Betrayed (2020) Poster

(2020)

User Reviews

Review this title
15 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
An emotional story based on true events
cloetehenri4 September 2021
Short review: Betrayed/Den største forbrytelsen tells the story about the deportation of Jews living in Norway during the Second World War. While it is not without flaws, the acting and production value is excellent for a local film, and it manages to capture the full emotion of this heartbreaking story. Once again, as a foreigner living in Norway, I am pleasantly surprised by the quality of the film industry in this tiny country. Highly recommend for anyone interest in Norwegian or World War II history.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Harrowing work of art
Eightiesboy1 September 2021
Whether this is based on true facts or not, this is a wonderful piece of film work.

The attention to detail in all of the scenes is absolutely first class, with some stunning shots of the town and home, that the family lived in.

A brilliantly portrayed, albeit utterly bleak story, about being Jewish in occupied Norway during WW2, this is mandatory viewing for any history buff.

Have some tissues ready, for the ending.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Average movie, just this time it is happening in Norway.
Goettschwan26 January 2021
Some people confound the rating system with something existing to advance their ideas. A 10/10 would be the most perfect movie that ever existed, and this one sure isn't. I get the impression that the other reviewers have either a hidden agenda in giving extreme scores, or no idea about what a good movie is. Based on a real story, and going to some lengths with obvious CGI to show second world war locations, some of which don't exist anymore, as they were. The first part of the movie is rather boring character development, complete with a completely gratitious sex scene and frontal nudity that I would have cut and used the time for other scenes. The second half of the movie picks up both in pace and in content, showing what happened further during the war. It is commendable, seen from inside Norway, that the movie shows us that also little Norway, like everyone, had some not so nice characters working with the nazi occupation army. But just as my nephew starts to have the age where he is aware of war and nazi occupation past and starts asking questions about it, this movie will leave the viewer with as many questions. The background to the movie is not explained, there is no mention of anti-semitism in society and seemingly "all is well" for Jews in Norway before the war. So every antisemitic sentiment that characters might have further into the movie is totally out of the blue to the viewer, and understanding that puts the viewer in a position where he does need a lot of background information before watching this. Productionwise the movie has its high points but lacks in execution at places. Some places are on a boring made for TV level, while other scenes excel at underlining the story. Especially the scenes filmed in the prisoner camp are on par with far better productions like Sobibor(2018) in frightening the viewer as to how low a human can sink in treating others. Of course, resistance is scarcely talked about, and this is not a surprise given the source material authors second book about the resistance during the war, which is severly criticised for factual errors. As much as one needs to be able to recognise a Hird or Police uniform to identify which group side characters belong to in this movie when talking, one also needs to understand that the author of the source material has an axe to grind, and keep that in mind. The movie will appeal locally in Norway, because little has been produced on the subject, but I reckon internationally it is the same story that has been told from everywhere else - minus the ghettos and the inhuman conditions before the deportation, because these didn't happen in Norway.
30 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A strong story without peaks
mathiasvig10 January 2021
This movie is one which is well worth watching, if only for the historical value. The dramatization of the deportation of norwegian jews during WW2 is done in a respectfull, and good manner, and the historical context is well in behold during the entire film. The actors vary in impressiveness, where the main role, carried out by Jakob Ofterbro, is by far the best of the lot. Although the movie is an emotionally strong and important, it is carried by the assumption that most people know the historical background, which might be true, but it results in the fact that the plots main focus is on the individuals expreience. This would not have been an issue if the dialogues and scenes had not been generelly quite poor. The story lacks peaks, but rather builds slowly up to the inevitable tragedy.

In conclusion this movie one where the respect of the victims come first, and is a good watch, but no blockbuster.
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Excellent.
paulmurphy-2523126 December 2021
I expected a solid film but this fine work delivered much more than that.

A tragic story told superbly with performances to match.

Some reviews have used the word "restraint" and that is indeed a quality of this film.

Bur don't confuse restraint with lack of impact.

It's got that in spades.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Authentic reconstruction
Luigi Di Pilla7 April 2022
Again are Jewish people who didn't have peace in Norway during the Second World War.

What a nightmare seeing Norwegian authorities collaborating with the Nazis. The actors did a great and respectable job. The sceneries and atmosphere were terrific. It was never boring.

God bless all the victims that lost their lives there and the few survivors. 7/10.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very good
aleks_larsen3 January 2021
Im not in to history to much and Im not the one who has to see the next war movie. Still this movie moved me. I have seen WW2 movies before but non have made me hate the Nazi side of things as much as this one. It feels authentic all the way through. Also there is not much that I feel is made up to make the story interesting. Its not the big hero movie that often, for me, makes the movie less authentic. It feels like it just wants to tell a story of hardship in a time that was horrible and it tells it in a brutally honest way. I remember sitting in the movie theater thinking that this is not for children, but maybe its good for them to get som perceptive on the hardship people had to go through. I almost cried because of its brutality in the storytelling.

Also the movie doesnt have all the ups and downs. Its very flat and you kind of know what will happen. Still it take you inn, much because of the feeling I talked about it being very authentic and true to the real story. Just have to say that I loved it for that. Amazing movie
13 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Important and well made
c-egeland1 January 2021
A movie worth watching! It is stuffed with really good acting, interesting charcters, well written script and loads of heartbreaking scenes.

Most of all it is an important movie that unveils the brutal acts of alot of Norwegians during the holocaust. Never forget.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Norwegian War Movie
mklepphalsor-4397331 December 2020
This is a very good war movie made in Norway! They showed the story in a very good way!
10 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the most important Norwegian film about the war!
alexander_jlsolafsen12 April 2021
Truly one of the best Norwegian films about the Second World War and the Holocaust! This film show the horrible crime that happened in Norway in 1942. This movie is powerful and painful at the same time. It's very important film to see. I wanted to cry at the end of the film! The film has a very strong message and the film is very amazingly made. Great acting and writing! Even the most devestating events in history is important to see on the big screen, so we can truly know what happened. We all have learned in school about this, but important to see films like this, so we can learn about other eras from the war, like this. Amazing film, one of the most powerful war films of the decade! Must see! I give this film a big 10 in rating! Difficult to describe any more words about this film. Trust me. I must see it.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
muy buena
mickelsalasmickel12 April 2022
Excelente pelicula,me sorprendio,muy buena, hace poco estuvo en argentina, el grupo a-ha,una vez mas excelente y ahora esta película excelente, noruega presidente de la otan ya!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Norway at its best!!!
espeland198828 December 2020
Norway has become good at making movies with little budget. Little budget for Hollywood but big budget for a Norwegian movie. And this one is amazing. And its a true story. A sad story! Definitely worth seeing!
11 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Story and well portayed
pbskar18 January 2022
Good story from wartime in Norway, that brings out a good story. Great acting and directed. It gives a good picture of what Norway looked like as well. Well told filmatic, definitely worth the watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Well made Movie, Upsetting, But 85 million people died in WW2, not just the 6 Million Jews
maddison-5965729 July 2022
This is an excellent made movie of a all too familiar story. It is rather upsetting to watch. I would like to remind people that more than 85 million people died in WW2 due to the Nazis and Japanese, not just the 6 million Jewish people, yet that is all we seem to hear about all the time. War always brings out the worst in people. We can't let this happen again.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
We need more movies from the second world war in Norway.
birgerflatmo29 December 2020
We need more movies from this period in Norway,but not only about those who chosed the winningside,but also about those who chosed the loosing side. We need more movies about profiteurs,traitors and those who fought on the eastern-front.Maybe also a movie about the Norwegian bronzeteam in the olympics in Berlin in 1936 ?
7 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed