The Heist of the Century (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Enjoyable, funny, captivating
Mlle_Chouette24 January 2020
The film is based on real events that were made to be turned into a movie. It totally captivates your attention, and the whole film flies by without boring you, not even for a second. Beautifully shot, well written, with some jokes nicely placed and some action moments that make you sympathize with the robbers, and with some of the best actors in the country it becomes a trully great film. I would recommend it to everyone, no matter how familiar they are with the events. It has all the factors to be considered a solid good movie 10/10
32 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great movie
MajoGomez8116 November 2020
Very exciting, excellent actors, a must see ! It is based in true events but that is not the important thing. It's a fun movie of a good director.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Funny way of representing what is considered one of the most ingenious robberies in the history of Argentina.
AgustinCesaratti19 January 2020
Francella and Peretti have such good chemistry that it makes the film hilarious and enjoyable. The other actors who are part of the group are good. The direction and script are good but it's not a big deal, it's based on real events and basically you have to thank the joints, apart from most of the dialogue being jokes or curses.

In conclusion, it's a good movie with good actors and it's good to hang out with.
26 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
good
ops-5253517 October 2020
Its a good heist movie with strains of truth, the pace is impeccable, and the actors do a good job. a recommend from the ever so facinated grumpy old man...
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Argie bank heist - comedy & crime translate over well...
joebloggscity25 July 2020
This is one of the few Argentinian movies I've ever watched, so I'm not exactly aware of the overall quality of their output. Anyhow, this film is a surprisingly high quality Hollywood quality film, shot wonderfully with plenty of action camera work that would not feel out of place in a (low-key) summer blockbuster.

This film is a throwback to films I can remember stemming from the 70s & 80s, of a bank heist. It isn't Ocean's 11/12/13 etc but really imagine if your mad but smart left-field uncle decided to concoct a crazy plan with his mates to rob a bank and you get the gist. The film does comedy & crime well together.

This film is based on a true story (but admits to taking some liberties), and that is its strength & weakness. As it's based on fact, it's uncomfortable the way it pans out, as you are meant to be fully empathise with the team, and there is no moral or Robin Hood aspect to any of them despite comments in the movie of the like. I'm sure those who were affected by the bank robbery didn't see the funny side. This is no Dog Day Afternoon (probably the best in the genre).

It's a fine movie, and I loved the actors as much as the comedy which surprisingly translated well across the subtitles. It's a good evening movie, and one you'll enjoy but in some ways still leaves an unwanted taste in the mouth. If you can get past that, then you'll enjoy it even more than I ever will.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
HEIST WITH A DIFFERENCE
MadamWarden25 January 2021
A nice little flick with a pretty clever heist and fun characters. Super cool that it turns out to be a true story

A fun watch
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very fun!
prayt25 January 2020
A good flick to laugh and enjoy in a style similar to Damián Szifrón. Even though it's not that intense as you expect, it manages to make you care at least a little bit about the characters. Fernando, in my opinion, it's the most interesting and Peretti's acting brought humanity and charisma to him.
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
EXTRAORDINARY
abisio18 August 2020
Based on a real heist in Argentina 2005, this movie is able to re-create a perfectly planned robbery but with third world resources. There is no fancy equipment or characters; just a bunch of poor and low life people with an idealistic artist smart enough to orchestrate an incredible job with very limited resources. The suspense is sometimes incredible and the detail and events are interesting and not forced. There are no stupid characters on the police or on the criminal sides; things happen and errors are committed. The reveling end explain the real story; how almost everybody was freed and hints how the money disappear. With the exact production values, good and charismatic actors the movie is a must see. Far better (and realistic) than any heist movie seen lately.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Quite impressed
bachito199622 February 2020
Despite I think gloryfing a robber isn't right, the film is actually pretty good. I'm impressed about the director's skills, I know his previous works and this is by far his best film to date. "La odisea de los giles", which was also about a heist, was released few months ago. That one was good, but I reckon "El robo del siglo" is better, isn't it?
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
One of the Best Argentine Movies
Kevin020223 October 2020
THE GOOD 👍🏻

It begins with a very good rhythm, the places that pass show it in a very picturesque way thanks to the good color palette that they knew how to implement and the great use of lighting that they knew how to maintain in almost the entire film. The soundtrack of this film is too good, it makes you feel what you want at any moment of the plot and plays perfectly with the environment of the situations, for the part of the comedy it was carried out very well, the jokes and comic moments of the film are accurate and in no occasion does it go beyond the comic.

The part of the robbery showed what is fair and necessary, it seemed perfect because it does not bore and keeps you tense, with moments of humor without boring you for a second, the end was impeccable explaining everything perfectly well, besides that it is something new for Argentine cinema to finish in that way summarizing everything in such a short time. The performance of all was splendid (Diego Peretti, Ferro Rafa Guillermo Francella Pablo Rago Mariano Argento) and finally congratulations to the Director Ariel Winograd who broke it. 💪🏻

THE BAD 👎🏻

The plans I felt were very simple, they are good but clearly they could do much better, they focused on summarizing the first half of the film as quickly as possible, but at some point it ends up becoming boring because of the script, but I'm not saying that The script is bad, it is good for its comedy and phrases, but at that moment it gets very dense, it is a movie that has to last about 2 and a half hours to explain everything perfectly, but also with the little time it has of 1 hour and 54 minutes it they did very well.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A good relaxing movie to watch
stelkasouridis30 July 2020
Nice and interesting movie, may become boring in some times but as it keeps going it becomes better and better. A good watch for the cinema.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Who do you support: the bank or these guys?
guisreis27 February 2021
Despite some tepid moments, the overall result is nice and amusing. What a clever heist! Nobody cares about banks, and filmmakers know that.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I love movies made after real cases.
yasin-9989627 January 2021
I always thought that movies made after real life cases are the best. And in this case I have the same opinion. The film is full of action from the first to the last moment, it is full of suspense and it is very well played. I can't understand why these smart thieves didn't plan anything for life after the theft ...If the thieves were brilliant about breaking in, they turned out to be stupid about what they had to do after the break-in.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Better than expected
xoltic17 September 2020
This is a movie based on real events and I liked the leading roles because they gave life to the story. This is the first movie I like with Guillermo Francella because there are no forced jokes or immature jokes.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Quick Over-Before-You-Know-It Series - Well Done - Fun To Watch
dwp194817 August 2020
08/16/2020 An enjoyable over-before-you-know-it series to watch. A light hearted presentation makes for an easy, relaxed watch. Funny at times yet still a serious and intelligent plan for the biggest robbery of all. I reccommend this short series. Bon Appetit'
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The true story of the bank robbery in Argentina
frazier9929 October 2020
The film reflects true events, but with artistic fiction, as the authors themselves stipulate in the beginning of the film. Well, this is understandable, because the film is not documentary, although in the end we are presented with some real facts about the participants of the robbery.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed