie to decipher that it was for her own good...r u kidding me? The wolves are animated superbly but they are given less than 5 minutes on the screen which I think is a lost because a few fight scenes could have paced the movie. You know the end of the movie even before it begins, not because you have read the book but because you saw the trailer. Highlights: edward leaving, jacob's abs and Pec implants and the brief stupid fight at the end. I thank god for piracy and torrents so that I don't have to spend money on these kind films. I hated this movie and I am SHIFT+DELing it right now.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointed
sassy131696 March 2010
I loved the Twilight series and having read the books countless times, I was really looking forward to seeing the movie, to be honest I couldn't even sleep the night before...sad but true.

IT TURNED OUT TO BE A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT :(

Non of the characters had any chemistry with each other, it felt like they were in dress rehearsals...and seriously any good director an make a bad actor look great...its called editing...anyway the actors direction has to come from somebody...he had a vision and he went with it...for me it wasn't good...I thought he did a bad job with his great book, the scenes were very choppy and they didn't feel complete, the actors lines were way too short and he failed to capture any moments in the movie.

I know a lot of people were disappointed with Twilight, I on the other hand found it to be amazing, I fell in love with the way Edward loved Bella, I thought they had an amazing chemistry between each other and there was a lot more feeling to the movie...all the actors just fit...even though Catherine paid the price for her imagination, I think she did a much better job.

In New Moon the Vampires looked horrendous with their crazy make up...Edwards face and neck were two different shades of white, his contacts were so fake, I couldn't notice anything else in his first scene...I just kept thinking how bad his makeup looked...the Vampires appeared to look more natural in the first movie...even though they were a few shades of green...lol

Twilight's soundtrack was amazing, it complimented every scene, even now when I hear a certain song you think of that particular scene...the music in New Moon didn't fit...it was very forgettable...

Anywho please don't hate, I just had to get it off my chest...it was a huge disappointment for me, it's just because I was sooo eager to watch this movie and I thought it would be much better than the first one, I had high hopes...I've watched Twilight a million times and I tried watching New Moon for the second time and I just couldn't do it, every scene is so cringe worthy and I feel sorry for the actors for being portrayed in that way.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Avoid like vampires avoid garlic
leandro-678-4111116 March 2010
Never wrote a review in IMDb but this movie was so lame and boring i felt compelled to give my vote. The love story just is to bad to be true,you never felt sorry for the girl, just want to slap her around for making all those stupid things and, herself, being so stupid and irritating. Not to mention there was no chemistry between the two main characters whatsoever. I think those were the most boring two hours of my life... Was that close to turn off the movie after 10 minutes but hoped things would get better... Well, they didn't. Wished I saved the other 2 hours to do something better. Avoid this movie like vampires avoid garlic and wooden stakes.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Where is the taste?
darkmax5 March 2010
I found the first film hugely overrated, despite going in with an open mind, knowing it is a girl flick. but at least I sat through the first one.

For some reason, 1/2 an hour was the best I could get through the second.

Explain to me, what's so "hot" about the male leads? Edward has a flat face, and dog boy is just butt ugly. Granted the dog boy has a body, but that does not make him "hot". Whatever happen to the taste in men, girls? If it is not men with a body or a face, it is a gay. Where are girls with superficial tastes these days? Gosh....

Then there's Kirsten Stewart.... Come on! Surely there are better looking chicks out there. For that matter the one playing Jessica is already better.

I have been very disappointed in Hollywood's teen flicks these days, and this one just tops it off. I hope they didn't make enough to make a third one, but I would then be underestimating the power of the tastelessness of the target group these days.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
They Had wolfs, and Vampires yet focused on endless Teenage melodrama..T_T
Serenit-y26 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Guess i'll just be repeating what has already gone through, 1 - Either bad acting, or perherps the wrong type of acting, instead of setting the scenes of a doomed love, or some sort of "Love", just sets the scene of a teenage infactuation, complete with a needy chick who really just needs an exciting hobby, an emo vampire and an---actually quite realistic human-wolf person, he portrayed the most reasonable personality in the movie.

2 - The dialogue was terrible, spoiler

"I love you....please don't make me choose...It was always him"...Sounds like a choice -_-

"Promise me you won't do anything wreckless...and I promise you I'll never enter your life again"...What? that's your promise to incite her not to do anything wrekless?

3 The movie just went from Pretty OK...to alright...to What?...to oh COMMON stop Degenerating!

Best part of the movie was watching the court scene, since it introduced a break, or diversion from the constant melodrama. The Wolf fight scenes, all of them we're good.

Now I know All the actors in this film are good actors, So I simply blame the mis-interpretation of what they we're supposed to portray, the writer for the regurgitated dialogue (A lot of it) and the director for not finding the right balance between the actual plot, and the constant endless melodrama, the Fan girls/Media for Making the director place so much emphasis on showing off abs and sculptured bodies.

Common guys!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Recast Kristen Stewart as Bella Swan !!!!!!!!!!!!
ellapax10 January 2010
The #1 complaint Twilight fans have is Kristen Stewart's poor acting. Summit needs to replace her now. Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner cannot perform to the best of their abilities with her as the lead actress. I loved the books and do not want to continue to be disappointed with the films. I realize production companies are in it for the money but Summit needs to slow down (even re-shoot Eclipse) and do justice to these books. I know many of you agree with me so please sign the petition in order for change.

http://www.petitionspot.com/petitions/kristinasbella

Summit please listen. Summit please listen. Summit please listen.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Lots of LOLZ. Where they weren't meant to be.
FemaleSmells9 January 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Oh, my WORD, the second installment of the Twilight series (the one in which Eddie C. leaves Wet Bella FOREVER and she then befriends Jacob Black). I had to laugh. It was ridiculous. Bella is a twit. Edward is an emo little-boy-old-man who needs to get over himself. The only characters I believed were Jacob, Alice and that very small appearance by Emmet.

The entire movie is filled up with soppy, sugary-sweet lines that absolutely no-one would ever say in real life, unless they were well-rehearsed wannabe goths. The (few) funny lines weren't actually amusing, and i found myself laughing at the unfunny parts, like when Belly-Welly cut her finger in the beginning, and when Edward wanted to kill himself by SHOWING OFF HIS NAKED TORSO!! (Which wouldn't have really worked, because due to older vampire folklore, vampires do NOT have sparkly skin, so people would be more likely to think he was being Vince Noir from The Mighty Boosh, or David Bowie.)

However, the movie is very pretty. there's LOTS of eye-candy (more ways than one!) and the forest is pretty. Also, I liked the cinematography; the movie was shot in a lovely artistic and clever way.

As usual, Kristen Stewart is wooden, and Robert Pattinson either looks like he has a hangover or is passing a rather large, painful stool.

It's even more ridiculous than the first. I have to rate it 3 stars: One for the werewolves, one for the visual beauty, and one for being full of LOLZ.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awfulness Unparalleled
lemon_sunrise24 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Watching New Moon, the latest in the Twilight Saga, was for me, an experience identical to reading the book:

Boring.

Mistake #1 was the script. It was juvenile and contrived to the extent that I wondered if some misguided fool had allowed Stephenie Queen-of-the-Paedophiles Meyer to write it herself. Given the drastic amount of quotes from the book, they may as well have.

New Moon is significantly more introspective than its fellows: Bella mopes for most of the story, sans Edward. Introspection can work well on the page. However, it's much harder to transfer onto film. Montages of Bella screaming in her sleep would have been more at home in One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, and when her depression is drawn out for over two hours, it begins to feel gratuitous.

As for the acting, they try, they really do, but they fall short. Kristen Stewart is monotonous. She plays Bella in shades of grey, sounding exactly the same when she tells Edward she loves him as when she apologises to Charlie for her three day disappearance. Robert Pattinson equals her dullness, looking apathetic after Bella is attacked by Jasper – not a shred of care or conflict in his expression. Taylor Lautner might have been good is he didn't find it necessary to pause between every other word, adding unnecessary screen time.

Props, however, must be given to Dakota Fanning and Anna Kendrickson. Kendrickson's comedic timing was superb. In fact, I enjoyed all the scenes with Bella's human 'friends' – they provided much-needed comedic relief. And Dakota Fanning, with her first line, proved that at only fifteen-years-of-age she has more talent than the rest of the cast combined. If only she'd gotten more screen time.

The creators of New Moon seemed aware of the overall dreadfulness of the film, and attempted to make up for it with shirtless close-ups. Too bad it didn't work. One look at Jailbait Lautner's naked chest was enough, after that it felt like a cheap tease. Add to this Edward's entrance, which was so drawn out it was laughable.

Special congratulations to whoever chose the locations. If it hadn't been for the beautiful scenery, the film would have been even more unbearable than it already was. Also, whoever organised the soundtrack did a brilliant job – Bon Iver and Death Cab for Cutie on one album is enough for me to buy it (although, I'll lie to the cashier and tell them that it's for my little sister).

Overall, New Moon was about as captivating as watching a slug crawl across the lawn, and just as slow. The precious few action scenes were sporadic and too short-lived to be interesting. Every boyfriend who let his girlfriend drag him there left with a pair of blue-balls thanks to the constant (and frustrating) sexual teasing between Bella and every other male character (which was achieved without a shred of genuine chemistry). And I wasn't the only audience member to exclaim "Finally!" with relief once the credits rolled.

Thankfully, the majority of cinema-goers aren't as dim as film executives seem to believe, and most people snickered at the ridiculousness of it all – particularly the final line. I might have felt bad that I was talking during the film if it hadn't been for the fact that everybody else was, too.

As my friend Caroline so concisely put it, "One and a half stars would be too generous." Don't see it, or, if you do, do what I did, and go on Cheap Tuesday.
58 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
That tiny flicker of hope has died
LittlestMonster23 December 2009
Firstly I'll set out a few points because I don't want this to come off as biased or a 'Twihard' or 'Twihater' - I'm neither. I'm a guy who has in fact read the Twilight Saga and it's an OK series (except for Breaking Dawn - but we will cross that bridge when we get to it). Everything clear? Let's begin.

Now, Twilight was bad. I'm sorry but it's true - no matter how much you deny it, it was. If only Twihards tried to clear their beloved book, RPattz and Taylor out of their heads for just a while and watch that movie again, they would see the awkward stiff moments which were supposed to be romantic scenes, mumbled lines and zero connection between the characters.

For me, I blamed all these flaws on the director, Hardwicke. After the handing of the Twilight reins to Chris Weitz and I truly had high hopes for New Moon, seeing all the trailers, leaked footage, photos etc. The end result? Weitz didn't do anything better, New Moon may have even tumbled a few steps below Twilight. The flaws mainly exist within the static acting of the cast - more than half of the dialog is mumbled and said with no emotion. Bella (Kristen Stewart) manages to maintain only one expression throughout the entire film - whether she's sad, happy, exhilarated, depressed (very Channing Tatum). Robert Pattinson hasn't displayed any great talent either. The only considerably good performance was that of Taylor Lautner who has put on a much better show than last time (that's speaking with his body out of mind)although his character did begin to slip near the end.

All in all, New Moon is a big yawn - there is some action which does help brighten the scene but is very brief and provides no satisfaction. There is nothing drawing the viewer in, nothing that keeps you compelled for more - it's almost a chore to watch this bore of a movie through to the end. As I've said already this is largely a fault of the stone- faced, monotonous acting. Both Twilight and New Moon never showed us why Edward loves Bella, nothing ever convinced the audience that they are truly in love. Twilight seemed to have been rushed to get to to the action, while New Moon seems to have concentrated on how many shirts we can get off. Box office success or not, New Moon has done it for me, I have truly lost all hope for the franchise - unless a serious cast change is in order, nothing is tempting me to and I don't think I'll be waiting outside Eclipse's doors.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed