Red Dot (2021) Poster

(2021)

User Reviews

Review this title
189 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
A lot of the bad reviews seems to be annoyed about the unrealistic survival skills and I agree
jonan-9397717 March 2021
That being said, the first half of the movie, you basically expect them to be chased for the entire movie without any real explanition (if you watched the trailer).

But it's definetly one of the better movies Netflix have made. The plot twists in the end really just turns around ur expectations + frustration for the entire chase.

Worth watching in my opinion
24 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Eh, it's not as bad as some of these wannabe critics say it is.
Top_Dawg_Critic12 February 2021
Red Dot is an international Swedish film written and directed by Alain Darborg, in his second full length feature film, with only a handful of shorts and TV episodes under his belt. His directing was on point, with excellent use of the landscape and sets.

The story we've seen before, and up until the last 20 mins or so, I was getting a little frustrated and bored that this film wasn't going anywhere. Then all of a sudden the film comes up with some nice twists and turns, and that made it different from the typical survival films. Also up until that point, the pacing felt slow, so the normally decent 86 min runtime felt longer. I would've liked the last 20 minutes extended more into the latter part of the story. There were a few plot and technical issues, and some questionable (no spoiler) "why wouldn't they pick it up" moments, but overall, the story was very fluid and cohesive. The ending will certainly shake things up for the viewer.

The cinematography was excellent, as was the score. There are a few "wtf" gore moments, but without those, the film may have felt stale. Casting and performances were actually really good as well. For an international low-budget non-Hollywood-ish-blockbuster type film, it's certainly deserving of my 7/10. All those wannabe critics with their 1's and 2's need to give their heads a shake, and learn how to review a film properly, and realize there's a scale from 1-10, not 1 or 10. This film had many great features from a filmmaker that hardly had much experience. They should click on my username to see more of my 1000+ reviews, and read up on how to properly rate a film in my bio. For everyone else wondering if they should see this, considering the slim-pickings, this sub-titled film will be more suspenseful than some of the garbage that has come out lately, although it may not seem like that at first. Give it a chance, you wont be disappointed.
141 out of 202 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Makes no sense
gusnavada13 February 2021
Bad script, nonesensical plot twists and the characters seem to defy what normal bodies can withstand x10. Hypothermia aint a thing for these guys, nor is it bleeding to death. This movie is not worth your time. Be warned
61 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good movie, worth a watch, don't know what's up with some reviews
skoltinkara11 February 2021
Exciting movie, some scenes you see only in European movies, nice plot twist, don't understand some reviews saying it's boring or not understandable. Threw off my expectations for the movie but they were exceeded.
72 out of 121 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Oh my the consequences of my own actions.
the_lastboyscout13 February 2021
The idea of terror in the store is interesting and a fun premise. However the story gets dragged down in being long winded and unorganized at times. The idea that two people can be this self cantered doesn't surprise me in this day and age, but the fact we are supposed to feel sympathy for the characters once we get the big reveal is asinine. I didn't like the characters to start with and this reveal made me cheer for their brutal death even more. However my sympathy does go out to poor Boris he deserved better.
35 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
What is the Point?
Nemesis4212 February 2021
For me this film is pointless. No likeable characters at all, apart from a nice dog. Usually protagonists are written so that we sympathise with them on their journey. We are on their side and battling the enemies. Here, all main characters have done terrible things, including our protagonists. So when 'they' end up suffering, they deserved it, which leaves us with no one to root for and empathise with.

The film is like 1 + -1 = 0. It cancels itself out ... pointless. It's well crafted with good filmmaking technique, but the story sucks.
80 out of 138 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Please watch this movie for yourself
alex_i-3051921 February 2021
This film really is not as bad as people are making out! I watched this before reading any reviews so went in with an open mind and thoroughly enjoyed it. Yes, there were a few moments where I thiught wow this guy must be a machine how is he still alive, however, I dont think I've ever seen a horror/thriller where they don't stretch reality even very slightly. Suspend your disbelief, its a film made for entertainment purposes, its not made to have every little bit disected, its a thriller designed to have you on the edge of your seat. I knew there would be some kind of twist early on, however I didnt guess who it would be. Please watch for yourself!
23 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Make Better Decisions
payasoingenioso14 February 2021
This movie would be better if David weren't such a punk the entire film.

Such. A. Failure.

It is a barely bloody drama. Emphasis on the drama. Mostly provided by trash decisions by both protagonists.
43 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Very forgettable
zathan-3284811 February 2021
Production quality is mediocre at best. the shaky camera is very annoying. Plot has holes in it that will annoy you. The survival skills of the involved people are just weird, There is more than one opportunity to to escape that they do not grab. why?? So script is very rushed..
81 out of 148 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's watchable, but don't expect any new ideas.
Sleepin_Dragon12 February 2021
Did Covid perhaps mean that this was rushed a little bit, it has some food ideas and themes, but ultimately it really is a bit jumbled up.

Imagine you take a 'wrong turn' in Sweden, and end up in a snow covered wilderness being pursued by some big, bearded Scandinavians...

You get the idea, I'm not sure if maybe something is lost in translation, but the dubbed voices don't work, watch it with the subtitles on, it's a much better experience.

I don't get how this film has one and ten star reviews, neither extreme makes any sense to a film such as this.

Overall, the story is good, if unoriginal, the execution isn't sharp, but the acting is good, and the locations are glorious.

It's a solid ok from me, 6/10.
21 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
You should skip this one.
Patient44411 February 2021
And here are the reasons why: first of all, not really original. It may seem a little fresh at the beginning, but sadly it becomes so formulaic, it's annoying. Second, the plot only gets worse and worse, no more logic, common sense, there are things that happen on screen in order to keep the movie going towards a comedic place. And last but not least, the final act is just so....overused. It was difficult to get through it really.

There are some good things to Red Dot, I liked the surroundings, the cold, the wind, but this is about it. Some nature eye candy and nothing more.

All in all it is very hard to talk too much about it without spoiling the movie, I will give it an extra point for the fact that it didn't rely on gore or torture porn. It was refreshing seeing otherwise.

Red Dot is not one that I would recommend. Nothing really great here, nothing new and nothing interesting overall.

Cheers!
59 out of 112 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not worth the watch.
qystein11 February 2021
The entire plotline suddenly changes when they got a life altering flashback to what happened earlier off screen about 2/3 trough the movie. The storytelling of that one scene is just so bad that it ruins everything.
57 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good for a swedish movie, don't trust the low ranks.
antonmansson18 February 2021
No, this movie is not pointless or awful or dumb like some wannabe critics say. i have to say i was suprised how good this movie actually is, and how well made it is. Sure it has it's stupid moments and some cheesy dialouge but this movie should not be skipped. if you like these type of thriller movies but with a little twist, watch it!

i am swedish myself and i was suprised. this movie feels more american than swedish. i really liked the characters and the story + the twist. i could feel the characters panic and the cold snow storms blowing, and the actors do an amazing job in this film.
15 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Couldn't stand the woman
thebogofeternalstench17 February 2021
I got 30 mins into this film and couldn't stomach the main actress. Totally unlikeable, whiney, self absorbed and insufferable. Her partner was a total cuck and there's no way I can root for two main actors I can't stand.

Way to go making me hate the characters almost immediately. Couldn't care less what this film is about or what happened.
15 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointing
mattfrancis-0396312 February 2021
Swedish movies... just no This was number one on Netflix on the day the next day it wasn't. Sums that up. Dialogue is absolutely pathetic. We've seen this type of film people say but no I don't think we have not in the same way. I'd rather not have seen this and others will no doubt feel the same.
22 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just No !
therealrandygodwin4 March 2021
Lame....Knock the dude out when he comes into the cabin... Later on why not take the snowmobile when the dude is set on fire...Don't waste your time or money on this stinker !
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Waste of time
kyle-523-11331413 February 2021
What a ridiculous film, constantly.making wrong decisions by the end, couldnt really care less what happened to them. I dont think they would make very good parents.
22 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's a decent watch but has small holes that bring it down
EversonMovies18 February 2021
This film is one thing watch, as it will not be the worst film you have I'll ever watch, but due to a few small "why wouldn't you just" moments, this movie can only be rated as ok, not a 1 , not a 10 but a 5.5 -6. But If your bit of a open minded movie buff I would recommend to give ago
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Being Swedish makes this movie even worse
jack-vallnet12 February 2021
I can see how not understanding the language being spoken can make the acting in this movie seem better than it is. The crucial points where the actresses/actors need to show genuine emotion are completely missed. The fact that they are Acting sticks out like a sore thumb and is annoyingly obvious. All emotion they express feel forced, just like when kids not wanting to go to school act sick in-front of their parents. Not everything negative about this movie falls on the actresses and actors however. How they make the characters act and react to situations were very often utterly unreasonable and stupid, so much that it becomes unbelievable, just like their acting. Those two combined make for an awful movie.

Only reason i dont give this just one star is that they managed to make me hate Nadja, and that takes at-least some good character development and acting.
36 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Decent
leds1612 February 2021
Nevermind all the bad 1, 2 and 3 ratings or the good 8, 9 and 10 ratings; this movie is average. Nothing amazing, but still quite entertaining , and with a decent conclusion twist.
32 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Terror In The Snow
Pairic11 February 2021
Red Dot: A couple who go a hiking trip in Northern Sweden cross some local racists. Pursued through the snow and forest, across frozen lakes they try to flee their tormentors. The red dot of a laser rifle sight playing over them. Eventually the pursuers start to aim to hit the coupe. Rather nasty in places some genuine scenes of horror with the tension kept high. Not particularly original, we've seen this sort of story told in many films but there is a plot twist which takes the narrative off in an even darker direction. Written & Directed by Alain Darborg. On Netflix. 7/10.
35 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Prepare for the unexpected!
ginameardon11 February 2021
This was a much anticipated film on many levels including Netflix first purchase of a Swedish feature film and hopefully bring more Scandi/Nordic noir to Netflix.

The setting in Dalarna is sensational, you can feel the bitter cold and the cinematography is stunning, especially with the Northern Lights and forest scenes.

The plot unravels and be prepared for surprises. Some seriously 'shout out' moments of tension and you easily forget you are watching just a handful of actors. The film ended and my heart was pounding. I know one of the actors involved and they got an immediate deserved 'grattis' from me. This film was well worth the wait and I can definitely recommend for plot, tension, scandi noir and cinematography. May think twice about camping alone tho!
40 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ice cold Thriller. Well worth your time
david-wurzel13 February 2021
I really can't understand the negative reviews. Maybe it was not american enough for some people. I enjoyed every second. Loved the plot twists. Great acting and cinematography,beautiful landscapes and a good score. I will definitely remember this one.
32 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
My decision to watch was a wrong one too.
jonathanstafford15 February 2021
This is about a group of people, all making the wrong decision at the wrong time. To the point where I cared for none of them. This film was infuriating. I simply don't understand the ending. What on Earth was expected to happen next? I think the writers got themselves so lost in the ridiculousness of it all that they tied themselves into a knot and didn't know what to do. So their choice? End the film and hope no-one notices. Yet another bad decision.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Steaming pile of dog poo
Horror_Flick_Fanatic13 February 2021
Wholly unoriginal and predictable. The screenwriters should be ashamed of how terribly lazy they put this together. I have seen some fantastic Swedish films in my life. But holy cow, is this bad even for a undergrad freshman writer. The writers did not add a plot twist because that requires creative planning that leave clues in the first half of the story that would be referenced in the second half during the reveal. But not so fast here , because the writers lazily don't even bother with that. Instead, they make up an entirely different scenario, record short clips of scenes with the three actors that never happen in the main story. That's not how is suppose to work in writing. If it worked that way, anyone with the capability of holding a pen to paper would be a genus 2nd coming of William Shakespeare.

But go watch the film. When you feel you wasted an evening on this d_g s__t, just remember the dismissive reviewers who gave it a 10 and told you to ignore everyone else who tried to give you a heads-up FYI and encouraged you to watch it.
18 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed