North Hollywood (2021) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
231 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A fun movie.
twclark-4946516 May 2021
The movie is fun! It's not supposed to be a Scorsese film with layers on top of layers of plot. It's a coming of age movie about skateboarding with its obvious flaws, it's really not that deep.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It's alright. The cinematography was the best quality of this film.
r34lz21 May 2021
I liked the way it was filmed - the composition and even the lens they used but the story felt unfinished. I think the film should have been longer or have a better ending. I wanted to see the main character make a part and get sponsored or win a contest and see his dad waiting for him to bring home the money and the trophy. The ending was just not satisfactory. The dialogue's alright. The friendship between the three friends was portrayed realistically. That's one thing that was done right in this film. As I mentioned before, the one thing that made this film enjoyable was the cinematography. That wide lens look is what kept me from looking away. I would love to see more films shot with a wide lens.

Overall, the film was just alright. I think if Illegal Civ keeps making more films they might be on to something.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Start and you can't stop
cekadah24 June 2021
This film may have flaws in it's crafting but it is full of spirit !!!!

👍
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
So many fake reviews
Draysan-Jennings18 May 2021
How could someone honestly rate this film a 10. I don't know what the hell everyone else was watching but this film was straight boring. Someone on here even said it's the greatest movie ever and that they drove two hours to see it LMAO ya right buddy! This film just floats along and nothing really happens. It was pretty much pointless. 5 stars.
29 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The movie to watch if you love illegal civ.
hammyham-1384315 May 2021
I'm gonna keep this short and straight to the point

This is Mikey alfreds first time as a director and for the first time it's great. However some of the writing especially Miranda cosgroves writing felt very unnatural and it felt like she was reading a script and trying to put emotion behind it. On the other hand in my opinion Ryder, Aramis, Angus Cloud all were very surprised me in their abilities Nico Hiraga was good don't get me wrong just some of his like delivery was very strange.

The story is simple and straight to the point it also doesn't waste anytime from the very beginning he wants to be a pro skater and he strives for it.

Overall a very good film for a debut and I'm excited to see where this team and this director goes in the future.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
mediocre on a good day.
shashrvacai11 July 2021
Extremely mediocre, but i believe that some people are into that stuff.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
b reviews NH
brandenthanadabouth12 April 2021
North Hollywood (2020) is the directorial debut of Mikey Alfred, the creative director and founder of the first teen movie studio and skateboard/clothing brand, Illegal Civilization is a film that I have been anticipating for a while now especially since this was produced by Pharrell Williams. NH is a biopic, centered around Mikey, a high school water polo player/alter boy set on his course of being a pro skateboarder. This isn't without its obstacles as his dad and others, mostly Mikey himself, get in his way of achieving his dream. I had the pleasure of attending one of the live stream dates and it felt like such a unique occasion as everything has transitioned to some sort of virtual platform. Least to say that this was a very cool experience for me and I'm sure the rest of the viewers. This movie is not the best movie out. I was definitely expecting more from the Illegal Civ group, but what I saw was an elongated Illegal Civ YT video. I love music don't get me wrong, and music heavily influences the films that I script-write, but a lot of it seemed unnecessary. Some transitions seemed like they were in there because they "looked and sounded cool" which they did, but totally threw off the whole tempo of the film. The acting was subpar, especially from Ryder. I love you bro, but you definitely have a long way to go. I will say that some of the performances where very surprising to me, Angus, Nico, Armais, all really well done by them. The scene with Gillian Jacobs was great. I just have problems with the main cast. Miranda Cosgrove didn't really add much for me as Mikey's love interest. Not very compelling when she was on screen. Vince Vaughn as Mikey's dad had his moments, however there were parts where it was hard to distinguish his "caring" moments from his "lecture" moments. I think this was a great casting job however, but I think this leads into one of my main gripes with the movie, being the script. There were parts in this movie where it felt very natural, however there would be little instances of what I call "novel dialogue", sounding like someone is reading from a novel, which really throws thing off during the watch. There were some technical issues when it came to rack focusing, but overall the cinematography was very classic Illegal Civ, which is a good thing as it is unique to them. It is a beautifully shot movie, the set designs, the fits where all very well done. Overall, I see the potential, I really do, but this film left more to be desired. The editing choices, the acting, the script really slid this film of the rails for me. I will be looking out for more films by Illegal Civ however because you guys are sick and I love what you are doing! Keep at it!
22 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
NORTH HOLLYWOOD HAS AN AUDIENCE!!!
didcay7 October 2020
Big movie people go distribute and advertise NOHO everywhere cause everyone wants to see it!!!
37 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Really hit home for me!
jackbowman-6286215 May 2021
Warning: Spoilers
As a teenager today I could really empathize with Michaels struggles of friendship, love, and passion. I felt his pain and anxiety throughout the whole movie but at the same time could see both sides of the argument between his friends and family. Not only that but a lot of the things Micheal experienced I somewhat experienced myself, the troubles of having a girlfriend and a best friend at the same time, having your family want you to do something you didn't wanna do and drifting away from close friends. Near the end when Micheal and Adolf made up and hugged I teared up a bit because something exactly the same happened to me once but me and my past friend never made up so it really made me think of him and how we both should have changed and learned and grew together. I also could feel Michaels passion to be cool and hangout with pros and having a friend who is just a loser, again I went through the same thing. I could really tell that the people making this movie understood being a skater and being a teenager and how tough it is. I also thought that the actor was superb, Vince Vaughn and the lead cast did incredible in their roles and I could feel the tension while watching. The only critiques I really have are from a director stand point like how some of the scenes are a little misplaced or filmed funny. In all I loved this movie and have already watched it twice today. I recommend it to anyone who is or once was a skater in their teen years.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Festival Piece
mr-altex7 June 2022
This is basically a festival piece.

Character development of "follow your dream" while making mistakes on the way seems like the standard festival category.

I find it very average. Comedy was lacking, drama was lacking. Vince Vaughn got his paycheck. Ryder McLaughlin was fairly good.

There just isn't anything exceptional about this movie.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
pretty good
shmielliot16 May 2021
Good coming of age film. I thoroughly enjoyed it and am impressed.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Mehh...
kirdoma14 May 2021
This movie is just boring. A lot of the scenes are just stupid and most of the drama is cringey. Felt like they got a script for a straight-to-dvd children's movie and tried to make it into a serious film. A lot of the actors seem alright but a lot of the dialog was just bad. Some of the actors/characters (the girl and Tyshawn) seemed out of place, but that's mostly on the director. Cinematography was very nice but that doesn't fix the bad writing, dull plot line and poor directing.
29 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nice story about teenage friendship and faith
gibbiv20 September 2021
This is a story that shows how friendships are challenged as times change and how faith is summoned and persevered when the ones you love most doubt you.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Nice
atractiveeyes8 October 2021
This is a beautiful fun coming of age movie. It is simple, real, inspiring and flows beautifully. It also tackles interesting topics like pursuing your dream, friendship and family. The film is well written, shot and acted.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Boring, coming of age film for skate fans only
budmerman20 May 2021
What may be good about this film is eclipsed by the most banal and boring story. Skaters are going to watch no matter. Everyone else, avoid.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Naw ahh...
MovieCriticOnline31 May 2021
The first bad sign is the woke diverse cast. Only in Hollywood does the makeup of a group of friends consist of every race. I only mention it because when I see it, it feels forced and phony, especially since Hollywood is forcing filmmakers to include a diverse group of people to get included in the Oscars. I just hate casting based on some arbitrary made-up quotas.

A character named Adolf? Really? (face palm)

It was just a bunch of random scenes trying too hard to be American Graffiti. The music didn't help. Why all 50s music? It made no sense at all. It was so out of place and jarring. Nor did it make any sense that he never heard of Bob Hope after 20 years of living with his dad who was a fan. Growing up you just get to know what your parents like.

The other issue is the lead girl is 27 years old playing an 18-year-old.

Of course, they had to address all the social justice talking points. The writing wasn't interesting, funny, or engaging. All minutia, but not Seinfeld-style funny minutia. Then a bunch of useless background information, which wasn't even exposition, so there was no real point to it. I just quickly checked out during the dialogue. Nor did I buy for one second that this skater was a church-going guy.

They all had the intelligence of 5-year-old kids. This was a woke dumb, dumber, and dumberer.

After 45 minutes I had no idea where this movie was going and it just never went anywhere. His relationship with his dad was one noted. When someone gets an opportunity to make a film, which is super rare you should be on point. This was not, unfortunately, because I like to root for independent filmmakers.

The best part of the movie was the meeting with the Abigaile. That would have been an interesting relationship they could have explored because Rachel was a bore-fest and there was no reason for her to have a relationship with Michael.

The drama and fights between Michael and his friends were lazy and phony. It was almost like a bunch of home movies put together. And Michael didn't seem to fit in at all and his falling out with them was forced.

It was 90 minutes of "Good Will Hunting" trying to focus on skating while his dad trying to get him to go to college. That was it. Not every idea is a story. A story BUILDS and takes you somewhere.

SKIP IT!
25 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Interesting and unique
MaximilianSchuldt9 April 2021
This is Mikey Alfred of Illegal Civs debut Film and it was a pleasure to watch. You can really tell that this movie was made with love, even though the plot felt a bit too short and rushed at times. The visuals and way the movie was shot is spot on and the actors all did a good job. I can feel that Mikey Alfred has a long career in front of him if he continues with the same potential. All in all a good movie and honestly just worth watching even if you don't skate.
9 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Amateur
RydersLadder12 September 2021
Some decent shots, but that isn't too hard to pull off with an expensive camera and lighting. Acting was pretty horrific all around. Vince Vaughn... it felt to me like he regretted taking the role and just went through the motions without trying to hurt the directors' feelings. Female lead brought nothing to the table. This is dilettante filmmaking at best by a director and writer who think they know film because they've seen Goodfellas a hundred times. So has everyone else. Just watch Animal Chin if you are in a nostalgic mood. This ain't it.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Really bad movie
bigscoob-8469031 August 2021
Really bad movie I don't recommended anyone that skateboards to watch this.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The YOUTH needs more of this
calimdma12 July 2021
I don't think this movie couldn't have appeared on movie platforms like Amazon at a better time. Post Pandemic inspiration for tweens and kids this positive was the sweetest film I've seen in forever!
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Slow and plodding
thebushwacker2 June 2021
Maybe I was in a bad mood to be watching this. But it just plods along, and I didn't find it to be anything ... like entertaining for instance. It's a father trying to raise a son movie. // Vince Vaughn plays the father, Oliver, and his role is pretty bad. Not like he was acting badly, but the writing and directing are really lackluster. // Maybe someone else liked this movie more than me. I just didn't feel it. I tried napping while watching it, but the fingernails on the chalk board kept me awake. // The Bushwacker 6/2/2021.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What the hell did i just watch?
stovi12315 May 2021
1 hour and 33 minutes of a movie with no plot. Yikes, It was a tough one to get through.
22 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
North Hollywood: Good effort but ultimately lacking
fr907026 May 2021
This one is going to hurt because of how much I love Illegal Civ and the entire cast of this movie, however, this movie is very boring and it leaves you confused and maybe even angry. I payed the 18$ to watch it before it was released on iTunes and I can wholeheartedly say I wish I would have waited. The character was so hard to root for that I started to enjoy watching his life become a mess. Good actors are totally wasted and there's massive parts of the movie that are super dumb and have no purpose in furthering the plot. Like the lame scene with the joke that fails and all the homies are shaking their heads. Also the scene at that sketchy apartment when he gets beat up. This movie is so highly rated because all the kids who can't think critically don't want to seem like haters and actually admit the movie sucked. It's cool that this was made by skaters, for skater, starring skaters but when it comes to being a movie this was atrocious. With that being said I think Mikey has great potential and I'm excited to see what future projects he releases.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
NORTH HOLLYWOOD HAS AN AUDIENCE
brandychase-1798128 March 2021
Just was at the Premiere yesterday, and I thought it was amazing. The cinematography was impressive considering it's Mikey Alfred's debut film. The dialogue was pretty funny too, and to those saying it was mainly all swears, what'd you expect really? It's a movie about a 17/18 year old and his friends, and trying to find his age. I didn't go into it expecting a PG film.

Overall, I was satisfied with how it ended. Waiting for it to be released to the public. NOHO has an audience.
8 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What did I just watch?
Carpathia00727 March 2021
I'm very confused as the movie did not seem to have a plot. Very artistic style in filming, but the writing felt underwhelming and the dialogue most certainly was not family friendly as it seems that the vocabulary was limited to curse words for the majority of the film. Vaughn had a few funny lines but that's about all this film had going for it. Overall, I don't plan on watching it again.
15 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed