The Maiden Heist (2009) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
34 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
cool fun film
dexteruk7 February 2010
I really Enjoyed this film, and it was full of some suspense. Its a rather different film for sure. Other reviewers do not like how its unbelevable, but have they worked in such a place for any period of time, are they art lovers themselves? are they ever captivated by anything in life. I think this shows very well the obsessive nature of people. Anything can take a persons fancy, and become an obsession, a piece of sting, how mundane it is to some, could be someones obsession, and they could know all manner of things about it.

so in that respect this film touches on a good subject, has fun moments, and is not made to be a serious film, its a fun film, just i think people need to relax more and learn to just enjoy it.
53 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Better than Average Straight to DVD should have had theatrical release
dfwforeignbuff29 January 2010
Maiden Heist (2008) The Maiden Heist quickly sold out at its opening at the Edinburgh International Film Festival. It's a light-hearted caper that makes for undemanding viewing. It is a fairly entertaining comedy heist film starring Morgan Freeman, William Macy, and Christopher Walken. Plot. Great art has its protectors every day in the major museums. Three guards are more than dedicated to the job they do. Their museum brings in modern work that has no appeal to the guards, and the museum authorities plan to sell the classic pieces, sending them elsewhere in the world. When Roger (Christopher Walken) and George (William H. Macy) and Charles (Morgan Freeman) find their long-beloved work transplanted to Europe, they not only miss their favorite art pieces, but they make plans to steal the works with which they have become obsessed. Roger becomes the mastermind of an inside plot to perform the biggest art heist in the history of their museum. First each must obtain a forgery; then, they have to smuggle the forgeries into the museum and find a way to make the switches. The heist is complicated by Roger's intrusive wife - he's promised her a trip to Florida for their anniversary - and George's proclivity for taking his clothes off when standing in front of the warrior statue he loves. THE MAIDEN HEIST was originally going to have a theatrical release, but the bankruptcy of the Yari Film Group put the film in a direct to DVD status. It feels like a 70s movie that Walter Matthau and Jack Lemon would have done, where slightly nutty characters would made the film but that's not the case anymore. This is a comedy that might make Woody Allen fans recall (affectionately) Small Time Crooks, even though this film is very different to Allen's caper. The Maiden Heist isn't another turkey unceremoniously dumped to Netflix. It's an above average straight-to-DVD effort, it is weaker than one might expect considering its power stars in the cast . It's really quite an entertaining comedy though more could have been done but I like it OK as it was. Not a great film but not a bad film 3 stars.
38 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A fun little movie
kosmasp3 August 2010
That could. Not because of the story so much, but more because of the actors that are in it. And is it a bad thing, that this movie works mainly because of the three main actors? Don't be fooled by the mention of Breckin Meyers though, he doesn't have a big role in this (just in case you're a fan of his).

No this movie belongs to the "big three". Mainly to Christopher Walken, because he is the lead. But everyone else gets his time and they are really great. They have funny scenes and the movie roles along quite nicely. Maybe if it had a better script, a greater antagonist (there really isn't one), it could have been better. But it is a nice watch and a good film.
28 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Don't go with the rating
monith2345 July 2010
Well it's quite a surprise for me that this movie being so funny is lowly rated. What's worth watching is the star cast,and above all the plot. The movie gets even more interesting towards the end. The role of Rose played by Marcia Harden is too good and she nicely fits into the role. This movie will definitely give good hearty laughs,don't miss out on this. Although they could have got more comic element into it but, still its good entertainment. The characters of Roger,George and Charles are outstanding. Roger has the uncanny habit of getting into embarrassing situations. Roger does most of the comedy. A real thumbs up for this movie.
26 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Try it...really...please...
skunkgyrl6 June 2010
I loved this movie. Hubby brought it home for my birthday pizza-movie night and it was wonderful. The characters are different from what you would normally see these fine actors playing and it seems like they enjoyed it! The performances were uniformly excellent. The story was lovely.

And I, at least, believed that these pieces were THAT important to these characters. I think if you stand in the presence of art for hours...days...months...years...you could easily find in it the source for what you feel you are missing.

Some of the reviews say it is slow, but I think sometimes it is so nice to take a little time to get to know the characters in a story rather than having their life story shoved down your throat in 90 seconds so that the explosions can begin...give it a try...please...
35 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
For the Love of Art
gradyharp2 January 2011
THE MAIDEN HEIST (there is a more to the title than you might think) is like getting together with old friends for a chuckle. Michael LeSieur has written a feel good comedy and Peter Hewitt has directed that script with the help of a fine cast and the results are a fun film that has some gentle hidden messages about friendship, relationships, and loving your job.

A Boston art museum is making plans to ship an exhibition of works to Denmark. This news is hocking and upsetting to three of the museum guards: Charles (Morgan Freeman, in a subtle gender twist) is passionate for a painting of a girl with cats, Roger (Christopher) is literally enamored by a painting of a lonely girl on a beach, and military minded George (William H. Macy) is so obsessed by a bronze sculpture of an athlete that he secretly poses au natural imitating the pose of the athlete when no one is around. When these three works are designated to be part of the shipment to Denmark the three men pop into action - they find artists to copy their beloved artworks to 'exchange' in the crates when the exhibition leaves the museum. How they achieve this bold heist is the plot of the film. There are many problems: the exchanged crate must contain the authentic pieces accompanied by George until the shipment leaves the museum, and Roger's intrusive wife Rose (Marcia Gay Harden) nearly aborts the boys' plan by insisting on an anniversary trip to Florida. The heist has its problems, as the museum guards are simply good guys trying to prevent the sale of their beloved art works they guard every day. The poster line says it all: 'They're not bad guys, just bad thieves.'

It is a pleasure to see three fine actors such as Freeman, Walken and Macy pull off this comedy, aided by the absurd character Marcia Gay Harden inhabits. It is well-scripted full and it is very obvious that these actors are having a great time with the film.

Grady Harp
21 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Like Freeman's THE CODE, a mix of the decent and not-so-decent
Wizard-825 November 2009
What's up with Morgan Freeman appearing in heist movies that go direct to video? Just a few months ago we got THE CODE, and now we have THE MAIDEN HEIST. Actually, it does appear that THE MAIDEN HEIST was originally going to have a theatrical release, but the bankruptcy of the Yari Film Group put an end to those plans and no other distributor seemed interested in releasing it to theaters.

Based on that fact, you might think that this is a bad movie, but it's not. There are some positive things about it. The production values are pretty strong for what was reportedly a somewhat limited budget; nothing about the movie looks cheap. The planning of the heist and the execution of the heist have some believable complications, and what's done about them are believable as well. Some humorous touches are amusing. Freeman, Walken, and Macy play a likable bunch of fellows that you hope will succeed.

But there's also some not-so-decent things about the movie. The violent opening fantasy sequence seems way out of place with its harsh tone. Except for Walken's character, we don't learn too much about the characters in the movie. There are some unexplained things in the movie, like where the thieves got the van and how Walken's character adjusted the vacation he was going to take with his wife. The main problem, however, is that while the movie is refreshingly low key, it's TOO low key. It's lacking a bit more edge to it. Some more excitement or some more laughs would have helped a lot.

Maybe it's best that this didn't land in theaters; I wouldn't have recommended to pay full price to see it in a theater. But if you like caper movies, like any or all of the three lead actors, and you can see it for little or no cost, it's an acceptable time waster.
30 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Funny...
sedagive4215 May 2011
Of course it was no :Lion in Winter, but it was funny, lighthearted and had 4 good actors in it. If you are a fan of any of them you won't be disappointed. I was surfing and just happened to come across it. Cute and a great way to spend a rainy afternoon. I am sorry some others have taken such a negative view. It does not pretend to be a serious drama, and I am sure Walken, Freeman, Harden and Macy had a great time making it. It plays to characters they have all played.....and there is no blood or gore. I did enjoy the 'getting ready" scenes they played really well..and so what if the background is not what you expected..it is still worth the time..
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good actors & a predictable storyline ... an innocent satirical comedy.
CinemaAddict25 October 2009
This film has less to do with art than some might suggest. Rather, this great satire is centred on the ridicule of the modern man. Having rid himself of any history, cultural belief and, ultimately, of his identity, in the name of liberty, equality and multiculturalism while the superficial industrial regimes imposed their utilitarian philosophy during the last couple centuries, the meaninglessness of the modern man's life is ever so flagrant.

Peter Hewitt casts great actors to play the role of museum security guards who have spent the better part of their lives standing still. Each of these guards becomes attached to and finds meaning for his life in one of the pieces of art of the museum. However unexciting the main storyline might be, Hewitt uses the script to build this satire on so much realism that it makes for a good comedy.

If you are looking for a light and innocent comedy, can look past a couple stereotypes and predictable twists, than you might enjoy this movie.
71 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Moving the art
Prismark1013 September 2016
Roger (Christopher Walken) is a security guard in a museum who spends the day in front of the painting 'The Lonely Maiden' which he admires. He knows so much about the painting he can give an in depth talk about it to the museum visitors. When he is bored he daydreams of saving the museums from armed crooks which is a scene that the film opens with.

The rest of the film is underwhelming and low key as Roger finds out that museum is selling its collection to a museum in Denmark. Two other security guards Charles (Morgan Freeman) and George (William H Macy) are just as upset at this decision as they too have a favourite object of beauty at the museum. Moving to Denmark is not a viable option.

They decide to steal their favourite pieces and replace it with a copy but it is easier said than done. George who claims to be ex military and who also likes to be naked has the more difficult task when it comes to making the switch.

The film is amiable but also forgettable and at times it is just unexciting before it becomes more tense at the latter part of the picture. It is more a light comedy than drama but I could not help thinking that all three leads have made better heist films before such as Walken in The Anderson Tapes and Macy in Welcome to Collinwood.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hollywood Reborn
kcterrell-250466 November 2018
This film is charming, and a little quirky, and gives everything you would expect from this trio of Walken, Freemand and Macy. I didn't know Hollywood could still make films like this. Lots of parallels to the old Alec Guiness comedies, but it borrows from nothing. An original story, superbly acted and directed, along with a plot that doesn't slow down. A really tight little story. Loved it!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Interpreting Maiden Heist
mrmac-119 May 2011
9 out of 10 for what I perceive this film is expressing.

There is something really special, unique even, about this film, whatever you think about story or acting, that follows at the end below.

How to show the extraordinary in the ordinariness of people's lives? And present it in an interesting and entertaining way, without being judgmental? First, choose three of the most accomplished actors of the past half-century. Then make the story about good guys being naughty, sorta in the anti-hero vein. Finally, add feelings of genuine affection, friendship and love.

This is an actors movie, and will be especially gratifying for those who appreciate consummate acting. But there's more to it. Many years back I read an article in the NYT Magazine discussing the work of Glenda Jackson. They described her as an "honest" actor. Honesty is a quality of every great actor. Honesty comes from innocence, perhaps being totally honest with oneself. These three (actually four considering Harden) actors are so accomplished that they need not convince us – they *are* their characters. What acting is about. Just like life. We each find something interesting in our lives, and this not only connects us with others but provides a way to express ourselves and find friendship, even love, but most certainly, the possibility of a kindness within that is particularly human. The quotes below touch on this.

kosmasp - And is it a bad thing, that this movie works mainly because of the three main actors?

skunkgyrl - THE MAIDEN HEIST (there is a more to the title than you might think) is like getting together with old friends for a chuckle. . . .the results are a fun film that has some gentle hidden messages about friendship, relationships, and loving your job. . . It is a pleasure to see three fine actors such as Freeman, Walken and Macy pull off this comedy, aided by the absurd character Marcia Gay Harden inhabits. It is well-scripted full and it is very obvious that these actors are having a great time with the film.

dexteruk - Anything can take a persons fancy, and become an obsession, a piece of string, how mundane it is to some, could be someones obsession, and they could know all manner of things about it.

So here it is. What is truly special about this film is its ending, or the plural, "endingS." Endings are extremely important to any story, and especially in film because of its immediacy and closeness to everyday reality (and notice how many novels have an epilogue). Dysfunctional endings in films (and I'm not talking about endings that leave things hanging, as these can be quite an effective device to involve us in the story) that come to mind (and ruined fine stories) are The Temp and January Man. Dontya want an ending that provides a new beginning, or at least gets you to ponder further? This film has four, yes, four endings. The test of this perception is to view the film from when Christopher Walken is snorkeling in the ocean on to the end, first discovering each of the four endings, ending the film in your mind after each of them, and using your imagination to find out if each would work in terms of the story. Really. There are four endings. What the artist creates is not always conscious. They are each a channel. And so I don't think that the four endings were by design. But they are there. And wonderfully refreshing.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
.
JoeBscully19 June 2014
It was a sweet family movie. It had lots of plot holes that young kids might not pick up on (and maybe a bit too much of William H. Macy's ass) but to be honest it was a forgettable movie that wasn't much of a comedy. The way it was advertised was completely deceiving. The DVD cover showed the 3 characters with guns. The movie had nearly no guns. It even showed the villains in the character Roger's imagination ( which lasted about 40 seconds.) I watched this movie expecting a high action cleverly thought out heist movie. The cover made the movie look darker and a thriller. Instead I got a movie full of nearly no jokes, awkward hugs and some guy getting naked for statues. NOT AN ACTION MOVIE
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
great cast, highly entertaining
blanche-226 October 2014
I can't believe this comedy went right to DVD. When I think of some of the garbage the big studios put out and call comedy, I'm appalled that "The Maiden Heist" did not have a theatrical release. However, I believe the production company went bankrupt.

The films stars Morgan Freeman, Christopher Walken, William H. Macy, and Marcia Gay Harden. Freeman, Walken, and Macy are museum guards. Each over time has become attached to a particular work of art. For Roger (Walken), it's The Lonely Maiden; for Charles (Freeman), it's a portrait of a woman with cats; and for George (Macy) it's the sculpture of an athlete which so consumes him that each time he sees it (thankfully as he's guarding at night) he strips off his clothes and copies the pose.

When the three learn that these pieces are all going to Denmark, they devise a plan to switch them with copies. Since they've studied these works and know every subtlety, nothing passes muster, and it takes a while to get everything assembled. Then they volunteer to help pack and take the art to the airport. In a subplot, Roger's annoying wife (Harden) wants to take a trip to Florida, and because of her big mouth, Roger almost doesn't get to be part of the packing-switching. On the actual day of the job, there are some unexpected occurrences.

Very funny, fresh comedy with outstanding performances by everyone but Harden, an excellent actress but here, she is over the top. WAY over. She may very well have been directed that way, but that New York accent was overdone. In one of the last scenes in the van, however, she is absolutely hysterical reacting to what she thinks is a surprise planned by Roger.

A wonderful movie, a warm film about friendship, and a passion for art among everyday guys. The movie has two endings; you'll think it's over but there's a little more. I really loved it.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
One To Avoid At All Costs!
brdlybaum18 February 2016
I have given it 2 for the three main leads as in who they are not how well they acted! The acting was horrendous their overacting was very good! They must have been out of their minds to sign up to it and if they weren't then what the flip were they thinking?!?! More to the point what were any of the cast thinking including the extras?!?! OK, so the extras were probably thinking something along the lines of 'I could do with the extra money' but the rest of them?!?! This film is predictable, tedious, unfunny, predictable, boring....

THERE IS NOTHING GOOD ABOUT THIS DREADFUL STRAIGHT-TO-VIDEO RUBBISH! From the blatantly obvious beginning, to the blatantly obvious middle, from the blatantly obvious middle to the end of the film, IT WAS ALL BLATANTLY OBVIOUS!
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Based on Danish movie
thomasbager8 May 2011
During this movie it slowly occurred to me that its, very much based on a series of danish movies named "Olsen Banden" which translates = "The Olsen Gang" Christoffer Walkens wife's character is completely based on the wife of one of the characters in "Olsen Banden" as well, even their dilemma about cancelling their vacation, because of the heist, is taken from the same series of movies.

In this clip they are talking about having to cancel their vacation as well, notice she speaks, and dresses the same :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BAAAQaHaDlg ...even the danish security guard in the end of the movie, is like a tribute to the danish movies, because the jacket that he wears would certainlu not be worn in todays Denmark, but was featured many times in these danish 70's movies. Also, even the mention of Denmark is a tribute. So the makers of "The Maiden Heist" certainly haven't tried to hide the fact that they were influenced by "Olsen Banden".
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
An unusual comedy platter
Chris_Docker29 June 2009
Art shouldn't just be for highbrow types. A painting can have special meaning. Even for an ordinary blue-collar Joe. At least that's the message from director Pete Hewitt. This is knockabout comedy that might make Woody Allen fans affectionately recall Small Time Crooks, even though this film is very different to Allen's caper and wears its point on its sleeve. "Great art is not solely the domain of the connoisseur," says Hewitt. "Anyone can be emotionally transported by a few paint smudges on a canvas." Hewitt (Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey, Thunderpants) has here come up with a grand robbery that is for love rather than money. Three misfit security guards at the museum embark on a dangerous journey to save the things they hold dear.

Decorated with a galaxy of stars, the Maiden Heist has been avidly awaited by fans worrying if it will see the light of day. In December 2008, the distribution arm of the Yari Film Group responsible filed for bankruptcy. Yari's Emily Lambert e-mailed the Globe saying, "I don't anticipate any screenings of The Maiden Heist in the near future," and producer Rob Paris went scrambling to find a new distributor. With a comparatively modest budget of $20 million, Paris feels he has got great value. "Our movie needed the scope the size of the Worcester Art Museum," he says. "It gave the film a look, a richness, that we otherwise wouldn't have gotten." The WAM is used to establish the interior of the fictional Boston Art Museum (BAM) in which our story takes place.

Scriptwriter Michael LeSieur had a top comedy actor in his previous hit (You, Me & Dupree) in the form of Owen Wilson. In The Maiden Heist, the chameleon-like talents of William H Macy first spring to mind as being suited to comedy, due to his Fargo fame, when he played the police story with subtle humour. Christopher Walken and Morgan Freeman are better known for their serious roles, but we should remember that Walken has also starred in comedy (Wedding Crashers, Hairspray), even if it is to play the straight man against the likes of Owen Wilson. Freeman has had brushes with his funny side in Bruce Almighty. Heading up the supporting cast is Marcia Gay Harden, who won an Oscar playing an artist (Lee Krasner) in the art biopic, Pollock. But it is probably fair to say that all these great stars are known primarily for their power to bring great depth to serious dramatic roles. There were moments in The Maiden Heist where I felt they were bumbling through the comedy rather than playing bumbling heisters. I found this a bit worrying as I have deep respect for their work. But maybe other viewers could find the apparent mismatch of seemingly inappropriate casting oddly rewarding.

The big star of The Maiden Heist though is of course the central painting. Roger (Christopher Walken) stares at 'The Lonely Maiden' for years. First as a way to pass time, but now as a way to address or replace what is lacking in his life. The painting has become his passion. His obsession. Supplanting the passion he once felt for his wife. This particular artwork in the film was especially created by painter Jeremy Lipking. "When I first met with the director he opened up the Gabriel Weisberg book Beyond Impressionism: the Naturalist Impulse, (which is probably the most worn out book on my shelf) and said, 'We need something like this.' A painting in the manner of Naturalist painters George Clausen, Emile Friant and Jules Bastien Lepage. I had to finish the painting in 7 days. It normally would have taken me a month or longer to do something this size. I got artist model Toni Czechorosky help me out with the period costume." Macy's character, on the other hand, is obsessed with a statue. Creating it involved photographing a naked Macy from a three-hundred and sixty degree perspective. (The photographs went to a sculptor in Los Angeles, who brought in another model and photographed him in the same fashion before creating a mould for the statue.)

The Maiden Heist quickly sold out at its opening at the Edinburgh International Film Festival. It's a light-hearted caper that makes for undemanding viewing. I don't see audiences flocking to galleries as a result, but who knows? While Roger might find his wife has been his lonely maiden all along, many viewers may more identify with the bit where he flits to Florida with the missis. Missing out on the art appreciation stuff seems a convenient bypass. If this is the case, the film is somewhat hypocritical in its claim about art and the general masses. It uses the notion to entertain without encouraging us to seriously engage. LeSieur, who wrote the script as a film school thesis project, may well be an art enthusiast. But the idea that ordinary people don't love art is a bit worrying to those of us that do. Shortly after I visited (during extensive bar-hopping) the beautiful Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston, it was victimised by amateur thieves who posed as security guards. If you see me exit the Tate Modern with a naked William H Macy under my arm, please shoot me. Or take him back – he is a high-value asset of the acting profession and should not be high-jacked. "But it was a maiden heist, officer. . ."
22 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why would they agree to do this movie?
jblizz-583-2772416 November 2009
I picked this up from Redbox for a $1 Rental and feel totally ripped off. I registered for IMDb for the specific intent of warning people how much I was turned off by this movie. I can't imagine why Morgan Freeman or Christopher Walken would agree to do this movie but hey I guess times are tough in this economy for them too..

I find it very telling that the only people that enjoyed this movie were the under 18 crowd. I find it very hard to believe that people could rank this a 6 much less a 10. Maybe all the walk on extras in the movie have IMDb accounts too.

My suggestion would be move on from this title, it is not worth your money and certainly not worth your time.
22 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Made to look like a bad-ass crime thriller, still a good comedy crime thriller.
kaiward6464 September 2014
Okay, so on the cover it's advertised to look like a bad-ass crime movie, it's a crime comedy drama, it's pretty cool though, the men doing the heists aren't criminals, they're just regular old guys who love their job so much they're willing to stop a painting from being re- located.

It's pretty good, the acting is good, the characters are well developed, it's entertaining to all ages, it's filmed okay, and it's pacing is pretty good.

Defiantly recommended, no alcohol needed, but you know alcohol won't hurt, it's got a decent soundtrack, and some nice moments, especially the moments involving art.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Highly Entertaining
davyd-0223715 April 2021
Christopher Walken plays an ageing security guard at a museum and has an admiration for 1 painting, as does Morgan Freeman. In William H Macys case - his is a statue. When the museum plan to send all 3 items abroad - the 3 come together to remove the original items to their own possession. Wonderfully entertaining film, well worth watching. Would have scored higher save for the fact that in some scenes theres snow outside the airport and museum and 10 seconds later its gone!....Oops! Marcia Gay Harden is in there too as Walkens wife.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
three great actors, clever, if contrived plot, very funny in places, engaging.
hh-9898815 April 2021
We watched this last night on tv. The beginning is almost surreal, with Christopher Walken just standing. Almost immobile staring at the picture in the gallery. Then we meet Morgan Freeman; single, talented, camp, then the weird character of William H Macey.. Anyway the fact that these guys are getting on in years and the way they find each other and hatch the plot to steal the works of art is very well done. Morgan Freeman and Christopher Walken make the greatest impact, William H Macey was similar to the character he played in Mystery Men, but still very good. So a very engaging film, three fine actors showcasing their talents and some great moments of humour. Recommended!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A waste of talent.
robrobinson-0682914 April 2021
This is really not a very good film. Some big names and a novel idea but poorly executed. It really doesn't get going. Marcia Gay Harden looks great and as you'd expect she does well with what she's given but along with the three guys she's wasted.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A fun little Movie with a Super Cast
docm-3230430 October 2020
When I saw the cast, I put this on my watchlist, regardless of any ratings. Christopher Walken is his usual freak self and wait until you see Morgan Freeman and Macy's haircuts...hilarious on their own. I found the film engaging and humorous...not a roll on the floor comedy, just humorous. Worth a watch
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Better late than never!
troy-manatunga5 September 2011
There I was walking through and airplane (yes an airplane) and caught a glimpse of Morgan Freeman on screen. Taking a moment I gazed into the screen for a moment guessing it was a trailer of RED. It wasn't, instead it is The Maiden Heist. This is how I became familiar with the title and that's how events led me to end up right here right now.

What is the most appropriate word to convey my feelings on the title? Let me think…….. Intrigued? Yes that's the right word. I was intrigued when I realized there was a Morgan Freeman movie on the likes of RED (If you have not watched red, its high time you did).It's always a pleasure and privilege to see some well experienced greats in action, it's like being a kid and really enjoying playing a game of cricket or catch with the old folk. The Maiden Heist starring Christopher Walken, William Macy and Morgan Freeman, is a simple light hearted movie with gentle humor and a plain plot. Three museum security guards; Rogers (Walken), George (Macy) and Charles (Freeman) are passionate lovers of the arts. Over the years the men worse; the museum curator decides to ship the displayed artifacts to a museum in Denmark. The veteran security guards are unable to fathom the idea of losing the precious artifacts and conjure up a devious plan to steal them prior to it being flown to Denmark and out of sight forever.

Morgan Freeman, Christopher Walken and William Macy are highly talented actors with very powerful and strong personas. There is a lot of controlled underplaying done by them all to keep the plot simple. In fact I am taken quite by surprise to see Morgan Freeman to be playing a quite effeminate security guard instead of being his commanding self. Christopher Walken who toys mostly with eccentric portrayals in fact is obviously trying hard to keep his character afloat as a man who is dominated by his wife. William Macy is not outdone by them, Macy is unbelievably hilarious, especially when he ends up stark naked and is captured on CCTV footage and his love for naked statue. Director Peter Hewitt struck gold with his cast. Although this movie has been the last of his directorial efforts so far, I am sure this cast he worked with is most certainly an all-star cast that he will not forget for a long time.

Simply a wonderful movie, very gentle in every aspect and it's a welcome change to see such great names do a lighter version of a heist and not altogether be called a disaster. However research on this title shows that it has not fared well at the box office. I am starting to believe it was entirely an advertising flaw, for starters, I had never heard of it until 5 days ago. I am glad I did. Better late than never!

Title: The Maiden Heist Directed by: Peter Hewitt Starring: Morgan Freeman, Christopher Walken, William Macy & Marcia Gay Harden Rated: PG13 for strong language, nudity and some brief fantasy violence. Rated: 07/10 90 Minutes
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Very funny
vchimpanzee7 August 2013
Roger is a security guard at a Boston art museum. He is so obsessed with the painting "The Lonely Maiden" that when he hears a docent getting some of the facts wrong as she explains the painting to a tour group, he corrects everything she says.

And then the day comes when "The Lonely Maiden" will be shipped to Denmark. Roger can't have that happen. So he schemes with two other guards, Charlie and George, to steal the painting. Charlie and George each have favorite works of art that will be part of the move, and they don't want to lose them either. And George is somewhat disturbed; security footage shows him posing nude beside the statue he loves.

There's an obvious way to "rescue" these art works: our three heroes must volunteer to work security during the move. And to keep anyone from finding out what they've done, they have to make perfect copies. Charlie is a talented artist and can do that with his favorite painting, but he's not so good with Roger's work. So a street artist is hired for that purpose.

And the big move takes place. Can they get the substitutes in place and switch them? Can they get their art works where they want them? Two possible complications: Roger's wife Rose thinks they're going on vacation and she may mess everything up. And George has to hide in the museum, and he has his quirks. Oh, this could be very good.

It's not "Ocean's Eleven", but it's still very good. You want our heroes to succeed in their criminal acts. But there are so many obstacles to give us plenty of sources of humor. And then, of course, the big chase and near-disaster.

All the leading actors do a good job here, and Morgan Freeman shows so much emotion, so much passion, considering this is a comedy. William H. Macy is ... disturbing. It's not like the type role he usually does, but he makes the most of it. On broadcast TV, I didn't have to see .... everything.

And Marcia Gay Harden is appropriately over the top.

Is it a work of art? Pretty close.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed