The Mentalist (TV Series 2008–2015) Poster

(2008–2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
234 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Unique, great plots, humor, action, great characters
lewismom-595579 January 2020
One of the best shows I've ever seen, this series has it all: countless surprising plot twists, humor, long satisfying story arcs, well-drawn characters who change and grow, murders, action, revenge, pathos, more humor, quotable & memorable dialog, suspense, multiple romantic story lines... everything. Characters are likable but complex. Locations and plots are varied and interesting. Never a dull episode, and unlike many series, the final episodes offer a satisfying conclusion. My family and I have watched the entire series together three times, it's that good.
54 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Favourite Show of All Time
RachaelHP16 January 2020
This shows is master class in acting.

Robin Tunney and Simon Baker have a chemistry and credibility so rare that it's simply wonderful to watch every single scene. These are two of the greatest actors I've ever watched. I wish they won more awards and received greater recognition.

With the character development in the series, the writers were on point. Jane and Lisbon are mature characters; credible, solid, exceptionally developed in all aspects. Because of the subtlety of the writing and nuanced performances, their arc over the 7 seasons is just sublime.

Humour and darkness are perfectly balanced and refined in both the writing and performances. It doesn't talk down to its viewers. It doesn't go in for shallow drama to create tension. It's inventive. All is purposefully done. That I deeply respect.

Cho, Rigsby and Van Pelt really become a truly lovable team and they somehow create a sense of home. Tim Kang, Amanda Righetti and Owain Yeoman were perfect at every turn. Very rare. I missed the team so much. That's a testament to the actors.

Exquisite guest stars mean this show is rife with the most memorable, bizarre and irreplaceable characters. There are too many to name. It would clog the word count. I mean. Monster talent. All in one show. Every single person created a memorable and an immensely enjoyable character. I wanted to see more of them.

I remember at the time it aired, people were going mad speculating about Red John. He was an excellent catalyst - a truly horrific storyline and figure.

But to me the show was never truly about him. It was about Jane, Lisbon and the team. Finding your people and purpose. Growing and learning from pain.

I love the music by Blake Neely. Psychological, eerie, haunting, funny, emotional, heartwarming, reflective, sentimental... He aced it. I revisit it constantly.

Bruno Heller and Chris Long created something incredible. The fact they honoured what the fans wanted in Season 6 and 7 is a tremendously rare outcome in this business and unlike any show I've ever seen. They truly nailed it.

I miss this show and characters and always will.
49 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A show that is so much more than it seems.
GonzoBarbossa4 October 2008
For anyone who thinks this is close to Psych...you're dead wrong. While both shows take a similar premise, they're so different in many ways. This show does have a man with the ability to spot minute details, but he does so much more, he plays mind games with people, reads their emotions and sets elaborate traps to catch them. Many compare him to Shawn Spencer of Psych, but I would rather compare him to Sherlock Holmes, except more tortured. The pilot obviously takes on a more serious approach than Psych and the dynamics of the show go from cute and funny to deeply disturbing in seconds.

It takes your one crime per episode procedural drama with a gifted detective and takes it one step further. Patrick Jane is more self effacing, gets into trouble and is a known fraud. But he isn't mean or intentionally rubs people the wrong way like House(also based on Holmes) or Spencer. He is very soothing, warm, instills trust and seems to get along with people pretty well, from the guy who did it to his team. At the same time, he does like to flex his intellect and power over people and loves to play games to get answers (and yet, so charming when he does so). So it's kind of disarming when you begin to see there are some serious issues with this character, he doesn't sleep, doesn't believe in life after death (and is happy that way), and is actually anti-social with the group. There are further reasons as to his psychosis that won't be discussed. Behind those warm baby blues, warm smile and calming presence, there is a man being crushed to death by very weighty issues.

Patrick Jane is a fantastic character, he's obviously brilliant, but a little distant and isn't fond of working with others. As a former faux psychic he seems pretty ready to disable believers. And of course, Simon Baker is a brilliant actor and is the reason I tuned in (I admit I too feared this was a Psych ripoff) and he brings so much depth to this character. When he plays his mind games he always brings a sense of "I know more than you and there is nothing you can do about it." type of amusement and when Red John or death apparates in conversation you see a distant look in his eyes that conveys more than what he actually saying (the psychiatry appointment in the pilot was incredible). He really plays off the layers of Patrick Jane well, pulling some back and when we get a true glimpse, the layers fall back in place. And credit goes to the set-up of Red John as his "nemesis" through a copy cat. He and Jane have a very tense meet up awaiting them, but I can wait for that just to experience the chase and the unraveling history between these two.

Another credit would go to the incredible Robin Tunney (of The Craft and Empire Records) who was reason number two for watching the pilot. She has had very little to work with in the first two episodes (but her role grew from 1 to 2 so I have faith), but she plays the hard nosed detective with a little more prudishness and distance than I would have expected. How much she knows about Jane and how far they go back is a mystery to me and their dynamic is interesting. She doesn't fall into stereotype and has retained a beguiling sense of mystery. I also appreciate the lack of clichéd moments "fraught with sexual tension" between Lisbon and Jane.

And I'd also like to credit Tim Kang- a lovely surprise and I enjoyed his character who really doesn't give a crap about hurting people's feelings or stepping on toes, he just wants to solve the case. Love it and kudos.

My only complaint would be explained in the two above paragraphs briefly. I love Cho and Lisbon and hope to get see more of the team (Van Pelt and Rigsby are really cute as well), but I understand this is called "The Mentalist" and there is still time to slowly introduce Jane's history with the team and more in depth coverage of these characters. I've only seen two episodes and I think what I anticipate will come into fruition.

Overall, this show is well written, well acted, and beautifully shot. I for one have set up a season recording on my DVR and cannot wait for the next episode, yes you can consider me a fan and I hope you head over to CBS.com and give this show a chance. I wish I had more stars to give.
373 out of 412 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
More than just a show. Something that's gonna stay with you for a long time....
arindamdas-4189217 October 2019
I don't normally write reviews but i have to for this gem. First of all if you're in dilemma of deciding whether should watch it or not then put your doubts aside and give it a go, you will not regret it . This is one of the best show I have ever seen. The story is very well written and it's surpassed only by the acting of the cast involved. Simon Baker's performance in The Mentalist is nothing short of spectacular, he brought the character of Patrick Jane to life. A well balanced protagonist that is smart, sexy and have a good sense of humour, plus Patrick's background story is so emotionally strong that you can't help yourself to connect with it in a deeper way. The chemistry between Simon Baker and Robin Tunney's character is portrayed so well by these two, and their amazing friendship off-screen is reflected on the show in a wonderful way. Jane and Lisbon's relationship is truly one of the most beautiful relationships ever written for TV. But, it's not just them you feel attached to. You'll get fascinated by the tricks of a Mentalist. He is witty, sarcastic, arrogant at times, manipulative and extremely intelligent with an extraordinary IQ and memory. He is gonna trap you into his wide skills of observation, manipulation, cold reading, mind bending tricks & ideas. The way he solves the cases is magnificent to watch and so so intriguing. I can ever go as far as to say that his intelligent surpasses that of Sherlock Holmes. This guy can literally get inside the minds of the smartest & the toughest criminals and manipulate them to do things his way. He can get inside Joker's head and make him commit suicide, yes you heard it right. Such is the mind of a brilliant man, Patrick Jane, the main protagonist. You're gonna love him every single moment of the show. Won't give you any spoilers or anything but a great show needs a great antagonist, & it can't get any better than Red John. From the suspense regarding his true identity, to the mind games between him and Patrick, all of it is presented so well to keep you intrigued for the entire course of show. And even after Red John this show is a delight to watch. And I dare say that I have finally found a show with the PERFECT ENDING. A show can not get a better closure than this . The only thing sad about the ending was the fact in itself that the show was ending. Now it's hard for me to imagine a day without watching The Mentalist. It's gonna stay with the watcher forever. Thank you Bruno Heller for giving us this masterpiece.
38 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great show with a lot of potential
tianxiafengyung14 November 2008
The lead character Patrick Jane (Simon Baker) aka the 'Mentalist' plays a 'psychic' consultant for a serious crime unit headed by Lisbon (played Robin Tunney, "Prison Break") along with the rest of the cast, Cho (Tim Kang "Rambo"), Van Pelt (Amanda Righetti, "OC") and Rigby (Owain Yeoman "Nine"). But Patrick is no psychic, he relies upon acute observation and a penchant for playing mind games with the 'suspects' (and other members of the unit)to solve the case.

The character of Patrick is full of intrigue; he's sexy, funny, smooth but at the same time is tormented by a dark secret of his own doing. The dynamic between him and the rest of the unit is one of great 'hooks' of this show. The conventional law abiding enforcement officers are often at odds with Patrick's eccentric and often risqué way of going about solving crimes. The show plays up to this. The humour and tension between the characters do not appear to be contrived. And of course its always Patrick that comes out on top.

Unlike other crime TV series such as CSI, that depend on sophisticated, often over-the top 'scientific' methodology (CGI effects) to appeal to audiences, the Mentalist brings us back to the good old 'detective's hunch' style of crime-busting. It is a breathe of fresh air in a genre saturated with technical jargon and outlandish plot.

The way each case is solved is complex, yet very believable, and the magic comes from the sense of wonder at Patrick's mind tricks.

The show however still follows much of the conventional approach to to the crime genre, with the cliché of red-herrings, incompetent officers and a detective on a personal mission, but the charisma of Simon Baker as the lead detective Patrick Jane pulls the show together.

Another drawback is the seemingly lack of character depth in the minor cast members. Lisbon, Cho, Rigby and Van Pelt all play second fiddle to Patrick and look like sidekicks rather than team members. But the show is slowly providing space for their development.

The show is named after the lead protagonist, and he promptly delivers. He is charming yet gritty, nonchalant yet brilliant, careless yet vulnerable. He's warm and cold at the same time, full of contradictions and full of flaws. Simon Baker portrays these subtle shades of Patrick's personality with an ease, and has made this so accessible to the audience.

The Mentalist is one of those tortured anti-heroes the strikes a cord with the audience and we can not wait to unravel Patrick's full story.
178 out of 205 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Definitely not a Copycat
LostKaleb18 January 2009
I honestly say that the first I heard of this show I thought the premise was too simple and too recurrent. However I seem to find myself waiting impatiently for each week's episode and what is Patrick going to pull this time!

Also, I'm sick and tired of all the comparisons with Psych and House and whatever you may come up with! This show is NOT House, it's NOT Psych, it has a clear identity and is surely not a copycat. Sure it has similar elements: the House-like vibe of the background music and types of situations, or the Psych-like fact that the main character can spot details with one look; but what show these days doesn't? I mean, all CSI variants are the same! Come on...

So I tell you: this is a very good show, it can still pick up some pace (at least I can see that they're taking advantage of the Anime-style fillers) but every episode is fun to watch and grips you to the last minute.

The main character was what surprised me the most though. Despite the fact that being Portuguese I enjoy that the lead detective is called Lisbon, Mr Patrick Jane seemed just another pretty face on TV. However I can now see that I was terribly wrong: it is a great character and is portrayed by a very good actor; the changes between whimsical smiles and disturbing stares are... well disturbingly good!

So watch it, it's worth it and you might learn a thing or two!
185 out of 219 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Enjoyable Crime Solver
mjmdl20 January 2009
I really like the show and it's actors. It stars a man who had a career acting as a psychic who was just pretending for the money. He made the mistake of catching the attention of a serial killer who retaliated by killing his family. He recovered from a breakdown and now works as a consultant to help the bureau catch the "bad guy" by using those same intuitive, observant skills and really listening to what people do and don't say. Simon Baker plays quite a multifaceted character that goes from playful to serious, whichever is called for and does it very well. The Mentalist has a good blend of being neither too dark like Criminal Minds or too lightweight like Psych, shows which I also watch.
105 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Want more n more
askforsampathmba26 December 2018
It's like addiction. Guys please come back. Simon, Robin,Kang,Rockmond. Everybody is superb. Please come up with season 8
44 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
So far, so good...
cosmic_quest9 April 2009
'The Mentalist' is the latest American crime drama to make its way to British shores and so far, it is proving itself to be a promising show which will hopefully continue to flourish. The show revolves around Patrick Jane, a mentalist (someone with a highly developed sense of observation who can give the illusion that they have psi abilities) with a haunted past, who uses his unique skills to help the California Bureau of Investigation solve crimes.

A show of this genre is obviously going to attract comparisons to other shows like 'Medium' (which is ridiculous because Jane is steadfast in his view that he is not psychic and there are no such thing as psychics) or 'Psych'. In the case of the latter, admittedly, there are similarities to be had but 'Psych' is very much drama-lite comedy whereas this show can be dark and is a serious take on having an adviser with such abilities working with law enforcement.

Simon Baker does an excellent job depicting Patrick Jane as a man who, on the surface, is genial, charismatic and arrogant but hides his dark emotional problems that we catch glimpses of as the show progresses. Jane, for all his relaxed persona, is a man who cannot come to terms with his tragic past and is an insomniac with anti-social tendencies and a cynical view of the world around him. He is a truly fascinating character and it will be interesting to see how he continues to develop. The rest of the cast do well but for now their characters take second place to Jane. Female lead character Teresa Lisbon is the leader of the CBI team that Jane liaisons with and is starting to stand up as a character in her own right as well as someone who is beginning to understand the secrets of Jane. However, everyone else still need time to be develop, which is understandable for a show only in its infancy.

In all, 'The Mentalist' continues to excel and seeks to be yet another success from America (so, CBS, please don't cancel it!). It offers a unique insight into crime and the people involved. It also involves tantalising characters who leave the viewers desperate to uncover what makes them tick. Here's looking to a good few seasons to enjoy.
93 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I'M SO IN LOVE WITH THIS SHOW!!!!
akshayaajd17 May 2020
Its perfect. I watched it in 2020, i seriously didn't expect it to be this good. from the first episode to the last i never got bored, it didnt fail to keep me intrigued. This show is a timeless gem. Its a perfect package of emotions. i really cannot get enough. awesome casting, great chemistry, a beautiful storyline. I cherished it with all my heart.
12 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Extended Holmes
user-807-1148584 December 2019
This is a fantastic series to get addicted to.. is something like Sherlock Holmes.. if you have loved the series of Sherlock Holmes you shall be looking forward for a great journey with this series.. Good luck..
12 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
AMAZING!!!
zigakrusic-7123015 October 2020
Best show on the world Humor, drama, love, complications, unnerving i recommend it to all!!!!!
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of my Favorites
jpg43sailor28 November 2018
Other than a serious glitch with the Red John character I loved the show. The first 5 seasons were the best, it was a shame they screwed it up with Red John. Simon Baker was at his best when playing mind games with everyone. We just got done binge watching all 7 seasons.
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Miss the show! Already?
sourabh-idoorkar26 March 2015
If ever there was a show that could evoke such strong emotions, this is it. The Mentalist. Best show ever.

Right from the 1st episode till the last scene, there was never a dull moment. The writing was perfect. The acting more so. Execution flawless. Simon Baker deserves every accolade for making us believe he was a real "not-a- psychic". His facial expressions, his charming and buoyant self, his acting were all fabulous. Every cast member since the beginning of the show has been amazing with their roles and I don't think there was ever any actor in the show that did not fit his/her role or that did not put in his/her best efforts. All of them deserve a standing ovation.

Its sad for us to watch the show come to an end but all great things always must. I think no other character will ever be able to match Patrick Jane in terms of sheer fun, wittiness and, well, a flair for the dramatic. His methods and deductions being insanely awesome all the while.

As for the ending, it was the best anyone could hope for. Like many others, I did miss those Red-John story- line episodes initially during season 6. But then I have never seen any show end its main story- line and still hold its own so well. Most of the shows simply trail off into non- existence once the primary perpetrator is caught or dead. However this show surprised me with the transformation it under went and that is definitely a big kudos to Bruno Heller there. Very hard to pull that off. Though it ended sooner than I would have liked it to, I still respect the decision to do so.

Most importantly, I will miss the smiling man who tricked his way into our hearts using his cons. But then, there's always repeat telecasts to stop that from happening. Cheers!
31 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Excellent!
DiCaprio-HardyFan12 February 2021
Out of the thousands of police procedural shows to choose from I have to say that The Mentalist is one of my favorite! It has everything you want in a good police show...drama, action, comedy, suspense, etc. Simon Baker is absolutely perfect as Patrick Jane as he leads an all around great cast!
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best show ever.....
Jonemathews-0076 August 2020
This was my favourite show.....I liked it a lot...best show I have ever seen in my life......
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
intelligent new show
Chi3_1619 November 2008
The mentalist is no doubt not an original concept, and yes, it might be somehow related to Psych. The show does distinguish itself from Psych with its new and unrelated material. The series literally takes you on a ride as one feels involved in the investigations with every episode. The haters of the show should ease up. This is good old detective work, which relies on careful crime scene observation and a bit of suspect manipulation, as oppose to the science ridden crime dramas which bombard our television sets every evening. No disrespect to C.S.I. One more thing that struck me, has anyone else noticed the number of 24 alumni appearing on the show?? Up until episode 7, we have had 4 alumni, Steve Culp, Xander Berkeley,Gregory Itzin and Leslie Hope. I wonder who is coming up next........ Catch the show for its wit and fun, if not.....check it out to see if Jack Bauer shows up to help The Mentalist.....
83 out of 106 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Intriguing
vagabondjonson17 December 2008
I've only seen about four of five episodes of this show and I liked it, but as others have said, it follows a rather familiar vein. Trying not to compare it to anything else though, I found it to be enjoyable at face value. The lead character is likable and keeps the interrogations and methods of discovery light and conversational which is nice. I like that his part isn't really dark and sinister, which was an avenue obviously available to the writers given the main character's back story.

I liked the charisma between Baker and Robin Tunney and I like that his character doesn't take himself to seriously. Yes, the writers do ask you to suspend your belief occasionally and to get viewership the writers have had to make the stories bizarre and convoluted, which isn't necessarily a problem, it just makes it look like they've got heat from network people to make it edgy when it could be more mind-bending instead.

It's a fun show that can be watched at leisure and enjoyed without a serious dedication to it, which can be nice in an age of shows with year-long story arcs. If you miss one, you're not totally out of loop. If you've got an hour to spare, give it a shot. It's enjoyable.
75 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Rush Ending
donnyaditama30 November 2018
Bruno Heller was too rush to ended this serial..! He was too focus on Gotham, and you can see the gotham now is very premature..!

Bring my Jane back..!t
27 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good solid show
kbethune-176-2518193 February 2021
I love this show. I've seen every episode, and returned for more.

Is it sometimes cheesy? Yes. Do some episodes make me wonder if teenage girls contributed? Yes. Does the Red John thing go on a little long? Sure. And you know what? I never really 'got' the chemistry between the leads.

But it's also got really funny moments, really likeable characters (Cho!), and it's just got a certain something that's more than the sum of its parts. It's like when you watch a really classic play, you see the *play* -- not just the particular performers on any given night. Depending on the episode, you might be watching the high school performance or the Broadway performance -- but underneath it all there's 'something' that draws you in, that you can see beyond the surface stuff.

You could try to assign a formula to it ("Hyper competent man with a tragic past yet whimsical outlook breaks the rules to avenge his family -- and in the meantime finds a new family that have each others' backs while pursuing a common good") -- and hey, maybe a formula is what it is. But this implementation of the formula really works. There's something real behind it.

Anyway, it has flaws -- but still, I like it.

I'd also love it if they brought the show back for a reboot! Cho heading the FBI office, Wiley still on the team, Theresa and Jane doing whatever (whether consulting or something totally different, I'd probably buy it)... If they could bring back Summer for a cameo that'd be icing on the cake. I know the ratings were an issue near the end, but speaking only for myself, I'd tune back in.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Probably the best detective series Available now
karmakar12 January 2021
Yes you read the header correct. It is probably the best detective/murder mystery series. The best part is the trick Patrick Jane uses to lure the convict to get into his trap. I know for sure the 8th session is never coming but still I hope for it.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best show ever
mancaskrjanec2 August 2020
The mentalist is my favorite show ever. Characters are amazing and talented actors. Every episode is unique and funny and interesting. I like that besides solving murder mysteries, there is also a story behind it. Story about Red John. I love this show so much that I watched it 6 times, because I do not find any similar series this good. Do not miss it because it is worth watching.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Characters you relish spending time with
Phil_Chester4 September 2019
What I love about 'The Mentalist' is that it's a cop procedural show where the characters are so much more important than the solving of the crimes. I relish spending time with these people. Every one of them feels so well drawn and realised. Simon Baker was born to play Jane. The stories are packaged up in easily digestible bite-sized chunks, so you can dip in and out whenever the mood takes you. Highly recommended.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This show is for people like myself
nospam2-1430 October 2008
I am very interested in the sort of mental tricks that are shown on this show. Not that I want to be the guy, I'm more interested in why the human brain works the way it does, and so far the tricks he uses are well based in reality...as strange as they are.

As much as I like crime dramas, there are so many of them on TV right now. I wish they could have exposed the psychology to viewers in a different format, but on the flip side, I can't suggest a better alternative either for the moment. For choosing an over-used format I take two ratings off a perfect 10. As the last reviewer suggested the plots will have to get strange to be new.

In contrast to the last reviewer, I do like the lead character a lot, probably because I understand more why he does the things he does. Simon Baker does a great job of acting as a Mentalist, from whom is he drawing his inspiration from? They must have a consultant helping the show.

If you want to understand the show better, you may be interested in Derren Brown - Tricks of the Mind videos.
135 out of 184 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best
thementalistalireza10 January 2021
The best tv show ever.Risk of depression after the end :))
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed