A Taste of Christmas (TV Movie 2020) Poster

(2020 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
A decent Lifetime Christmas movie...
toddsgraham22 November 2020
So, this one was a bit difficult to get into at first; the first 40 minutes I had to stop myself several times from multitasking. That said, the last 40 minutes or so are quite good. It is a cute and fun story overall. The writing at times did not make sense. Two examples included having Tyler (the teenager who was helping) fix the plumbing - made no sense but did allow the writers to develop the sub-plot romance. The scene where Natalie (played by Anni Krueger) left Stefano (played by Gilles Marini) at the Christmas carol concert. I get it, she was jealous, but the chemistry (where we start to see that Stefano is interested) between the two had only really started in the carriage ride the previous scene. So, for her to storm off seemed odd. The acting overall was fairly good. Anni Krueger's performance was solid, though she had some awkward scenes early on. She was at her best in her dialogue BeeBee (played by Emma Myers). She also had a strong performance during the last 30 minutes or so. I liked Gilles Marini's performance; he made me laugh a little with his Italian expressions. The chemistry between the two was decent. As I alluded to above, it came late for me, starting at the carriage ride and really shined thru with the exchanging of the gifts. The supporting cast was good. As another reviewer pointed out on here, it was a real cute performance by Emma Myers. The scene in the shop (where she asks Tyler to help) and the scene at the fair (snowball scene with Tyler's list) were both good scenes for her. The movie does a good job of getting the viewer into the Christmas spirit thru several fun and festive scenes. Overall, it is a decent new edition to the 2020 Christmas movie season.
20 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
"I don't know the name of you"
jagfannn22 November 2020
But I'm sure we soon will. The fresh faces and strong performances make this move a welcome surprise. Where have they been hiding Anni Krueger? She beautiful, funny, believable, a great actress and carries the show. Together with super cute Emma Myers, and the very talented Mara Hall, they make this movie enjoyable and worth watching.

Gilles Marini and Andrew Brodeur are the male leads and do a great job as well. The story is interesting and although you can tell it isn't a big budget film, it's still entertaining.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
No purpose
tinatalksavon22 November 2020
I never saw a real purpose for this movie. This is the worst Christmas movie I've seen so far this year. It was actually kind of boring. And I couldn't understand anything that Gilles Marini said throughout the movie.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
All the right ingredients
Gordon-1125 December 2020
This festive romance has all the right ingredients to make it work. It may be predictable, but it entertains and warms the heart.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
just okay
taylornan17 December 2020
I didn't enjoy this movie, found myself multitasking and FF thru some of it. The lead actors had chemistry Gilles Marini is handsome but Anni Krueger acted goofy. I like to watch all movies until the end and I was happy when this one was over.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Anni Krueger
Jackbv12322 November 2020
I can't believe how much I enjoyed this movie. I never heard of most of these actors, certainly not Anni Krueger. Her list of credits for acting is incredibly short to have a lead even in a two hour movie.

This movie is proof to me that a movie can be good even when it follows all the formulas for a Rom/Com, and with leads I haven't grown familiar with.

When I watch one of these movies, if I smile a few times, I consider the humor good. In this movie I was laughing. Yes, out loud. Krueger is a natural. Her timing is good. She's self-effacing yet also with an inner confidence. She can be a total klutz and yet not take it to the point of being silly.

Krueger and Gilles Marini have instant chemistry. Emma Myers and Andrew Brodeur do also, as the secondary romance. They are so cute.

The dialogue is good. It's funny when it needs to be, sometimes with one liners. It can get serious or romantic. It never goes overboard.

I said it follows the formulas. It that way it is a little too cliché. Some of the situations are boarding on too silly. Still, I enjoyed it immensely.
3 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What a delight!
irgrammy23 November 2020
I enjoyed this Hallmark movie more so than others. Not the typical, getting a promotion, leaving town story.

I like the interaction among the characters. They feel like "real" people.

I also thoroughly enjoyed the character of Stefano. He is so full of life, and again, a very real person with attitude and fire. I think he was my favorite thing about the movie.

I hope Hallmark will bring more movies like this with real people with real emotions.
3 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
BeeBee & Tyler
wynbrks-89-44949222 November 2020
The scene in the shop where BeeBee (Emma Myers) is talking to Natalie (Anni Krueger) about Tyler is classic! Emma's facial expressions in that scene while describing how she knew Tyler from school and the side glance's she made towards Natalie had me cracking up. I had to watch a couple of times. Emma Myers is one to watch!
3 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Super cute
taylorbreter28 November 2020
This was a sweet Christmas movie. The cast overall was very good. There was some missing pieces it felt like that could have been filled in if some of the fluff was cut. The story line of the teens was adorable. BeeBee (Emma Myers) did a great job being the "awkward teen" as well as her costar Tyler (Andrew Brodeur).Gilles Marini was lovely, I was excited to see him in this because of his prior work and he did not disappoint. Anni Krueger was good, haven't seen in her in anything before as she doesn't have a long list of work but she was very pleasant and made her character likable.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love it
babbygirl17522 November 2020
Amd I love where is was based at.. I go to Helen every year for the Christmas Parade... Love the food... Fudge.. Beer... The lights and the Glassblowing is awesome
3 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not bad
teebear81711 December 2020
The 2 lead actors were fine but the obese black woman is one of the WORST ham actresses ive ever seen. Over blown acting, over emoting. Pure ham. We all know Hallmark has its obligatory token black actors in every movie. Black assistants, etc. But maybe hire one who can act. The so called italian actress Lauren Lavera, who is really from England, goes back and forth from an Italian accent to a Russian accent in one scene over and over throughout the movie. Wheres the director?? He doesnt hear this? One minor pet peeve, the mood music between talking scenes was WAY too loud. Otherwise a nice little detour from the usual stuff
2 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Wrong Actor....
edpopp7 December 2020
I love these Christmas type movies but i could not understand a word the main actor was saying.. comes across as a bad womanizer....geez...
1 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed