My Name Is Pauli Murray (2021) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Excellent and inspiring
MikeyB179315 October 2021
Pauli Murray was a unique individual who transcended race and gender.

She struggled with the limits that a racist and sexist society imposed on her.

She went through so many transitions during her life from hopping on freight trains during the Great Depression to teaching at Yale and finally becoming an Episcopal priest.

This is a fine and sensitive documentary giving a close and intimate portrait of this fine human being. As some mentioned during the documentary we should all know who Pauli Murray was. She was ahead of her time and a beacon for a better humanity.

(why this is rated so low on IMDb (6.1 as of this writing) is beyond comprehension.)
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Finally...Intersectional Balance in Historical Documentaries
AmorLucis8 October 2021
This documentary is excellent in showing how white women supported black women and how black men did not support black women with respect to black women's civil rights as women--a balanced intersectional analysis that is generally ignored in other recent documentaries on black history and/or women's history.

I subtracted one star because (like other historical documentaries on black history and women's history) it went into graphic detail about INTERcommunity racial violence against black men, but did not go into graphic detail about INTRAcommunity gender violence against women of all races perpetuated within their own communities (i.e. Coverture, marital rape, femicide, human trafficking, etc.)

I also subtracted one star because they glossed over Murray's brilliant "Jane Crow" analysis, in which she demonstrated how the arguments to keep blacks and women in an inferior status are the same. The filmmakers kept the two issues of race and sex discrimination apart, but Murray rightly connected them, which is one of her most brilliant intellectual contributions to legal theory.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Finally- Credit Where Credit Is Due
angmck200913 October 2021
I'd heard Pauli's name for the first time when I watched RGB. So, I committed it to memory at that time, researched more about Pauli, and wondered when someone would create a documentary on Pauli's contributions. Finally! It is very well put together, educational, and tactful with Pauli doing a large portion of the narrating. I'm sure Pauli would be proud.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Why?????
kbrett-037958 October 2021
Why weren't we taught about Ms Murray??? It makes me angry that she has been hidden from me all my life!!!!

Extremely intelligent, Ms Murray should be held out, lauded and become a household name, known throughout the world!!! Extraordinary and well before her time!!!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An Unsung Hero
somethinginfo7 October 2021
This documentary portrays a woman of extraordinary drive, compassion, reason and intelligence. Yet she been an unknown to me until this superbly-constructed documentary becaame available. Kudos to the creators for finding her and making her come alive. How many unrecognizable heroes are out there? I need to open my eyes and find the beautiful and the brave around me.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A film we all need to watch
davidbacon10028 October 2021
The documentary format has been through a transformation in the last few years and there are tropes and conventions that, if used too frequently or without care, can become wearisome. The worst that can be said of this documentary is that it manages to avoid doing those things. The best thing about it is undoubtedly it's subject matter - the life of Pauli Murray. I think it would not be unreasonable to state that, even if this film were poorly constructed and clumsily sequenced, we should watch it regardless because we would learn about the extraordinary life of Dr. Murray. The fact that it is compelling, beautiful and intelligently presented makes it worth 90 minutes of everyone's time. So, seek it out and watch it. Pauli Murray deserves it - and so do you.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
How Did I Not Know This Woman?
slong-535664 October 2021
This is a beautifully filmed documentary about a woman of whom I'd never heard. What a life! This was a story that needed to be told for all of us who care about human rights and social justice.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Love Story for Democracy and Equality
gmosesx-116066 October 2021
Before they died, Pauli Murray wrote and recorded their autobiography. This film shares that voice to tell the moving story of a person who was way out in front of profound changes in Black civil rights, women's equality, and gay liberation. This is a love story for democracy and equality.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed