Potter's Ground (2021) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
A decent Western
OhDavidMyCaptain8 June 2021
Potter's Ground is one of the more interesting indies I've viewed lately and I think that its deserving of attention. The story is a simple one, which works for it as much as it works against it but it undoubtedly manages to deliver on the fun.

With a cast of mostly unknown actors and a crew of people you have never heard of, we should all appreciate that something was put out that is clearly punching above its weight class. The action works when it wants to, the jokes mostly land, and the movie flows at a mostly even pace that makes it fly by and never bores.

My only complaint would be the idea of the monsters in the world. They are alluded to on more that one occasion when referencing a supposedly terrifying location that they must travel to and you even get to catch a glimpse one or two times in the movie, but they are lacking everywhere else. This isn't necessarily a big problem, but it feels at times like Potter's Ground would like to be a monster movie but is scared to give in, ultimately building excitement for something that never comes. If not for this minor disappointment I would probably rate the movie 8.

Either way it isn't a bad find on Amazon and is worth the rental if you find yourself in search of easy entertainment.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not the worst western
jdorego2 June 2021
Boring episode of Deadwood meets The Goonies. No likable characters. Same story has been done before and way better.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A suprisingly funny, strange, pulpy Western done with style
IronYokai16 June 2021
"Potter's Ground" is an odd beast: part Western, part Thriller, part Supernatural Adventure, this is the kind of film that can only be indie, because no big studio would know how to market the damn thing.

But, this frankensteining of various genres is what makes it interesting. In less capable hands, this genre-shift would be jarring. But because of the tight pace and cracking dialogue courtesy of director Michael Butts, Editor Josh Shreve, and writer (and co-star) Scott Crain, you, along with the band of outlaws you're following throughout the film, just kind of accept that weird things are afoot in the Wild West.

In this way, "Potter's Ground" reminds me quite a bit of John Carpenter's or Sam Raimi's early outings. Without the money for expensive set pieces (although the set pieces that ARE here are quite good, especially considering the budget), the focus is more on the characters and the dialogue.

The movie rarely stumbles (there's a dodgy effect at one point, but no worse than some of the stuff I've seen $500,000,000 movies try to get away with), and never falls flat. It's also refreshing to see the well-worn "outlaws hunt for treasure" trope flipped a little and given some new life.

Most of the cast and crew are either brand-new to feature filmmaking, or have very few credits to their names. This is a tad surprising given how strong this movie is.

Is this movie for everyone? No. The multi-genre approach can be off-putting if you're looking for a more straightforward Western, and the dialogue is designed more for sheer coolness and effect rather than realism. At the same time, this IS a movie about Aztec gold and ancient curses, so I'm really not sure why you would be watching in the first place if you wanted something along the lines of "Deadwood".

In short, I believe this film is the beginning of quite the career for its cast and crew. Only time will tell, but if they can do what they did with the shockingly low budget this film had, they'll knock it out of the park with something more substantial.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It's a blank movie...
ayrancioglunazan2 June 2021
It's not worth your time. Because it was a really bad movie.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No Good...
akrep-318722 June 2021
Once upon a time there were very good cowboy movies. Exciting legendary movies where Indians and Cowboys fight. Today's cowboy movies are like Chinese made... These kinds of movies have no taste anymore. It's really a pity.
8 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Low-Budget Genre Filmmaking!
mindcrimefilms-5589617 June 2021
Hard to believe what they pulled off here with the low budget. The "Potter's Ground" locations, sets, and costumes all feel authentic and are helped by great cinematography, color grading, and sound mixing.

The story's pacing is solid with some genuinely suspenseful moments and the script plays to the cast's strengths. "Potter's Ground" is an impressive feature debut that's worth a look for fans of westerns and suspense thrillers.

Looking forward to the next production from this team!
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Just enjoy the moment!
cuspubgb7 June 2021
Yes, it is not the best western movie I've seen and in a way it doesn't entirely match its description of a Western, Drama, Thriller.

It was certainly dramatic, 100% it had a thriller twist to it and was it's set as a western, but what you don't know is the real twist in the tail - at the end. It was actually almost the lowest point of the film for me.

I checked out the actors' bios and it appears that these people have hardly worked on set - at all. Which I find truly amazing as some of the work was simply excellent.

The clichés and regular quips were corny to the max, but so well delivered. Brilliant. Isaiah Stratton (lead), his cohort Scott Crain, Todd Bush and Katharine Franco all deserve bigger and better roles in the future.

If you are prepared to case aside any concerns and simply go with the flow with this film, I feel confident you will like it. I sure did.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Mixed bag of genres - loved it!
paulclaassen30 June 2021
Well now, this is not what I expected. This certainly is a mixed bag of genres, and dare I say I believe it mixed pretty well.

This is probably the type of movie I've been waiting for: an action adventure fantasy western horror drama thriller. That might be a mouth full, but this film really surprised me. The film features really good performances, good dialogue, good cinematography, and an eerie and foreboding atmosphere. We have cowboys, Indians, good guys, bad guys, skin walkers, monsters... I guess this won't satisfy everyone's palate, but I was thoroughly entertained.

We follow three officials in search of pieces of an amulet that - according to legend - contains a map to a city of gold. These pieces are scattered, and the only person who knows where they are, is Doloroas, whose ancestors created the amulet, so she's along for the ride as well. On their journey, they stumble across more unsavory characters than they can handle, and their every move is a fight for survival.

I love treasure hunting movies. Now add the Western adventure element and I'm in heaven! I really loved this. If you're looking for an old-fashioned Western movie, though, this is not it. This is a very different kind of Western, so you're either going to love it or hate it.

Would I watch it again? Yes.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved It!
If you like Westerns and dark humor, Potter's Ground is it! It kept me on edge and chuckling. Great movie!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A fun thrill ride of a Western!
amitchmcleod14 September 2020
Potter's Ground is a fun and exciting throwback to classic adventure movies a la Mr. Spielberg and Lucas. Don't let that fool you though, as it also has enough dark and mature elements to give everybody something to be pleased with by the end of the experience.

The script is written with such rapier wit and the cinematography should be inspirational for anybody looking to create a film on a minimal budget. All of the talent here is exceptional in their delivery, with the standouts being writer/actor Scott Crain and actress Katharine Franco.

Mr. Butts has already delivered in the past with successful short films and, with this, he has managed to prove himself as a filmmaker who is able to adequately make that difficult transfer of talent from shorts to features.

Don't sleep on this one. You won't come across much better in the world of low budget filmmaking. That's a promise that I can say with confidence will be lived up to.
18 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Well done
jodyhull-3051224 June 2021
Shockingly well done if you know what the budget was (like practically nothing). It's fun and entertaining to watch but if you're looking for something with profound meaning then this isn't it. Some of the visuals are totally top shelf. Looking forward to the next project from this posse.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great low budget film
gransflor24 July 2021
Keeps you guessing; great DP. Enjoyable to see what a first time filmmaker can do on a limited budget.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Potter's Ground Ropes You In
bellsteven-735949 June 2021
Potters Ground delivers great entertainment in this top notch western movie that keeps you engaged from beginning to end.

The writing, well rounded and diverse cast bring their A game in the acting department, making this a very easy and enjoyable watch. The directior/producer Michael Butts was another highlight! His artistic and well thought out approach to filmmaking is inspiring and is much needed in this business. The other standouts for me was lead protagonist Alexander Kane, writer/actor Antagonist Scott Crain and the little promising newcomer Lexi Janicek. If you loved the westen movies The Hateful Eight, Unforgiven and Tombstone, and appreciate beautiful cinematography, this is the movie for you!
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Worth your time!
loramileyjg25 June 2021
This was a really good movie. The characters were great and casting was perfect. I really liked the story line and at times I had to hold my breath in suspense.

Twist at the ending was great!

I plan on watching this one again!

I think some of the negative reviews are unfair. This movie was not directed by Michael Bay and should not be criticized like it was.

One Bandit did an amazing job with this being their first film. Judging by this movie, they have a successful future ahead and I we will definitely be seeing more of them! Trust me! Watch it!
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed