Shorts (2009) Poster

(2009)

User Reviews

Review this title
38 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Give it a break, the kids will have fun with this..
GirishGowda3 April 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Eleven-year-old Toe finds life a bag full of troubles. Till he discovers a make-a-wish rock that turns out to be the solution to all his troubles. Also, the reason for a suburban town's troubles.

The movie is divided into six, jumbled up episodes and its bursting with special effects. SHORTS is far from entertaining. Staring contests, giant dung beetles, aliens and walking crocodiles - Rodriguez crams them all into the 90-minute film about needing to be careful what you wish for - literally. Director Robert Rodriguez has tried very hard to sustain the interest of young viewers by keeping scene durations short and gags long. I watched this movie along with my 12 year old cousin and he looked happy. I found it interesting in parts, like the opening scene between the brother and sister challenging each other as to who could resist blinking longer than the other.

Helevetica Black played by Jolie Vanier is the only kid who showed any potential. She could be a good actress in the future. The adults don't really have much part to play in this. Jon Cryer and Leslie Mann who play Toe Thompson's parents have a very funny scene where they both wish to be closer to each other and are merged together to the hip. This is a spoof or nod to the Hindu god and goddess, Shiva and Parvathi. These gods believe in equality in every aspect of their existence and Shiva merges into Parvathi to prove that man and woman are equal. That form is called 'Ardha-Naareeshwara'. I liked that a lot. I'll be generous in my view and give this movie a 6 because it is a movie made for kids. 10 year olds & younger will really enjoy this and will have lots to talk about in school after watching this. It is a good age to think magic is real and everything they wish will come true because of a rock. Hey, I thought Aladdin's lamp and Hogwarts were real when I was younger..!

6/10
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Ask kids, not adults!
neil-47626 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Shorts is a kids' film by Robert Rodriguez. Like his friend and oft-times collaborator Tarantino, Rodriguez makes the films he wants in the way he wants and serves no master save himself as regards expectations. Shorts is such a film.

The story is simple - a wishing stone turns up, kids and others make wishes, mayhem ensues, people learn lessons. The telling of it is less simple - told in often non-linear flashback, the structure of the movie is more than a little messy. When taken into account along with assorted poo and snot sequences, the telltale influence of the younger members of Rodriguez' family looms into view: as with Sharkboy and Lavagirl, Rodriguez incorporates creative input from his kids on the grounds that they probably know best what kids like.

And you know what? He's probably right. To me, as an adult, this movie often struck me as if the kids were handed the camera and told to go off and film what they want, and what resulted then got state of the art CGI plastered over it - this didn't disguise the lack of maturity in the source material and structure, it simply made it look slicker.

But perhaps I'm simply not the best person to judge because it seemed to me that the kids in the cinema were loving it.

And it was interesting to see William H Macy, James Spader and Leslie Mann taking part in something like this. Newcomer Jolie Vanier has a big future ahead of her - she has a strong screen presence.

Shorts is a chaotic mess, but has a gawky charm of its own.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Shorts Movie Review from The Massie Twins
GoneWithTheTwins20 August 2009
Robert Rodriguez' Shorts is childish, unrealistic and immature - in a good way. It's by no means a masterpiece, but once again the director has proved he has a way with children's films. The plot is jumbled up and out of order like a Tarantino movie and doesn't demonstrate a particularly unique idea; what it does masterfully accomplish, however, is creative entertainment. The look and feel of Shorts is wildly inventive, fantastical, definitely kid-worthy, and quite simply a whole lot of fun.

To tell the tale of the crazily kooky adventure granted to the usually uneventful town of Black Falls, narrator and star Toby "Toe" Thompson (Jimmy Bennett) skips ahead, rewinds backwards on screen and dodges through the timeline of events. He decides to tell the story completely out of order in a series of shorts. While messing with chronology is typically a nuisance, it works well for Rodriguez, keeping things continually interesting and building upon minor characters, while effectively holding the attention of kids.

Black Box Incorporated is the center of interest for the entire town. It's run by the ruthless Mr. Black (James Spader), who is only concerned with upgrading his all-in-one black box multi-tool invention to outdo his many competitors. The box works like a Transformer, reconstructing itself automatically into a cell phone, vacuum, toaster, grenade, dog trimmer, baby monitor and much, much more. His team leaders (Leslie Mann and Jon Cryer) are the parents of Toby, and his daughter Helvetica (Jolie Vanier) - or "Hel" for short - makes Toby's life miserable, bullying him incessantly at school. When neighbor Loogie (Trevor Gagnon) discovers a magical rock that grants wishes, Toby's real troubles are about to begin.

Although a movie about wishes run amok isn't entirely new, the family-friendly, clean setting and bright tone of the film contributes to solid entertainment. While it serves as a fantastical, quixotic tutoring on wishing for something worthwhile and being careful what you wish for, the execution and planning of the muddled events is truly worthwhile. Little green aliens can't fix Toby's "lack of friends" problem, prevent an army of crocodiles from eating Loogie's homework, protect the Short brothers from pterodactyl abduction, or save Nose Noseworthy from the Big Bad Booger. Boiling down to the basic carefree fantasies of kids, the welcome notion of getting anything you can imagine, and the realization that understanding and friendship can resolve more than wishing yourself out of a predicament, Shorts playfully amuses with a vastly creative eye for merriment and nonsense. This is a film that proves pure fantasy can be pleasant and adults don't have to be bored to death with the material their children drag them to.

  • Mike Massie
18 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An excellent family film
Argemaluco11 September 2009
After the atrocious family films Spy Kids 3D : Game Over and The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl, I was not interested in watching Shorts, another independent family film directed by Robert Rodriguez.However, a look at the cast revealed the presence of some competent actors (James Spader, William H. Macy, Leslie Mann and Kat Dennings), so I decided to risk myself and watch this movie.To my huge surprise, Shorts resulted to be an excellent family film which is likable and hugely entertaining, thanks to the skillful performances from the young cast and Rodriguez's irreverent screenplay.

At setting the movie on a real environment (instead of the artificial digital universe), Rodriguez did not require of big excesses for telling the story.The special effects look realistic, but they do not loose Rodriguez's characteristic surrealism on them.Shorts may not be his best family movie (I liked the original Spy Kids a bit more), but it is the one which mostly represents the naughty childish imagination, which is funny and innocent but not lacking of some subversion.

All the performances from this movie show a lot of energy and enthusiasm, but the movie rests on the shoulders of the childish cast with excellent results.The phenomenal discovery of Jolie Vanier is particularly remarkable.She reminded me thanks to her histrionic force and great presence of Christina Ricci on her juvenile roles.

With the exception of Up, Shorts is the best family film I have seen this year.I ended up taking a great surprise with this great family movie, and I recommend it as an excellent option for the whole family.
30 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good natured fun
MartianOctocretr523 August 2009
Shorts is amusing and doesn't take itself seriously at all. It resembles Malcolm in the Middle, with the central kid's narration, the high-speed montages, and exaggeratedly eccentric characters.

The plot winds around a strange rainbow-colored rock that grants wishes. Inevitable, this results as you would expect, with carelessly thought out wishes backfiring for some good-natured slapstick comedy.

The actors make a pretty good ensemble cast, and seem to be enjoying making the film, but I think they know there won't be a lot of Oscars handed out for this movie. The montages are used as a buffer between scenes. They simulate video camera rewinding, or the kid's confused memory right after eating too much sugary cereal--I'm not sure. But I do think they're used too much, making them distracting. The story is told in non-linear style, jumping from the present to flashbacks and back again, but this seems more of an unnecessary gimmick that really doesn't help tell the story.

The adult characters are nutty and over the top, but the actors faithfully go for the silliness and do adequately. The child actors do well too, especially newcomer Jolie Vanier, as the bitter rich girl bully. She has one of the few characters with enough dimension (albeit comically exaggerated) to logically evolve throughout the story, and plays the role to the hilt. Her facial expressions are hilarious, and dominate every scene she's in. This actress has a promising future.

What the movie makers were wishing for was a simple kids' comedy, and that's just what this film is, no more--no less. It's all just some good clean fun, clowning around for its own sake.
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A family film with good imagination
bearfaceproductions16 August 2009
OK, so I do not like movies like this. But I have to say that this movie was kinda fun, and it had an original plot that is something that kids really want to see. Good clean comedy comes out of this movie every once and a while. A good laugh can be expected from this film. I gotta say that the creator had a really good imagination when making this movie, he really knows what kids would really wish for. The kids acting was fair. On the other hand the adults become a little stupid. The special effects looked a little cheap. And sometimes the imaginative stuff goes a little to far. But I only recommend it for kids 9 and younger. They are sure to enjoy this film and have a thrill. But teens and adults may find this movie to be not so good, because since its meant to be only for kids, people over the age of 13 might find this movie to be way too childish. But it is somewhat fun. This is an ordinary family/kids movie which is slightly a little good as any other.
22 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Could have been great if there were more effort put into it
DonFishies17 December 2009
Told in a very disjointed style, Shorts tells the tale of a group of children and adults living in the secluded Black Falls community where the popular Black Box all-in-one gadget is created. A rainbow coloured "wishing rock" falls from the sky during a rain storm, and bizarrely imaginative wishes are granted one-by-one for everyone that gets their hands on it. But not all wishes are as good as others.

Robert Rodriguez, an all-in-one filmmaker unlike any other, has created another imaginative family film I imagine he is proud of because he can sit and watch it with his children. While the man made his bones on bullet strewn bloody epics like Desperado and Frank Miller's Sin City, he has never been one to shy away from the family genre. But with every entry, the work just continues to become sloppier. Inspired by his children or not, Rodriguez must have known Shorts was a bad idea from the start. But this clearly mattered very little.

I am clearly in the wrong demographic to even begin deciphering what works and what does not in Shorts, but the film is a mess from start to finish. Employing a bit of the style of his buddy Quentin Tarantino, Rodriguez fashions the movie to work as smaller, unorganized stories within a grander framework (thus explaining the title of this opus). It is never confusing, but it becomes really annoying listening to the narrator, main character Toby "Toe" Thompson (Jimmy Bennett) tell us he does not remember the way the story goes every time the story jumps back or forward. Even worse is the addition of rewind, fast forward, and pause buttons that keep appearing during the film. Sure it is quirky and amusing the first time it shows up, but it just becomes bothersome and irritating as the film goes on. It really makes no sense why it is not told in any chronological order and just seems like Rodriguez mixed it up just to make the film a bit more interesting than it actually is.

The film's storyline, as simplistic as it is, really offers nothing new to the family genre. Inherent issues about crumbling family units, making friends, and just genuinely finding your place in the world have all been done to death, as have stories about people wishing for things. And while some of the issues do succeed in being imaginative and unique, the stereotypical family film issues are anything but. Rodriguez throws them all into the film (and even a minor subplot about small green aliens) with a no-holds barred attitude dictated by a man who could care less what people think. And when the film reaches its credits, it really feels like all he did was throw ideas at the wall and went with the ones that stuck.

As said, the imaginative wishes provided throughout the film by every character are what make the film. A booger monster, walking crocodiles and a baby who can speak to other through her mind are just the start of what you can expect to see during Shorts. And as the film goes on, the ideas just become sillier and more creative as they go along. But sadly, they do not appear all appear to be coming from the mind of Rodriguez. And that is where the film hits another bad turn: the special effects that create these wishes leaves a lot to be desired. Almost every single one looks freakishly amateur and unpolished. I know Rodriguez does a lot of the work himself, but after watching something as digital and special effects friendly as Frank Miller's Sin City, and how realistic that looks, it is a bit sad to look at this mess of a film as being from the same film-making group. It just feels all too disappointing, and like it was just pumped out too quickly before it was really perfected.

The acting, much like the rest of the film, is not all that great. Bennett is amusing in the lead role, giving everything he can as a child actor. Yet it does not seem like he was provided much to do outside of what the script asks for. He has a much stronger presence as a supporting character in Orphan, and was better even in his minuscule role as Young Kirk in the recent Star Trek reimagining. I was much more impressed with newcomer Jolie Vanier as the villainess Helvetica. She appears to have really dug into her bad girl role, and is given ample opportunity to make something of the role. And in a movie like this, that is never really all too hard. Adult actors like Kat Dennings, William H. Macy, Jon Cryer, Leslie Mann and James Spader are all given a fair amount to do, but never really seem to give it their all. They just seem to be going through the motions, acting as ridiculous and goofy as they need to, and not doing much else.

I started writing this review a few weeks ago after seeing the film, but forgot about finishing it. After watching the movie, it feels like Rodriguez acted the same way when he was writing and putting the film together. There are a few shells of interesting ideas that are on display at various points throughout the film, but they are never fully realized. I can really appreciate the family aspect of the production, and how much of a one-man team Rodriguez is. But this is just not a great film. It has imagination, but it lacks the ability to really stretch and mold it into something worthwhile. It easily could have been made into a stronger film if anyone on the team really put some effort into it. As it is, the newcomer Vanier is the only real reason to even attempt to sit through it.

3/10.

(Portions of this review originally appeared on http://www.dvdfanatic.com).
16 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Through the Eyes of a Child
devgibbs11 November 2009
I saw this with my son (10) and his friend. I expected to fall asleep because of the poor reviews on IMDb, but to my happy surprise it awoke the inner child in me. The wishes were plausible for children and the FX were enjoyable. The two kids with me complained that they would have had better wishes than in the movie or about this and that, but they barely moved a muscle while it was playing, didn't ask for popcorn or snacks.

Overall, this is a great family film in the Disney vein of talking Herbie cars and other implausibilities that I loved as a child and am glad I saw with my child. Better than Spy Kids 2 or 3D, Shark Boy and Lava Girl.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Short on Intelligence and Entertainment Value.
anaconda-406581 September 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Shorts (2009): Dir: Robert Rodriguez / Cast: Jimmy Bennett, James Spader, William H. Macy, Leslie Mann, Kat Dennings: Candy coated crap about the prevail of smaller factors. If one of those smaller factors was the screenwriter then perhaps the screenplay would be above juvenile level. It regards a rainbow coloured stone that ends up in the possession of several people who use it to make wishes into reality. This is never explained and although director Robert Rodriguez showcases his imagination, he never tops his Spy Kids. Perhaps if the screenwriter had gotten his hands on that rock then the screenplay would be Oscar calibre. Jimmy Bennett plays the bullied kid who narrates the film. If he isn't bullied after the release of this film then it is safe to say that he possesses the stone. What is truly sad is the talent that is greatly reduced in this garbage. James Spader plays an evil tycoon in what amounts to one of his worst roles. William H. Macy plays a germ fearing scientist. Perhaps he should be more concerned with dense scripts such as this. Leslie Mann plays Bennett's mother in a role that may make her want to revive her 40 Year Old Virgin role. Speaking of which, another actress from that film that makes a wasted appearance here is Kat Dennings as Bennett's older sister. None of these performances are terribly ambitious, and like the screenplay and special effects it comes up short on magic. Score: 2 / 10
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Good Natured but Ultimately Lame Film
3xHCCH31 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I got dragged into this movie by my 7 year old son who did not forget the trailer since he saw a man turn into a wiener (seriously)! After the fantastic and heartwarming artistry that was "Up" which we saw yesterday, "Shorts" was simply its diametrical opposite--brash and hyperactive.

The story is simple enough. A boy gets hold of a colorful wish-granting stone, which initially was only used for some innocent children's fantasies. Later on however when the adults get their hand on it, more seriously dangerous wishes were made. Director Robert Rodriguez (of "Spy Kids") decided to chop up the story into 5 short films and they were not presented in order (purely for effect, but no apparent logic).

Throughout the film though, my seven year old boy was restless. He even called it lame at one point, particularly that short about the "booger monster" (again, seriously). What's worst, his most awaited scene of the guy turning into a wiener happened only in the fifth and last short! So he was antsy until that part showed up, and was only happy afterward it seems.

OK OK, I admit, there were funny parts. My most laugh out loud moment happened at the very end though. And the treatment was light and good-natured. Kids will enjoy this, as they should, since this IS a kids movie first. Adults will just have to try hard to find their inner child and laugh along with their kids. Let's just call it family time.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not the best, but not terrible.
FoxWolf871 September 2009
You could do worse than to take your kids to see this film.

I'm rating this on the same level I rated "The Final Destination" and "GI JOE."

"The Final Destination" was a silly gimmicky horror film. "GI JOE" was a silly generic action film. "Shorts" is just a silly generic kids film, and when I say it's a kids film, I mean it's a KIDS film.

Children will either like it or they won't. It's got a lot of stuff in it that will probably keep an undiscerning 5-10 year old entertained for an hour and a half. However, anyone over a certain age will just go... "Hey, that's kind of ridiculous..."

The acting ranges from good to bad. The special effects are mostly obvious CG effects. The story is kind of lame, but it's a kids movie. Really everything in this film is just... OK. It's not a terrible film, but there's nothing that really makes it stand out either. The one thing I kind of liked was the story structure and editing style, but that's just about it.

I just think its a kids film that tries a little too hard to be "just for kids." It doesn't really respect the intelligence of the kids watching it, but if the kids aren't picky anyway, it's not really a problem.

I wouldn't really recommend it, but there's nothing wrong with it. If you just want to take your child to a movie, and this is the only thing playing, I'd say go for it. But its not something you absolutely have to see.

5/10 - Generic kids film, but it's not terrible.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A pretty good movie.
badstrong316 September 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I thought the movie was weird, artsy, and surreal, but in a good and entertaining way; you know, like the imagination of Calvin from "Calvin and Hobbes." The movie is about a boy named Toby Thompson, and he's considered a loser by his peers. He's bored with his regular life, but when he finds a different colored rock that can grant wishes, his life gets turned upside down. Some of the things the kids wish for (or get) include...

Tiny alien friends A lifetime SUpply of Candy Bars "Telephoneisis" (a play on telekinisis)

A Castle A Super Smart Infant Sister A Pterodactyl A Catapult

The movie is clever, and very funny. I really thought it was a cute kids movie. I am not a fan of some of Robert Rodriguez's more recent kids movies, but I thought this one was good. The movie's plot is jumbled up like 'Pulp Fiction' and cleverly told in a series of shorts. Hence the name. I highly suggest it considering all the other family movies that are currently out are crap. i.e. Aliens in the Attic, and G Force. that cloudy with a chance of meatballs movie looked cute too.

this movie has earned my rating of 9.5 out of 10
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
2 Ridiculous
samsloan21 August 2009
I saw the movie and thought it was 2 ridiculous. However, some of the kids in the audience laughed and seemed to enjoy it, so we should give it a chance.

The high spot was child-actress Jolie Vanier who played the female lead. I predict a great future for her.

Computer graphics and special effects were great and very well done.

Actually, it is hard to believe that anybody thinks this movie will be successful.

I would say that this movie is not suitable for anybody over ten. However, one adult I spoke to after the movie said that she liked it.

Sam Sloan
11 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Go See
ljash29 August 2009
This is a great movie, I was pleasantly surprised forget whomever wrote 6-10, my 4-year old was on the edge of his seat. And me, 10 times his age enjoyed it just as much. It's what a family movie should be, pure fun. With everything boys (and girls) love. I hate the fact that no is seeing this, it deserves to do better at the B.O. if only that studios don't stop making fun fare. If you liked Spielberg's GOONIES you'll enjoy this. The saving grace is that it should have lasting DVD appeal. It really just needs a better tagline than the wishing rock thing, though yes that's the main part, there are so many fun things and effects for everyone, GO SEE!
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Target Demographic: 6-10 (possibly slow 11-year-olds)
RichardSRussell-123 August 2009
Shorts (PG, 1:29) — Fantasy: Fairy Tales, 3rd string, original

You might think that "Shorts" refers to the size of the heroes in this film, but in fact it's an allusion to the movie's structure, purporting to be a collection of short films recorded over a 2-day period but shown out of sequence, thus: 0: The Blinkers 2: Alien8ed 1: Wishing Rock 4: Big Bad Booger 3: The Miscommunicators 5: The End

The narrator is Toby "Toe" Thompson (Jimmy Bennett), a geeky kid with braces who's the butt of the bullying inflicted by his school's 2 rich kids, Helvetica and Cole Black, dotter and son of leading citizen Carbon Black (James Spader), whose company, Black Box Worldwide Inc., essentially owns the town of Black Falls.

One day Toe discovers a rainbow-colored rock that keeps whispering "make a wish" to him. Turns out the rock has the power to make those wishes come true. Toe starts out wishing for friends just as interesting and unique as he is and is rewarded by a double brace of tiny flying saucers crewed by LGMs who can use advanced tech to make many of his fondest dreams a reality.

The stone keeps getting misplaced, stolen, thrown away, picked up by accident, or launched at random, however, which means that almost every other character gets a chance to use it at one time or another, invariably with unforeseen consequences. This includes Toe's nabors, the Short boys (Laser, Lug, and notably Loogie), even geekier recluse Nose Noseworthy and his germophobic scientist dad, Toe's parents, and of course the Blacks.

This is all played very, very broadly for yuks. We are tipped off early that none of the cartoonish violence will have permanent effect when Loogie dives straight into the mouth of a huge crocodile to try to retrieve the wishing rock and gets koffed up moments later, slathered with half-digested croc lunch but otherwise unharmed.

There are more than just booger jokes, there's a giant animated booger. (Mercifully, there are no pee or fart jokes and only 1 fast visual gag involving pterodactyl poop. Thank you, Robert Rodriguez.)

The kids aren't very good actors, the jokes are corny, the special effects aren't particularly special, and the make-up is obviously fake (probably intentionally). None of this matters much, since it isn't intended to be taken seriously anyway.

Do all these shortcomings add up to a total loser? Not really. It's good-hearted as well as light-hearted, and the moral (be careful what you wish for) is something worth learning at about the age of the target audience. Plus which, not only does it not repeat itself, most of the ideas and gimmicks are original, and the dialog is occasionally witty.
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Skittles overload
Jay_Exiomo26 August 2009
One-man film crew Robert Rodriguez' moonlighting into kiddie fare has at best produced mixed results, here epitomized by his latest juvenile project, "Shorts," a wishy-washy tale about kids finding their inner heroes and saving their smalltime town. Returning to the hyper-earnest mode of his "Spy Kids" trilogy, director-writer-DP-editor Rodriguez nonetheless can't muster enough cheerio for anyone but the youngest viewers to get over an overabundance of special effects and a monotonous feeling.

As well as pertaining to the stature of its young protagonists, the title of Rodriguez' wishful thinking tale concerns his narrative's central gimmick: a series of short episodes shown as per the whims of its young narrator Toe Thompson (Jimmy Bennett). Told in a fractured timeline, the series of interlocked episodes show how the town of Black Falls is dominated by the techno mogul (James Spader), and how a group of kids -- including Toe -- change the neighborhood for the better with the help of a rainbow-colored stone that grants the wishes of anyone who possesses it.

Save for the campy blink-first-standoff between two kids, "Shorts"' subplots never evolve into a compelling unit, with Rodriguez running amok with his "homemade" CGI -- perhaps reflecting the unrestrained euphoria of a kid getting his hands on a magic stone -- that does nothing to add to the novelty of its uncharacteristic style. Ultimately predictable and reeking of half-assed effort, the whole procedure gets exhausting after a few rounds of cutesy moxie, though at least Rodriguez wisely sticks to the context of his movie's title and keeps his film reasonably concise.
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
One of the most annoying 89 minutes of my life.
elephantmanfan17 December 2014
Shorts might be an O.K. family film, but if your over 10 you will think it really, really, sucks.

SHORTS: (2009)

Well what would you expect from the makers of Spy Kids and Sharkboy and Lavagirl? Exactly what you would expect, actually. Another annoying, high pitched, poorly written, poorly acted, sped-up load of cacá.

High pitched voices of nearly every character, a dumb plot, and terrible effects when used basically make up the synopsis of this movie.

Don't watch it if you are a mature movie goer and enjoy a good comedy once and a while. If you were expecting something better than Spy Kids, or any other movies with the same tone as that, this is not the film for you.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Robert Rodriguez' Shorts has some imagination and humor that goes down easy
tavm19 July 2012
Just watched this movie from 2009 on a single children's matinée showing at 11 am with my movie theatre-working friend. With Robert Rodriguez' name attached, I expected something silly with some good laughs and I did. The title is meant to convey that it's a series of short segments as told by the main kid character in connection with a whole feature that deals with a wish-bearing rock. I think I liked the one about the booger monster the best with second being that bit where Leslie Mann and Jon Cryer as that kid's parents are being literally stuck together. Oh, and I didn't know that this was the first time that Cryer and James Spader had been in the same movie together since Pretty in Pink some 23 years previous. Anyway, I was amused most of the time and wouldn't mind seeing this again with my nieces and nephews. So on that note, Shorts is worth a look if you're in the mood for something imaginative and humorous.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Should have been made for the TV,not for the big screen!
bharath-karthikeyan25 January 2010
If you are 10 and above,don't even give a thought about watching this movie! Stay away! But if you got this nice little kid below 10 raving to go to the movies,take the kid to a movie like UP! or the toy story!.Not this! I had seen "honey i shrunk the kids" when i was a kid,and i still remember stuff out of the movie.Now that defines the success of a Children's movie. Shorts is not even worth calling a movie,let alone for remembering! I got to see the blu ray edition of this thing and the movie was all colorful and bright in the right sense,but what does'nt look so in High Definition?! Apart from this the movie has got nothing to offer.The movie ain't a series of interesting shorts,its a series of tortures and was a pain to watch.Robert Rodriguez's spy kids would have won 12 Oscars for various categories if its competitor was shorts! :D Have fun people!
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The other reviewers must simply have been haters
johnhonoluluhawaii10 February 2010
I watched this movie expecting nothing out of it as I had read all the negative reviews. Knowing that reviews can be WRONG I chose to check it out for myself. I thought the premise of a wishing rock held a lot of promise. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that I was right. This movie was really entertaining. I found it to be funny and creative. It captured what I thought a child might imagine. It was pretty quirky in a good way. The little things that the actors did made it funny. Their gestures and the way the spoke made them lovable. I think that they could not have gotten better actors for this movie. They made the movie work. As far as the complaints about the movie being mish-mashed or being confusing, I don't agree. I think that component, actually the theme (short stories within the story), really worked. I had no problem understanding the movie. And all the complaints about it not entertaining is really beyond me. This movie was more entertaining to me than all the other big budget movies I have seen all year. To those of you who think I am the director or one of the employees of the company that made the movie, no I am not any of those. I am just one of you. If you have not seen this movie, go rent it. You will thank me afterwards. Enjoy!
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Awesome Family Fun!!!
Pumpkin_Man25 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I thought this was a really good and very funny movie that the whole family will love! It has an awesome plot, funny situations, and lovable characters. The movie is told out of order in a series of 'short' episodes! In the town of Black Falls, all the adults work for Black Box Unlimited Worldwide Industries Incorporated. Toby Thompson is a lonely kid who gets picked on gets picked on by Mr. Black's kids, until Toby finds a Rainbow colored wishing rock that will grant his every wish. Toby is just one of the many kids who have found the rock, like Nose Noseworthy, Loogie, Cole, and Helvetica Black. When Mr. Black gets ahold of the rock, he uses it for world domination. Can the kids of Black Falls stop him before he becomes mad with power? I highly recommend SHORTS!!!
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I want Sin City 2 and Machete! Meanwhile, this is an enjoyable kids movie to see just once
RainDogJr18 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Shorts is the kind of kids movie that for moments was as annoying to me as it was f****** hilarious for its target audience however for most moments was as enjoyable for me as it was f****** hilarious for all the kids in the theater. I came to this not really as I came to any of the recent Pixar productions, I mean when I come to see a Pixar film I come just because it is from Pixar and I come thinking just that, that it's a Pixar production. With Shorts I came just because it's a Robert Rodriguez film but I came not really thinking something like "boy, I'm about to see a new RR film" but thinking I was going to see just a kids movie. I don't know if I made myself clear but certainly theater was full of kids, certainly this wasn't like it will be going to see Sin City 2 or Machete.

Anyway, Shorts has in Jimmy Bennett's character its narrator, he will tell us the story not really in the order things happened. You know, that works as a way to make complete separate chapters with different characters, sure all related to main thing that is when the narrator finds the wishing rock and sure the kids will be like "oh, that happened before" but the story is so thin that the way it is told is just acceptable for those nice fast-forward and stuff parts.

Now, William H. Macy steals the film and not really because his performance is brilliant or because his character is absolutely memorable but because the background story and present state of his character and the son of that character is as funny as the whole film should have been (also that giant snot was fun!). And like Macy the rest of the adult cast is quite familiar for me (Jon Cryer, Leslie Mann, Kat Dennings), basically the whole stuff with the adults is very forgettable and just works to throw very quickly the message at the end.

If you are not going to see this on the big screen because of your kids I recommend you to wait for a rental. And, I add, I want Sin City 2 and Machete, Robert!
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
crap
sue-brake29 August 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Just like smosh on you tube this really sucks kids fell asleep in the movies and spy kids 4 was better than this reason 1 there throwing rocks that wont teach kids reason 2 no comedy reason 3 cheesy animation id rather watch spy kids 4 never buy this for your kids it a rubbish movie even Thomas and the magic railroad was better than this and that got 2.8 out of 10 on here. Now the characters go on adventures in there backyard lame. This box called black box is a stupid idea and the big storm that could wipe out the world suddenly goes to a stop it slowly stops not just flick done so as i said done buy this no one lives when there eaten by a crocodile
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
I wanted to hate it. But I couldn't.
Sirus_the_Virus24 December 2009
Warning: Spoilers
When I saw the trailer's for Robert Rodriguez's Shorts, I thought it was going to be a nightmare. It looked dreadful. I myself am not a fan of his work. Spy kids was bad. So are most of his other films. I wasn't going to give it a chance until my sister told me that it wasn't too bad. So I gave it a chance. As much as I wanted to hate the film, I actually couldn't.

Shorts is a film that is cheesy. Obviously it has it's flaws. But I won't get into them just yet. Shorts is the story of a boy named Toby(played by Jimmy Bennett)who has just moved to this weird town. He is always being bullied. His life changes when a rainbow colored rock is thrown at him. He soon finds out that it has magical powers.

You can really see what happens next. There are a lot of actors in this film. Like Jon Cryer and Leslie Mann who play the lead character's parents. They have a hard time communicating. And James Spader as their boss, who is a villain of some sort. And William H. Macey as a germaphobe. They all do well with what they have.

Now for the flaws. The special effects are obviously cheesy. Of course they are it's Rodriguez we're talking about here. The kid actors are at times annoying. I have never liked Jimmy Bennett to begin with. But onward. It's a little too childish also. But as someone who wanted to hate it, I couldn't. I laughed. I had fun. Shorts also has a way of changing time. Shifting from the past to the future. I liked that. Though flawed, Shorts isn't terrible.

Shorts:**1/2 out of ****
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What is this?
This is a movie that delusional parents put on with the idea "oh its a kids movie, and that means that kids'll like it." I watched this movie when I was around 7 or ten and I hated it. It makes no sense, the acting is terrible, it looks terrible, its not funny and its disgusting. The only reason why you might watch it is out of curiosity to see just how bizarre it is. Even then, there are much better things that you could be watching. This idea could've worked if the writer understood how to write children and create logic within a made-up world. As is, its a total mess.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed