Bored to Death (TV Series 2009–2011) Poster

(2009–2011)

User Reviews

Review this title
30 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A unique show!
olga140325 November 2009
This show is probably the best thing on American TV right now, it doesn't try to be in your face unusual but it just is because of its slow burning pace, great offbeat sense of humor, while you won't catch yourself bursting with laughter at cheap humor that many shows rely on, BTD has some of the funniest and most SUBTLE written dialog that seems to be a privilege of British shows. Its a brilliantly written show with characters and story lines that are painfully endearing. And if you like me haven't been entirely convinced in the first episode, please don't give up on it, it's one of those shows that grow on you and you catch yourself watching BTD again and again. It did seem at first as something specifically catered for Brooklyn hipsters, but it gives a great background for the stories and if you live in Brooklyn you'll appreciate glimpses of your neighborhood (especially Williamsburg). All around a funny and pleasant way to spend half an hour!
75 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Leaves you far more Bored to Death
goldfished20 June 2010
When I first heard of this show, I sort of shrugged it off, more excited for the new season of 'Big Love' and the new mini-series 'The Pacific' that HBO had to offer me. And then, one day, I started to watch. This show is absolutely hilarious and well done. Jason Schwartzman, Ted Danson, and Zach Galifianakis are all amazing here. It takes the classic detective story, puts it in a martini shaker with modern day, and serves you one satisfying experience. Each characters antics and flaws are hilarious and endearing, and as messed up as they each are, you can't help but adore them. Hopefully, HBO will renew it for a second season, as I was left impressed with the first. This is definitely not a show to miss.
52 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Depth and nuance to a great show
lfernyhough7 November 2009
I've only seen 4 episodes, but think the show is excellent. The subtle and not-so-subtle lines are hysterical. I love the humor in "Flight of the Concords" but think that this show will be more accessible to a larger audience.

All of the actors, Ted Danson in particular, give depth and nuance to the characters they play. The entire cast use their bodies, from face to feet, to express their over-the-top characters. The script is intelligent, farcical and just plain fun and all of it is enhanced by the camera work and direction.

I am rationing the remaining episodes or I'll devour them in one day and have to wait for HBO's interminable next season!
53 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Character-driven genius!
bowier174 November 2011
Bored to Death is completely unlike any other programs on at the moment, and its unique qualities, well-played characters and sometimes ridiculous plots have completely absorbed me ever since the first series. Jonathan Ames, played by Jason Schwartzman, is a heartbroken and muse-less novelist who decides to become a private investigator. His "cases" are more often than not seemingly run-of-the-mill, but when the bumbling pothead cartoonist Ray Hueston and the sartorial silver fox George Christopher become involved the plots rapidly become bizarre and hilarious.

The highlight of the show is the well-crafted and aptly played characters facing these absurd situations. Ted Danson excels in playing George Christopher, creating an insightful and comic guide for Jonathan Ames. Many of my favourite moments and lines involve George and his insatiable desire for weed, liquor and beautiful women. Ray Hueston is Jonathan Ames' "side-kick" - a down-and-out cartoonist trying to succeed with his comics about "Super-Ray"; a superhero costumed version of himself equipped with a 9-foot long penis. Madly in love with his girlfriend, his rather cringe failings as a boyfriend are very funny. I am not so impressed by Jonathan Ames as a character though, as he is quite vapid and not often particularly funny. On the other hand, this absence of a fleshed-out subconscious to Jonathan is possibly the director's choice to push more focus on the other characters.

The writing is also incredible. Dialogue isn't exactly believable, as these caricatures are all overly witty, cultured and dramatic, but it makes me laugh all the more. The deep friendship between Jonathan and George seems to be based on a father-figure relationship that is strange, funny and at times heart warming as the characters go through slightly more serious times in the 2nd and 3rd series. Most of all, a show about 3 fully grown adults in the cultural sector smoking weed, drinking all the time and going on some crazy adventures just sounds awesome.
29 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's like a Wes Anderson TV show, with a pinch of Kevin Smith
philplumpton30 September 2009
I've got to say, I'm loving this show so far.

I've never seen a TV comedy show with this sort of sense of humour before, it reminds me, as my title suggests, of a Wes Anderson movie but with a pinch of Kevin Smith.

Imagine if "The Life Aquatic With Steve Zisou" was about a young writer-turned-unlicensed-private-detective instead of an over-the-hill documentary-maker, and throw in a scene from "Mallrats" every now and again and you get close to the feel of "Bored To Tears".

Jason Schwartzman is, IMO, the perfect choice for the lead role - he's almost reprising his "I (Heart) Huckabees" character.

Keep an eye out for little details - objects on screen, reactions of "extras", the lyrics in whatever song is playing in the background... there's alsorts of really funny things you might miss if you're only half paying attention.

I can't wait for the next episode!
115 out of 158 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Bored to Death" just spectacular!
greerjohnston24 November 2010
The funniest thing on TV since "Seinfeld". In fact, when I describe "Bored to Death", I tell people it's the modern Seinfeld, re-conceived as a drama in which people actually have sex and smoke dope like normal folks.

Who the hell knew Ted Danson was so funny? Best role of his career. Everyone in this series is fantastic: Jason Schwartzman as the new Jerry Seinfeld, Zach Galifianakis as a seedier, dirtier and, yes, sexier version of George. I think this comedy is aimed squarely at the contingent of New Yorkers (and wannabees) who love reading "The New Yorker" while regretting their fondness for its pretensions. It's the perfect blend of high and low-brow NY sensibilities.

Due to the representation of cheerful, harmless drug and alcohol consumption, and all the many references to male genitalia, it would be impossible for this show to air anywhere other than on cable TV. For that reason alone, "Bored to Death" will never be the smash with the masses that Seinfeld was, but still, those of us who love cable and who are always waiting for the next best series will continue to be delighted with it -- and we'll tell our friends. Keep it coming!
44 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant on all fronts !
Grizz-1422 November 2010
Very funny,smartly written,with superb acting. This is the kind of dark comedy that network shows can only aspire to be.

Jason,Zack and Ted are all simply fabulous in their roles. The very idea of a struggling writer using Craigslist to get jobs as an unlicensed private detective is pure brilliance.

The story lines are consistently hilarious and the dialogue is smart and a real treat to a comedy snob like myself. This makes most network shows look like the tripe it usually is..

My only caveat is that there are but 8 shows per season.....and now the long wait till Season 3 :(
28 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bored to Death gives us ideas how to create action in our lives
kingbasil25 October 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Jonathan Ames is a one novel writer and a his Second novel is refused, a 447,000 rating on Amazon. He writes the occasional article for his friend George Christopher (Ted Danson, in a funny role as usual), the editor of an Esquire-type magazine. Meanwhile, his friend Ray (Zak Galifianakis)is a comic novelist who is always frustrated, his Girl friend Leah controls his moves and makes his life a misery. Jonathan's girlfriend moves out after he refuses to clean up his act according to her wishes (no drinking, no pot smoking).

After losing his roommate/lover, Jonathan is unable to write, and suffers from a serious case of the doldrums. He mopes around his apartment, doing very little but reading Raymond Chandler novels and getting smoked up. Schwartzman is very good at conveying this bright-guy-turning-into-a-loser character. Apparently inspired by the Chandler novels, he decides to try his hand at being a private eye himself. Despite having no background whatsoever in police work, he figures he has nothing to lose and advertises on craigslist as an "unlicensed" private detective. He hopes that by doing this he will pad his bank account, as well as find inspiration for his writing. Thus, the hilarity ensues.

The series is stylish, with lots of allusions to Raymond Chandler potboilers, complete with gorgeous, troubled dames, topcoats, hats, and all the Chandler-esquire parafernalia. Jonathan hasn't a clue as to what he's doing, but somehow his escapades all work out, with George and Ray as his Keystone cops sidekicks. Each episode is done tongue-in-cheek, requiring a large dose of literary license from the viewer. If the viewer has a sense of fun and enjoys a well-crafted farce, this isn't hard to do. I hope this series catches on, because in my household, this is half an hour of very entertaining television. All the actors do a fine job, my favorite being Ted Danson, who seems to thoroughly enjoy acting a fool and probably getting paid enormous amounts of money to do so. Some of the scenes are sidesplittingly funny; others have a Woody Allen-ish charm, as Schwartzman is exactly the kind of appealing nebbish that Allen always played. Season 2 started very nicely and is continuing the awesomeness of Season 1.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Kind of Perfect For Everyone
mad_man_moon30 November 2009
I truly think that this is very much a good representative of the term "all things to all people".

This has the hoity pretension of the Wes Anderson (et al) movies, endearing observation of 90s (popular) stand-up, and a delivery that is just straight up charming. Plus an accessibility that even an Airplane fan like me would be able to click in to (if that were the only style I were in to).

Whilst it could very easily veer in to the pretentious crowd (and with Schwartzman that's sometimes difficult to tell, because of his on-screen manner), it always stays on song. It's very accessible, and hilarious. It's not just the clever jokes, the in jokes and the observations (woven in to the characters) there's also a health dose of (very) old school slapstick I think. Hell, it even manages to catch the stoner crowd.

It could be thought of as being too male centric, well, apart from that being slightly the point it's never testosterone city, and it might feel token if a female point of view were added. But if it were, what a view it might be.
25 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I'm gonna speak frank, George. I'm out of shape and you're old (a bored to death review)
virtualxi18 December 2010
Note from the author: this review has been written after watching two seasons. Bored to death is a TV show whose charm relies heavily in its three leads Jason Schwartzman, Zack Galifianakis and Ted Danson. The main problem that I found is that during the first season Schwartzman's character is given the most weight out of the three leaving Danson and Galifianakis as secondary characters that have mini-subplots around the main cases - as the story revolves around a writer drawn to be a detective to solve it's financial difficulties -. Thankfully this has been solved in the second season with an even repartition of plot for the three and consequently has improved the stories, the cast and the overall dynamic of the show. Throughout the two seasons I felt that the show gradually turns from a solve-the-case of the week show to a hang-out-with-us show while the story flows...and boy what a blast it is to hang out with this cast. Danson's hedonistic charm is suave, subtle -and even slightly touching in some episodes with a cancer subplot- with the best laughs when his facade of elegance is down due to his drug use. Galifianakis is perhaps the geek hero (but not a geek himself) as the comic-book writer in a dysfunctional relationship with his girlfriend played by Heather Burns - who's first in the list of recurring character's of the show, also including Oliver Platt and Kristen Wiig-. Finally Schwartzman's character is a struggling writer with relationship problem's and a tendency for solving weird-cases in a very unprofessional way - high point for me is the first episode in season 2 when he has to go into a fetish dungeon-. To sum things up. Bored to death was a slow burner for me, by the end of season 1 I was ready to give up but, with season 2, it pulls out a "The Office" and gets much better. Each season has eight episodes which leads to very cohesive stories and arcs but then again the charm relies on the cast which are great if you like these type of characters. Thanks for reading.
16 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
'Bored to Death' (by women) and why men never grow up,
leannebrett4 May 2011
Season 1 of 'Bored to Death' has been accused of being too slow; and it does indeed creep slovenly towards fruition. Inertia hangs about the first 2 or 3 episodes like a threatening elephant in the room as we begin to wonder if the whole thing is some sort of clever post-modern parody – is 'Bored to Death' supposed to be actually boring? The immediately apparent lack of plot depth and character development seems intentionally aimed at not engaging its audience into finding sympathy with its characters. The opening sequence of events sees the main protagonist, Jonathon Ames, being left by his girlfriend (she is literally in the moving truck) claiming she feels he drinks too much and smokes too much pot. The sequence feels almost rushed and we are left vaguely suspecting we might need more context; if this is a dark comedy sparked by a break-up, shouldn't the particulars of this be given more weight? In fact we soon find out the gritty reality of Ames' life, his failed relationship and his ex-girlfriend are relatively unimportant both to himself and to the series; the real depth of the drama emanates from the virtual reality world he subsequently creates for himself when he posts an ad listing himself as a private detective on Craigslist. The first episode sees him get his first case which he fumbles his way through as cluelessly and aimlessly as he appears to complete anything else he attempts. He is, in reality, a writer struggling to get started on his second novel, and in this vein, pretty much all of the plot action derives from the central characters creating deliberate distractions from their mundane or 'real' everyday lives. Ames' best friend Ray is played effortlessly from the off by The Hangover's Zack Galifianakis, a struggling animator/cartoonist always trying to distract himself from the miserable reality of his girlfriend, and her children, and her endless 'intimacy exercises' and her withholding of sex. It is worth noting here that not only are all the main characters men, but all the supporting female characters are deliberately underdeveloped and marginalised. This is comedy exploring the inner working minds of men, who seem to need to escape from the tedious reality of the idiosyncratic, nagging behaviour of their female counter parts. However, whilst there is no room for female narrative here, men are ultimately at the butt end of the jokes.

There is however enough real life, every day concern in here to just about anchor the series in the observational comedy arena, as the various complaints of the women are undoubtedly common ones we can all relate to. Despite the obvious inadequacies of our protagonist, Ames is affable and likable. He is polite almost to a fault and has a formality about him that both helps and hinders him in equal measure in his various encounters with the broad ranging characters he meets whilst conducting his detective work (he says he in unlicensed, so he rationalises this is fairer and 'more legal') For the most part, the men are generally insensitive and selfish towards the women in their lives and cut humorously pathetic figures in any of their attempts at reconciliation with them. In the opening episode we see Ames attempt to win his girlfriend back by bemoaning, 'I am living like a pig...I have no toilet paper; no milk!'. Their inadequacies as men in relationships are obvious, but instead of trying harder to fix their problems, they retreat further into a fantasy world now largely facilitated by Ames' detective work. By far the most intriguing and fabulously colourful character is eccentric magazine editor George Christopher played magnificently by a rather dashing looking Ted Danson. Foppish but with an irresistible boyish charm, George is enigmatically enthusiastic about everything and anything that comes his way. Unlike Jonathon and Ray, George is sophisticated and wealthy, but despite having the enthusiasm, drive & romantic sensibilities that the other two lack, even he has been alluded by a meaningful relationship with the opposite sex, leaving him cynical and bored enough to want to constantly smoke pot and invite himself along to whatever Jonathon is doing.

Cannabis is a prevalent element as both a plot device and a central theme, but this is more than just a stoner comedy. 'Bored to Death' is effortlessly stylish; the tone is often flat and inert leaving room for the most subtle of nuances. The laughs often come from the smallest of charming details - an earnest look from Jonathon, the childish enthusiasm from George or a miserable and defeatist remark from the down trodden and vulnerable Ray. They all genuinely have the best of intentions here, but the humour derives from their constant refusal to live in the real world, the world in this case, represented by women. 'Bored to Death' is by no means laugh a minute, but if you scratch just underneath the off-beat sensibility of the humour, you find something all together more interesting. Couple this with the fact that its writer/creator, Jonathon Ames bases the protagonist loosely on himself and we have some interesting musings on the artistic mentality, relationships, drugs and escapism. All in all the series reminds us in charming and subtle detail that men never really grow up.
17 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Bored to Death... but not really boring
jonathanruano5 February 2010
I never thought that Jason Schwartzman could be good in any film after witnessing his performance in "Marie Antoinette." But after watching this series, I stand corrected. Screenplay writer Jonathan Ames knows how to make the most of Jason Schwartzman's acting skills, because the latter seems so natural in the role of the free lance detective (who strangely enough also happens to named Jonathan Ames).

I do not want to oversell this series though. There are some episodes that people are going to dislike, if not hate. For me, the real downers include a story about a kid and his skateboard and another about a lesbian couple accepting a sperm donation. I do not know why Mr. Ames thought that either story was a good idea for a series. Perhaps, he had a off-day or the pressure undermined his creative powers. But on the other side of the coin, there are episodes that are written intelligently, show originality and can be hilarious. In short, this series is really a strange jumble of brilliant and terrible episodes.

"Bored to Death" also stars Ted Danson, famous for his role in the Cheers series, who consistently gives a wonderful performance as Jonathan Ames' boss, George. Zack Galifianakis gives an OK performance for an OK role. Then there is Oliver Platt who gives a far superior performance as George's eccentric nemesis.
12 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I LOVE this show!
george-178-6675912 December 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I missed it when it started back in 2009, but somehow I had a feeling that this would be a great show. I started watching now on HBOGO and am loving it! Great story, great acting! One of the only things that helps me relax in these stressful days we live in.

I have to say though, I got really sad when George was diagnosed with cancer and I was really bombed that why my favorite show that make me soooo happy has to have such drama in it... just to find out, that it was a mistake!!! :) I love you guys!!! great writing, great acting!!! Love the lines that Ted Danson says from time to time in the show and quote them on my facebook page crediting the show of course! I would love love love to work with you.

cheers, George :)
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great show!
mrronocon9 August 2013
I really loved this show. I would highly recommend anyone reading this to give it a try. The only regret you will have is that this series was canceled way to soon. It really should have been given the ending it deserved. Ted Danson is hilarious. If you like film noir or old detective movies then add an extra point to the score. Some of the set pieces are excellently executed and it has a continuing set of recurring characters throughout the three series. If I did have to point at a fault I would say the acting could be better in places and it's the main character is most at fault for this. Otherwise great show. Enjoy.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
I am in trouble, no I am not.
emdeewee18 November 2010
The characters in this world know that they can do just about anything, but never fall and get really hurt. If course, it happens in dozens of good movies and funny comics, but in this case it doesn't work - to my humble opinion, that is. This is because this world is presented as a modern new york scene, showing 'real' NY people. Why Seinfeld works and this does not, i don't know. Taking a risk in this show means nothing at all. Having cancer in this show means nothing at all. Having your girl breaking up with you means nothing at all. everything is received with an ironic sigh, and the show moves on. Nothing matters. Maybe that's the difference between Seinfeld and 'Bored to Death: in Seinfeld the smallest things matter the world, but here: nothing matters whatsoever. It seems so sometimes, for a second or three. But it really doesn't. Because of that the lives of the characters have something truly weightless, and flat. To me, it makes the characters uninteresting. Their only interest is themselves, which makes this a soap series to the core, but a soap series masked with eccentricity and with a lot of 'funny' action. 'O, the absurd situations they keep finding themselves in!' These characters drown in irony (I thought we were slowly getting past that), self-consciousness, and yes, boredom. But this boredom is not tragic, it is not funny. Someone writing this series confused emptiness with boredom.

The actors are funny, but because they are funny themselves. I certainly am a fan of the big guy, just for the faces he makes sometimes. The other two can be funny as well, but not because of the story.

All in all just one of those million series that are so ironic, and therefore empty and weightless. It will be forgotten within weeks from the appearance of the last episode.
11 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not boring but annoyingly stupid to death
Tronic219 November 2010
The main character Jason in an emo guy and his best friend Zach is a social loser. Every episode seems to repeat the exact same story: the recently- separated protagonist meets with some extremely sexy lady while playing private detective but then that never leads to anything. Solving a case consists of (1) answer the telephone, (2) meet the caller in person, (3) look in the place suggested by the caller and find the missing person there.

Meanwhile Jason's boss harasses him with some very personal issues, leading to tacky situations. The loser friend's issues get ignored while Jason keeps going on about how bad it is that his girlfriend left him and how he maybe should be drinking less white wine or smoking less pot to win her back.

At the end of each episode the situation resets back to normal: there is no character development and the the next episode is going to have an even sillier story than the one you just watched. Watching this crap makes you dull and I had to give up during the fifth episode of the first season as my brain just could not take this anymore.

The title sequence is nice and the music and directing are OK, so 4/10 for that.
15 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Woody Allen meets Wes Andersen with a lot of marijuana.
florianbell4 August 2012
If Woody Allen were to make a show I would imagine it to be a little like this, extremely witty, the main character 'struggling', New York, trouble/somehow good with women and the many references of literature. Mix that with the quirky characters of a Wes Andersen film add a lot of marijuana and you have Bored To Death. The characters are amazingly written, Ted Danson as the weed addicted playboy boss, Zach Galifianakis as the weird friend and perhaps the most entertaining character John Hodgmanas Jonathan's rival Except it's not quite as funny as one would have hoped. The characters are great, the plot is almost always brilliant, the script is excellent.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
My favourite comedy in recent years
bobbyxie198411 June 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This show was just awesome. I'll start out by saying that if you know Steven Chow and like his work, you'll really enjoy this show. It's the closest thing to a Steven Chow film Hollywood has had to offer to date.

I can't believe this show wasn't picked up for at least another 2 or 3 seasons. Too bad. This style of comedy is never seen on T.V.(not this caliber) and it's going to be a while until something like it comes around again.

I'll admit the first season was a little rough around the edges but it had some of the most memorable scenes (LMAO the skateboard stealing scene when Galifinakis reacts to Shwartzman not being able to get into the car HAHAHA GENIUS).

The writers are very creative in their story lines. I loved seeing the always elegant Isla Fischer guest staring in the third season. She fit right in. All 3 of the leads are brilliant. Every episode is a howl and if you enjoy a little 420, this show is right up your alley.

Pot or not, Bored to Death has got to be the most under rated comedy this decade. No jokes.

Watch it, you'll zip through 3 seasons before the end of the week.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
just plain dull
robfromfort25 April 2011
Hey what's to say? This has just come on Sky TV and to be honest I think they were just looking for something cheap to fill half an hour once a week. The ad looked hilarious until I realised it's just half a seasons only funny bits strung together.

At some point an Israeli Jew asks the main character whether he's one of those self hating New York Jews, only way you'd find this funny is if you were.

Don't get me wrong Jewish humour which plays on stereotypes can be hilarious, take Seinfeld for instance its how it plays and this just seems shallow with dull unlikable characters and a wasted idea.
9 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
one of the best shows on TV
tiberiuchiriac198710 November 2011
i work from home, so i see a lot of TV... i probably watch 25-35 TV shows per year. I watch all genres and while i watch them i don't take into consideration a lot of things because I'm usually concentrated on something else. As a low concentration need show(and funny) this is the best. This show has the span to make me laugh and still be concentrated at something else. One of the best light shows for me.

This show is much better than so many "medium" budgeted movies...it just purely has its own way of doing things which is very fresh from my perspective... It's very hard to do something new(creative) nowadays but this show brings that.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
crazy wacky absurdist comedy
SnoopyStyle12 November 2013
Jonathan Ames (Jason Schwartzman) is an aimless writer inspired to become a private investigator. The stories center around him and his two friends bumbling around. Ray Hueston (Zach Galifianakis) is a pot smoking cartoonist with a ever frustrated overbearing girlfriend Leah (Heather Burns). George Christopher (Ted Danson) is the 'wise' older editor.

This is an absurdist comedy. Ames is pathetic and only out-pathetic by Zach Galifianakis' antics. Ted Danson gives a crazy performance from a different perspective. It's a crazy wacky world of over drinking pot haze. While I love the guys, the comedy is a bit dark and definitely not your average sitcom. It's not to everyone's taste and a bit of hit and miss. Luckily it's more hit than miss. Sometimes I winces at their pitifulness. Mostly we're allow to laugh at them. It's certainly not your average comedy.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Subtle, psychological, dynamic and weirdly wholesome
Horror-yo14 April 2019
Shows generally think of a narrative and apply a formula and stick to it, and there's a sort of redundance and obviousness to that formula. Bored to Death avoids that. It's not a one-formula show, it evolves, it's dynamic, it likes to artistically see where it can go while delivering good fun and more insight about the characters, it won't just settle for more of the same, it moves forward.

Shwartzman is very good, funny almost in a Chaplin awkward/pitiful sort of way, while all the other main characters bring a chunk of presence whether it's Ray or Leah, obviously the excellent Michael (Ted Danson), or Oliver Pratt (Michael's rival) or that psycho nerd (brilliant), Patton Oswalt as the crazy weaponry/special item provider... they all bring a unique face and quality to the experience. They're characters that stay with the viewer, not mere replaceable actors going to work.

The show somehow manages to stay constantly fresh, despite a very limited environment and main plot. I mean try to make full seasons with a failed writer/detective, a wealthy executive who smokes pot and some lazy cartoonist...episode after episode, could get old fast. And all the while being entertaining, and dynamic, and funny...it manages to tell a story, and to unravel the personalities of the main characters. As the show comes to a premature end, we're left with coherent ripe characters, real individuals, who we know well, that have been consistent from the start til the end.

Finally, there's a wholesome quality to the show, amidst the pot smoking and laziness and waste and irresponsible behavior there's a certain sense of accomplishment, of having done good. You wouldn't say the show is one of mindless nihilism, there is purpose and underlying meaning to the actions and words that often fill the scenes. Specifically there is the idea that pushing yourself forward, outside your comfort zone and out in the unknown, will be hard work and unrewarding at first but will pay off eventually.

8/10.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Boring
DuskShadow10 April 2017
I think Zack G should have stuck with the dumber Hang Over typecast roles he is suited for : less talking, more just trudging about. As for swartzman, hes never been that amusing or believable to me in anything I have seen him in. There was nothing exceptional or clever about this show, and most of the shtick if it can even be called that has been done to death in better series and tales that were still mediocre, but superior to this time waster of a show. A dreadfully boring show that makes the BS of actual crime and cop dramas seem tasteful. Moving on with my life.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bored to death
sinful-213 April 2010
After 2 episodes I gave up. It just did not get better. Story is about a slightly alcoholic and pot smoker that after his girlfriend left him is trying to be a private investigator. He is a quite pathetic guy with a pathetic life who is behaving really pathetic and stupid all the time. Some people may find it fun, but honestly I would believe the target group may be for people that like Woody Allen movies, but I am not sure really. His boss is in my eyes the most interesting and closest to fun guy. The rest is just plain weird and no fun at all. But I would say you could find a lot better comedies with more believable characters and better jokes. Not bad acting besides main actor I would say though.
21 out of 156 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A good show, but not brilliant.
UtopianUK26 June 2011
I must say this show isn't like Seinfeld - and it's definitely not as funny and brilliant as that show. BTD is a much more downbeat show, with subtle comedy. It also has pot smoking characters( the characters go on and on about it in every episode *YAWN* ) ... but that doesn't mean it's really adult, as teen comedies are often fixated on pot smoking. Most adults wouldn't make such a big deal out of it - like they've just discovered the drug.

Jason Schwartzman is by far the star of the show - and I enjoy his character, although he's a bit two-dimensional. Zach Galifianakis plays a strange sort of character - who comes across as quite troubled and quirky at times, but he's not funny enough. Ted Danson is perfectly suited to his role - and his character is OK, but not that interesting really.

The show feels like it's written by writers who've just graduated college, rather than mature people who have mastered the art of writing comedy. The quality of the writing is very mixed, so some of it is really good, and some quite weak. The comedy only really reaches a high on the odd occasion - and those moments make the show worth watching.

I like what the show delivers overall, but I won't be shouting its praises from the rooftops. It's interesting, with an unusual atmosphere and characters that are watchable. 7/10
3 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed