Howard Original (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Nice look at screenwriting
williamgway23 May 2021
This is a both thoughtful and amusing look at the process of writing for film and television. It is at times reflective but mostly humorous. Filmed in a interesting pace that showcases the actors fine performances. Worth a watch.
0 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun and funky look at the entertainment industry.
williamgway23 May 2021
This is a both thoughtful and amusing look at the process of writing for film and television. It is at times reflective but mostly humorous. Filmed in a interesting pace that showcases the actors fine performances. Worth a watch.
0 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Fake reviews alert!
windsorenquirer13 September 2021
I have no idea what other reviewers watched.

I would give it -10 if I could. I watched it for 10 min maybe, waiting and hoping for it to get better and I gave up, it was UNWATCHABLE!

Horrible! Stay away from this stinker.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Thought Provoking Indie Film!
NickRizzini16 June 2021
I've experienced so many different emotions watching this! I loved it. Don't be fooled by the look of it. When I search for an indie film, I'm looking for something bold, something different, something studios wouldn't have the guts to produce. I highly recommend!
0 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A gem of a film!
AtTheMovies5229 May 2021
My wife and I enjoyed this little gem of a film! First off, it's very rare we enjoy the same film and let alone sit and watch it from beginning to end together without one of us drifting off... Anyhow bravo to all associated with this film. We enjoyed the story and the acting. The actors did a very good job. A pat on the back to the director for telling this story at a good pace. We didn't experience any flat spots. So a big thumbs up from us on this one!!
0 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent Indie Featuer Film
kel-7027 May 2021
Warning: Spoilers
I enjoy watching independent feature films and this one was excellent. Highly recommended.
0 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My type of Indie
michelleharriswade17 June 2021
I loved this film. Everything about it. Even the way it started had me excited and reminded me of an old series sit com but then led into a movie. I'm into Indie films and this one makes you think. Especially if your into the creative writing/arts. For me it was relatable. I would watch it again. Bravo!
0 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Entertaining!
Classicfilmnoir23 May 2021
Well thought out look at the creative writing process. Solid pacing and well rounded performances sell the abstract nature of the film's subject matter very well.
0 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Genre bending and thought provoking
lasreviews31 May 2021
He's not a good guy, but he is an interesting one.

Howard was an argumentative, crass, and deeply prejudiced character whose profound lack of self-awareness made me shake my head. He was the last person I'd ever want to spend time with in real life, and yet I found myself fascinated by his repeated refusals to learn from his mistakes or listen to the feedback he was given about his abhorrent behavior from many of the women who crossed his path.

Other films on this topic would generally shown a small crack in the main character's persona early on as evidence that he knew what he was doing was wrong and that he was at least theoretically capable of changing. The fact that this one gave the audience no hints about him learning the error of his ways or even admitting he had major issues relating to other human beings only made me more curious to see how such a belligerent and stubborn character would react to all of the plot twists that were being thrown his way.

I was often confused by the flashbacks in the storyline. While some of them were necessary in order to understand the deeper meanings of the plot, they happened so regularly that I struggled to keep the timeline in order in my head. Once or twice I paused this film in order to write down how I thought everything fit together and then checked it later to see if I was correct. It would have been helpful if more of the most important scenes had been shown in the order they actually occurred. There were times when I was totally wrong about how they should have fit together, and that only puzzled me more.

Blending the satirical and dreamlike elements of the plot together was a good choice. This was especially true during the portions of it near the end that would have been easy to take literally if they'd been shot in a more straightforward manner. I appreciated having these reminders to dig more deeply into what was happening and think critically about what I was watching. They did a good job of tying up some loose ends for me.

Howard Original kept me on my toes. I'd recommend it to anyone who is in the mood for something genre bending and thought provoking.
0 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What is even worse than awful?
lhutcherson115 September 2021
Three words. Lamest Movie Ever. I was fooled by the ridiculous reviews posted here and tried to watch this pathetic mess.

It's not for me, or anyone I know.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed