Songbird (2020) Poster

(II) (2020)

User Reviews

Review this title
188 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
For teen fans of KJ Apa only
hampersnow-2890512 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
The Covid movies are here and this one is so uninteresting actually catching Covid would be more exciting. Covid-23 is far deadlier then Covid-19 and it seems that only the most bland, only in a Hollywood script characters are immune. Really this film is just a sappy love story and a chance for KJ Apa to show off his very sculpted nude body. Yes he looks fantastic, kind of "male model bike delivery guy" handsome and if you are a fan of his this is worth watching. For actual adults with a functioning brain, this is just poor. How do you make a movie about a deadly disease wiping out the world and turn it into 2 people talking through a door ? This is completely predictable , the performances are uneven, but KJ wears shirts throughout the movie that are just short enough to show off his killer abs. Maybe his abs can fight off Covid ?
92 out of 113 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
are they serious?
bakaeunji11 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I have no idea why they thought this would be a good idea to green light... it looks so cheap and rushed, 80% of the scenes are on FaceTime or him riding a bike. They're definitely just trying to make bank on the fact we're in a pandemic and they can push the fear narrative. The villain had no real motive, there was no tension at all, and all the characters were dumb. We never get to see these "quarantine camps", never got to see the progression of the virus, and never saw anything that was truly scary or fear inducing in the slightest. Give this one a very big miss.
94 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
An absolutely dull and cheap film trying to bank on the current times and failing just about every step of the way.
tresm8711 December 2020
When this was announced it had Michael Bay's name attached as producer and was supposedly going to be a pandemic thriller. Now I know many people have a disdain for Michael Bay, but I actually think that he brings some visual prowess to his projects however it's clear that his name was only attached for recognition purposes. This is neither anything visually bombastic or anything close to being a pulse pounding thriller. It's a very amateur romantic drama that focuses more on the interpersonal communication between characters as they struggle through the changing times. It becomes increasingly dragging and you just keep asking yourself what the real intent of the overall film really is. Some of the actors are seasoned veterans but are truly underutilized for new or younger actors that are frankly not on par. The production value is that of a cancelled TV series on the big networks as well. Overall this is just a very big failure and definitely not what I was expecting.
94 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Writers are just lazy now
ericaharris190812 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
What could have been a heartbreaking, interesting, action packed dystopian movie with a real back drop of the covid virus, instead it turns out to be a boring romance with just a little science in the background. I knew this was a stinker when I didn't care one iota when the grandmother died. The plot could have been more interesting if Sara would have been taken to a q zone and and then Nico could team up with rebels to break her out. Another thing is it is supposed to be a broken down society but the setting has manicured lawns, super clean streets I was thinking, "man, even though it's armageddon, gardner's, lawn people, and street cleaners, are still working." More development on the villain would have helped, his speech about thinking he is a god because he is immune was stupid as far as motivation. It was understood what nico and sara wanted. But why the villain did what he did was unclear. The side stories didn't add much to the plot either. I didn't care about the sickly little girl character. Overall this was just a waste of time and money.
68 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Fairly interesting premise with a mediocre execution
roel-willemsen11 December 2020
There was some potential here, and if anything, it should have allowed viewers to perfectly relate to what the characters in this movie are going through. Sadly, this movie largely falls flat.

With the Covid pandemic as its backdrop, and a dystopian near future as its setting, 'Songbird' had all the ingredients for at least a solid thriller. The movie has trouble finding its own identity however, following several different plotlines, none of which are thoroughly worked out.

The two main romantic leads, played by KJ Apa and Sofia Carson, get the majority of the screen time, and their arc is the one that's arguably best worked out. However, their story feels bland, and very derivative of a load of other doomed romance stories. The two bad guys, Peter Stormare and Bradley Whitford, are uninspired and boring, with neither getting to do anything particularly memorable. Add some other one-off characters played by Demi Moore, Craig Robinson and Alexandra Daddario, and you have a reasonably talented cast who are not given that much to work with.

The movie's plot furthermore would have allowed the filmmaker to add some biting social critiques and maybe even some satire, but this is nowhere to be seen. The movie is a basic romance on one end, and a bland action thriller on the other. Really, aside from being a quarantine movie coming out during a quarantine, there isn't that much special about this movie.

Furthermore, I have to mention my dislike of the movie's camerawork and editing. The shaky-cam aesthetic and rapid editing can work very well for certain movies, but it feels totally superfluous and unnecessary here.

Overall, the actors' performances were solid enough, but the story and execution lacked in quality.
50 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Inconsistent, doesn't make sense
sarahsmiles-4907112 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Inconsistent, plot can be ripped to shreds when the protagonist main objective is to receive a bracelet, however bracelet has no effect on survival
41 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Refund Please
jnunlist-3491513 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Save your time and money...

I was interested to see how they showed the pandemic and the surveillance measures being put into place. I would have liked to see how dystopian it could be.

Instead, I got a garbage, predictable movie with VERY CRINGEY dialogue between the two main characters. None of the character arcs were developed. I couldn't care less about any of them. None of the interactions made sense. The "immunity bands" didn't really even play a role. For instance, when she was transported to the Q zone, they didn't realize she never had it on? Why would they arrest her if she had one on already, now after she's out of the van they see she has one?

There's no politics in this movie, it really could be made with any underlying crisis in the background. People who used their reviews to make political rants need to stop drinking the kool aid. It's a bad movie, that's it. It's not bad because I don't like the non-existing political message. It's bad because it's bad.
48 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
At the very least, social distance from this film....
Perry_At_The_Movies13 December 2020
Initial Thoughts: Minus the whole zombie apocalypse aspect. I thought this film would be much more similar to the outbreak, and subsequent emptiness that was found in "I Am Legend". Anyways....

While the trailer hinted at a decent story. I was filled with skepticism going into this film. Based off both the trailer, and the description, this film falls way short of its intent. While classified as a comedy, drama, and romance, I felt very little to no emotion within each of those categories. Nothing stood out as funny. There was very little drama to be had. Hearing there were "Q-zones", and people trying to fight back, I assumed there would be riots and intense action to show how tired people were for being oppressed and contained of the virus. There was none of that. Lastly, the romance was sub-par. There was no spark, no emotion that made me feel the leads were truly in love, or had any connection that would've brought them together. The most engaging sub-story was the one with a military veteran trying to help an internet personality escape her oppressor, and I felt that story was stronger than the main one.

Overall: The film was slow, emotionless, and a waste of time. Honestly, wait for it to come out on a streaming service. No amount of screen or sound is going to make the film any better than it already isn't.

Enjoy the show!
40 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I'm glad I decided to still watch it after reading bad score reviews
jannejurimaa30 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
It was totally enjoyable and watchable movie. It does not focus on showing people suffer because of the virus or to show chaos caused because of the disease. It focuses more on the love of a young couple and the message of the film is not to lose hope. In my point of view it was positive ending and did not make me feel bad inside or too sad when watching it.
42 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Stunningly awful
aas-0278412 December 2020
Quite possibly the worst movie I've seen in 42 years of my existence. The plot was great in today's environment and the acting and filming was less than zero. It's not possible to tell you how boring and distracting this movie is except for the hope that it might improve on the prior scenes. Acting zero filming zero disappointment in infinite. Truly a masterpiece of garbage cinema taking advantage of a concept. I am ward at no points and I'm now stupider for having seen that movie. May God have mercy on the producers soul.
43 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Really don't understand the bad reviews
leodallasanta7 January 2021
I don't understand the bad reviews at all! The movie is good, the acting is great and it's perfectly matching up with nowadays's situation.
37 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Waste of a concept.
marineprincess13 December 2020
I was very excited to watch this film it was produced by Michael Bay so I was expecting it to be well done. I was very wrong. What a perfect opportunity to make a truly creative film about a real pandemic and they blew it on a stupid love story that nobody gives a flying fig about. Awful. This should have been a blockbuster thriller and they blew it on a love story that wasn't even good. They had a perfect story for an adventure and they ruined it. I'm so disappointed. It's just a sad romance. Not a thriller not even dramatic. It was a thrown together disaster.
34 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Disappointing, dull, and interesting premise turned horribly wrong.
cruise0112 December 2020
2 out of 5 stars.

Songbird is a sci fi thriller based on the real world covid epidemic. Taking place in 2023 with covid 23 mutated into a lethal virus that is more airborne than ever. And the cities are on a strict lockdown with military authorized to shoot if caught outside your home. Nico (K.J. Apa) is a bike courier. Who delivers packages. When his girlfriend Sara (Sofia Carson) who is quarantined in there apartment may be infected. A sanitization crew is called in to sweep and take her to an infected zone. Nice who is immune. He is willing to do whatever it takes to save her.

The plot does leave a lot of holes open. It has characters who are selling immunity bracelets. A young woman who invites man to her hotel room for sex while trying to keep there face masks on. A veteran who uses his drone to check the city. All these characters are uninteresting. The script is terrible in executing in making these characters stand out.

The direction is terrible. The cinematography is all over the place with weird camera angles and quick and shaky cuts. The story goes completely nowhere in the end.

The cast is great. K.J. Apa. Sofia Carson. Demi Moore. Alexandria Daddario. And Peter Stormare were all completely wasted playing characters that are forgettable. The script did not give them anything to work with besides giving them tedious characters.

The movie lacked thrills when it tries to be. But showing Nico riding his motorcycle all over Los Angeles from one warehouse to another. Which lacks the excitement.

Songbird is definitely one of those films that is best to skip to a streaming service or skip it all together. It was just terrible.
30 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I dont understand so many bad reviews
martynbrunskill8 January 2021
Yes this film is pretty simple, but I didnt think it was too bad, I was tempted to give it a 10 to help it average up to a better score. I have seen far worse and I quite enjoyed it, its not a 10 for sure but its a nice easy watch. I think people have given it such bad reviews it seems as they think its 'exploiting the pandemic', so should all war films be banned etc ? Thats just stupid, the backdrop of covid just makes the film relatable to life right now.
36 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
As confusing as a pandemic movie is supposed to be
Xavier_Stone11 December 2020
The premise is post pandemic for months and everyone is supposed to be smart with regards to lock downs and how to get around them. But somehow some of the characters are just plain dumb. I expected much more from the producer Micheal Bay, but he's one of 17 producers so I guess he didn't have much say. Written and directed by Adam Mason who has no real movie experience besides B movies and this is almost a guaranteed failure before the first casting.

On a good note, Demi Moore plays a believable housewife, everyone else just stumbles through every scene frustrating the audience.

Munies are people who are immune to the virus, but it seems that they have limited intelligence to go along with it. It becomes predictable at the midpoint and this is billed as a thriller which is laughable and the final scene makes zero sense.
29 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Soap opera
teutonfirst11 December 2020
It's a love story in times of quarantine, with little to no action, a couple that in all their three conversations on camera was about "the safety of their daughter", an don Juan trying to make more money but his actions does the opposite of doing the job, an annoying Demi Moore in a character with a weird sense of morality and, again, a good performance of Peter Stormare. If the movie tried to send a message, it just went past me.
25 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Much better than the low fear rating implies
tallard13 January 2021
This is a movie about resistance and hope. It was made in a very short time, with extreme and unusual filming conditions. Given their challenges, they made the most of it. The acting, directing, camera work, pacing, these are excellent. The romance story was boring and a little stretched, but hey, it's a movie! As for the Covid part, it's an excellent parallel. Covid-19 only kills 0.02% of the population, with a CFR between 0 and 3 % depending on the age/health bracket, whereas Covid-24 has a 56% CFR with no health/age preference, and a 99% contagion rate, so the mutation in the film is a very different beast than Covid-19 and with such a lethality rate, their lockdown is more rational than ours. Nonetheless cool and effective and realistic dystopian movie.
20 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Too close to home
AziziOthmanMY13 December 2020
Michael Bay should release this movie like 5 years after the world is normal again. We are bombarded with gloom and doom. This ain't helping at all.
42 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Critics hate when it hits too close to home
RJBrez12 December 2020
Songbird never had a chance to be viewed objectively. People were mad after the first trailer was released. "How dare they make a movie that mirrors what we are going through?" Well, get over it. Things aren't getting better. Our "leaders" have had a year to figure out a way through this. What's the only solution they've come up with ? Wear a mask. Genius! So maybe this movie dials where we are at up to 10, but after what I've watched happen the last year, it isn't that far fetched. Maybe that's why everyone is mad at this movie. It's misplaced anger. Maybe you should be angry at our elected officials who suck at their jobs.

Songbird had a good cast and they execute the material well. If the material is upsetting to you I would imagine that you won't like it much.

7/10

Oh and our government sucks.
66 out of 123 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not the greatest but in its way quietly powerful
johndgowrie15 January 2021
This film isn't the best but given the subject it tackles it with calm detachment as we all have lost or know someone how has lost someone to the virus we don't need to be told what it's about and this movie lets the watcher fill in the gaps with there own experiences. The acting is not over the top in fact it's if anything understated but in a good way. I don't buy DVDs any more but I will be making an exception for this movie
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Covid bandwagon.. wheels dont even roll
andymull8 February 2021
Awful. Oh dear, why o why Demi... This film should get covid and die without ever being seen again. Waste of my lockdown time even tho every day is groundhog during pandemicđŸ€§
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Wish it was a satire.
mperity3 February 2021
Nothing made sense about the movie. The world is poorly explained, the characters act without much reason at all and there is no real thrill or scare.

If you like plugging holes you'll like this movie. It was almost comedically nonsensical. If they changed the tone a little bit it would might have been a fun comedy, but its lacking so much to be a good thriller.

Watch it with someone who likes to talk about bad movies and you'll have a good time otherwise avoid it. I would call the meaning of the movie stupid but there is no meaning at all.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great movie. Why the low score?
joeblack-2383124 December 2020
This was sooo good. I'm not sure why the dcore is sooo low. I really enjoyed the story and of course it is relevant these days
19 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible
kodiakblack12 December 2020
Enough of the pandemic movies please for the love of all things good in the world. Enough!!!!
39 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Unjustifiaby underrated!
natanzel14 December 2020
Has a decent cast of actors, a great story line, very relevant to 2020, is fast paced, and all round entertaining!
28 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed