Demons (TV Mini-Series 2009) Poster

(2009)

User Reviews

Review this title
36 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
I don't really see what everyone is moaning about..
TheNaz10 February 2009
Being an avid watcher of both Doctor Who and the Buffy The Vampire Slayer series I don't really see what everyone is complaining about. If you think it kills a TV programme for you then don't watch it! I thought that the programme was lovely! Considering that this is ITV, not a billion pound production, it was something to look forward to on a Saturday night. Albeit Philip Glenister needs to work on the monotone American accent. I'll admit that the special effects were a bit rubbish but you can't really base your whole opinion on the technical stuff. If the series doesn't appeal to you than so be it but you have to appreciate it for its charm! The characters are lovely and the plot surprising.

WONDERFUL TV series. Just sad that it ended!
23 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great Show!
Torrent16 January 2009
So I'd heard the bad reviews. I knew the basic concept of the show, and I had my doubts. I couldn't imagine how the idea of Van Helsing's descendant coming into his own and demon fighting could be something that could be actually made to work. But it absolutely does, and it does so in the only way it could; by going for over-the-top cheese and not taking itself too seriously. I think the nods given to Buffy were excellent, and far better that than trying to play down the similarity of the base concept of the two shows. But that's where the similarity ends - in the base concept. This is not in any way an attempt to make a British Buffy. It's fresh, original and dazzling.

To be honest, I can't help feeling that a lot of the negative reviews are from people who somehow missed the point. Bad SFX??? What? Were you blind? No, they aren't "realistic" effects such as we are used to with shows like Buffy and Dr Who; they are, instead, of a larger-than-life comic-book style and are done brilliantly. The whole show, in fact, has this same comic book feel throughout - everything from the cinematography to Galvin's cheesy American characterisation.

If you want this show to be another Buffy, then yes you will be disappointed. If you can take it on it's own merits, then be prepared for some pure comic-book entertainment.
28 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Don't believe the haters
nigel_woodhouse-14 January 2009
Warning: Spoilers
The lead character of the show is a teenager who lives with their mother. A mysterious figure enters this teenager's life, and awakens them to their true destiny : they are to be the latest in a line of demon fighters, and they have latent special abilities which will help them to perform this role. The mysterious figure will be a mentor to the teenager, helping them to develop their skills and to fulfil their destiny. However, they must keep their life as a demon fighter a secret from their mother.

Okay then, at first sight this seems very much like a British take on 'Buffy the Vampire Slayer'. The producers have even cheekily acknowledged this fact by calling the teenager's mentor 'Rupert' !

However, I think that the best way to approach this show is to forget about the 'Buffy' connection and to enjoy it on it's own terms. To judge from the first episode, it has a lot to offer.

The most striking part of episode one was it's appearance. Unlike American producers, the makers of British programmes don't usually care much about making their shows look visually attractive. So, most British dramas are filmed in unappealing locations and look fairly dull and grey. 'Demons', however, looks beautiful and stylish, with most of the first episode being shot at night. This certainly gave a very cool and atmospheric feel to the show.

As you'd expect, the first episode was used to set up the basic premise of the show. 17 year old Luke (Christian Cooke) is told by his American godfather Rupert Galvin (Philip Glenister) that he is the descendant of Abraham Van Helsing, who was a real demon fighter and not just a character in Bram Stoker's 'Dracula'. He is also told that it is his destiny to follow in the footsteps of his illustrious forbear. In the course of telling Luke about his heritage, Galvin takes him to meet blind pianist Mina Harker (Zoe Tapper), a descendant (?) of the wife of the original Van Helsing's assistant, Jonathon Harker.

We then move onto a plot where Luke's not-yet girlfriend Ruby (Holly Grainger) is kidnapped by demons (or 'freaks', as they're apparently to be called in this show).

All in all, the structure of this first episode seemed well worked out, and it also moved at quite a pace.

The acting in the show was fine too, though the dialogue would have benefited from a tweaking in a few places, as would have Philip Glenister's American accent !

And, despite the criticisms that I've read from other people, the special effects and make-up also seemed to be quite good to me.

So, I am going to defy what seems to be the majority opinion and say that this was a very promising first episode, at least on a par with the openers of other recent British fantasy series such as 'Doctor Who' and 'Merlin'.

I'm looking forward to the rest of the series.
25 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Better than I expected
be-my-penguin6 January 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I admit that when I first saw the advert for it, I wasn't amazingly impressed. But decided to watch it regardless. I ended up loving it, it has it's flaws as most British television does but I really liked it. Of course the main actor is gorgeous with a love interest... which is admittedly cliché. The story lines could be slightly improved or whatever and maybe the special effects aren't amazing, but it's honestly worth watching. Bit of an anti climax at the end if you ask me, and they haven't QUITE got got the tension building techniques down to perfection. Galvin also can occasionally get on your nerves, however Thrip is perfectly cast.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
What's the problem?
Alex Hillier28 January 2009
Warning: Spoilers
After Merlin came to an end my wife and I were delighted to find that Demons adequately fills the gap left by that series. Once again I find that the whiners and moaners have come out of the woodwork with comments about poor SFX and ripped off plot lines and once more we find those smart asses who, without actually checking their facts, bleat about incorrect parts of the script (Mina & Jonathon Harker's son Quincey for instance. To all of them I say get a life, it's an entertainment - simply remove your brain, sit back and enjoy it. If you don't enjoy it switch channel or turn your TV off and get some exercise. I shall continue watching and enjoying. Someone wrote that Ruby is 'hot' - so she is but Mina smoulders. I even like Mr Glenister's portrayal of that miserable sod Galvin.
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
"Demons?" Well it does feel like a journey into Hell.....
andrew-55214 January 2009
I honestly don't know what stuns me more, the cliché-riddled ineptness of this show or the fact that it took three people to create it (or four if you count Joss Whedon.... and you should. If I was him I'd be seriously be considering legal action....). I mean, how many people does it take to watch, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," then attempt to recreate it for a British audience? The creators will no doubt argue about the, "uniqueness," of their show and how it provides something, "different," for todays television audience. I would say it shows ITV's desperation to grab any part of the, "Doctor Who," type audience from the BBC that they'll commission dreadful knock-offs like this rather than something genuinely original and exciting.

So, instead of a young, wholesome, stereo-typical (at first glance) American girl living in the U.S. who turns out to be the last Slayer and must battle vampires, demons, werewolves and various other, "evil entities," with the help of some friends and a British mentor with an encyclopedic knowledge of all things demonic, using cool martial arts skills and assorted strange and ancient weapons/spells, etc we get a young, wholesome, stereo-typical British BOY living in the U.K. who turns out to be the last Van Helsing and must battle vampires, demons, werewolves and various other, "evil entities," with the help of some friends and an American mentor with an encyclopedic knowledge of all things demonic, using cool martial arts skills and assorted strange and ancient weapons and spells. Totally different.

Whereas, "Buffy," had Joss Whedon's wry, clever, original, funny ideas behind it this has Philip Glennister doing an American accent and a blind girl whose medium-type abilities seem to give her a real leg up when it comes to negotiating stairs at high speed.

Watching it, it seems as though any kind of original idea had the same effect on the writers as a crucifix does on Dracula. Rather than come up with a single original thought they seem to have sat there, watched every action movie and TV show from 1997 and gone, "Ohhhhh! That's cool! Let's do that!" unfortunately meaning they've rather missed the point that it is now twelve years later all this stuff has been done to death already (and far better too). So we're treated to endless, martial arts fights where the action goes from regular speed to sudden slo-mo as our hero/villain/demon does a back flip mid-battle and are so poorly edited with crash zooms and camera jerks you can't actually tell what is going on.

Obviously, as with any show like this, acting talent is not the main reason these people have been cast. It's the, "Prettiness Factor," that's got them in and I have no problem with that. This is designed to be eye-candy, fun, entertaining television, not a Pinter adaptation. But the level of writing and the ideas behind the show are so poor it's hard to tell if the actors are bad or if it's just the scripts and direction.

Ironically enough, it is the person who is probably the most respected actor in the cast, Philip Glennister, who fares the worst. His Rupert Galvin has to win the award for most clichéd depiction of an American by an English person on a British show ever. It's not really his fault, he makes a fair crack at the accent and what have you, but it's the dialogue he's given that lets him down and makes it just interminable. He comes across like a twelve year olds idea of what a tough guy American must talk like based only on watching bad American movies and who has never actually met an American in their life. Practically every line out of his mouth is some leaden cliché, like references to, "The whole enchilada," and the godawful, "Showtime!" (which terrifyingly seems to be what the writers are trying to make his catchphrase despite the fact that even Arnie stopped thinking saying that just before a fight was cool twenty years ago) that flops around on the ground like a fish gasping for breath before expiring. I actually consider the use of the phrase, "Showtime!" as an indication of how awful a movie or TV show is. If a writer thinks it's a cool, original thing for a character to say then it's generally a pretty fair indication that whatever I'm watching is crap and, "Demons," is no exception to the rule. It ranks right up there with, "Why don't you put down your gun and face me like a man?" And, judging by this show, the North of England must be empty as they all seem to be living in London.

All in all, I can see why this show seems to be losing viewers by the millions already. Although it will probably get a second season due to the amount of money they've put into it, regardless of ratings, as happens with U.K. shows more and more these days. Maybe ITV could put the money to better use and come up with an original idea for a change? Maybe a show about a group of elite soldiers, framed for a crime they didn't commit, who escape from prison and enter the criminal underworld and use their skills as mercenaries to help innocent victims? Oh.... Hang on.....
32 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Surprisingly pleasing!
ringofhether18 January 2009
Warning: Spoilers
When I initially saw this I thought awww God : Another vampire slaying series then I thought FOR FAMILIES. The first episode was one big setup with Phillip Glenister sporting a decidedly dodgy American accent and the whole thing being entertaining. The second episode showed an improvement but was still an anticlimax with the monster only being on screen for a few minutes, whilst Richard Wilson's turn as Father Simeon showed his superb acting ability. Episode three picked up and was by far better than its predecessors. Kevin Mcnally was fantastic as Mr Tibbs although his screen Time was disappointing. OVerall It was enjoyable.
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
A Bad Ripoff of Buffy the Vampire Slayer
Ryan Hunter4 January 2009
I can just imagine a bunch of producers and writers sitting around a big table throwing around really bad ideas such as:

Producer #1: We need a show that targets the 13 to 19 market, like Buffy the Vampire Slayer did in the US.

Producer #2: I've got a great idea; how about a British Buffy the Vampire Slayer!

Writer #1: Brilliant!

Producer #1: We don't want to look like we're copying the Americans though.

Writer #2: We could change it up with a male lead.

Producer #2: That's good but not enough.

Writer #3: How about instead of a vampire slayer he's a demon slayer?

Producer #1: hmmm....I like where this is heading...

Producer #2: By using a comic book hero we could cut costs on the back story and comic book heroes are big time money makers. Look at Spiderman 1-3, X-Men 1-3, Iron Man, Batman, and The Hulk.

Producer #1: I like where you're going with this. We could even come up a video game to market the show.

Writer #1: So who's the comic book hero?

Producer #1: That's your department; my dear boy.

Writer #1: Right; hmmmmm....

Writer #2: What about Van Helsing?

Producer #1: Who the hell is that?

Writer #2: Remember that terrible vampire/werewolf film with Hugh Jackman and Kate Beckinsale?

Producer#1: Oh yea...that Steven Somer's bomb

Writer #2: Hugh Jackman's character was Van Helsing, a famous monster hunter who goes to Transylvania to kill Dracula.

Writer #1: And Van Helsing's got all kinds of cool old weapons and gadgets like a medieval James Bond!

Producer #2: This sounds perfect guys!

Producer #1: I like it! Add a couple sexy teens to the script, leather, some cool demons and we got ourselves a UK hit!! I want you guys to write me up a pilot and I'll sell it to the big boys.

And Viola! just like that you have another crappy TV show called Demons!!
46 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Been a while since there's been a good new TV series about hunting demons.
zactac24 January 2010
Demons is about the descendant of Van Helsing picking up from where his ancestor left off and hunting creatures called Half-Lifes (demons). There are quite a few interesting characters in this show. One of them is a hunter named Galvin that worked with Luke's (the descendant of Van Helsing) father. Now he helps train him to hunt demons just like his father and ancestor did. Also there is a medium named Mina that helps them with finding out where to find demons while also having a secret that you'll learn a few episodes in to the show. Also one of Luke's friends named Ruby helps him hunt demons when he really needs help.

So far the show has just started but its very interesting. We start learning about all of their pasts and then there are episodes that are just about them hunting demons. The series is already starting to show some very promising material. Its already gotten interesting so future episodes are definitely going to be fun to watch.

This is a show that Charmed, Angel, Buffy, and Supernatural fans will enjoy just about guaranteed.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Brilliant series that ended too soon...
jfcampinell25 April 2016
Demons is an English mini-series about a young man who finds out that he is the last descendant of Professor Abraham Van Helsing (a character originally seen in the 1897 Gothic horror novel Dracula). It is this young man's destiny to fight inhuman creatures and protect the human race.

It is entertaining, suspenseful, and often funny. It used gorgeous imagery, fantastic computer animation, and a brilliant soundtrack. Demons is a very well-written series. In comparison to similar American shows, I found Demons to be better written, directed, and acted. The writers put together interesting, multi-layered background on every character

Unfortunately, the series ended after only six episodes, leaving many unanswered questions and unresolved problems.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Breathe of Fresh Air
wi-tch8 January 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I first saw an advertisement for this program quiet a while ago, as it was the type of program i normally watch i thought i would give it a go. I was NOT disappointed, i have heard many complaints by people about the program but i found it a breathe of fresh air. It isn't like anything else on English TV at the moment, it dares not to take itself too seriously and pulls off several moments where you just cant help but smile (Ruby Ruby Ruby Ruby) I am kind of a myth geek so love the idea that the producers have taken several different myths and stories and rolled them into one. I love Zoe Tapper i thought her portrayal of Mina Harker was FANTASTIC!! i recently saw her in Survivors and to see her again in this program in a completely different character just shows off her excellent acting skills. It was nice to see Mackensize Crook back on British TV i loved him in the POTC and found him all the more interesting in this. I'm not sure on the lead yet, don't get me wrong he plays the part well, i just think that perhaps you need to warm to the character and last but certainly not least Philip Glinister our own Gene Hunt i love him in anything he does but i could not keep my eyes off him, his accent is a bit iffy to say the least and it keep cracking but i think he will settle into it much like Amanda Tapping has in Sanctuary, his character Rupert is very mysterious i'm not sure what i make of him yet, Philip was superb though and i would keep watching just to see him on TV every Saturday until A2A starts again. All in all i think Demons is a program that if you want to relax and have some fun on a Saturday night this is the program for you, its a breathe of fresh air and i shall continue watching until the series finishes, i hope its commissioned for a second series!!
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Good grief Charlie Brown...
kescross10 January 2009
If there was any way I could give this 0 out of 10, I would. Hell, if there was any way I could give this a MINUS number, I would. This dreadful (and I'm embarrassed to say this as a Brit) English attempt at Buffy the Vampire Slayer is probably the worst thing I have yet to see on British television. A laughable script is compounded by wooden acting, a bizarre "American" accent from one of the leads, primary school style special effects (a scrimshaw nose? Seriously?) and "half-life" demons that I'm sure have day jobs in the local fast food takeaway asking people if they'd "like fries with that". ITV already have the UK rights to show a far superior version of this kind of programming in the form of "Supernatural", which is everything that "Demons" isn't. They should take advantage of those rights, show Supernatural in place of Demons and hope that everyone scarred by the experience of being subjected to this hooey don't press charges...

Avoid.

Kes
17 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Epic Fail
Mr EGJ7 January 2009
Warning: Spoilers
The tag line looked interesting enough to view this show. As a supernatural fan, i like these kind of themes for a series.

The problem with Demons is that their is either not enough budget, or they don't know what they are doing. Because there isn't any real humor in the show, so i assume it is supposed to be scary. But how can we be scared if they show us "monsters" that look like little monkeys and some kind of group of bears with ninja skills.

Then to top it off, they got a guy with blonde hair and a fony beak on his nose to play the big bad guy.

This show has potential, but the terrible SFX and costume ruined it from the start.

In my opinion the creators should have realized that if you wanna portray demons, then you better make sure they look scary.

I don't know if there is anything like a B-tvseries like there are B-movies, but if there is, this is it.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Junk. Terrible Junk.
Joy H3 January 2009
DEMONS follows hot on the heels of our current (and longstanding) UK obsession for TV drama that focuses on anything supernatural. I'm a fan of all things SF and horror, but even I'm tired of the endless parade of poor quality UK produced genre programming that's been churned out for the past few years - we used to be SO GOOD at it, but these days we stink, and DEMONS is the worst smell to date! Unfortunately it also follows the UK TV trend of the past few years for casting bland uncharismatic actors in roles that need way more interest to sustain the viewer. The plot is simply based on the MIB premise of "smiting inhumans" (yes, "smiting") to protect us from them; only instead of aliens these are supposedly various forms of 'demons' - actually very unscary very cheap CGI and sad make-up miscreants that verge on the laughable. And guess what - the dull teenaged central protagonist is related to Van Helsing (yawn!). The script is painful. The story ponderous. The characters so dreadfully lacklustre. Philip Glenister plays the Helsing boy's mentor 'Rupert' and he's cringingly achingly bad in the role, so much so that I won't be watching the show again. He uses a dreadful fake Sam Spade type accent (why, oh why?), has zero dynamism, and his delivery is completely tired and wooden - almost as though he's hating everything about the role and wants out. He was GREAT playing Gene Hunt in UK TV's hit series 'Life on Mars', but in DEMONS he's terrible. This first episode was immediately forgettable; therefore it has failed - the purpose being to build audience attention from the get go - even though it has its own ITV website, online game, forums, and the usual obligatory interactive junk set up for it, surely this won't be enough to save it for a second series? Perhaps the show will improve as the characters develop, but with the clunking miscast weight of Glenister dragging it down it's going to be a very hard uphill struggle! Such a shame the UK has failed yet again to deliver the quality of genre TV programming produced by the USA, Australia, and Canada.
14 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Well this sucked
Sebastian Valmont II4 January 2009
What can you say about a show where a 20-second trailer for Dexter shown in the ad break was the best written part of the whole hour...

God, are British writers really THIS incapable of coming up with anything original? A mishmash of ideas stolen wholesale from other shows (most notably Buffy, Buffy, Supernatural and Buffy - if I were Whedon, my only reason for not suing would be pity for the makers over their lack of talent and the fact that all the stolen bits fell so horribly flat) combined with a flat script, flat characters, flat acting and exceptionally flat direction to create a highly underwhelming experience that felt like bad fanfiction or a very first draft of something had been filmed. And that's not even mentioning the panto-like non-scary villain.

You could see where the jokes, suspense and story were supposed to be, but none of them were there. The characters have no personalities, no relationships and no chemistry with each other and the hero's favourite (non-)reaction to everything seemed to be "mild bemusement", exhibited when he was told demons existed, when he was attacked by a demon, when he was told he was part of a long line of demon-killing types and was expected to fight demons, and when he was shown a huge secret underground library place. To be fair, though, he did dial it up to "a bit sad" and "somewhat agitated" in parts.

Oh, and memo to Gene Hunt. You are not an American. Stop pretending to be one.

In fact, that goes for the writers and producers too. You cannot create a hit fantasy series by stealing bits of American shows and trying to squash them together. Didn't work with Hex, doesn't work here. Either come up with something original or don't bother!
14 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Awful series
artigat17 January 2009
The idea sounded quite good (Van Helsing's relation in modern London fighting various demons). But the actual finished product is absolutely awful.

The cgi demon in the first episode is really badly done. It was under the bed, but looked like it was in full daylight with no shadows or shading. I guess that would have blown the budget.

Mackenzie Crook had a bad nose stuck on and was trying to be Jack Sparrow. The uncle was speaking with a really bad American accent for no apparent reason (if you can't do an accent, just stick with your normal speaking voice!)

I won't be wasting my time watching any more of the series.
10 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A disaster....but there is hope yet (or so I thought).
Kevin-4211 January 2009
I was so put off by the first episode. A shameless theft of ideas and plot elements from other shows (Something the writers cheekily or unknowingly acknowledge, when they talk about how the name van Helsing was stolen by Bram Stoker) mixed with poor dialogs. Everything is so fake in the first episode: Fake accents, fake makeup and a bunch of silly and fake villains. Well, the effects were decent, but with overall standards so much improved recently, they are really not that much of a bonus these days. Then there was some obvious eye candy especially for younger females, as the main character was more or less shirtless half the time. But that couldn't distract from the fact that the whole episode was fundamentally silly and poorly made. However, the second episode was different and bordered on the acceptable. Richard Wilson certainly helped a little there with some solid acting and the 'villain of the day' was much better in terms of visual design. This said, the show still lacks direction and captivating plot elements, but I have to admit that the show still has potential. All in all a poor start and they don't have much time left to win me over, but there is hope yet.

EDIT

Just saw the third episode.....as inspiring as house dust. This show is too crappy to waste even the time of a dedicated couch potato. Avoid at all cost!
11 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
worst pantomime I've seen
joe collins7 January 2009
this is so goofy poorly written, cheap props and the worst acting i've ever seen on TV since El Dorado.

i love all paranormal TV shows but this is the so poor, it needs a it's own charity.

i've got a great idea put this crap out as a children's program and play "are you afraid of the dark?" in the prime time slot instead because it's far more sophisticated scary better written and acted.

the general plot uses so many name drops to Bram stokers Dracula i began to wonder is it was Dracula 2008 that followed by the Buffy story line rip off i think the title should have been "demons of Plagiarism".

really do your self a favour rent out bed nob's and broom sticks or the wizard of oz there far more demonic than this load of garbage
10 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
on the whole most enjoyable program
Jan Lennartsen11 September 2010
I do think it should have another year or so to complete it as a series. I enjoyed the characters and their acting, re. Cooke's north country/Yorkshire tone I think it is easier for Yanks to understand than some of the Scottish variants in the Dr. Who recent varieties and the Welsh bits in Torchwood. and the variance is far less than in the USA, where BTW "Rupert's" "Pennsylvania" accent is actually legitimate, although it is not an Eastern PA or Philadelphia accent(he would need to say water as woa-aw-oah-ter in 4 syllables), the used accent is a southwestern accent but before you get to the distinctive Pittsburghian scots-irish-Dorset/cornish bit, which uses the word "red" to mean "clean" as in "red up yer room." and "Younz/yinz" for "you all" and " 'nat" for "and all that." A good former example of a user of the accent (not the Pittsburghian one) was former American football coach Bud Carson, whose accent was thought to be from Georgia when he was actually from Western PA(he was for a time the head coach at Georgia Tech).
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Thank you!
sarah-fiddlesticks11 January 2009
I have to take offence with the opinion that British science-fiction writers suck. We do not! What sucks is the financial sectors of the media who wish to make a buck whatever the consequences. Honour, decency, truthfulness and integrity have fled the buildings they occupy. Hence, shows like Demons are born. All other negative (and therefore positive) reviews are correct. This is just awful. The UK media do get it right sometimes. Take Afterlife for instance. Just about perfect. So much can be achieved without constant special effects. But hey! Now that we can do 'em, someone has to keep the nurds in work. Perhaps those responsible for the creation of these misfit shows believe that the intelligentsia out here won't bother to watch anyway. Perhaps they believe that, 'well, its just for kids so who cares?' 'Its just about silly supernatural stuff so why bother putting any originality into it at all?' I cannot, and therefore will not, begin to describe why this program is at the nadir of entertainment. I'm not going to waste the use of my keyboard. Why then am I thankful in the summary? Because, when the pendulum of rubbish begins to swing into the positive, I will be there. Armed to the teeth and bursting with originality. I do not suck. I blow! Nevertheless, the industry are not keen on writers such as myself. The status quo is the preferred condition. I have, as I type, an original story-line with a terror that has never been imagined let alone placed on screen, complete with an original villain, but they may as well be phantoms and demons themselves in as much as the interest the media companies has shown them. Kudos though must be given to those who make a living producing this hell. This waste of time, money, energy and space. Note, I did not include talent because none was needed to make it. Demons is like a skin sore. One just wishes to scratch it. Its a pleasure to scratch! I've watched episode two and I'll probably watch three. Like scratching, I know its bad for me but I'll keep on doing it. And I have such long red nails that I will end up as deformed and as ugly as Demons is. Molly Cutpurse
9 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Not the Dr. Who Killer ITV were looking for!
Bermondsey4 January 2009
Absolutely terrible formulaic script for the part one opener.

Patominesque baddies with stupid names that seemed plundered from a poor Roald Dahl or Charles Dickens children's story, rubbish makeup and extremely bad wire control.

They have also seemed to have chosen the characters names so they could play a recently charted popish tune to corresponds to it.

Seems to be aimed at the American market, hence the really bad accent and the grand tour of London to get a few sites of historical interest in for our cousins across the pond. Personally, I would ask the black cab driver for my money back if he took me across London the route they used! (Pick up at Southwark Bridge, go over Tower Bridge to get to Waterloo Bridge?????)

Episode 2 will have to do a lot better or I will have to buy a dog to take for a walk!

Here wuffles, here boy, walkies......
9 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
A big disappointment
martyncymro4 January 2009
Why Philip Glenister chose the part must have been to move away from the Gene Hunt character with which he is associated. With its theme of good battling the dark side this show had a mountain of potential. Sadly, on the evidence of episode 1, it isn't even a hillock. The show had the style of children's entertainment, but the content of an adult horror. I don't know what audience the show is aimed at. It won't appeal to the horror or the mature audience as it is too juvenile, and many parents won't let younger children watch it for it's demonic content. Hopefully the 2nd episode, which I will give a try, will grab my interest, otherwise I'll be taking the dog out for a walk when it airs. ........ Well I gave episodes 2&3 a try. My dog is very grateful for the extra walks. If you watch it, you'll only get angry with yourself for wasting your time. You have been warned!
8 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Decent and in my opinion deserving of another chance
TheLittleSongbird18 June 2011
I can understand actually those who disliked this series. I personally did like it in a way, and think with more time it would have gotten better. It's just sad that it didn't get that chance. The writing is clichéd and weak in places, and I agree Phillip Glenister's accent needed work as did some of the effects. However, the look of the series was suitably bold and stylish, the music added to the atmosphere and rarely felt over bearing and the stories while dull to start with maintained interest. The demons are imposing enough, some of the episodes did have moments where they were genuinely atmospheric and some effects are at least serviceable. To begin with, the acting was not that good, and it wasn't just Glenister's accent, but I feel it steadily improved. In conclusion, Demons had a lot of faults, but I personally didn't think it was that bad. 6/10 Bethany Cox
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Witty, Funny, and Well Wrote
ivison_19855 January 2009
This is a new show just starting off and so far so good, this is one of the newest ideas to come to t.v in a long time. A lot of people have said how this is a rip off of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, well its not this is something completely different. This show although new to out screens is extremely well wrote, funny, and witty.

As the show begins we're introduced to our cast of characters Van Helsings last living descendant Luke, his father who died 15 years earlier. Rupert Lukes godfather who is their to aid him in his battle. Ruby his best friend (who clearly wants to be more) And finally Nina the blind music prodegy who has certain special abilities, someone who Luke may want to be a bit more.
10 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Somewhat entertaining if not a little brain-dead
nate8783 January 2010
The series has a fairly unique look but ultimately follows the same cliché progression as other dark-fantasy vigilante type shows that have aired before. The main difference being that the acting is mostly sub-standard and the characters are hardly compelling - aside from the villainous freaks.

Despite all this, it has potential as its loosely determined universe of "freaks" has the potential to yield some interesting plot scenarios as the Dr. Who universe did. As another plus, the series' cheesiness can be comical if you can let yourself go for a moment.

Hopefully as the series progresses it will enter into more gray territory with the nature of the "freaks" being explored and what appears to be a dark past behind some of the protagonists.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews