Summertime (2020) Poster

(I) (2020)

User Reviews

Review this title
11 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
I want to be everything I never was
nogodnomasters30 August 2021
Warning: Spoilers
The story takes place in Venice Beach and LA. It consists of a bunch of loosely connected stories of young adults who feel disconnected from the system and are still trying to find their place. I found it to be a bunch of pretentious pontificating BS. I was bored by the "poetry" and pretend artsy view by a group that looks fresh out of Summer Stock.

I would say my disdain is generational and teens and twenty-somethings might find the film refreshing.

Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Carlos López Estrada's "Summertime", A Pre-Covid Nomadic Tour of L.A.'s Poetry Scene
babyjaguar17 July 2021
Carlos López Estrada, director of "Summertme" (color and 95 minutes long) was filmed between July and August of 2019 but mostly in L. A.'s Korean Town area. It features great poetry written by emerging poets and inspired by Get Lit: Words Ignite, a literary and writing program for urban youth. Photographed with nice visuals from L. A.'s street murals plus a fantasy-like dance choreographed number amongst the "City of Angels" diverse landscape.

It brilliantly features young and emerging spoken word poets and musicians, discussing a range of issues from LGBTIA+, racism, urban gentrification, etc. With outstanding performances by emerging poets like Marquesha Babers amongst many others. Estrada's collaborative effort makes for a creative but cultural and an urban portrayal of "So-Cal" or "Angeleno" life.
2 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Poetic, not gay enough
chong_an6 December 2021
One summer day, Los Angeles. Various (mostly) young people of various ethnicities and sexual orientations have lives that randomly connect, until they all end up being invited for a ride in a giant limo.

This is an arts showcase piece, featuring poetry, song, and rap rhymes, often written by the performers themselves. Themes range from rage against gentrification, broken relationships, and underachievement. There is really no coherent story, other than devices to link the characters together.

While this is an interesting films, I saw this at the Inside Out 2SLGBTQ+ film festival, and found that it didn't have quite enough gay content.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not that Good
samqsells28 August 2021
I love time frame movie like this but this was really bad. It was full of old cliches. There is a reason this film only grossed $72,000 US & Canada with opening weekend at $21,490. It took a while for someone like Netflix to even decide to show it.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good but way too much lgbtq stuff
marto-1327 October 2021
Really interesting and fresh approach. A nice, funny, smart art movie, but full of gay and lgbtq ( don't even know what it is) stuff. It would have been a great movie without that.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I liked it
cucchialessandro21 September 2021
I liked the human expression of emotions for different kinds of "demons" as it's called in the film, and the mixed ethnicity of the characters.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Better than La la land
kstdeni16 November 2020
Finally, a movie that's not about white and privileged people trying to survive in L.A.
8 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Heart and Art
kerynne-tejada13 July 2021
I was a bit apprehensive when I first started the movie. But the flow of the words, the scenes, the beauty of it all. It was seamless. I would recommend this movie time and time again for those looking for a truthful and sometimes brutal confrontation to the identity of LA and those who live in it.
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My "kind of" review of SUMMERTIME
thesmokeykorzeniowski20 October 2021
It's been a rough few years. First Tangerine Palpatine, then COVID-19, then supporters of The Orange Traitor stormed the Capitol seeking to actually kill VP Pence, among others. Lies continue from the right. Our forests are burning and our cities are flooding.

I could go on and on. As you well know.

Wanna feel wonderful? Wanna forget your cares for a bit. Would you like to cry,...tears of joy? How about a smile that feels like it stretches from ear to ear?

You can rent Carlos Lopez Estrada's achingly beautiful, SUMMERTIME on Amazon for only $3.99!!!

I've seen it sixteen times.

It's Linklater's SLACKER meets Altman's SHORT CITS, with 21st century sensibilities. If you know those two films you'll understand that. It's a spoken word musical. It's a poetry jam. It's ninety or so minutes of pure joy! The actors perform their own poems as part of the "plot" of the film. There's a dream dance sequence. It's multicultural and so very, very real.

That is all.

-SmokeyKorzeniowski.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An unexpected delight
davejensen-9799523 July 2021
I'm a movie fanatic but haven't been to the theater for a long time due to the Pandemic. Sometimes I will see a film only out of a sense of obligation, because I have film industry relatives and they often ask me what I thought of their work. When I don't like something, I just leave it alone and generally don't say a word. I'm a 70 yr old male, and certainly not the target for this films marketing campaign, so my comments here (straight from the heart) should be considered a bit unusual. Let me tell you right now that this was the most surprising film I've seen in many years. Surprising because I went into the theater not knowing what to expect and I came out with tears in my eyes.

Movies can do that to you. That's the joy of.film, and you learn by watching Summertime that it isn't by big budgets and Hollywood glam that you experience joy. It's by being enriched by the lives of others, and in this case, those lives are beautifully brought to the screen by the Director. I felt that the screen itself disappears in front of you -- something I'd never get off streaming TV -- and it was easy to imagine being brought into this magical picture postcard as a player yourself.

I felt like I was the old guy on the bus watching a gay young woman express herself in such a way that it actually did more for my understanding of that lifestyle than a lifetime of being completely outside her viewpoint,. And I was a silent observer of the pain that another poet expresses so emotionally that it rips my heart out, as I watch her berate her former boyfriend on his front stoop for the careless and incredibly insensitive way he treated her (wondering all the while if I've been guilty of that same behavior earlier in my life). And I sat right on that limo and listened with the other young poets as the limo driver looked into the stars and related his powerful and inspiring words in a poem that went from my ears to my heart, with no stop in between.

Hopeful? Hell yes. This film is as full of hope as you can find anywhere. The colors, the look, the words that are delivered . . . But most especially the feelings it brings out in the viewers. It can only be described as rare indeed. An unexpected delight
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
If Want a Story About the Real LA.... this is it
leslie-7267511 July 2021
This is a film that doesn't sugar coat what it's like for most people who actually live in LA. In this movie, people take buses, wear second hand clothes, grab a burger, and tag buildings.

These poets write from their hearts and souls. They are young, They are proud and they are gifted. This is real life come to life in a movie that embraces the streets of LA... not with gangland warfare, not with drugs, but with real people who actually live there.

It is a joy to watch. You'll laugh, you'll cry and it'll leave you wanting more.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed