Dark Desire (TV Series 2020– ) Poster

(2020– )

User Reviews

Review this title
85 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Bottle Green Desires
rrvidwans29 July 2020
Every frame has in it many bottle green things like walls, Jeans, jackets, cars, combs, toothpicks, pins in front of which many men and women perform Sex acts. They keep coming and going in front of you, they fight, cry, go in flashback, go in hallucinations and do more sex. They argue, they fall in love, they murder , they repent, they burn factory and they do more sex. In the mean time editor is completely confused as to what has come in front of him, how to edit chronologically but he gives up, probably he also edits while he has sex. We don't know. Yes, we don't know what happened in 18 episodes.
32 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
at first seams interesting, then it becomes stupid
cpolychroniadis26 July 2020
Main characters acting it is very amateur, story line needed more work, not very deep. Seems very stupid to me after chapter 10 or so...
29 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Fell short in writing, directing and acting
gian-petrini22 July 2020
Yes Maite Perroni is beautiful, yes I like series with plot twists. However this series over uses flashbacks, imagined story arcs and scene repetitions. It's very confusing and I found myself irritated by the characters. The casting is quite bad and the interaction between the main characters seems forced. Not worth your time. It's a Mexican soap with nudity and sex scenes.
53 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pretentious and messy
dust-screen17 July 2020
First, this is not a series. This a soap opera presented as a series. It has a weak plot that is predictable and soul-destroying. Actors are miscast all of them, even great actors sink with the inexistent directing work. If this was not enough the four last episodes derive into a total mess. Avoid this as you should do it with crowds in the middle of the Covid19 pandemic.
56 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Loved it
polksandstripes30 July 2020
I am very surprised about the negative reviews. I absolutely loved this show. Lots of twists, loved the characters. Definitely better for spanish native speakers as I noticed the translation didn't quite fit at times. Overall, highly recommend.
34 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Utterly confusing
jzpresto18 July 2020
If you can figure this one out, you're a genius. Even with triple replays of scenes, we still don't know who did what to whom. An episode shows us how someone died, another shows a completely different version. The moral behind the film, I guess, is that reality is ever what it appears to be. Which doesn't much help us the unsuspecting viewers. The ending suggests a second season may be down the road, but, Dios! I hope not.
45 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Not for everyone but very good series.
Mariiatrs2 August 2020
I've seen many bad reviews. First, you need to pay attention otherwise you're not going to understand it, it has a lot of plot twists but it's what keeps it interesting. Just when you think you know where the story is going, it takes another direction. The story line is very good I just feel like it should've been explained better, maybe going deeper into the sub-stories instead of focusing so much into re-caps of the past etc. Sex scenes were a bit much but we know sex sells and nowadays a lot of tv shows use it to get public's attention, if you don't like it you can just fast forward the scenes (just saying). It's the first Mexican series that actually is worth watching, that doesn't have a trash story line and the acting wasn't that bad. It's totally worth watching, then again it's not for everybody.
37 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Fell short of my expectations
manugw25 July 2020
Latin soap-opera with careful crafted steamy hot sexual scenes turns into a intriging crime thriller with surreal resources, that stretches too much and drops dead into a twisted bloated complex ending at a point where the viewer got tired.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not good
tohar-2322322 July 2020
Disinterest. Excessive sex. Exhausts itself very quickly. Excessive play. I didnt enjoy.
34 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thrilling from beginning to end.
Carpy-968119 August 2020
I am shocked by how many bad reviews this show has. I thought it was extremely entertaining. It was so intriguing to me that I actually made it through an entire season of a show just reading subtitles, which I never do. I do agree that they could cut back on the sex scenes, but by the third episode the plot is excellent. I was never bored and was shocked by many things that happened throughout the series. The main actors were very attractive and did a great job in their roles. I hope Netflix gives us another season.
20 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The series is a box of errors in the directing and the script
shakish17 July 2020
Initially we would agree that the acting was excellent. But let us all agree that this series contains countless mistakes in the output and the sequence of events. Whoever agrees with me, let him watch carefully and find great stupidity from the director in the events. This made it ridiculous for me. If I was the director it take from me 4 episode.
40 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
My problem is with the cast...
miriam_tierna20 July 2020
The acting is descent. I just don't think Maine P. Is old enough to be the mom... or the daughter May have been cast too old...
23 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not worth of time : Lost story
sachinpande-0217631 July 2020
First, it is completely lost story stretched over 18 episode. Uses flashbacks, imagined stories just to create interest in it. Nudity and sex scene is the only thing which some user may prefer. But people who likes movies like "The Shawshank redemption" or "Green Mile" should never go for this.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Untruthful script
odavid-3080626 July 2020
Maite Perronin looks amazing, even better than her former performance at the "Game of the Keys", the truth is that the whole production isn't credible? With a lot of cliches and several issues of synchronicity to make the story believable. Just watch the role of main character's daughter, how she realized what she finally realized, absolutely unbelievable. Several scenes of explicit sex intercourses, well managed indeed, but not enough to categorize the whole productions as something remarkable, leaving the whole script into something like a soft porn, somehow artistic, but nothing more to highlight.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Starts interesting and gets boring
eatigh5 August 2020
The characters in this series are constantly changing and not consistent. The plots are getting too confusing with each episode. The whole series could be fit in a two hour long movie.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Unconvincing
deborahelizjoseph8 August 2020
It seemed that the writers tried too hard to make the storyline unpredictable and fell short on convincing the audience of the story. It seemed interesting at first but became too ridiculous to believe. There's alot of plot holes and the story doesn't make much sense.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pathetic storyline
jaimeazulay5 November 2020
Makes no sense at all... please don't make a second part !!!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pathetic storyline!
rich73547 September 2020
Story of a university professor sexually attracted to her stalker. No thanks, didn't make it past episode 3.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
An immensity of plot holes
adrianlnz26 August 2020
There are a lot of plot twists that don't have a really good arguement to make you belive them. Makes your head explode
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Enjoyable not Impressive
pamfer21 August 2020
A pinch of latin soap operas but within a more limited number os episodes. Although Dark Desire does imply a sexual and mysterious plot, it does fail on delivering a key point for both of the aspects. On one hand, there's a hyper sexualized storyline which leads to most of the actions and reactions of the show. Yet, beyond unnecessary at times, the relations in between the characters does fail to be reasonable and coherent, due to the lack of character development throughout the episodes. Still, on the other, the newest Mexican production of Netflix does deliver a rather enjoyable show when approaching the dark past of the characters, plus untied ends of their stories. I do admit that the show could've been better presented in a shorter version rather than the whole eighteen-episode storyline, which could've been optimized and still kept the puzzling happenstances on the story. However, they fill up the scenes with excessive flashbacks and imaginary but conceptual long parts that could've been better used as forms to improve the personas on the production. In other words, a Mexican short soap opera that doesn't leave out the usual drama aside. In conclusion, the photography, monologues and ending plot twists don't fail if you're looking for a good mystery to watch, but I wouldn't expect an extremely well thought and built story to leave a mark on your 2020 watch list.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Really confusing
ccap-8035328 July 2020
I am utterly confused! The last four episodes were especially terrible. So many loose ends, not convincing. Acting could have been better.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
8.5/10
aishwar241416 July 2020
First, i thought it would be boring like '365 Days' but I was wrong. This series will surprise you with some great performances from all actors as well the screen play is brilliant and story will keep interested through out the season 1. I would say, do watch it. I have become a fan of 'Maite Perroni'. She is a Goddess.
50 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible storyline
ordonez-6596910 October 2020
Terrible acting . I came to point of cringing and laughing at how bad and disappointing this show was. Wanna watch something really good on Netflix watch "DARK" instead.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Confusing
shdahlia2 September 2020
It's confusing. Too many scenes that are repeated, especially scenes having sex, after the film ends I don't know the meaning of this film.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Bit boring
lennertleysen-7091121 August 2020
At first, the story seems interesting. Love, sex, affairs, ... But i quickly lost interest and got bored of the repetetive events. The show contains way too much sex and nudity which, may i add, is not necessary. The sex scenes are way too long and can make viewers uncomfortable. The story itself is pretty good, but the writing could be better. Overall i enjoyed the show but my expectations were too high...
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed