Jack Whitehall: Christmas with My Father (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Not as good as Travels With My Father, but provides some laughs anyway
maccas-5636722 December 2019
Well, it made me and my family laugh numerous times. Not every joke succeeded though and I found some parts tedious and unfunny; but it kept moving at a decent pace.

Not as good as "Travels With My Father" but part of me enjoyed it. This will be as close to getting in the Christmas spirit as I'll get this year. Father Whitehall provides the vast majority of laughs in the TV series and this show.

It seemed a bit disjointed at times with the "Queer Eye" elements. 'The King's Speech' managed to succeed in being the most offensive thing I've seen in a while. Also somehow inspired me to watch "The Nightingale" soon, about a convict in Australia who seeks revenge on her English oppressors.

The best bit was Hugh Bonneville reading 'The Grouch'. Thought Jack was trying to be some lame imitation of James Corden in the musical finale. Fans will either love or hate this. As for me, I was somewhere in the middle.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wholesome? Who wants that?
attorneyschutt16 December 2019
I watch Jack and his Dad for their interaction and family dynamic, which is always hilarious. Here's hoping for more Travels with my Father and other specials!
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Too rehearsed
K_9211 January 2020
I couldn't get through his dad's jokes, it was too rehearsed and not funny in comparison to their travel shows.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not even remotely wholesome.
amandahenderson-9329513 December 2019
For a "Christmas special" I had thought they would find a way to keep it funny but not crass. I was wrong; clearly they aren't that talented. Way too much attention was spent talking about Michael's sex life, and the Queer Eye guys wanting to hump him because of his old pictures.
12 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Has to be the worst thing I've ever watched
edgardrozdov15 December 2019
I use it for over 10 years now, never registered, but had to do it just because of this garbage, as I felt I must save people 1.5hrs of their time watching the worst comedy documentary or whatever it is. Jack clearly thinks his father is hilarious, what a lack of awarness, talentless, unfunny, how did he get anywhere close to doing this special ?
8 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Very weak.
andriuslg16 December 2019
Jack nor his dad are funny. Jack speaks in monotone thru out this and his whole life in general. Very poor thru out. Imagine paying money to watch it... Day light roberry.
5 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst thing ever
joemo-336-96664821 December 2019
I am very surprised that Netflix have allowed this to be broadcast , Huge bonoville actually looked embarrassed to be featured on this
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
jack whitehall's ignoramus Father
allanmichael302 January 2020
He shares home videos that are cringe worthy of his father belittling his mother in front of a young jack and saying daddy loves mummy's Breast. This was not as bad as Nick Hewer who confessed on countdown of hovering up his sons sick when he was looking after him but still pretty shocking. What is the fascination of these stuck up halfwits.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not funny
firti29 December 2019
When i saw him at Graham norton show i thought he may be a funny guy even the father can not save this waste of time thing sprinkled with famous people such a shame
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
To say this is in bad taste, is an understatement
nitestar958 February 2020
Should have been titled, 'Come join me and help me make fun of my old, out of touch, dad'. This is how adolescents behave, and I'm sorry to say, it appears that this whole generation believes that it's great to poke fun at old folks and how peculiar their behavior was in the past. Wait patiently, young people, your turn will come to look ridiculous to younger people, it's only a matter of time.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed