Laid to Rest (2009) Poster

(2009)

User Reviews

Review this title
83 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Mind numbingly bad plot, with gore to spare.
CDiablo23 August 2009
Let me get this out of the way. If you like gore please see (possibly buy) this movie. This movie has some of the best (practical?, if it was all CGI I couldn't tell except for a few scenes) gore effects in recent years. A kill in this movie is easily a front runner for kill of the year. The acting was okay, and fans of people under the stairs will be happy to see Roach getting some work in a horror flick. I think its pretty well shot. This leads me to the plot............oh the horror.

The writing in this movie is possibly the dumbest I have ever seen in my 15+ years of watching horror movies. The characters do so many stupid things that it actually hurts the movie...........I can't believe I am saying this. I can usually appreciate horror movies just for the gore but this plot was just too much. Stupid decisions topped by even more stupid decisions. There is a plot twist in the movie that is less of a twist than it is a fun fact. This was just awful, it was like one of those internet stories where dozens of users write it one individual page/paragraph at a time.

So in short, great gore, worst story ever. Myself and my buddies have watched the gore parts on this movie several times, but none of us can stomach the real horror, the plot.
35 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Good Kills + Bad Suspense = Mixed Bag
Bill3574 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
A good horror film is a bit like obscenity in that it is impossible to describe what makes the horror picture good but you know it when you see it.

Laid To Rest looks and acts extremely well with lots of amusing moments. It has great FX and really nasty kills. It has competent acting, photography, and direction but something doesn't quite work. I think the fault probably lies in the script.

The main things I didn't understand were that the characters always seemed to want to backtrack to places where the killer already terrorized them. The girl wants to go back to the mortuary and the bearded guy wants to go back home to cover a previous victims body! Another is the fact that they have constant access to vehicles (including at one point the killer's!) but nobody suggests they pick a direction and drive!

These things would be of little concern if there was better suspense generated by their encounters with the killer.

I chalk this up as an okay near miss.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Laid to Rest... The best laid plans of serial killers and men.
julian kennedy24 May 2009
Laid to Rest: 7 out of 10: Laid to Rest is a real slasher film. A movie truly for hardcore horror and gore fans only and will make viewers, such as myself, who often enjoy a less serious outing really wonder if I want to see a true horror film. (Turns out I do) This film scared me in places and made me look away in joyful disgust in others. It is a film that raises the bar for horror.

On a lighter note let’s pretend you are married to a B movie actress whose claim to fame is a brief appearance as an Orion Slave Woman on an episode of The Star Trek spin off series Enterprise (Season 4 Episode 4 Borderland to be exact). She has large breasts but refuses to do a topless scene and she is seemingly challenged in the acting ability department. Oh and if she doesn’t star in your next project the audience will not be the only people to be denied a nude scene.

Solution? One brain damaged protagonist coming up.... Some people have trouble getting past the um acting of our star (and directors wife) Bobbi Sue Luther but I think poor acting is as much a part of the slasher genre as the false scare or lame back-story reveal and it good to see it represented here. (Strangely I don’t recall a false scare in Laid to Rest and what back-story reveal there actually is turns out to be fairly well done.) As if to make up for the main lead, the rest of the cast is much better than any slasher film deserves. For one thing they act like a real people would if confronted with such horror. (This is a credit to the script as well; but the cast really does sell this.) Kevin Gage in particular gives a performance that carries the film and what Lena Headey (The queen in 300 and Sarah Conner in the Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles ) is doing in a slasher film like this is a true mystery.

The direction by Robert Hall is also top notch with the ability to create tension and true scares. The real star of this show however is the make-up effects that are simply out of this world and make this worth a look just for that reason. (No cheesy digital blood here) The only real negatives to the film, outside of Bobbi Sue Luther performance (which isn’t really that bad and fits a brain damaged character), is the opening credits and the ending. If you hate quick cuts, shaky cam and techno music all combined together the opening credits will put the fear of God into you. Don’t worry it stops as soon as the film proper starts. The ending is simply disappointing on a few levels. Characters act... well out of character, and the whole thing is anti-climatic and gimmicky.

Overall Laid to Rest is an excellent slasher film for those people who like that sort of thing. But be forewarned this is for fans only; if you don’t like real horror stay far away.
23 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Maybe worth a look for hardcore slasher fans
KineticSeoul14 February 2010
This is a okay slasher with a few gruesome deaths that are actually sort of creative. The movie doesn't even really have a plot, just tries to make a excuse for some blood and gore. I am usually forgiving when it comes to movies like this but the plot holes were just way too noticeable. And it never tells or shows why the killer does what he does, he just goes around filming everyone of his kills while wearing a chrome skull mask. It had a strong start though, it was actually pretty creepy but after the first scene it quickly ran out of it's flair. A young woman waking up inside of locked casket with no memory of who she is or how she got there is a unoriginal but cool concept, but after that first scene the suspense dies. I thought it would have a cool build up and a decent twist, but the twist was actually pretty stupid as well. You just end up wanting the chrome skull killer to kill everyone, cause like I said I am forgiving but the characters or victims are just too damn stupid. I guess it's worth a look though for major slasher fans or if your in a appetite for slaughter.

4.2/10
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Top notch gore but a not a bore..
guitargurunmu27 April 2009
What can I say? This movie delivered everything I wanted it to. Strong brutal killings/unique killings, cheesy acting, not half bad music, and decent atmosphere. I love watching horror movies that don't require any thinking, its as if you can almost take a nap through it and still know what happened. I feel that some of these movies that are released right to DVD actually deliver more than the ones that make it to the theatre. A lot of the time those movies are really watered down and get the pg-13, but with a straight to DVD you know they are not gong to cut back AT ALL. So all in all the movie was a fun watch and I highly recommend it to anyone who likes to have a really bloody fun watch on a Friday night.
21 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Indulgent nonsense
nicodefretin22 April 2009
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is awful from the beginning to the end. It has no plot whatsoever: the writer and "director" (a make-up artist who'd apparently like to become the new Wes Craven) does a terrible job with this movie. It just looks like an excuse to a succession of deaths. I like slashers but this is more like a poor try to join the clan. Honey, you're not gonna go anywhere by creating such pathetic characters ("I'm so dumb I didn't realize the phone cable was cut", "We are all badly injured but still walk faster than the evil killer... Why would the killer want to run? He's better off following you...) Cut the crap, go back to make up. Bottom line, a total waste of time
17 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent Slasher, deserves a wide release
Viva_Chiba12 September 2010
While the main audience was busy for get their pants wet for another "Saw" sequel or another Platinum Dunes remake, Robert Hall gave us a original and gory Slasher movie called Laid To Rest.

Laid to Rest is not another slasher about a bunch of teens getting slaughtered while having sex or smoking a joint, it's about a woman who lost her memory and she wakes in a coffin, after she goes out of the coffin she discovers that a serial (masked) killer wants to kill her.....

When i watch a slasher movie, i mostly care about the gore and nudity, but in Laid To Rest the story was thrilling and i was interested in the story also. A good amount of (well done) gore is present, making it enjoyable for my taste. I don't have nothing to complain about this slasher, see it for yourself.
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
pretty in gore, lacks in story
trashgang22 October 2009
It's a shame that a gory movie like this surely delivers in gore but fails to deliver me the creeps. You aren't even into the characters, and that's a shame. First of all, it's a bloody flick and the killings are gory and explicit but gore alone doesn't make a movie. The story line is easy to follow but I was never into the characters. When a guy picks up a girl and his wife got killed he never weeps and goes with the unknown girl into a wicked story. But somehow things doesn't fit to me, the first 20 minutes are okay but then it's just the slasher after the unknown girl. Oh yeah, you gore geeks will love some scene's but as said, somehow it fails to attract you whole the time. The last 20 minutes are good to make it a bit easier to watch but still...if you are looking for a gory flick then this is for you, if you want the creeps lay it to rest...
14 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
WOW this was bad
todd-74015 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I would give this a "0" or a "1", but I give minimal props to the visceral killings and the overall concept of the antagonist. The acting is horrible (what in the world is Lena Headey doing in this thing). The writing is pathetic. There is no continuity to any of the conversations, and trying to just follow what they say to each other from one sentence to the next is completely impossible. Even the setup from scene to scene is bad. None of it makes any sense. She's outside hobbling down the road at about half-mile per hour and your telling me the guy doesn't know where she came from? And the killer couldn't catch up to her? And don't even start worrying about Computer Boy and his idea to "email" the authorities then looking up the serial killer.

That being said, Chrome Skull was pretty cool. He was intimidating, unemotional, quiet, and vicious: everything you need in a mass murderer
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Satisfying Slasher
AaronHickory6 April 2009
If you are looking for some pretty graphic and realistic gore porn, this does the job. The fx are well done and really make you cringe with all the various cerated edge knife slayings. The killer is pretty cool with all his gadgets, he kinda reminds me of Deadpool from Marvel Comics (X-Men Origins: Wolverine). Accept instead of two katana blades he has two shiny knives as his main killing devices. Yeah the plot is full of gaping holes but its a fun movie if you're into this type of thing. The acting is decent, and the main female role is actually pretty humorous with how stupid some of the lines are. I recommend it for the kills.
14 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Competent Slasher With Amazing Gore Effects
gavin694212 May 2009
A woman wakes up in a "dead box" (what most of us would call a coffin) and has no memory of how she got there or who she is. But she quickly discovers a man with a metal face is seriously interested in killing her, which isn't something she's particularly looking forward to. Will she be able to escape and find the answers she's looking for, or is her running just a delay?

The soundtrack music was provided by Deadbox and Suicidal Tendencies. I'm familiar with the latter, but not the former, and I have to give them a fair amount of credit for this film's mood. The opening scene and music really sucked me in, and I can't say I recall any opening having such a strong effect since the Nine Inch Nails' beginning of "Seven". Well played, maestro.

The director of this piece is Robert Hall, probably best known as a special effects artist. Not surprisingly, this film has pretty much the best gore effects ever. Okay, a slight exaggeration -- but not much. One scene where a man's face gets sliced clean off? Gloriously sadistic! The only film in recent memory I can compare this to is Ryan Nicholson's "Gutterballs", though there is a marked difference -- Nicholson goes for grit, Hall goes for shock and awe.

The killer, ChromeSkull, is both cool and cheesy -- he writes his own name on his car? I find it hard to believe a guy who does that remains uncaught. Especially a guy who films himself killing -- in the open sometimes -- and dresses like Destro. But he's a menacing figure, and far more threatening than Jason or Michael simply for his pure intensity. This is the kind of killer "Hatchet" promised us, but couldn't deliver.

Many of the classic horror clichés are here -- no phone, no gas, the killer tracks victims for miles. I almost wonder if this was done intentionally to be a bit over the top, because if not I think the writer (also Robert Hall) tried to hard to be clear about the peril. This many obstacles in one film takes the "isolation" factor and makes it more of a hilarity factor. I had trouble taking this film completely seriously.

"Laid to Rest" is likely to be overlooked by many, which is a shame. I freely admit I was not overly excited upon seeing the unoriginal skull and crossbones cover. My expectations were somewhat low, and I fear others will walk past this one in the video store, as well. Don't. Unlike other mask covers (this means you, "Bryan Loves You") this one is the real deal. I don't know if it's worth a purchase, but neglecting to rent it would be a mistake for any slasher fan -- a fatal mistake.
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Horrific acting
Michaelrsear4 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Gee, where to begin? Horrific acting - no plot - bad sets - cheapish atmosphere - you name it, it was awful in every way - and that's coming from a guy who loves B-grade horror films. It was touted as the gore film to end all gore films - well, there was gore, but not to the extent it was billed. Sure, there were some good effects and some killings were disgusting - but, the quality of the acting and characters can't compare to even most of the other low-budget B films. Which begs the question - what in the HELL is someone like Lena Headey doing in this film? Her acting - while also sub par, was good enough to stick out like a sore thumb. The only other bright side was the acting of lead man Kevin Gage who must have also been drunk when he signed on. I choose to ponder that perhaps the actors agreed to do the film as a "mercy act" for the benefit of the producers rather than approaching it as a serious gig. Speaking of the producers - it just so happens that the lead female role, kind-of acted by Bobbi Sue Luther, who, just happens, from what I gather, is the director's main squeeze in real life. This makes perfect sense since I doubt she could have gotten the part any other way. Horrible doesn't even begin to describe her acting skills. Her acting can't even compare to your run-of-the-mill first-term garden-variety politician. Besides looking as if she can hardly control grinning while being pursued by a deranged psycho killer, she always appears joyfully pleased to be on camera. Sure, she has the lead - but is the worst actor (a term I use as loosely as can be used) of the bunch - no small boast. I read several reviews which marveled at her beauty and thus gave her kudos for providing some eye candy. But, NOTHING can cover for her pathetic performance. I will go so far as to speculate that no amount of coaching can make her better. Some people just don't have the ability to act - Bobbi is one of them. No matter how long she hangs around the set - no matter what the role - I doubt she'll ever improve. As for her nude scene - she showed nothing - no money shot - and judging by how her chest appeared behind her blouse she is yet another fake-breasted bimbo with implants so large her nipples are probably stretched by the silicone like rubber bands. By the way - who decided over-stretched volleyball-sized breasts were attractive? I won't even get into the dialog. Anyway, I'd say don't waste your time or money - but it's the kind of film you need to see for yourself. I will admit it's well packaged and promoted - and some people seemed to like it. But, if the kills are what you're mainly focused on, I would suspect you're at the least a bit sick. I give it 2 out of 10, and that's because I'm feeling generous.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Interesting and gory slasher with no meaning whatsoever
dschmeding5 April 2009
Warning: Spoilers
For a slasher movie "Laid to rest" has some things going for it... first of all the kills are pretty gory, so the crowd should be pleased in this department. Secondly it manages to grab your attention with a strange atmosphere of uncertainty. It follows a girl who wakes up in a coffin with amnesia, soon being stalked by a killer with a chrome skull mask on who slashes everyone in his way with some pretty artistic knife cutting.

Girl teams up with a rough old guy and some internet freak whose mom died and the dynamic three are trying to survive and unfold the mystery around the killer. Actually I thought I was in for a huuuuuge twist because the movie soon starts to get incredibly ridiculous so I stuck to the amnesia thing and the obscure killer with a camera and mask. The guy can kill someone in one house then have the dynamic three flee miles in a car and yet Mr. Killer (who just was stabbed in the leg BTW) re-appears in front of another house right after the fleeing three stopped there. Also the back plot with the funeral home and several girls in coffins and many other hints are thrown in there with no real explanation. The movie manages to keep your attention but believe me... you are let down in the end when you expect more than some gory kills. The plot is a joke and there is so much abysmal dialog in there or plenty of scenes that make no sense. First of all... no one has a phone, the next police station is 100 miles away, the only guy who can help has internet but no phone. Then the killer turns out to be some kind of James Bond guy with high-tech equipment, a remote controlled super car and a "state of the art Chinese fancy handy". Its really unbelievable to have the dynamic three find the killers handy which is password protected and then guessing it like this (I am not joking!): "Try DIE! No, try COFFIN. Ah, I know... try CHROMESKULL. Yeah, thats a smart one". Where the movie manages to build some dark atmosphere it immediately puts it to waste with such ridiculous scenes and dialog. There is no real motivation given for the killer being so obsessed with the lead actress that he wipes out an entire small town and his mask glued to his face with industrial super-glue is just a fancy shiny but meaningless gimmick like his secret agent high-tech equipment. "Laid to rest" could have been something but ends up being just another movie with a laughable script and some nice visuals and gore FX.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
There is no tension, no fear, only a catalog of ways to die
dbborroughs14 April 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I saw the trailer and promotional material at New York Comicon this year and I thought it had possibilities. Now I've seen the film and I'm less impressed. The nominal plot has a young woman waking up in a coffin unaware of who she is or how she got there. Almost immediately she finds herself stalked by a guy wearing a silver skull mask and two huge knives. There is no set up the film just goes from there as random people die around her and she hooks up with people who later die. The deaths are horrible and bloody. Technically the film is a gore lovers delight. There are so many "great new ways to die" that odd are those looking for great special effects will be pleased. Those looking for plot or tension, beyond the what is the next nasty thing thats going to happen sort, will be disappointed since there is none (and I do mean none this is not tense its gross). Its girl gets chased and people die, thats the whole plot. We eventually find out who she is and how this all started (sort of kind of) but really this is just a catalog of bloody ways to mangle the human body. If you like that sort of thing (and go to movies only for that) this is your movie. If you don't this is something to avoid like the plague.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Back to basics of a whole new kind...
Michael DeZubiria9 April 2009
My first reaction to the first few minutes of Laid to Rest was that it was a cheap, no-budget horror film typical of the direct-to-video nonsense that you so often see populating the new release wall at the video store. Well, that I remember seeing on the new release wall at the video store, anyway. It's been a couple yeas since I've lived in the states and even longer since Netflix left me with any reason to ever visit a video store, but back in 2004 or so I used to have that monthly no-limit rental service at both Blockbuster and Hollywood Video and for a brief period I tried to keep up with ALL of the new movies, which included this horizonless stream of train wrecks that seemed to come out of nowhere.

And in many ways, that's what Laid to Rest is, but in some interesting other ways, it's not. Yeah it's true that the story is a prime example of mind-numbing pointlessness, but it would be a mistake to relegate the thing to the dark world of bottom shelf obscurity. Sort of. You see, there's not a scrap of originality or significance to the movie, but it is a perfect example of something bigger that is happening around us in the movie world at large.

80 years ago, movie-going audiences would have been shocked out of their chairs to see a man and a woman kiss on screen. Hell, 50 years ago they were still pretty uncomfortable with it. 10 years ago, even the most brutally violent horror movies more often than not showed the KILLER during the kill scenes, as movie blood sprayed all over them. Then Scream came along (by the way, true story – just this second I mis-typed "Scream" and it accidentally came out "Scarem." Interesting.) and we saw the hugely famous Drew Barrymore get stabbed in the chest in the opening scene. No cutaway or anything, remember that? The movie briefly goes into slow motion and audiences the world over were shocked that we were actually looking at this knife going into this girl's chest. I'd been watching scary movies for years by that point and even I was pretty amazed. Strangely, to this day it is still a scene that makes me a little uncomfortable.

Now, on the other hand, such a thing is as tame as those monster movies that had people jumping out of their chairs in the 1950s, so we get movies like Laid to Rest which, if you were to show it to some of those audiences, would probably flood the theaters with heart attack victims. There is no cutting away here, man. Not by a long shot and it's going to be a pretty good idea for you to be well aware of that before you start watching it.

Such a movie could never be released in wide theatrical release, you understand, but that's the huge shift that's taking place in the movie world right now. Making movies is getting easier, nearly to the point where any jerk with a camera and a computer can get a movie made as long as he can find someone to distribute it. Of course, it's to be expected that these movies are almost uniformly awful, and Laid to Rest is a prime example. It's pretty bad, but these things are getting better and they're only going to continue to get better as people learn to make better and better movies with simpler equipment, at which point the direct-to- video market will grow and improve, and the important thing is that all of this will happen beyond the grasp of the censorship-happy MPAA.

The result, of course, is that we get movies like Laid to Rest which feature nothing but the grotesque developments of pushing the violence envelope, which is really all that this movie does. Like literally. The movie has absolutely nothing to it except violence, which is why all this stuff about the MPAA came to my mind.

There is no backstory to the killer in the movie whatsoever, or really any backstory to the story itself. Some big-breasted brunette wakes up in a closed casket, no idea who she is or why she's there. She manages to knock the thing over and escape, but before she gets out of the funeral home she witnesses a man wearing a chrome skull mask brutally kill another man, and then the killer comes after her.

Why does he want to kill her? Who knows? Who cares? Any explanation would just waste time. We understand that this is a slasher movie, and this particular slasher movie has no interest in such time-wasting things as character depth or coherent story structure. The important thing is that for the rest of the movie he relentlessly pursues her, viciously killing anyone who gets in his way with a serrated, double-edged knife.

Gore hounds will be highly impressed, as the movie is astonishingly and graphically bloody. We get sustained shots of the killer sawing away at various body parts, and one scene where we the central cast pops the lids off of a succession of coffins, revealing some of the killer's past kills, which he has taken the time to save, for future reference, let's say. I won't go into any details about the state of the victims in the coffins, let's just say that they are one of many reasons that the movie is not for the faint of heart, or the squeamish, or really anyone who, for example, would feel some hesitation at taking up the opportunity to do a little dissecting work on a human cadaver. But the rest of you are going to love it…
18 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Entertaining
QinetiQ4 April 2009
Warning: Spoilers
A girl wakes up in a coffin with memory loss and manages to get out and escape. Some weirdo with a skeletonmask is chasing her while she has no idea why or who he is, or even what her own name is. On the run she meets some people who try to help her.

I think this movie is well-made, there's blood and gore for the fans of the genre and the follow-ups aren't that bad either. Bobbi Sue Luther's performance was good, although it mostly meant she had to be confused and scared. Still, she didn't annoy me at all, I've seen plenty of movies where the chased girl annoyed the heck out of me.

Lena Heady's role (who you might recognize as Queen Gorgo from 300) is very small, which surprised me.

It's not just chasing, blood and gore (well, the biggest part is but) there are also some moments where they managed to squeeze in some emotional moments that worked well.

Overall, I was entertained, the effects were OK, the camera-work good and, well, I have a weak for Bobbi Sue Luther ;) (I'm Dutch, so pardon my English)
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
"Craptacular" indeed.
shoesncandles14 November 2011
That second star is for Stephen, who was the one character that made this monstrosity slightly bearable. Not that he's much of a character, but at least his particular brand of idiocy is the sort that draws a grudging smile out of a horror fan. He certainly has the best lines of anyone in the movie. A car in a horror flick that can only go forty miles an hour is a new one on me, and kind of funny.

Also mildly hilarious is the fact that the convenience store is clerked by a Justin Bieber look-alike.

Apart from that, there is absolutely nothing to see here. The gore gets points for being the right color, texture and coming with a minimum of stupid slurpy noises... it LOOKS better than average, but the killer and the director screw it up by not really seeming to understand how a knife is actually used. (But then, I like for the execution in excessive gore to make SENSE if at all possible--helps justify it. What can I say, I'm picky.) People who only care about the blood'n'guts bit will like it well enough.

The plot is virtually non-existent; the heroine, while not unlikeable, has no personality and is impossible to give a crap about; the acting is god-awful even by horror's already-low standards; the characters' decisions are stupid even by horror's already-low standards... and possibly worst of all, the final confrontation with the killer sickeningly reminds one of the one in "The House By The Cemetery."

Nasty... just nasty.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
One of the more competently made slashers.
Jan Strydom18 August 2009
LAID TO REST is a gory slasher about a woman who wakes up in a casket with no memory of who she is or how she ended up in the casket, she quickly realizes she's been kidnapped and must find a way to escape her predicament and get away from a killer wearing a chrome skull mask and has a camera attached to his shoulder.

On the plus side this is definitely one of the better slashers in the past few years, although it won't go down in history as a classic of its time, there's enough gore here to satisfy a large population of gore hounds across the country and one thing I give extra points for is that its not another slasher with horny, idiotic teens you'd just wish would die so the movie could end, it actually has one or two likable characters, a rare commodity for slashers nowadays.

You might say the acting is good but sometimes it seemed the actors were left hanging a couple of times, Bobbi Sue Luther who plays the lead female character and is also credited as the films co-producer, does a terrific job nonetheless, as well as Kevin Cage who plays Tucker, Sean Whalen's performance is a little bit of a question mark, but I reckon its because his character is so pathetic.

The storyline is easy to follow, however there's no back story about the killer, all you know about him is that his a psycho who wears a chrome skull mask and likes to video tape his murders, the potential for a sequel is here however, of course I posted a quick concept idea on this IMDb web page looking for some feedback but since there are rumors of a LAID TO REST 2 and 3 in the bloom, I kinda feel like a dope.

Overall, a better than usual slasher that should satisfy gore freaks even though it won't be labeled a classic.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Boo!
Kellie Stewart12 April 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Not Boo as in "I scared you" but Boo as in this movie was a huge disappointment. I have two good words about this movie...Kevin Gage. Thankfully, he was in most of the movie. The movie begins with a girl in a coffin. She doesn't know who she is or how she got there. She has a basic understanding of the human language, so we guess she sustained a head injury. As the mortuary attendant starts to free her, he's killed and we get our first glimpse of the killer. Kevin Gage becomes her hero, trying to keep her safe and stop the bad guy, even to his own detriment. The lead actress was a poor actress and her character was very one dimensional. She remains dumb throughout the movie, not acting in ways that a normal person in her situation would act. It was more like she was in cahoots with the killer setting up victims for him. We never find out who the killer is or why he does what he does. His knife is awesome and very effective. The special effects were very well done. If I didn't love Kevin Gage and his acting abilities, I would have turned this movie off after the first 30 minutes.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Bad.
SweetOOgaBOOga13 May 2009
Bad.Bad.Bad. I spent most of the movie laughing, sadly. Did Bobbi Sue have breast implants or just Porn star sized implants? I hoped she didn't think that looked natural. She is one of the worst actresses I've ever seen. I'm serious. I feel bad for her. And her husband directed and she produced this movie? I wonder why she got the lead role? The script writers are just as much to blame. The characters were "over acting" to the point of being pathetic. A monkey at a typewriter could have done better. Steer clear for the love of horror.

......Bad.

I need to watch something good.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
And the award for worst acting goes to ...
Cedric_Catsuits10 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Bobbi Sue Luther couldn't act her way out of a paper bag, as witnessed here in what must be one of the worst performances of all time. Add to that fact her character here is a truly horrible person who deserves to be cut up into little pieces, and we have a movie that should never have been unleashed on the unsuspecting public. Just how do these films get made? Who on earth thought that Luther was a good choice? I despair.

So we have some psychopath killing girls and he wants this one, who had escaped and sought shelter with the unfortunate Tucker and Cindy. He holds a knife to Cindy's throat and indicates he wants the girl. If I was Tucker I'd have handed her over without question and the movie could have ended with the satisfactory slashing of the horrible cow. But no, Tucker decides his wife is less important to him than this weird girl he just met. Honestly, who comes up with this drivel?

From then on everyone the despicable girl comes into contact with dies a horrible death. What is wrong with these people? Do the sensible thing and hand over the worthless criminal whore to the man with the big knife. How many good innocent people must die just so this scumbag can live? Well, just about everyone. Utterly stupid and irritating.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Kill the girl, please!
King Kong9 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I just hate it when the girls in these flicks haven't got enough brains or common sense to fit inside a thimble. This girl, however, takes the prize for most frustratingly useless victim in the history of my horror movie-watching existence of thirty years. I literally wanted her to die about two minutes in when she commits her first of many atrociously stupid acts (you'll know it when it happens). From there, she seems to get progressively more idiotic by the scene. From cowering in the corner while watching another screaming girl have her head sawed off to cowering in a corner after her guardian sacrifices himself so that she can escape to crying and whining the entire length of the movie, you just WANT HER DEAD.

On the upside, plenty of gore and death for you torture porn types, zero plot, zero back story, zero intelligent ideas coming from the hapless victims-to-be. This movie was just frustrating to watch. so, so frustrating to watch. Unless you're a gore freak, give it a miss, because there's nothing else here to redeem it and a new low in utterly moronic main character.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Great gore but not much else.
Paul Andrews8 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Laid to Rest starts as a young woman (Bobbi Sue Luther) suddenly wakes up inside a locked coffin, she struggles & finally manages to open the coffin & finds herself inside a funeral home. She has no memory of who she is or how she got there but instinctively know's to try & call for help but she soon discovers that a brutal killer who calls himself Chromeskull (NIck Principle) likes nothing more than stalking & killing people while he films it with his shoulder mounted camera, Chromeskull wants to kill this woman & will seemingly stop at nothing to do so. As the terrified woman flees from Chromeskull & tries to stay alive she meets up with various other people who try to help her but usually end up dead as Chromeskull isn't picky about who he kills...

Written & directed by Robert Hall this is your typical slasher horror film in the vein of Wrong Turn (2003), Friday the 13th (2009) & The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (2003) although one does have to say at this point that while Laid to Rest is nothing particularly original or thought-provoking it certainly delivers on the gore. I suppose the basic idea behind Laid to Rest is quite good, the script revolves around this central mystery of a woman with no memory of who she is or what has happened to her being stalked by some maniac killer & as the mystery unfolds the pieces all come together in a satisfying twist ending. Right? Well, no actually because nothing is ever really explained to any great degree & even though we rather randomly discover that the woman was a prostitute there's no reason behind why Chromeskull picked her or why he just didn't kill her straight away or why this whole stalking thing is going on. Chromeskull himself is an OK killer, he never speaks & we never see his real face & he has absolutely zero background or motivation for anything he does except he's just a sick killer. At least he know's how to kill people in spectacularly gory ways & for that I salute the guy. At just under 90 odd minutes the pace is decent enough & the action & story kicks in straight away but it can get a bit repetitive & with an almost total lack of explanation behind anything that is happening Laid to Rest feels empty & must be considered a bit of a wasted opportunity. The annoying aspect that none of the character's in danger of bing horribly murdered by Chromeskull take any of the opportunities they have to just escape to safety, I mean there are plenty of occasions when they could just drive or run away somewhere totally random as far from Chromesjull as possible but they always hesitate or find something to stay behind for or come up with some strange reason why they can't just leave. Laid to rest is a decent enough & pleasantly gory slasher horror thriller but a bit more work on the central story to make it actually end up meaning something & this could have been so much better, as it stands laid to Rest is perfectly acceptable thanks to a quick pace & some impressive gore but it's not going to go down as any sort of classic.

As I have already mentioned the real highlight of Laid to Rest is the gore which is impressive, there are gory slit throats, severed heads, cut open torso's, dead mutilated bodies, someone's stomach is sliced open & their guts slide out, a man's face is literally sliced off, people are stabbed, a guy's head is blown off with a shotgun, eye's pop open & a guy rips his own face off exposing his skull underneath all shown in loving detail with plenty of blood splatter. There's a little bit of nudity as well. While Laid to Rest has the look of a modern low budget horror film there's not much machine gun editing or shaky hand-held camcorder crap going on which is appreciated, two modern techniques that are overused these days that I personally can't stand.

Filmed in Annapolis in Maryland this probably had a low budget but looks alright with decent production values, I am pleased to say that the use of CGI computer effects is kept to a minimum & the majority of the gore scenes are good old fashioned on-set prosthetics & fake blood. Leading lady Bobbi Sue Luther is alright if forgettable while none of the other cast members feature that much before they are gorily killed.

Laid to Rest isn't a terrible film but neither is it a great film, it just sort of sit between the two camps as it has good gore & a good pace but nothing else & does get a bit dull after a while. I thought it was OK, worth watching if you get the opportunity & like slasher films.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Good gore but way too thin plot
Jesse Nissinen14 May 2011
Warning: Spoilers
The promo picture and the whole villains arsenal and look are original and cool, I really enjoyed seeing this movie, but the fact which makes me sad is that there's close to no plot/story or character development at all, it's non-existence.

This simple fact takes it actually down from an 8 to 4-5 rating. I know I gave it a 6 but, I wanted to still promote this movie a bit instead of just bashing it down.

People who are into extreme violence will surely like this flick and also probably ignore all the plot-holes etc, so this movie definitely still has its audience. I can still remember one of the death scenes where a person gets his whole face just ripped off, obviously a plastic face but still cool nonetheless!

There's a fun scene where they find the killers cell-phone and they desperately try to find the password for it, small stuff like this would have been nice to the movie (small character development as to what a mad man uses for his password), and there was also one scene where you see the killer type down the password on his cellphone, but too bad, we are never known what it is, as this simple subplot is fast ignored and never revealed.

Also the whole reason why the killer kills everyone is never revealed, and who the killer is, and so on. Basically nothing is revealed in this movie. Maybe the director had no idea himself and lack of imagination made him just do a simple slasher movie.

I also think this had obvious connections to The Predator, the cam-recorder on his shoulder giving out a red spotlight, the metallic-mask and blades, but seems to be impossible to get this fact through to the 'Movie connections'-part.

Overall a good slasher movie, but this could have been a good thriller movie if it had a plot, but now it's just fast forgotten.

Watch it ones for the extreme violence death scenes, shouldn't be any reason to watch this twice though.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews