Slow Ride Home (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Awesome Documentary!
bowera-486523 September 2020
I had a blast watching this documentary! It's got laughs, trails, tribulations, and more laughs! As a motorcyclist, I loved watching how these guys took care of each other and treated each other like brothers (fist fights and all!) on the trip. It's amazing they were able to accomplish what they did, and it's awful entertaining to watch it all unfold. Great work by not only the riders, but whoever put this film together!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
These guys know how to live!
thebballkid-4643615 July 2020
That was a surprisingly hilarious documentary. Bunch of wacko characters on tiny scoots riding across the country. You know how they say, if it's a dumb idea it's a good idea? These guys live that moto.

It's obviously not a super high end production which actually aided to the authenticity of the documentary. Definitely worth a watch in my opinion.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Seattle's Lovable Idiots
mayhemphone15 July 2020
If you're looking for testosterone fueled macho-man, high speed action- you must have missed the part about being on scooters for 3700 miles.

Riders will appreciate what a triumph it is to take a small engine bike like that across the country in just 11 days, with no (real) mechanics. The guys manage to take their mind off the miles with funny conversations and ridiculous challenges that you can't help but laugh at.

Slow Ride Home will leave you with is an appreciation for patience, beautiful sights and friendship.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A delightful documentary highlighting the journey rather than just the destination.
rowanismyname15 July 2020
I have now seen this documentary about 5+ times and each time I watch it, I find something new. These bunch of friends who act like brothers to each other, travelled across the US on a scooter that barely pushes 55mph downhill with a breeze.

There's no big budget or team of mechanics on hand to help, this is as raw as it gets. THAT is what gives this documentary a load of heart.

If this documentary doesn't make you want to go out and buy a scooter after watching it, then nothing will.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Road travel addicts will understand
martaindale1 July 2020
Not everyone will identify with this film or its eight central characters. Why would grown men opt to ride scooters - to be clear, not motorcycles but small motor scooters - from coast to coast, not to mention having latex animal masks stretched over their helmets? A person who understands the answer to that question is a viewer who would probably appreciate this documentary.

The Scooter Cannonball Run has taken place every two years since 2004. This film follows the Soldiers of Destiny, a scooter club from Seattle, as the riders and a support van trek from Fernandina Beach, Fla., to Mukilteo, Wash., during the 2016 run.

Like any good road trip story, the guys doubt themselves, bicker, tease, face challenges and, ultimately, move into an even deeper friendship.

My regret was not having an opportunity to see more of the sights along the way, but the well-documented realities accompanying long, often grueling, days on the road, helps one understand this is simply not that kind of movie.

What it does have is excellent music by rider Jesse Morrow. The images, though sometimes monotonous due to having to rely mostly on cameras mounted on the bikes or riders, are fun to watch. Additionally, drone footage occasionally gives an interesting aerial view.

Ultimately, what makes Slow Ride Home work is the guys, having fun, being themselves, and not holding back because of a camera.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
11 days, 40mph
danwaber21 July 2020
Pretty much everything you want in a fun documentary. Meet people about as crazy as you are and follow them as their serious but occasionally absurd interests take them on a journey only they could have ended up on. Totally recommend.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Felt like I a member of the club when it was all over
schwak-5599415 July 2020
Great movie! I watched it a 2nd time a few days after the first viewing. Each person had relatable parts about them.

I gave it 9 out of 10 rating because a lot of the sounds were all over the place, spiking really loud when doing audio from their com units. Other than that, a fantastic documentary about a group of friends loving and hating every moment of a journey together.

I think we can all agree Paul fights like a wuss using his lanky arms to keep his opponent away.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Possibly the best scooter movie ever made
newmusichour15 July 2020
Crossing the country is hard enough. Try doing it on an uncomfortable 2 wheeled vehicle, exposed to the elements, never going faster than 50mph. I bet you'd like taking shots of A-1 by the end too.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Meh
dion_pangallo12 July 2020
I guess everybody in america needs some sort of hobby to feel important.. but this stinks of pretentiousness. cheesy jackass wannabe type of stuff. meh
1 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed