Big Freaking Rat (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Don't rat it out
kosmasp22 May 2021
The best thing about this movie is the review titled "Burn it all" ... yes I tell you stop reading this and read that other review ... nah you can read this too and the other review! It is at least for my 5 cents an obvious troll comment! Someone knew their 10 star rating wouldn't change a thing - the review text says it all.

The movie itself is only bearable if you can cut it some slack ... a lot of slack! Acting is ... well never mind that! Although to be fair Felissa Rose is in this! And I am surprised she doesn't show up in the cast listing on the first page here on imdb! I'm certain that will change. What you don't really need to change/add is the "plot". Nothing to see here.

For a low budget movie, the creature itself is quite decent. Although I'm certain that some will compare it to a parody. A lot of blood and dialog that will make you cringe! A shower scene without nudity (I mean why even bother right?) and I reckon the general sense that horror movies are cheap ... still you can feel the passion and the love for the genre those involved have. You may like it better than other (re)viewers here ... just suspend your disbelief from here to eternity and you're good.

PS: almost forgot to mention it, but you could see it in my summary line! A lot of rat jokes - ratting out and all that ... and a part of the movie that could work as a gangster comedy/spoof too. The reason I went from my initial 3 to a 4 rating - acting was fine too for that part - better than for the most of the other parts for sure.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Now that's was a big rat...
paul_haakonsen24 October 2020
Well, sure, I didn't really have much of any expectations to this 2020 movie titled "Big Freaking Rat", but still I sat down to watch it on the offbeat chance that it would actually be one of those movies that are so bad that they are actually becoming good.

But "Big Freaking Rat" from writer and Thomas J. Churchill wasn't exactly one of those movies. Sure, it was watchable, but the movie wasn't particularly impressive or memorable.

First of all, the storyline and the characters were just too bland, and at times actually pointless. And that was something that the movie suffered from, to be bluntly honest.

As for the special effects, well... This is not a top notch multi-million dollar special effects movie, no doubt about it. This is a low budget and low practical special effects movie, pure and simple. I will say, however, that the rat was actually working out well in favor of the movie. Sure, it was horribly fake and you never saw it in full length, size and view. But there was just something odd about it and it worked out well in the way they opted to present and make use of the massive rat on the screen.

However, the rat just wasn't enough to salvage the movie, and it wasn't an outstanding movie experience. I am rating "Big Freaking Rat" a mere three out of ten stars. Good enough for a single viewing, but it is the type of movie that you will forget about once seen and never return to watch it a second time. "Big Freaking Rat" was not a glorious addition to the creature feature genre.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun and cheesy creature feature
kannibalcorpsegrinder22 October 2020
After heading out to a campground, the crew on-staff preparing for the upcoming seasonal reopening go about their duties for the event, but when a series of strange incidents around the park cause them to believe something is out there they discover a giant rat mutated by chemical waste and must stop it before it gets out of hand.

This was a pretty fun if still slightly flawed genre effort. One of its better aspects is the fun and cheesy setup with the arrival of the killer rat tearing through the community rather sneakily. Seeing the group go about their chores getting everything set up while having the creature attack randomly out in the state park has quite a lot to like, from the hikers who arrive at the woods, the homeless man in the underground tunnels where no one can see him or the series of brief attacks on the various crew of the camp. Getting these scenes with the fun practical rat-prop or hand-puppet that visibly tears into them in wholly gruesome manners offering some solid indie-styled gore in the process is quite fun as this one gets ready for its big finale. That finale is where this one really kicks in as the giant rat is discovered and has a lot to like. Charging into the tent to grab the one victim and chasing the girlfriend back to the camp is a wholly enjoyable sequence, much like the massacre at the family reunion where it tears through everybody quite nicely. With the fun ambush on the mobsters' hideout or the attack on their headquarters which have some great kills and action involved, this sets off into the big chase to stop the creature throughout the lodge and down in the underground tunnels that have a solid sense of cheese about it, the action here comes together nicely which gives the film plenty of positives to hold it up. There are some minor issues to be had here. One of the biggest issues is the obvious bits that denote its low-budget nature, which is still not that big a deal but serve as some problematic areas. The knowing conversations that seem like fan-speak than anything relatable to natural engagement, leading to overlong scenes that go nowhere and make it somewhat longer than it needed to be. Other time-wasting scenes, such as the mobster subplot or the momentum-killing scenes with the non-singer trying to entertain the family reunion just kill the pacing of this one even though both of these scenes pay off rather nicely. As well, the rushed finale has the proper idea of what it's trying to accomplish but just rushes through the motions, which all hold this one down somewhat.

Rated Unrated/R: Graphic Violence and Graphic Language.
0 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
LOL
staunton-gary18 October 2020
Silly movie that seemed to work. A bit of a giggle.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
just Brilliant
roger_202013 October 2020
Fun movie with a great cast. Wasn't meant to be taken too seriously.Couldn't get the song out of my head. By the end of the movie I was ready to buy the soundtrack. i hope Big Freaking Rat comes on 4k
2 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Weird and misses the mark
ravencorinncarluk14 October 2020
Only one other review at the time of posting, so I thought I would also give this movie a shot.

It's only redeeming feature is that it watches more like an amateur flick, made by a bunch of friends over the weekend. Part of me wants to give an extra star or two for that reason, but Churchill has too many credits to his name to not know better.

Jokes - such as they are - drag on far too long, and were never funny to begin with. Acting is flat, and dialogue is just bad. More time is devoted to bashing Millenials than the monster rat. No real plot or story, and the climax is rushed.

Not even worth it on a lark.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Went in Blind and was Surprised
deadgirlrising13 October 2020
There was no plot synopsis, no rating, no reviews but I went ahead and watched Big Freaking Rat anyway. I was pleasantly surprised. Sure it is low budget and suffers some as a result. But the shortcomings not withstanding it is a fairly watchable movie that provides some laughs and kills.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
oh my g ggod
GarfieldPhone10 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
How is the rat so big....,,,,.,.,. oh my gofd,,,.,.,. hwo.,,,..
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Burn it all
eminateapparel1 April 2021
This movie changed my life. It revolutionized what I think about rats. I never took the time to consider they could get that freaking big.
4 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
this is a moving masterpiece
ashiatorres24 December 2021
Out of all the movies I've seen my fifteen years of being a film critic, I have never came across such a life changing film. The movie revolves around a rat that consumes toxic waste and becomes a BIG FREAKING RAT. It has violence, psychological horror, suspenseful scenes, and two separate amazing storylines. It all ties in together with an upgraded Elvis Presley-like man and creates the most iconic scene (I still quote to my beautiful wife) to ever exist, ",..Now that's a big freaking rat."

It saddens my heart to not see anymore very intense and horrifying psychological movies anymore. Back in the day, it was the big SLIME, but now it's Big FREAKING RAT.

This is a classic movie for many generations to come, I recommend to everyone in Wisconsin, U. S.

Thank you for reading my review which I poured my entire heart and soul out to. <3.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed