House of Gucci (2021) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
464 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
With more detail, different casting, and definitely better script writers, the movie could have been better.
movieman6-413-92951028 November 2021
House of Gucci is a new crime drama directed by Ridley Scott, the director of Gladiator and Alien.

The film is inspired by true events surrounding the family behind the Italian fashion house Gucci. When Maurizio Gucci (Adam Driver) begins a relationship with the outsider Patrizia Reggiani (Lady Gaga), he is disinherited by his father Rodolfo Gucci (Jeremy Irons). He suspects that Patrizia is behind Maurizio's family money. That's how the two have to make it without the support of the Gucci family. Years later, the two are married and have a child together. Maurizio's uncle Aldo Gucci (Al Pacino) thus contacts him again and brings him back into the family business. The Gucci fashion house is once again going under multiple names, leading to creative differences, exposing betrayal, revenge and even murder cases.

There have been many changes in the making of this film. Martin Scorsese, for example, could have directed the film at first, but Ridley Scott was eventually given a directing position. Together with the casting directors, he also had many ideas for the casting of the roles before they finally came to the chosen actors and actresses.

After the many changes in casting and direction, they probably should have looked back at the writing crew of the film, because the final script was written by more novice writers, which can sometimes be seen in the film. The story can sometimes seem a bit messy and so long-winded, because the story makes many jumps in time. Some relationships come across as rushed, which can cause some loss of credibility.

What comes out best in the film about a well-known fashion brand is therefore the costumes and make-up of the characters. Janty Yates can expect film award nominations for this. Still, the film has received complaints from actual members of the Gucci family that the relatives were better dressed in real life compared to the actors in the film. They also credibly convey the places where the story takes place.

Al Pacino comes out the best of the film cast and knows how to provide the best and most believable accent compared to the entire cast. Lady Gaga and Adam Driver have good chemistry together in the film, but their relationship sometimes comes across as weak. Patrizia is clearly showing signs that she is more behind the Gucci family's money than she really loves Maurizio. Their accents can also come across as a bit unusual. Lady Gaga has more of an Eastern European accent than real Italian. Her characters seem to come more from Russia in some scenes. Of the entire cast, Salma Hayek is the only one who has received help with speaking in the correct accent. This is probably because she is married to the man who now owns the Gucci brand. If they had helped the entire cast a little more with their accents in the film, they would have come across a bit more like people from the same country. Who even seems to play in a completely different film is Jared Leto, because in the film he wears a fattening costume and also has a strange shaved hair style. In the film, he comes across as too exaggerated compared to the rest and speaks excessively in a high-pitched voice. He sometimes sounds just like the video game character Mario.
69 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Very odd and uneven but also quite fun and intriguing
TheLittleSongbird29 November 2021
There were quite a number of reasons for wanting to see 'House of Gucci'. The advertising did intrigue and did suggest a film that would be over the top but entertaining in its own way. Ridley Scott's filmography is hit and miss, brilliant at his best like with 'Alien' and 'Blade Runner' though some of his films, such as 'GI Jane' and 'Robin Hood' ('Legend' is underrated in my view), are not too great. The main draw though was the cast, with Lady Gaga (an immensely gifted performer and inspirational person) being a big selling point for many.

For me though, bigger selling points were seeing two of my favourite actors Al Pacino and Jeremy Irons again (and reunited after 'A Merchant in Venice'). Jared Leto has always been very take and leave. 'House of Gucci' turned out to be one of those difficult to rate and review sort of films for me, it is going to be one of those films that some are going to love and others are going to hate (with some in between). It is a hugely flawed film, but there was also a lot to enjoy at the same time. As far as Scott's films go, it's a middling effort. Neither one of his best or worst.

'House of Gucci' has a lot that is good in my view. Have very little to complain about when it comes to how it looks, apart from some editing being in need of a tightening in the final act. The Italian scenery and the costumes are truly stunning though and the camerawork is similarly sumptuous. Scott's direction is uneven dramatically but is very impressive on a technical level, especially in his use of multiple cameras (which must make it easy for actors to know where to look). The soundtrack is also wonderful and beautifully operatic in scope, though not always well placed, but from a standalone point of view there are no complaints here.

Despite the very all over the place accents, with a mix of exaggerated (Leto, to almost cartoonish effect in his case) or barely there (Irons, am a huge fan of Irons but will never deny about accents not being a forte of his), most of the acting is fine. Lady Gaga kills it as Patrizia, who is a very interesting and well fleshed out character here, bringing charm, effortless charisma and menace to her. It has been said that her accent isn't great, as far as the cast goes it's actually the most convincing one along with Salma Hayek's. Adam Driver is a good deal more understated, one of the few in the cast to play it very straight, but he is also compelling and his character growth/decent is believable. They have great chemistry together.

The supporting cast on the whole support them well, Pacino coming off best having a whale of a time as Aldo. Irons brings vulnerability and authority to patriarch Rodolfo and Salma Hayek gives some of her best acting in years. Really liked the chemistry on the whole, Lady Gaga and Driver are great together as are Lady Gaga and Hayek, while that between Irons and Pacino is a joy. 'House of Gucci' does have a few great individual scenes, and one of the best is the magnificent encounter between Irons and Pacino. Personally thought the first half was fine and that it set up the intrigue and characters extremely well. As well as a few funny moments, Rodolfo's verbal brutalising of Paolo was gold and sums up the viewer's opinion of him and his work perfectly.

On the other hand, 'House of Gucci' has a number of shortcomings. One performance didn't work for me and that was Leto. Unrecognisable in much talked about(the talk of social media when advertising was first revealed) makeup that deserves its own film, he overplays his role, especially when the comic relief becomes more dominant, and belongs in a completely different film. Yes the film is very over the top in tone, but Leto's performance veered on excess and too much of a Super Mario Brothers caricature. There are pacing issues, the rather underdeveloped family business stuff drags, sometimes to the point of stalling, due to the lack of tension and gravitas that was not there enough. And other parts come over as very choppy and incomplete feeling, like the final act. The second half needed a tightening up, which would have made the film less overlong (and it is a film that could have been 25 minutes shorter easily).

Also found the ending very rushed and anti-climactic, handled with too much of an indifferent shrug. After spending so long on the family stuff (and not developing that enough) and the increasingly uneasy spurts of comedy, the event that caused such a sensation is just too throwaway in treatment. Tonally, 'House of Gucci' is messy, the comedy going for the campy approach that goes too far into pantomime in the second half and some of the serious moments being too melodramatic. Tonal shifts can be uneasily abrupt.

The script has some funny and intriguing moments, but is on the whole too overwritten in tone (Leto's comedy increasingly gets too much), bland emotionally (the descent into revenge is not examined enough) and also too much of a trying to include as many iconic lines as possible. Some of the line delivery has to be heard to be believed, can imagine right now the amount of reaction gifs online in regard to some of the more comedic lines and Leto's body language.

Concluding, hugely flawed but also quite fun when taking it for what it is. 5.5/10 (was struggling which score of 5 or 6 to give it but decided to go in between and round it up)
145 out of 192 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Browns and Pastels....
CinemaSerf27 November 2021
It isn't often that I can say this, but for me the best actor by a country mile here is Jeremy Irons. He plays the aging Rodolfo, whom along with his far more flamboyant brother Aldo (Al Pacino) owns and runs the legendary Italian fashion house. His son Maurizio (Adam Driver) falls in love with Patrizia (Lady Gaga) who the daughter of a trucking company owner and needless to say his dad is less than impressed. He proceeds to cut his son off, but the younger man has fallen totally for his ambitious and savvy new gal, and soon they are married and working with his uncle. Meantime, feeling neglected, and with his nose out of joint, Aldo's ditzy son Paolo (an almost unrecognisable Jared Leto) tries to tap up his uncle Rodolfo with some of his own designs - and my favourite scene as the older man calls a spade a spade ensues! Much of the best of the rest of this has been largely leaked in the trails. Gaga is good, but not great and far too much time is spent on the character establishment. By the time we get to the serious story of how this marriage and this family and this business all turned in onto themselves, betraying and scarring as they went, the pace turns decidedly slow and the events of the story itself become really quite rushed. Way too much of the denouement is encapsulated by one scene and by on-screen text. Had less been made of the preamble, then I think Sir Ridley Scott could have made much more of the interesting and entertaining causes of the dynasty's troubles. Still, it's is enjoyable and flies by. Well worth a watch.
88 out of 114 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Impressive visuals but underwhelming conclusion
loveasklin27 November 2021
"House of Gucci" is a beautifully shot picture with great people involved. It is somewhat underwhelming and a tad too long, but there are great moments sprinkled throughout the movie.

The film is based on the real murder of Maurizio Gucci and the downfall of the Gucci family. It all begins when Patrizia Reggiani marries into the Gucci family and the rest is history.

Lady Gaga is great as the ambitious Patrizia Reggiani but she is also inconsistent with her performance. Pacino, Driver and Leto are good per usual. It is however a daring choice by the filmmakers to have the actors speak in English with an Italian accent. It is not a huge problem, but it does occasionally take the viewer out of the experience.

The first forty minutes of the movie are great. The characters are well introduced, and the plot is intriguing. The rest of the movie does not maintain this standard. The last 30 minutes are beyond underwhelming and the climax is cold and emotionless.

There are issues with "House of Gucci" but the production design is not one of them. The film is beautifully shot and the locations look great. "House of Gucci" is very stylish and the costume department really outdid themselves.

With everything said, "House of Gucci" is a decent film with outstanding visuals and great acting. If you like fashion, then you should give this movie a watch. It is beautiful and quite enjoyable despite its excessive runtime.
34 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
When Americans pretend to be Italian...
severindringel26 November 2021
The second Ridley Scott film of this year is here! After his medieval epic The Last Duel flopped brilliantly at the box office, he can expect more in this respect with House of Gucci. Not only is Gucci one of the most famous and prestigious fashion brands, Lady Gaga is also in the lead role. I guess the strong fanbase of the singer will not be asked a second time. In the film, she suddenly finds herself part of the Gucci dynasty and becomes the protagonist of a toxic power struggle.

Yet Gaga is still a relative unknown in Hollywood-speak. She made her big breakthrough in the 2018 music film A Star is Born. Scott, as he did in The Last Duel, has assembled an incomparable star ensemble. Adam Driver, who seems to be establishing himself as the director's new darling, evergreens Al Pacino and Jeremy Irons and an unrecognisable Jared Leto embody the key roles in the Gucci clan. In addition, Salma Hayek emerges as a kind of mentor for Gaga's character. But who is Gaga playing anyway? She is the young and rebellious Patrizia Reggiani. An extroverted perennial who worms her way into the millionaire family with charm and fascination. She is courted by the ambitious Maurizio Gucci, played by Driver, who actually wants to leave the intrigues and sometimes shabby business dealings of his predecessors behind. Once he falls in love with Patrizia and marries her, he is left with no choice but to get involved again. Driver and Gaga share a very passionate chemistry in the first act, which you fully buy into with little dialogue and through pure body language. While Driver plays rather reserved and shy, this quality emanates especially from Gaga, who doesn't hold back in any of her intimate scenes. At least the two characters are able to unfold their own approaches here. But when Al Pacino's character Aldo Gucci, Maurizio's uncle, insists on his nephew's re-entry into the family business, the two lose all closeness to each other. Rather, it is only an extremely manipulative relationship that both actors have to show in a few scenes. All the more Aldo and his son Paolo Gucci, portrayed by Leto, come to the fore. From this point on, the film lapses into a few minutes of megalomania, largely due to Leto's performance. He is exclusively eccentric and desperate and all in all a tragic figure. Whether you find this Super Mario caricature brilliant or miserable is a matter of interpretation.

House of Gucci begins extremely quietly and shows the rise of the lovers in well-done visual sequences. The performances are generally fitting and although the film seems anti-Italian, I love it when Adam Driver cruises through Milan on his Vespa. But as interesting as the pecking order and hierarchy within the Gucci family is, from the second act onwards the film devolves into an overplayed and hyperactive tragedy that, despite the craziness of its scenes and actors, actually manages to be long-winded. Fashion, creativity and the business idea are not a theme at all, which in no way brings us closer to this brand that is so present. In the end we have a family epic (the film lasts 2 ½ hours), with exclusively unsympathetic characters. One more request to Ridley Scott: just let your actors speak English and don't embarrass them with Italian stereotypes with accents.
48 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A tragedy, in every sense.
southdavid13 December 2021
Taste is, of course, a unique thing. As I write this review "House of Gucci" has a score of 6.9 which is baffling to me, as the film I sat through last Saturday was an unmitigated disaster. One that's story is too boring to even allow you to enjoy the hilariously bad performances.

Patrizia Reggiani (Lady Gaga) meets Maurizio Gucci (Adam Driver) at a party. Maurizio is the son of Rodolfo Gucci (Jeremy Irons) who owns 50% of the family named fashion chain. Initially training to be a lawyer, Patrizia, along with his uncle Aldo, (Al Pacino) encourages Maurizio to join the family business. Very quickly, lines of division are drawn, and alliances and double crosses push Maurizio to the head of the company.

I am not the first person to come here and make fun of some of the performances. Adam Driver and Lady Gaga can leave with their reputations relatively unscathed, even if perhaps Gaga hones an accent that's a bit more Transylvanian than Milanese. Al Pacino and Jared Leto though are in a different film, with broad comedic performances that make the Dolmio adverts look like Mike Leigh in comparison.

I could, perhaps, forgive their choices if the overall film hung together better, but alas it doesn't. The story is glacial at some points, but at others either skips over or brushes through sections that are required to make the story make sense. Why do the police come after Maurizio as quickly as they do? How does the information about Aldo's taxes make it to the American authorities? What does Maurizio actually do, once he's taken control? Why does he abandon his wife and child after one brief argument? The story needs Patrizia to be Lady Macbeth, subtly twisting and cajoling her unwilling husband to power, before he turns on her and she extracts revenge. Instead though, Maurizio's whole personality changes in a moment, without that much justification, and he moves on without her. Also, I never really had the right feel for how much time has passed between scenes, and I'm not helped by the score, which seems to use anachronistic songs, but at others tries to evoke the period.

In lesser hands, this might be more forgivable, but this is Ridley Scott and we've come to expect more. This was, in no uncertain terms, a shambles.
43 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Did this really need to be nearly 3 hours long?
RuthPaulsDragRace24 November 2021
Dreadful experience of a movie. To start, the pacing of the film is awful. Within the first 20 minutes we see the two main characters meet, fall in love, become engaged, move in together, and of course, the obligatory sex scene. After that, everything becomes drawn out and far less interesting. Every time I thought I was about to doze off, Jared Leto's character would pop in to provide some nice comic relief, though.

I wasn't convinced by the acting. The individual performances are alright, but there's something about the cast as an ensemble that wasn't quite clicking. It's like everyone acted out their roles in a room alone in front of a green screen and were later all edited together.

I'd say this was one of Adam Driver's most unforgettable roles. I was also expecting more from Lady Gaga, especially considering how seriously she seems to take herself as an actress now, touting how she stayed in character for the duration of filming, took 6 months to "perfect" the accent, and even studied feline behavior to capture the essence of Patrizia Gucci - because Italian women are so cat-like, of course.

Overall, this movie fell extremely flat for me. The piss-poor accents didn't help either.
35 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Decent fictional biopic, sloppy soundtrack
dierregi29 November 2021
Based on true events usually means that the true events are fictionalized and made more spectacular. Since I am Italian, I already knew what happened between Patrizia Reggiani and Maurizio Gucci, because at the time their lurid story occupied headlines in national newspapers. The real story seemed to have gone more or less as described, with Patrizia being a vulgar gold digger, who used to consult fortune tellers and ended up hiring her killer via her "clairvoyant" BFF, once Maurizio dumped her.

Lady Gaga nails the part, probably thanks to her natural arrogance, and she looks a lot like a prettier version of the real Patrizia; Driver is bland as usual, although his part probably called for a weak character; Pacino is a tad more subdued than usual, which is much appreciated but Jared Leto as Paolo Gucci is unbearable, more than an eccentric Italian he does a version of what an American considers typical Italian, missing completely the mark and spoiling it further with a dreadful accent.

Even if costumes and locations are generally OK, the soundtrack is extremely sloppy, as if nobody could be bothered to do some research and produce a soundtrack suitable to the time and place. Instead, they took the shortcut of going for Italian opera, the trite soundtrack of choice for movies with Italian characters, even if by now is super outdated; a couple of Italian songs from the Sixties sounded totally wrong because the film takes places in the Eighties and a few disco hits blasted on incongruously at the wrong time... totally not an Italian atmosphere, unless you think in Italy time stopped with La Dolce Vita, or even earlier with Verdi.

Apart from the dreadful soundtrack, some parts (mainly all those with Leto) dragged on too long and dragged the movie down.

PS in the first third of the film Maurizio Gucci is jumping wildly inside one of the shops and stopping in a freeze-frame that we discover right at the end, belongs to a photo shooting with Avedon. What was that? Did nobody check the editing?
26 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Unwatchable
westonmcelhaney30 November 2021
Lady Gaga overacted the entire time and there were a countless number of dialogue scenes that didn't go anywhere/didn't progress the story. It was genuinely one of the most dragged out movies I've ever seen.
29 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Difficult to stomach
kimbildfell10 December 2021
Easily the worst movie I've ever seen. Horrible acting, boring storyline. The accents were laughable. 2 1/2 hours of my life that I'll never get back. Don't waste your time or your money.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
House of camp and mirth
wjosephjorob28 November 2021
The photography, the costumes, the scenery, all good, now comes the hard part the acting, next to Mommy Dearest, this could be the companion piece to that film, this was an unintentional dramedy. The only two actors that escaped this film with dignity was Adam Driver and Jeremy Irons and some of the secondary cast members, Lady Gaga, Al Pacino and Jared Leto came to this party and gave the audience some of the best scenes of overacting in 2021, Jared Leto kept you howling with laughter playing Paulo Gucci, I laugh at scenes that was not intentionally funny, Al Pacino as Aldo Gucci, his portrayal of this person, like that of Big Boy Caprice with a Gucci suit on, Pacino and Leto have a unforgettable scene together that was probably the most dramatic and also the most hilarious, Lady Gaga as Patrizia Gucci did a good job as the villain of this drama, but she went a little over the top with the accent and was hard to understand at times, very ambitious and glamorous production, but it was very campy at times and I believe it was unintentional, I enjoyed watching this film and the cast did a decent job, but the original Dynasty T. V. show was a better program in my opinion.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A movie with a lot of potential, completely wasted. Many sequences feel odd, empty and unnecessary.
fciocca5 December 2021
"House of Gucci" portrays Maurizio Gucci and Patrizia Reggiani, trying to expand the family business. Gucci in the 60s was already a big empire and as an outsider that never really cared about fashion, I am not really sure what was the point of this motion picture. The film shows how Maurizio took over the company with his unethical methods, but aside from ruining completely the relationship with his own family members, it seems that he did not accomplish anything. He improved nothing in the business and took the enterprise to the verge of bankruptcy, so he did more harm than good. Patrizia Reggiani was for the whole time so manipulative, and I hated her character for the whole time. She was in fact after the Gucci money. Maurizio should have listened to his father. The beginning of their relationship is portrayed in such a childish and immature way. I refuse to believe that this is what really happened between the two. At this point I would have preferred to watch a film about Aldo Gucci, and how he managed to transform a small business into such a big and rich company. It would have been way more interesting and at least I would have walked out of the theatre with a little bit more knowledge.

A lot of scenes feel odd, empty and pointless. Lady Gaga is stunning and gave a decent performance, but they could have hired someone more competent. She is an excellent singer, but please, keep her away from acting. I really enjoyed Adam Driver and Al Pacino. Jared Leto's acting was different and quite funny, he was a pleasant surprise, and he added a lot of value to the film. From a technical perspective, the photography was smooth and simple and perfectly matched the mood of the film.

I have to be honest: I had quite big expectations for this one, but I was extremely disappointed. I went to see this movie mainly because of the director and the cast. I know nothing about fashion or Gucci, maybe I am not in the target area, but still I think that they could have done so much more with a big brand such as this one. The plot has its good moments and it is entertaining enough to keep me until the end, even though I would have cut a couple of scenes. It is not a bad production, but I think that this was an unnecessary and uninspired movie. I would recommend waiting for the release of "House of Gucci" on some streaming service or on Blu-ray. For me it is not worth going to the cinema for it.
19 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Well worth the watch
georgecarmen8 December 2021
The acting is sublime with lady gaga and al Pacino on form. At times a little too drawn out but on the whole extremely well done with nice comical touches thrown in to compliment the darker tone of the film . I really enjoyed this it wasn't what I thought it would be but I was pleasantly surprised. Not edge of your seat but certainly very much enjoyed.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I was really Excited and Ended up Really Dissapointed
emryse1 December 2021
After seeing the first reveal photos around a year ago I was entranced, this looked like a world completely different from my own, exciting and fashionable with a cast that I mostly adored, the first trailers came out and I was still ready for what to me was looking like a contender for film of the year. Sadly what we ended up with in the end is anything but. It feels like a pale imitation of Wolf of Wall Street with sequences that really invoke the Scorsese film, the thing is that while Wolf of Wall Street is 3 hours long and phenomenally paced, this film is anything but. At 2 hours 38 minutes this film really feels it's length, I was constantly fidgeting and waiting for it to be over, I liked the cast but to be honest I don't think they had any chemistry, the reviews all said that Gaga was chewing up the scenes but I found her performance really plain, I much preferred Adam Driver as the soft spoken Gucci. The music is all good and I believe it was all from the period the film is set in but I didn't think the glam rock was really meshing with the atmosphere of the rest of the film.

The movie had potential and hidden in it somewhere is a great film, the story is fascinating just not well adapted to the screen, but what we ended up with was a shallow imitation of other better films that failed in almost every aspect and was full of long pauses, honestly if you cut out the pauses that were taken in every sentence you could probably have made a film 30 minutes shorter and ten times better. The only thing I really liked in the film was Al Pacino, Adam Driver and the cinematography, all of which were gorgeous. This felt like a film anyone could have made and I feel it reflects badly on Ridley Scott who is blaming it's poor performance on anything and everything that isn't the simple fact of it not being a great film.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
the joys of family
ferguson-624 November 2021
Greetings again from the darkness. I've never purchased or owned anything Gucci, but that didn't prevent me from enjoying the heck out of Ridley Scott's film that brings the longest, most expensive and dangerous real life episode of 'Family Feud' to the big screen. It's co-written by Becky Johnston and Roberto Bentivegna, and is based on the 2001 book, "House of Gucci: A Sensational Story of Murder, Madness, Glamour, and Greed" by Sara Gay Forden. Brace yourself for a (mostly) true wild ride, and for what is likely to be one of the year's most divisive films - plenty of love and hate (just like the actual story).

What happens when a brand is so closely associated with a family name? The arguments begin on who 'deserves' to be a Gucci, who is a 'real' Gucci, and who should make the decisions that impact the Gucci family and business wealth and reputation. During the extended run time (2 hours, 37 minutes), we see many of the iconic Gucci items: the Flora scarf, the moccasins, the bamboo bag, and the watches. And though high fashion is always present, director Scott has delivered a spectacle of romance, family riffs, extravagance, greed, power, betrayal, revenge, and crime.

Lady Gaga (Oscar winner, A STAR IS BORN, 2018) stars as Patrizia, the newest Gucci. Hers is not blind ambition, but rather calculated and laser-focused. That she implodes a dysfunctional family is only a portion of the story. After marrying Maurizio Gucci (Adam Driver), Patrizia immediately begins manipulating her husband into reconciling with his family and taking on an active role in a business for which he previously had little interest. This is simply step two (the first was marriage) in her grand scheme to control the business and the money. Maurizio's father Rodolfo (Oscar winner Jeremy Irons, REVERSAL OF FORTUNE, 1990) is ailing, so it's Uncle Aldo (Oscar winner Al Pacino, SCENT OF A WOMAN, 1992) to whom Patrizia directs her attention. She plays it like a chess match - only this is more entertaining to watch unfold.

Also in the picture is Paolo Gucci (a truly unrecognizable Jared Leto, Oscar winner, DALLAS BUYERS CLUB), Aldo's son, and a family outcast. Paolo is a wildly creative individual who tends to his pet pigeons and tries desperately to find his place in the family. Jack Huston plays Dominico De Sole, Rodolfo's consigliere and the family attorney. Each of the characters is given their time in the spotlight, including a terrific breakfast scene with Pacino and Irons. Of course this is mostly Patrizia's story, so it's Lady Gaga's performance that will attract much of the attention and commentary. I found her mesmerizing and twisted fun to watch as she proceeded with backstabbing and trickery. Driver's quietly intense approach makes the perfect contrast to hers.

If you are familiar with the story, you know that Maurizio does eventually run the company, and he also tires of Patrizia's family-crushing antics ... which send him back into the arms of Paola Franchi (Camile Cottin, STILLWATER, 2021). This turns the campy and juicy melodrama factor up to 11 (on the Spinal Tap scale). Patrizia's frequent trips to fortune teller and TV psychic Pina Auriemma (Salma Hayek) cause a massive tonal shift in the film, leading to the well-documented conclusion. If all this isn't strange enough, Ms. Hayek is the real-life spouse of the CEO of Gucci's present-day parent company, Kering. Reeve Carney ("Penny Dreadful") has a small, yet vital role as up-and-coming fashion designer Tom Ford.

In this movie, it's easy to describe some performances as hammy or over-the-top, but that's likely to only hold as a first reaction. Leto's characterization of Paolo sticks out so much from the others ... but he was known as eccentric, and at best, was patronized by the family. It seems highly likely that his personality and approach stood in stark contrast to the old-school style of his father Aldo, or the more staid personalities of his Uncle Rodolfo and cousin Maurizio. Lady Gaga as Patrizia is cunning and shrewd in her calculated approach to re-structure the family and the business. She plays whatever games she must to get where she wants to be. I found her first half performance to be truly outstanding. Pacino is the actor who has trademarked hammy performances over the years, yet here, he fully grasps his role and character, and is a delight to watch.

Much of this is documented by history, though the Gucci family claims not all is or was how it seems. Whether the boost in counterfeiting/knock-offs went down in the 70's and 80's as it's portrayed here, might be an area worth researching, but this is much less a case study in business principles as it is one in family dynamics. I'll certainly understand those who argue against the story structure here, but the entertainment value proved to be enough for me. As the Gucci tagline goes, "Quality is remembered long after price is forgotten", but the backstabbing and disloyalty is never forgotten - despite providing great theater (and fashion).

Opens in theaters on November 24, 2021.
73 out of 114 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A pseudo Italian circus
ptrzanetti25 November 2021
As in many other works from his career, Sir Ridley Scott exploits a potentially good and interesting story to create an absolute commercial blockbuster where American stereotypes and soap opera lines becomes the protagonists at expense of the movie itself.

Are we sure that he is so distant from the average marvel/dc genre that he likes to criticise as boring and superficial?
31 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not good at all
mdlong8225 November 2021
Acting and writing not good, seemed poorly edited. Not sure what the people are on that are giving this a high rating, but don't waste your money. Boring story, wait to stream it somewhere.
29 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible Acting
nadia-gulli26 November 2021
This was really a let down. The accents were aweful. The chemistry was off. Bad casting. People are being generous because we all love the two Gs...Gucci and Gaga.
41 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
An Accent-uated study of family strife.
bob-the-movie-man2 December 2021
As I'm on holiday at the moment in Portugal, this was seen as "Casa de Gucci". But the soundtrack was English with Portuguese subtitles. At least, I *think* it was English!

Positives:
  • Other than the bare outlines, it's a story I knew nothing about, so it made for interesting viewing. And who doesn't want to see some escapist high-fashion, flashy cars and Italian high-living on the big screen?


  • Adam Driver delivers another stonking performance. He delivers the best of the accents on show and is a delight to watch whenever he's on screen. His performance is deliciously subtle and under-played. A model for acting lessons.


  • Al Pacino, in full-on Pacino mode, is also great as Maurizio's uncle: owner of the other half of the empire.


Negatives:
  • The accents! Where do I begin? I felt a desperate need mid-film to order a Cornetto and go compare my car insurance online. While Driver and Pacino tend to rein it in, most of the rest of the cast assume accents approaching a bad parody of Italians. Jared Leto and Gaga are particularly guilty.


  • I appreciate that the part of the "idiot" Paolo Gucci was meant to be comedic, but Jared Leto seems to almost be in a different film entirely. There's 'over-the-top' and 'waaaaay over-the-top'.


  • I've seen some other reviews praising Lady Gaga... saying that it proves her performance in "A Star is Born" wasn't just a "flash in the pan". Personally, I didn't feel it. I appreciate that the character of Patrizia is a larger-than-life one. But, although she did have some impressive scenes, for most of her performance I felt like she was obviously acting, and sometimes over-acting. The accent didn't help.


  • The film has a banging set of tunes, no argument. But for a sprawling drama told over a few decades (the film is nearly 160 minutes long!), music should be used to anchor the movie as to which year you are currently in. Donna Summer "I Feel Love": so it must be 1977. But the movie doesn't consistently follow that rule. It's the early 70's, but suddenly George Michael's "Faith" blares out. #Unsettling.


  • This may be my lack of concentration, but there seems to be an assertion in the film (presumably completely false) that Aldo Gucci was supporting/producing knockoff Gucci products for the mass-market: a "lucrative product line" that was later canned by Maurizio. I was personally confused by this bit of the story.


Summary Thoughts on "House of Gucci": This was not the <2* bust that I thought it might be from early word I saw from other reviews. The fact that it turns out to be a 158 minute film surprised me, since it felt long... but not that long. So that's a good thing. And it has its moments for sure. But this is not a movie that I will be in a hurry to revisit, since the accents and some of the performances (Jared Leto - take one step forwards) are not ones that I thought worthy of the potential that the movie had. For me, Ridley, I'll take "The Last Duel" any day.

(For the full graphical review, check out #onemannsmovies online. Thanks.)
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What's with the fake Italian accent? Overall very disappointing.
vanessamarandino11 December 2021
First, Lady Gaga can't act, and that fake Italian accent was painful to watch. The movie timeline is all over the place. They completely miss the point on Italian culture. The movie felt like a cheap parodie of Italians. Many of the scene were painfully awkward.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Entertaining with an all-star cast
JJFan9430 November 2021
House of Gucci was entertaining throughout! I loved this movie and already saw it two times. Lady Gaga was the best part, really enjoyed her performance. But everybody in this movie was fantastic!
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A chict business infected by greed
oscarpilaker27 November 2021
It is not often I can sit completely still for 3 hours straight, but House of Gucci had me totally paralyzed with good actors, chict plot and a really nice setting. All the aesthetic parts about the movie really reflected the true face of Italy in the 90's from old cars to precise designs of jewlery and fashion. I really admire the director and his eye for the lifestyle shown in the movie, he sure is an artist. The fact that the movie is based on a true story is both fascinating and intreging and I believe the Gucci-case is something extra ordinary and not something you hear about that often.

However, I have to say that Adam Driver as Maurizio Gucci unfortunately did not meet up to my expectations regarding the actors... In his defense though, it is hard to appear as a exceptional actor in a movie starring Al Pacino and Lady Gaga.

To sum things up, I really appreciated the movie and the cast, this is a movie everyone should see and be inspired of.
21 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A mixed bag of good and dreadful...
tccandler27 November 2021
The rise and fall and subsequent rise of the Gucci empire is an interesting story. The two leads are very good (Gaga and Driver), somehow holding all the disparate pieces together. However, director Ridley Scott lets the pacing get away from him. This film is easily 45 minutes too long. Also, there are some atrocious performances from Jared Leto, Al Pacino and Salma Hayek in supporting roles.
24 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Interesting story on the Gucci family but film is uneven and long.
cruise014 December 2021
3 out of 5 stars.

House of Gucci is a fair biographical crime drama film that gives an insight on the greed, scandal, and betrayal with the Gucci family. Basically, the high fashion design company that we know today that is worth billions.

Good story. Adam Driver did a fantastic job with his role and Lady Gaga aiming for award winning performance. Playing his wife who has been planting ideas on his head that caused him to betray his family for the power of the company. Jared Leto also did a fantastic job playing the incompetent cousin in the family and unrecognizable role.

The film tries to be fun with playing a 70/80s soundtrack. Showing a biographical story on the Gucci family. The film does run a little too long with its run times. And the direction is uneven with its tone.

Overall great performances from the cast and story.
19 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A TV movie.
Gonnabe201524 November 2021
The Gagas are enjoying the movie for their own reasons but it's a TV movie with better directing and big names. I don't get the reason of its existence either. A rather dull real crime story.
47 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed