Backwoods (TV Movie 2008) Poster

(2008 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
34 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Again?
claudio_carvalho4 December 2008
While camping in Jasper Park up North California, the couple Tom Alan Smithee and Gwen Marie Holden (Willow Geer) are attacked by a group of strangers; Tom is immediately killed and Gwen is abducted by the men to an underground facility to breed. A couple of months later, in Los Angeles, the manager of a video game company Johnny Dash (Craig Zimmerman) invites the employees Adam Benson (Ryan Merriman), Lee (Haylie Duff), Maggie (Mimi Michaels), Perry (Danny Nucci), Chris Basso (Troy Winbush), Paul (Jonathan Slavin) and Mike Chen to participate of a Battle Royal with paint-ball in a corporate retreat in the Jasper Park to practice executive tactics. When they arrive in a gas station owned by weird rednecks, they refuel their trucks and see a poster telling that Gwen and Tom are missing since 30 February 2008 and have been last seen in Jasper Park. They head to a former military reservation area in the national park and camp. During the night, Adam has the sensation that the group is under observation and he unsuccessfully warns his colleagues. When the game starts on the next morning, the group finds that their training is more than a paint-ball game, but a fight for survival in a hostile ground whose inhabitants are maniac lunatics.

"Backwoods" is not a bad movie, meaning that the acting, direction and effects are decent. However, there is a total lack of originality in the story, which is a rip-off or remake of "The Hills Have Eyes", "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre", "Wrong Turn", "Timber Falls" and others less famous movies. The character Perry is extremely stupid to be considered a "top-executive", and I could not see how this stupid game could improve "executive tactics". I could understand if the isolation could improve teamwork increasing friendship, but what we see is the leader shagging one employee and great rivalry and competition among coworkers. The unusual 7 shots revolver does exist; therefore, the seven shots of Adam Benson is not a mistake. The date on the poster (30 February 2008) is a big joke, The open end is scary since it seems to indicate a possible sequel. My vote is five.

Title (Brazil): "O Bosque" ("The Bush")
23 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Decent enough backwoods horror thriller
pallisrs15 February 2008
Warning: Spoilers
If it's originality you're looking for, best go else where, as this films influence clearly lies in the survival-horror genre seen in films such as the "texas chainsaw" movies, "deliverance", "just before dawn", and doesn't really deviate from material that has been produced before. However, that's not to say it isn't enjoyable as a no-brainer for hour and a half....

A fairly similar plot setup which seems to loosely combine "severance" and the new "hills have eyes 2" sees a group of office colleagues go on a team building paintballing exercise in the woods, before falling foul of a particularly vicious religious cult who see the men as outsiders and the women as reproductive carriers to breed the next generation. It's paperthin plot and limited characterisation is helped by a fast paced and occasionally genuinely exciting film that speeds by in a blink of an eye.... The actors do an OK job with what little they've been given and although it by no means looks of a theatrical quality, the production looks a million times better than those cheap straight to DVD horrors like "camp blood" and "butchered".

Gorehounds beware though: there's quite a bit of brutal violence that lends itself more to the "action" genre rather than bloody gore you may be hoping for. There's a few glimpses of the red stuff but most the violence appears in the guises of punching, headbutting, kicking and shooting etc. So although it clearly takes its influences from films such as wrong turn and it's sequel (complete with going into an abandoned house to find a phone!) it is somewhat missing the gory thrills that made those films so fun. My TV guide said that this was an "18" (in the UK) but I highly doubt that!

However, "backwoods" remains a decent enough film that is at least enjoyable for its whole hour and a half running time. Certainly not a masterpiece but as a fun popcorn movie to pass the time with it more than does the job. Worth a watch at least once.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
if you go in the woods
trashgang8 February 2009
Okay, the storyline isn't original. We have seen this a hundred times, remember, The Hills and Wrong Turn but what makes this movie worth a look is the fact that it is never boring. From the first moment there is suspense until the end. The other fact is that it isn't that bloody or gory after all. But when the punishment or suffering starts it's pretty well done, the editing and the score makes it all watchable. For the creeps out there, no there is no nudity in this flick not even underwear, what proofs that it's not that necessary as been done in those good old slashers. If you can catch a copy of this one, go watch it you will never be disappointed. If you're into thrillers you could watch it and if you are into horror you could watch it too.
19 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Horrible
matttieee1231 September 2009
And no, not horrible for the violence/gore. This movie is just plain horrible because of the acting, directing, cinematography and far-fetched storyline. I strongly DON"T recommend this film to you because: 1: The story line is the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard! Since when has work been playing paintball in the woods?! 2: Furthering my point of ridiculousness, a cult in the woods run by crazy old women. HUH?? 3: The acting is really bad. So bad, it probably would have been better if Paris Hilton was in it. 4: It's predictable to a high level. 5: It doesn't even meet the standards of a B grade movie which it is trying to be.

So don't be fooled by the "Haylie Duff" on the cover because she is probably the only decent actor in the film but she is hardly in it. If you want to see a decent movie about the woods, see "Wrong Turn" which makes a lot more sense and provides a lot more scares than this disaster of a movie.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
ifuseekkody30 April 2010
I like horror films to make me jump or scream. This one did. Yes, it's the same basic premise we've seen many times in this type of movie, but the plot isn't really what I watch these movies for. Also, there's plenty of new twists/elements in this one. This movie really had me cheering for the "good guys" - I was glad I'd watched it by myself, as the last 20 minutes or so really had me screaming at the TV, cheering the kids on. I really enjoyed watching this movie, and am buying a copy to share with my horror loving friends. Backwoods was apparently produced for Spike TV, so don't expect to see much in the way of blood and gore. (Needless to say, there's no nudity whatsoever.) Some old-fashioned traps make the chase scenes through the forest somewhat interesting, but I pretty much relied on Haylie Duff's hotness to get me through the film's 80 minute runtime (although I must admit I got quite a kick out of watch a mortally wounded techie put on an amazing show of shooting bad guys without even aiming.) If you're a horror fan, Backwoods is certainly a watchable film, but you won't see anything here you haven't seen before.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A great horror flick!
illybabii8716 April 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I really loved this movie! Haylie Duff surprised me with her acting abilities when it came to horror. Ryan Merriman is one of my favorite actors (from childhood movies) so to see him play his role great made me happy.

I loved the theme of "Backwoods" and how it was actually a cult type- of thing.

I'm just sad at how they showed this movie once on t.v. and never again. I've been looking online so i can buy the movie and finally they have it up at amazon.com.

Out of 10 stars, I give this a 9!
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
You don't need to see this since you've seen variations a dozen times before
dbborroughs16 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Engineering company goes into the woods for a game of paintball and ends up running into a bunch of survivalist nut jobs. TV movie level horror of the sort you've seen better and worse. The problem with the film is that there is no sense of passion for the project. Its all been put together with the ruthless efficiency of a well kept checklist. The result is a film with no suspense, no danger and no reason to watch since you really don't care since everyone blends together into a hopeless morass of sameness. Even the young women blend together one of which is Haylie Duff, as if that is suppose to make it somehow extra special (Laurence Olivier made the film Inchon, but that doesn't mean it was even close to Shakespeare). It's a waste of your time. I think the only thing I've failed to mention is people die. I think this means you need never watch.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The Hills Have Eyes now has an unofficial sequel
gtc839 June 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Eight people who apparently work at a video game company go out into the woods for a corporate retreat. Once there, they encounter hulking inbreds who pick them off one by one. Character development is poor, you've basically got the loud mouth guy, the girl with wavy hair, the one without wavy hair, the guy in the FBI hat, and the rest are indistinguishable from one another.

The plot actually starts out pretty well, but towards the end it turns into an unintentional laugh fest. I don't think I've ever seen characters in a movie act so stupidly, or seen so many unbelievable things happen one after another. One guy (loudmouth, I believe) gets impaled by two branches, then successfully holds off the bad guys by shooting them with a rifle, hitting them at ranges out to 60 yards or so without aiming, while still impaled the whole time. Another guy hits somebody with a pistol from a distance of about 100+ yards. Heck of a shot for a video game designer. As they are on the run from the bad guys, our characters travel at about 1 mph, stopping to leisurely explore and old house, have a nice chat about how lost they are while one girl has a nervous breakdown, and generally being as annoying as humanly possible.

Overall, I'd almost say this is so bad it's good, but it's a Spike TV original, and the fact that they show about 15 minutes of commercials during the last 30 minutes of the movie makes it not worth the effort to sit through.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A another remake of other movies
black_wolf_19709 June 2008
Warning: Spoilers
SPIKE TV may have thought they were trying something new with this film but right from the start it reminded me of "Wrong Turn". Especially when the 2 campers were attacked first the man is killed then the girl runs falls gets caught and dragged away. In "Wrong Turn" it was rock climbers. Then you have the two groups getting lost after getting directions from a bartender, well that is the "Hills Have Eyes" and a gas station. The abandoned military bunker with a "family living in it. Well that could be taken from either "Hills" of "Texas Chainsaw Massaure". The impostor law or forest ranger that takes them back to the home, right out of "TCM". The real ranger showing up then getting shot with an arrow "WRong Turn". The use of captured women for breeding "Hills Have Eyes 2". Nothing about this movies was original in any way not even the ending which is now over down in every movie. The acting was at best labored like they knew they were making a a not so good movie. Some of the humor is OK. But it is not a movie worth paying anything to see.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
cheap B-horror
SnoopyStyle26 April 2016
A couple camping in the woods is attacked by mountainmen. The girl is abducted to be a breeder. Later, Johnny Dash organizes a paint ball corporate retreat for his workers at a video game company. The store clerk directs the group to the same area in the woods where the couple was taken. Soon, their paint ball game turns deadly and the group is imprisoned in the underground bunker where the locals manufacture drugs.

This is a standard low-grade horror. There is blood but not much gore. There is violence but not well done. The actors are mostly B-level as indicated by the presence of Haylie Duff. It's a functional cheap horror that has nothing new or special. It works but only barely. It is all relatively amateurish except for a few solid old-fashion burning and falling stunts.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not good,not bad and done many times before.
djangozelf-1235112 August 2015
Warning: Spoilers
A lot of scenes seem duplicated from other movies but in the sense of terror and violence it has been numbed down.

It lacks a twist or an original plot and is to average in it's approach to the subject genre.

It does have some decent actors playing the roles but I also thought some of the supporting actors made a better performance than the lead actors.

It is some what better than a T.V.film but as a horror flick it lacks scares and is only interesting for teens watching T.V. on Halloween.

This is a real b-movie if you ever saw a horror flick with a similar story than don't watch this.

If you watch everything no matter how many times all ready done then this is the "even Steven" movie for you.

I'm off.To review A better movie. Than this. I hope.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Decent for a PG-13 audience. It's a teaser movie.
insomniac_rod26 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Feels like a tamed down version of "Wrong Turn 2". Almost exact plot, characters, villains, violent moments. But as a TV movie it lacks of gore, nudity, and violence.

Still, it pays correct homage to movies like "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" (remake), "Wrong Turn" (specially this one), and even "The Hills Have Eyes" (original and remake).

This movie is a teaser. It has spectacular sexy women in skimpy outfits and even talk about sex and more, but do not appear naked or anything! It also makes us think there's gonna be plenty of gore and violence but it's almost offscreen!

Offers great settings, decent music, and best of all, very good cinematography.

It has the elements but not the guts. Still I recommend it for those who enjoy the always reliable lost-in the backwoods-tormented-by-crazed-mutants. Or whatever they are.

Catch it on cable. Otherwise, skip it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Backwoods horror thriller that wasn't as bad as I had feared.
poolandrews13 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Backwoods starts as seven computer game designers from Los Angeles & their boss head out to the isolation of Jasper Park in North California for a team building yet competitive exercise of paint-balling, Adam (Ryan Merriman) expresses his concerns about the dead mutilated animals that they find, that he doesn't think things feel right & the fact that he saw someone looking at them the previous night but no-one takes any notice of his rantings. That is until four of the work mates stumble across a cult of people who murder the men that trespass & take the women to breed future members, with the teams numbers dwindling quickly the survivors must find a way to escape the woods back to civilization & get help but the cult members are everywhere & do all they can to kill them in order to keep themselves hidden from society...

Directed by Marty Weiss you could be forgiven for thinking that Backwoods is some cheap backwoods teen slasher (hell, it's even called Backwoods) but after watching this I'd say it's more of an action thriller as much as a slasher & I also have to add that I didn't have high hopes for it but Backwoods didn't turn out to be too bad. It starts out like a Wrong Turn (2003) rip-off with a little Deliverance (1972) thrown in there as a teenager is killed & his girlfriend kidnapped by ugly rednecks & then a group of workmates on a team bonding exercise turn up & are seemingly next up for the chop but the majority of the film is spent with a cat & mouse game between the computer game designers & the evil cult members as our heroes turn the tables on the rednecks, most of the character's are adults rather than teens & the whole cult angle is different to what I was expecting. Having said that Backwoods isn't any sort of masterpiece, it never goes as far as it probably should, there's some nonsense about the cult kidnapping women for breeding purposes & when you boil it down I suppose Backwoods is nothing more than people running around a wood chasing each other. At just over 80 odd minutes the film moves along at a decent pace & it passes an hour & a half harmlessly & it even entertains on a basic simple unfussy sort of level but just don't expect lots of blood or gore.

Backwoods gets off to a terrible start with some horrible opening credits which are fast cut snippets of footage that is blurred & processed set to some awful rock music but luckily things improve. As mentioned the gore levels are a bit disappointing, while there's a fair amount of violence it's action film violence with fights & shootings rather than horror film violence, a few arrows are shot into people & a guy is impaled on a wooden spiked trap but there aren't many memorable death scenes here. At least it's well made with good steady cinematography & thankfully the fast editing is confined to the opening credits.

Filmed in some woods in Los Angeles this has good production values & actually looks quite good without any of the annoying modern over processed editing tricks that are used far too often in modern cinema. The acting is reasonable, Haylie the sister of singer Hilary Duff appears here & is alright.

Backwoods isn't a bad way to pass an hour & a half I suppose, it's nothing amazing but nowhere near as bad as I had feared. Overall you could do a lot worse, worth a watch if you can catch it on telly for free.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Decent entry, if not overtly spectacular
slayrrr6661 November 2008
Warning: Spoilers
"Backwoods" is a somewhat decent, if mostly lame rip-off.

**SPOILERS**

Going on a company retreat, Lee, (Haylie Duff) Adam Benson, (Ryan Merriman) Peter, (Jonathan Chase) Maggie, (Mimi Michaels) John Dash, (Craig Zimmerman) Perry, (Danny Nucci) Chen, (Jamison Yang) and Chris Basso, (Troy Winbush) head out to a campground designed to strengthen their leadership skills. Arriving at the campsite, they quickly get a sense that someone is watching them, but they decide to get started anyway. When they begin the games, it soon dawns on them that there is someone after them, only to realize it's a family of inbred rednecks who capture intruders and force them to mate with each other to continue the family line, and try to use their skills to get out of the forest alive.

The Good News: When this one worked, it had some good stuff to it. The scenes of the games being played are incredibly enjoyable, as there's a lot to like about them. The traps that are laid out, from the poison ivy-inlaid net and the mutilated animal carcasses strung up provide plenty of eerie-feeling scenes as they're not supposed to be there to begin with, and with the action that occurs around it being really fast-paced, it leads to a great scene. The interaction is nicely held to a minimum and made all the better for it as well. There's also the fun and action-packed ending to this, which is a nice chase through the woods after several fun encounters within the compound which set it off on a nice note and are perfectly in keeping with the spirit of the film. The trail-off into the woods is really great and manages to score a lot for it, being almost non-stop with a ton of deaths strung along to make it exciting and fun, and along with those, are all pretty much all that's going for the film. The kills here do work nicely, as there's a nice arrow in the neck, a couple of gunshots, a great car crash that leaves one completely mangled and broken, being impaled in the back with spike-laced spring-loaded trap, a stabbing with a large butcher knife and a fantastic one where an explosion sends several on fire screaming down the hallway setting off more explosions along the way, all done in close-up to great effect. This ending goes a long way to salvage the film after it's pretty dismal opening, but the good thing is that all these do end up making the film watchable at worst.

The Bad News: There was a couple of flaws to this one that hold it down. One of the biggest, and most detrimental, is the fact that this one is completely loaded with either plot-points or scenes ripped right out of other, better movies that it feels completely clichéd at any point. The very beginning, where the two campers are attacked and dragged away, the two groups getting lost after getting directions from a bartender, the abandoned military bunker with a family living in it, and the use of captured women for breeding are just a couple of the many ideas this one had which was either a direct or indirect rip-off from something shown in another movie. These aren't that hard to spot either, as they're the points which are so often found in other, better movies and is not all that well hidden, making this one appear all the more clichéd by using these ideas and themes. Another really big one for this is the fact that there's the presence of the insane religious family. There's nothing new to be done with them as it's been done to death, it doesn't deliver anything more than laughs at them, and it's not anything worthwhile to have anymore. The mere inclusion of it is enough for some to be automatically at odds with it and this is a force that will knock it down for some. The last flaw is the fact that the film's inbred rednecks look absolutely atrocious, as there's no make-up applied to make them look that way. It's implied they've been living in underground and breeding with captives, but there's still the sense that something should've been done to make them appear more deformed and realistic. These here are the film's major flaws.

The Final Verdict: Though a lot of it is based on other movies, the good parts here are enough to make it watchable at times. If this sounds interesting, give it a shot, but those who know they're going to be turned off or even more from the flaws to this one should just skip it for something more worthwhile.

Rated R: Graphic Violence and Graphic Language
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
KEEP US SAFE FROM THE UNPURE
nogodnomasters4 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The venue for inbred right wing religious families has moved from Texas and West Virginia to California. A group of executives go into the woods to play paintball only to be captured by aforesaid group, with women being used for breeding. I had the feeling of deja vu the whole time I was watching. I enjoyed the fast moving intense opening credits. The film was decent up until the meat of the picture, the confrontation, and at that point it was a yawner.

I would consider this to be a generic film with standard eye candy, plot, and acting and on the minus side of the blood and gore. Dead animals don't count.

Parental Guide: 2 f-bombs. No sex or nudity. Women are apparently tied up to be raped, but it is off camera.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Gory redneck cult action, better than expected
Leofwine_draca16 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
It's business as usual in this derivative horror-thriller in which a bunch of 20-something business types decide to go for a team-building paintball game in the American wilds. Once there, they soon discover they're trespassing on the hunting ground of an isolated Christian sect, a bunch of misfits and mutants who need women for breeding and who'll kill any man foolish enough to stray onto their territory. For the most part this is a straightforward reprise of THE HILLS HAVE EYES with the difference that this is a TV movie, so don't expect to see any of the explicit rape or bloodshed of that picture. Saying that, this is a surprisingly violent film, with arrows through necks, pools of blood and an emphasis on people having their heads smashed by a variety of blunt implements (including hammers and shovels).

What surprised me the most was how much I enjoyed this film. It's derivative and predictable all the while, but the pacing is fast and there's plenty of action to get involved in. I was also pleasantly surprised to see the large cast involved here (it makes a nice change from the usual pairing of two couples). The acting is pretty much passé, but there are exceptions, with a stand-out turn from SAW V's Mark Rolston as the sinister ranger and Troy Winbush as one of the would-be victims. Although there's no nudity, Haylie Duff is paraded around in a variety of tight-fitting outfits, a sight sure to entice any male viewer (and some females).

The religious aspects of the script are rather dull and the film works best as a straightforward action-thriller, utilising the age-old hunting humans theme. At times I was reminded of the Michael Dudikoff actioner, AVENGING FORCE. Robert Allen Mukes (HOUSE OF 1000 CORPSES) has a fun turn as a gigantic mutant type used as a 'stud' by the sect. The victims die pretty much in the order you'd expect, but things remain lively with an excellent car smash at the climax and one of those silly twist endings. It may not be art, but BACKWOODS does the job.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Derivative killer redneck horror/thriller
Wuchakk21 July 2015
Released to TV in 2008, "Backwoods" stars Haylie Duff and Ryan Merriman as employees of a video game company in Los Angeles partaking in paint ball games on a company retreat. They're mistaken for Federal agents by a Waco-like religious cult who apprehend young women to impregnate. Havoc ensues. Craig Zimmerman plays the company leader and Deborah Van Valkenburgh the matriarch of the cult. Mimi Michaels and Willow Geer are on hand as female eye candy. There are many others; too numerous to cite.

The movie plays like a mishmash of "Wrong Turn" (2003), "Hostel" (2005) and similar movies, but is limited by its TV budget and constraints. Amazingly, production-wise it's on par with "Wrong Turn" (which wasn't anything great to begin with, but it was at least passably good) and, as a result, has better women, locations and music, but a weaker script and blasé filmmaking. To be more specific about the positives: The opening & closing metalized song is excellent; the cast is good, highlighted by Willow's curvy beauty and Duff's striking features; and, like I said, the wilderness locations are great. Unfortunately, the movie often plays in a routine and not-thought-out way. For instance, would the cult advertise the entrance to their secret underground compound with can't-miss-them concrete entrances and air vents? Wouldn't they more likely make these features blend-in with the environment? Would a guy impaled by several wooden spikes be able to shoot a rifle at the hip as accurately as shown? Also, the ending leaves one element up in the air and reflects an all-around absence of imagination. Still, if you like the redneck slasher genre there are enough positives here to make it worth checking out. Just bear in mind that when the most imperative question about a movie is "Who's the hot redhead at the beginning?" it's not a good sign.

The movie runs 85 minutes and it looks like it was shot in wilderness areas in greater Los Angeles (but I can't confirm it).

GRADE: C
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Yet more stupid young people
neil-47619 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Guess what? More young people trapped in the woods with blood crazed nutjobs.

This stupefyingly unoriginal and relatively inexplicit formula movie is nicely photographed, and performed with gusto and commitment.

The worst thing about it is not the unoriginality, however, it is the fact that the characters are even more stupid than usual - when they turn the tables on their captors they fail to take any action to prevent their captors getting the upper hand once more, for instance, when running away they don't grab any of the weapons which are lying around, and so on.

Could be they deserve what they get.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
More of the Same Old Stuff
gavin69429 July 2009
A team of FBI agents go on retreat in a California forest preserve, playing paintball as a training exercise. But the team is not alone, being surrounded by rednecks, inbreds and survivalists. What could have been harmless fun has now become a lesson in living.

The director of this film apparently grew up in the modern MTV world. He fills his shots with beautiful people and generic rock music. Not that I object to beautiful women or rock music generally, but this Michael Bay style of filming is style over substance, which gives the audience just that: a pretty shell with a hollow, rotten center. This film will be forgotten before it is even done being viewed.

And I know I've complained about his before, but... rednecks and hillbillies? Have we not done this to death? It's bad enough to make yet another movie about this... but then we have to make them all deformed looking? I think I've seen that film enough times. Sure, here we have California instead of the Appalachian Mountains, which is a change of venue... but it's the same old story. Oh, and now it's FBI agents. So, I guess, um, that's different.

No need to give this one a more full review. It's a cheesy knock-off, forgettable film. We get plenty of eye candy from Haylie Duff (but no nudity), but this doesn't really make a film worth owning and maybe not even worth watching. Not a horrible film, mind you, just nothing special.
5 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Decent time killer
ofumalow14 December 2013
Yes, you've seen this many times before, "Hills Have Eyes" and "Texas Chainsaw" being the obvious models (albeit with a lot less gore). City folk road-trip to the country, are attacked by inbred survivalist-type family, etc. etc. But especially a movie you'd find free on youtube or hulu or whatever, this one is at least fast-paced, adequately acted, and so forth. You will forget it pronto, but you don't be bored, unless you're the kind of person who needs a whole lot of nudity and gore to stay awake.

OK, seriously, I need to include more lines to post this review? Once you see the movie, you'll understand why there isn't a whole lot to say about it.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
great movie with surprisingly good acting .
zacangel0824 August 2010
Warning: Spoilers
To me this movie was fantastic. with surprisingly good acting from Haylie duff. when i saw this movie at my local DVD shop i didn't really think much of it. i walked in, looked at it, put it back, then the lady behind the desk said pick one more for $1.00 so i went straight to Backwoods and picked it up. when i got home i put it on and when the starting credits came on i said to myself this movie could be good and i was right. it was like Wrong Turn (just without the inbreds). it keeps you on the edge of your seat wanting more. i wasn't expecting good acting from Haylie Duff but i was quite surprised her acting had improved since the last movie she was in. if you see it cheap you should buy it but don't pay to much for it :)
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Movie! *SPOILERS*
Kod_martin1 May 2010
Warning: Spoilers
The film opens as a couple in a national park are attacked and taken hostage. Later the woman is raped and made pregnant while the man is killed.

Mark Till is a young and handsome CEO, a self-made sporting-goods tycoon who sees human survival as a skill to be honed and cherished in the boardroom and beyond. That's why each year he sponsors a week-long survival getaway to test the mettle of twelve lucky employees, to challenge them, body and mind. This year it's a paintball war in the remote woods/ national park in northern California. Motivated, mid-level executive Abby Winters is looking forward to leaving the civil confines of Los Angeles for something so primal, invigorating, and exciting. Total outsiders to the wary locals, these urban Rambos think they're ready for anything.

On the first day the Alpha and Bravo camps are set up. In the night, one of Abby's team, Adam Benson hears a noise in the dark and goes to investigate, but sees nothing. The next day the Paintball War begins. A few minutes later a member of Abby's team pops a figure ambling through the woods. Score one for Alpha. Until they realize that the person they hit isn't part of either team. While attempting to make it back to camp the Beta team comes across an abandoned house. Inside they are attacked and kidnapped by people with primitive weapons like axes and bows. The people who kidnapped them are part of an over zealous religious group, who have mistaken the team for FBI Agents who have supposedly come to claim their land. The Alpha group return to their camp and find it ransacked and their gas siphoned off. As they try to find some gas they are attacked. The group's leader is killed while Adam and the others barely manage to escape. Adam then attempts to contact the Park Ranger, but his call is intercepted by one of the cult and he and the other's are captured by a man posing as a Park Ranger. Then Maggie (one of the girl's in the Beta group) is shown. The leader of the cult (called 'Mother') tells her that the cult's camp is her home now. Then she is taken and raped by 'Mother's biological son. The woman who was captured at the beginning is now shown to be pregnant. Lee (from Group Alpha) is also taken and prepared to be raped while the boys are put in to cages and brutalized by the males in the cult. The fake ranger who appears to be Mother's husband and the Cult's protector, takes Adam and tortures him, attempting to get information about the FBI's plans. When Adam resist's he sends one of the other cult members to finish him off. As his throat is about to be slit, Adam who has broken free of his ropes, attacks and kills his would-be murderer. He then sets the surviving guys (only three have survived the brutalizing) free. They then escape (killing several cult members along the way) and rescue the girls. Maggie (the Beta group's girl) is hysteric about being raped. The group escapes with Lee, who had managed to run away just before being raped. They are then pursued by the cultists. After setting fire to the compound, they are cornered outside it. As they are about to be executed, they turn the tables, taking Mother hostage. One of the group is killed and the others escape, severely injuring and killing several cultists. Later the other boy in the group, besides Adam is killed, when he falls prey to a trip wire rigged trap. The group makes it up to a mountain where Maggie, who is now delusional from the drugs given to her and the trauma, commits suicide by jumping off the cliff. Lee and Adam escape by jumping into a river and swimming to the shore, where they meet the real Park Ranger. Then Mother's husband, her son and another Cultist arrive in a truck and shoot Ranger Rick with an arrow. Adam then takes his gun and shoots both the cultists. Mother's husband attempts to run Adam down but collides with the Ranger's truck. Adam shoots him as he begs for help. Later the FBI and the Police arrive, giving medical attention to Adam and Lee. Adam is disturbed to hear that only two bodies were recovered from the final confrontation.

Later a FBI team is trekking through the forest, searching for the cult when the girl from the beginning of the movie comes out of a cave, having finally escaped from the cult. As the agent leading the group walks towards her she shouts for her to run. Then they are confronted by Mother's son, who has survived the gunshot wound and the movie ends
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie! You won't be disappointed :)
martinsteph793 May 2010
I was really surprised by this movie. It's very difficult to find a good horror movie that focuses on one plot and stays on track ( without being distracted by the blonde naked victim running through the woods ) This movie doesn't waste any time, it goes right to the action . Haylie Duff is a wonderful, great actress that fitted in the role perfectly. It's unexpectedly better than the trailers (as it often happens with good movies). My husband and I both thought this was one of the best movies we've seen in a long time. Haylie Duff was meant for this role! The plot was. There was no boring pause in it like you find in some movies. I would recommend this DVD to everyone.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7 shot revolver..?
loser_20009 June 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Did anyone else see Peter shoot seven shots out of the revolver he took from the wounded Ranger in the end of the movie...? From what I saw (and I DVR'ed it and played it back twice) the shots were as follows.

Shot one: Peter shoots redneck with bow in back of pickup.

Shot two & three: Peter shoots large retarded looking redneck in shoulder and chest.

Shot four, five and six: Peter shoots at truck driven by leader redneck.

Shot seven: Peter shoots wounded leader redneck after truck is wrecked and the redneck is asking for help.

I am quite certain that when Peter took this revolver it didn't show him grab any extra ammo, and I don't think Peter walked around with extra ammo in his pocket just in case he happened across a revolver that fired that calibur round.
3 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not as bad as I thought It would be
NeverAgain8527 June 2009
Warning: Spoilers
That being said, Haylie Duff can't act worth a s**t, like her sister Hilary. The guy who played Adam I though was my favorite out of the movie, he was the only real sensible one out of all 8 idiotic characters. If you get lost in the woods, do you go breaking into a creepy old house calling for help? and if you get no response, do you keep exploring the house anyway? No, if it were me, Id ring the doorbell, if there's no answer, I'd be on my way to the next house.

Onto what I liked about this movie. If you read the synopsis of this movie, you should know what its about. For a scary Horror, its is quite mild. The story is not original whatsoever, It just like watching the Hills Have Eyes, or the Texas Massacre movies. However I did like this movie anyway, the beginning kind of sucked, but coming upto the 30 minute mark, it was quite enjoyable. It really kicked off when the lead character escapes after being captured, lots of killing, and even a huge explosion turning into a mini action movie for about 2 minutes which I did not expect at all. Overall, It was quite good.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed