Black Swarm (TV Movie 2007) Poster

(2007 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
26 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
Lame and Corny Mess
claudio_carvalho6 December 2010
The widow Deputy Sheriff Jane Kozik (Sarah Allen) moves from Manhattan to Black Stone, New York, with her daughter Kelsey Kozik (Rebecca Windheim) expecting to find a safe place to live. On the next day, a homeless is found dead with stings in the tool shed of Jane's blind friend Beverly Rowe (Sheena Larkin) and the exterminator Devin Hall (Sebastien Roberts) and the entomologist Katherine Randell (Jayne Heitmeyer) are summoned to help in the investigation. Devin is Jane's brother-in-law and former boyfriend, and Jane still has a crush on him. Meanwhile, Kelsey befriends the scientist Eli Giles (Robert Englund), who has developed genetically modified wasps to the army as a weapon, and now he is trying to revert the process. When the wasps attack Black Stone, Jane, Devin and Eli team-up to attempt to destroy the swarm.

"Black Swarm" is a lame and corny mess, with a flawed story that is so absurd and ridiculous that I am ashamed to have spent my leisure time watching this crap. There are so many imbecile situations that do not worth spending time to write about it. My vote is three.

Title (Brazil): "Black Swarm" ("Enxame Negro")
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Where to begin?
TheLittleSongbird24 July 2012
Usually I try to be generous with my ratings and encouraging with my comments, but I have come across movies that are so bad and make you so angry that they aren't deserving of either. Black Swarm is one such movie. To start with, it is choppily edited with dull lighting and scenery and poor if not quite atrocious effects. I have come across worse acting, but these actors still seem largely uninvolved with their characters and don't deliver their lines with anywhere near enough passion and care about what's happening to them. The music is generic and you don't remember any of it afterwards, while the wasps are lacking in menace and the attacks are done with a great deal of predictability and no real sense of horror or suspense. The script, story and characters are the worst assets. The dialogue is just terrible, full of cheesy lines, stilted delivery, no sense of logic and everything just feels aimless. The story is thin and very predictable, with an unatmospheric and abrupt climax and no explanation as to the wasps' control. In regard to the characters, I don't mind if they are clichéd, but they have to be likable and well-written to make me not care about that and just empathise with the character. The characters aren't just clichéd, they are undeveloped and annoying and I found myself not only not caring for any one of them but actually shouting at the screen at the countless times a character did something dumb, and these ladies and gentlemen are simple common sense things that you should've already learnt at five years old that they get so wrong here. Pacing is also an issue, because the story is so thin in structure already Black Swarm does become tedious to watch. Overall, it is difficult to begin criticising Black Swarm as everything imaginable was wrong with it. 1/10 Bethany Cox
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
What a messy sting!
manjodude4 June 2009
Probably the filmmakers tried to convey a decent story on rabid bees(or wasps whatever) that attack humans but the effort was absolutely disappointing. Average special effects and unbelievable, unconvincing or silly scenes spoil the complete picture and therefore any fair performances the actors came up with was of no use anyway. The attacks by the wasps could have been treated better - or should I say with more horror! Probably the only impressive performance is of the blind, elderly character essayed by Sheena Larkin. Actor Robert Englund best known for Nightmare on Elm street is forgettable here. This is one sting that induces more laughter than hurt!
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Another terrible 'Creature Feature'.
poolandrews8 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Black Swarm is set in the small New York state town of Black Stone where Deputy Sheriff Jane Kozik (Sarah Allen) & her ten year old daughter Kelsey (Rebecca Windheim) have just moved to, the first day on the job & Deputy Sheriff Kozik has the dead body of a vagrant to deal with having been found stung to death. The autopsy suggests no type of known Wasp could have been responsible, then strangely the body disappears & people around town start acting like mindless zombies (insert your own joke). Sheriff Kozok teams up with pest control expert & twin brother of her late husband Devin Hall (Sebastien Roberts) to save the town & figure out just what these killer Wasp's actually are & where they came from...

This Candian produced 'Creature Feature' was directed by David Winning & not wishing to put too finer a point on it Black Swarm is awful. Right, all the usual 'Creature Feature' clichés are here from the Deputy Sheriff character (or someone in authority) to the local hero who both end up falling in love & have a romance to the mutant creature of some description that has been altered by genetics for use by the military as a weapon (two older than dirt 'Creature Feature' clichés there). The script sucks, didn't the army ever give any thought to what they were going to do with these Wasp's or how they were going to control them? Isn't that a slight oversight? Why are they conducting experiments in a small town? How did the Wasp's turn people into zombies & control them? What happened to those people when the hive was blown up at the end? Why did someone 'explode' into a swarm of Wasp's? Did the makers just make this up as they went along? Were large chunks of exposition cut? Did Black swarm even make sense as a written script? Why is it so boring & predictable? Why is it almost totally devoid of any action, incident or horror? Why does it take itself so seriously? Why is the ending so lame? Why did the Wasp's just let Devin take Kelsey? Why didn't the helicopters fire while they were in the building & only just after they escaped? Where did the helicopters disappear to anyway? Why at only 90 odd minutes does Black swarm feel like it goes on for hours? Black swarm is nothing more than the usual boring 'Creature Feature' clichés recycled again & adds nothing new of it's own & even worse is boring & predictable & totally forgettable.

This looks alright with a reasonable made-for-telly look about it, there's nothing stylish here or scary or funny or atmospheric & the Wasp action is kept to an absolute minimum throughout. Some of the CGI computer effects aren't as bad as expected but still not worth writing home about. There's zero blood or gore or violence or action which doesn't help maintain flagging interest levels.

The IMDb reckons Black Swarm had a budget of about $2,000,000 which I can't believe since virtually nothing happens, I would struggle to say this had half that sort of money spent on it. Although set in New York this was filmed in Montréal in Québec in Canada. The acting doesn't stand out while king of the horror film cameo Robert Englund adds another to his long list here.

Black Swarm is another terrible 'Creature Feature' that isn't gory or self aware enough to be fun, even the creature here is dull & have been used in these types of films all to often. Die hard 'Creature Feature' fans might like to check it out but anyone else should steer well clear.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Pretty bad, even by direct-to-video standards
gtc8318 August 2008
Warning: Spoilers
So the military is conducting experiments into weaponizing wasps. A guy named Eli (Robert Englund, best known for his portrayal of Freddie Kruger in the Nightmare on Elm Street movies) is in charge of it. He's got a huge, top secret research facility located under a small town. Even though pretty much any random manhole you go down leads to this lab, nobody's found it. And then there's the sheriff. She just moved there from Manhattan. She meets her deceased husband's identical twin brother, and strikes up a romance with him. She's also got a kid. I just love precocious kids in movies, doesn't everybody? Several people in town are stung by Eli's killer wasps and turn into zombies. Nobody notices. The sheriff, with her kid, then meet Eli. She's holds him at gunpoint, as he is the person responsible for the wasp attacks. But I guess she has a rather rapid change of heart, because after about two minutes she puts her kid in Eli's care so that she can run off and do whatever it is she's going to do with the dead husband's lookalike. I found that rather odd. The big rule in this movie is that when killer wasps attack, you must immediately leave the safety of whatever building you're in and try to make it to the other side of town, where perhaps you'll find another building, which might be safe. Yup, makes perfect sense, doesn't it? This line of thinking is responsible for the majority of wasp deaths during the movie.

Anyhow, We got the kid entrusted to the bad guy, Mrs. Sheriff running around getting friendly with the dead husband's brother, the requisite cornball explosion ending, yadda yadda yadda. At one point mom and kid are fleeing a building because attack helicopters are about to destroy it. Instead of taking her kid by the hand and running, mom decides to leave her with Eli. Mom runs away to safety. Gee kid, hope you have as good a luck as I did! If you've seen one low budget bee movie, you've pretty much seen them all. This one is remarkable only for the blatant idiocy of the characters. Special effects were pretty good, much better than the movie deserved. The plot was more Z-grade than B-grade. Acting was spotty, good in some cases and lousy in others.

One thing I cannot figure out: At one point, sheriff babe takes her sheriff shirt off, and is only wearing a T-shirt. Okay, she looks sexy, and the movie makers obviously did this to add some sex appeal to the movie. Otherwise it's just stupid. So why then, two minutes later, do they have her put a sweatshirt on? I mean, you get her into a T-shirt because you know full well this movie doesn't have anything else going for it, and then you almost immediately have her put some other shirt on? Hello? WHY in god's name would they do that?
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Utter Drivel!!!!!
Krazykopper5 March 2009
Since satellite and cable have brought so many choices of what we can tune into on the box, it is only to be expected that the calibre of the content may drop from time to time. That being said it has provided an excellent opportunity for low budget movies and TVs show to help hone the skills of prospective Speilbergs and Scorseses. With this in mind I will often tune in, with gleeful optimism to what, on the face of it may sound like a bad idea at the time it was conceived, to she a glimmer of something to look forward to in the future at least. This however had absolutely no redeeming features. It was so bad that I barely made it through 20 mins, so forgive me if this is not a complete review.

The effects were adequate, but not really anything that a 14 year old could muster with a home PC and the smallest modicum of imagination couldn't put together on a rainy afternoon, if he was bored enough. As for the acting. Well lets just say I shouldn't think any of the cast were awaiting the postman when the academy made their shortlist. But they cant really take the blame for the dialogue and the plot. Overall this was awful. If you are planning to watch this, please find a newly painted room to watch instead, magnolia would be best. I promise a better time than however long this embarrassment lasts.

If still don't know how it all turned out so, if you know, my deepest sympathy.

You have been warned.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Truly ,Truly, Awful
david-walpole18 August 2008
WRITER : "hey guys, I got this really great idea for a movie, it starts with a mad scientist, who makes these genetically modified wasps, to use as a weapon against terrorists, But...... Things go wrong guys! Really wrong!, and the wasps attack, and the people who've been stung turn in to zombies, and......."

STUDIO : "Your fired!"

Unfortunately this never happened, instead they made the movie.

This has got to be one of the worst films I've ever seen, the dialogue is terrible, The plot is just plain ridiculous, and the actors seem too embarrassed to act.....How this has got as many stars as it has is beyond me.

The one saving grace is that Sarah Allen is really attractive. And thats it!.
12 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
stinks
marfrie5619 May 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I really love the grade B stuff (and nothing beats the 50's and early '60s in that genre), but I found absolutely nothing of value or interest in Black Swarm. This one is grade F. I missed the last 20 minutes, because as it was building to the climax, I realized that it didn't have one. So many inconsistencies, irrational behavior of the characters, and pure stupidity that I can't even sum up just how horrible this straight to cable bomb really is. Let's start with the fact that dead bodies wake up and go missing from the morgue, and nobody seems to notice, including a scientist that had been shortly before, examining the body. Oh, it had plenty of clichés, such as the acute hearing and sense of smell of the old blind lady. WOW - that was some basement in that mobile home! Come on. There WAS a moral, though: Don't accept peaches from weird looking people who blow into dog whistles.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Black Swarm
jboothmillard14 December 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I spotted the Freddy Krueger actor before I read the plot of the film, which did admittedly sound relatively worth a go, but I knew it was most likely going to be terrible viewing. Basically in the small town of Black Rock is where a few years ago pest control man Dan Hall (Sebastien Roberts) was killed by a swarm of killer bees, and only now has Detective Sheriff Jane Kozik (Sarah Allen) returned to her home with the daughter she had with him, Kelsey (Rebecca Windheim). It is a quaint quiet town where everyone knows each other, but this will change soon with the appearance of a swarm of genetically enhanced killer bees. Mysterious local townsman and beekeeper Eli Giles (Robert Englund) is responsible for this failed secret military experiment, where the bees can not only travel from nest to nest, but they can take over humans to become zombie like drones. Also in town returning to his roots is the identical twin brother of Dan, Devin (also Roberts), who has taken over the pest control business, and he is first to spot that there a new kind of bee in town. Soon enough he and Jane, with the help of the overly curious little Kelsey sneaking around Eli's underground lab, they discover the truth about his research and the government conspiracy. Eli admits he has tried to find what out what happened to his swarm and a way to contain the problem, using such things as a dog whistle and pheromone filled peaches, Kelsey has eaten on of these and the bees believe she is their queen. Katherine Randell (Jayne Heitmeyer) is one of the government personnel who knows the truth about the experiment too, and she determined to do everything she can to make sure it doesn't get out but remains, even kill Eli. Delvin finds out at one point he is actually Kelsey's father, and he and Jane eventually find her trapped inside the large cocoon protected as the queen, with Katherine there to stop them getting out. Eli comes back as well, having survived a gun shot to the arm and bee stings which he is immune to, and they get out of the building all the bees are in, that is blown up by helicopters, and Eli sacrifices himself to let the others escape. Also starring Michel Perron as Mayor Blatz, Sheena Larkin as Beverly Rowe and Robert Higden as Father Francis. Englund is both a little creepy but likable as the mad scientist, a nod to the Elm Street films is seen too, the bees are reasonably scary, but there is no tension to be had, the characters are actually relaxed when Englund tells them about the trouble he has made, a pretty slightly horror film. Adequate!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
bad
markthomp110 May 2008
not sure who has been rating this movie--my guess is people with a vested interest. it is NOT a 7 star movie. very slow. nothing happens for the first hour. didn't anybody notice that half the town is walking around like zombies with huge pustules on their faces? will the hot entymologist/evil spy get it on with the hot exterminator, the twin brother of the hot widow's dead husband? "you're an exterminator. she's an etymologist. you could talk about bugs." then it gets really bad. some passable actors, but they're wasted here. i think somebody said "nobody's mixed killer wasps and zombies yet. let's start there and make it up as we go along, then pour some sappy moralistic ketchup on this bad goulash at the end. don't flush any money on this.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Yes, I'm comparing Killer Wasps with Killer Cigarettes
thesar-27 March 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I guess good advice in regards to 'Black Swarm,' is not to watch the trailer first as it gives away too many spoilers. Okay, the best advice is just to simply avoid the movie at all costs. The "when animals attack" film, like so many other b-movies, tries to be too many things and ultimately falls apart. Those unfortunate enough like me to waste time on such filth will see: part 'Aliens,' part 'Day of the Dead,' part 'Empire of the Ants' and any "government's secret weapon runs amok" movie. It's frivolous to attack any of its hundreds of flaws, inconsistencies or even the little girl that laughs and smiles at inappropriate times. It is a b-movie about killer wasps that fear the fruit after all, but with lines like "Maybe it's playing hive and seek," good cops that threaten to kill at will and scenes stolen from much better movies – think Newt's dilemma in 'Aliens' – it's hard not to simply hate any effort produced here. Perhaps it is a good drunk movie, as so many scenes make you laugh out loud, such as a "shocking" revelation in the closing by the two stars while aimless Robert Englund stands around. One of my favorite flaws (and yes spoiler ahead) was the quick and almost immediately forgotten death of the beloved blind "B" woman who previously attempted to protect the young girl with a perfectly sized raincoat she happened to have. Then, when it was never revealed to her mother the blind woman got it, her mother seemed to know. I'm getting tired of at least acknowledging one's efforts, even with a low budget. "At least they attempted to make a movie." Well, Marlboro also attempts to make a quality cigarette. And we all know how that ends up.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A complete wast of time
always-be-blue15 December 2010
I can often tolerate, even enjoy a poorly made movie if it's at least plausible. But at so many moments in this film you were left wondering "who the hell would do that ??"

Why would a mother leave her daughter in the care of a complete stranger ? A stranger who has a secret laboratory under his mobile home nonetheless.

Most of the acting is really not horrible in comparison to other low budget movies, it's the story and the dialog that is just pitiful.I am simply amazed that this movie ever got made.

You have been warned, your time spent watching this will be wasted.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Untamable Genetically Engineered swarms are on the loose!
smokzey17 June 2008
A new breed of wasps, unidentifiable and unexplainable by petty exterminator and cop woman, are now going to kick some major booty! People are being stung and the ice-cream man doesn't seem to come to work sober anymore... something is going terribly wrong in Black Stone... a town... haunted with myths... a very very usual, safe town...

This is probably higher than moderate TV entertainment. Some people seem to forget this is a TV-movie, just Robert Englund alone is good enough reason to check it out, if not, and you are interested in swarms, check this one out while working or whatever, it's OK.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Worst film of 2007
naughtiusmaximus22215 March 2008
This trashy, poorly scripted, badly acted film seems to struggle between the combined aliases of a drama, sci-fi and zombie movie all in one. Quite possibly the worst film to be released in 2007. There are so many parts of this movie which are just cringe worthy. First of all there is the extremely poor biological backing to it, including only a crude understanding of wasp behaviour. Then there are the numerous occasions that the lead "scientist" character feels it necessary to explain genetics to a seven year old child. Then there is the clear lack of emotion shown when the lead female cop finds her daughter has been "kidnapped" by wasps! These are only a very few of the most notable flaws in this movie - quite frankly, this movie was just a wreck!
10 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Robert Englund's best movie?
lastliberal31 August 2008
There are really only two reasons to watch this film: Robert Englund and Rebecca Windheim.

Director David Winning did a good job of keeping the action going, but the question remains: Do we need another film about a swarm of insects taking over? We have already had killer bees, what do we get different with killer wasps? The fact that the government is developing strange weapons that get out of control has also been done. Do we really need another? That aside, it is was good to see Robert Englund in another role; this time as the scientist that developed the killer wasps, and who is trying to fix his mistake. It may be the best work he has done.

Also enjoyable was young actress Rebecca Windheim in her first movie. Looking for good things from her.

It was interesting to see a different twist on zombies. This time as host for the killer wasps. Kind of scary.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
formula science fiction with no serious flaws
drystyx17 August 2008
I couldn't recommend renting this movie, unless it is a choice between this and some of the real garbage out there. It is definitely a formula science fiction movie, very predictable in every detail, about monster wasps.

I would hate to spoil the movie, but suffice to say, nothing will surprise you.

So why not a real low grade? First, there are enough likable characters. It suffers from some lame actresses, namely the police woman and the bad woman. One day, those who do the casting will realize that even men would rather see actresses than hourglass figures. We can go to the porn shop for hourglass figures, thank you. When we see a movie, we want a story that isn't slowed down by hams.

Part of it is some meager, lazy writing, however.

Still, the people in the movie have some appeal and credibility, which keeps you moderately interested in this routine plot. It helps, too, that there aren't a lot of video game special effects to confuse you. Instead, there is a logical, easy to follow story (at least easy to follow in comparison to most science fiction).

The twin brother character doesn't hold the movie back. It doesn't add a lot, but it falls into the mold of "unusual circumstance which isn't unusual since every circumstance has one or two unusual ingredients".

Probably Englund's best film, which is saying very little. Certainly one of his better roles. It isn't a great film by any means. I don't see it being considered a horrible movie, either.

I would expect this film to get 90% of the ratings from 3 to 7. Anything over and under would seem to be a vote for ulterior motives.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
More Cheap Horror
Michael_Elliott29 October 2010
Black Swarm (2007)

* 1/2 (out of 4)

Robert Englund plays a scientist who is hired by the government to create some wasps who they are going to use to kill terrorists. The only problem is that they have no way of controlling the wasps plus whoever they kill then turn into zombies. A new deputy in this small town doesn't think this is such a good idea so she plans to destroy the wasps no matter what it takes. This Canadian production is yet another entry in the unstoppable "nature runs amuck" series and I'm starting to realize that it's best to stay away from bees and wasps. THE DEADLY BEES is a deadly bore and everyone familiar with the genre remembers the disaster known as THE SWARM that was released with a big-budget and major stars. I think the closest this genre ever came to a good bee movie was THE BEES with John Carradine simply because it was so incredibly silly that you couldn't help but laugh and have a good time. BLACK SWARM really doesn't offer too many good things, although I'll admit that I thought the story was rather interesting but sadly nothing good is done with it. The thought of wasps stinging people and turning them into zombies could have been a good, fun movie but the filmmakers decided to take this silly plot and try to do something serious with it. The characters are all taking this thing way too serious and I think the filmmakers are too. There's nothing believable about the story and the reasons they come up with are just as silly. I think it really hurts a film like this when those making it don't realize they're dealing with camp. The CGI wasps don't look too bad but don't expect anyone to think they're the real thing. The attack scenes are all rather poor with some bad make up effects and some really silly sound effects. There are a few good things in the film and one is Englund who actually turns in a pretty good performance. I thought he was believable in the role and thought he had some terrific chemistry with the young actress Rebecca Windheim. The two are very good together and one wishes they had more scenes together. There's a required joke of some of the action taking place on Elm Street but outside of this there's very little going on here. It's a real shame too because there are enough interesting ideas here that should have at least given more entertainment to the viewers.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Genetically altered, weaponized killer wasps...
paul_haakonsen30 December 2015
While "Black Swarm" is a fairly generic movie in the genre with killer insects, and by that I mean following the manual of how to make such a movie. It is still an entertaining enough movie for what it turned out to be.

"Black Swarm" is about a deadly swarm of genetically altered wasps that threaten the lives of the inhabitants of a small town.

Well, you know how it goes, hence there is no need to carve out the story in further detail. If you have seen any of the many other similar movies throughout the years then you know exactly what I am talking about.

The effects in the movie were quite alright, which helped add to the overall enjoyment of the movie.

What initially made me sit down to watch this movie was the fact that Robert Englund is in it. And, as usual, he did a good job and added his usual charms to the movie. Sarah Allen, Sebastien Roberts and Rebecca Windheim all also did good jobs with their roles.

I am settlings on a mediocre five out of ten stars because it is an entertaining movie, but there just wasn't a particularly great sense of impending threat from the CGI animated wasps.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Killer wasps and zombies in a Sci Fi Channel fail
Leofwine_draca24 November 2015
BLACK SWARM is one of many diabolical TV movies produced by the Sci Fi channel in the USA which have somehow found international distribution via TV networks. This is a good example of a poor, schlocky B-movie at its very worst; it really is the nadir of the B-movie cycle and doesn't even exploit the various attributes which could have made it more entertaining – if ever there was a plot and premise ripe for some good old fashioned sex 'n' violence then this is the one. Instead, this feels like a tacky soap opera with some muddled genetic dialogue thrown into the mix and somebody's half-assed attempt to make a zombie movie.

Yes, that's right – zombies. They're part of this movie, controlled by the killer wasps and with icky pustules over their bodies. What do they do? You'll be thinking they kill people in messy ways, or explode, or turn other people into zombies. Well the latter option is right, but in a very lacklustre way; a few extras are transformed but that's it. These zombies just wander around in the background for ages without affecting the plot in any way. One of the actors, the one who plays the vicar, is hilarious, copying the style of the cemetery zombie at the beginning of NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD but in a totally exaggerated, ludicrous-looking way.

What of the 'black swarm' of the title? Well, they're not black for starters – I think that's got something to do with the town being called Black Stone. Essentially they're just wasps, slightly bigger and tougher than the usual breed. I've got something of a phobia of wasps but these ones didn't scare me for a second. The CGI animation is adequate but apart from some scene-setting shots of them gathering in the sky, they're never shown to be menacing. One supposed 'scare' scene features a zombie spitting a cloud of them from his mouth; the problem was I already saw this moment in one of the CANDYMAN films – yet another rip-off moment.

Another problem is the lack of budget, which is pretty noticeable. This was shot in Canada on the cheap and the climax features laughably bad CGI explosions and missiles and a hilarious interlude where our heroes enter a giant wasp nest, which looks like it was inspired by ALIENS (same music) except this one appears to have been made with papier mache. The biggest fault, however, with BLACK SWARM, and the factor that makes it a worthless movie, is the absolutely awful acting. The only experienced actor of note is Robert Englund, here playing a good guy for once. The producers obviously realise they're on to a good thing with Englund, because he's the consummate professional and they figure a way for him to be in the entire movie. Everyone else is terrible, especially Sarah Allen who simply cannot emote – at all – as the 'tough' female lead. Sebastien Roberts is a wooden, charisma-free hero and child actress Rebecca Windheim is intensely irritating. Aside from Englund, this is strictly amateur night stuff, making it a struggle to sit through till the boring, pointless ending. BLACK SWARM is probably the worst "film" I've seen in recent months.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Pretty good, actually great in view of the budget.
winopaul14 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I agree with drystyx. Four stars, but maybe for different reasons. First off, I saw the movie on a video sharing site that rhymes with zoo boob. So it was free and there were no commercials. Wow, now that I check the resolution, I see it is 720p, I might move back to the beginning and watch it full-screen. Naahhhh, it really is not worth watching over. I re-watched The Departed last night and no, this is not in the same league. The Departed cost 90 million dollars, this cost two million. So I think this movie is much more like giving John Lennon a tuba and getting some art. You could make 45 of these from the budget for The Departed.

This movie is not Tab Hunter channeling John Waters in Lust in the Dust. It is not Tim Blake Nelson channeling the Coen brothers in Leaves of Grass. I liked both those movies a lot, and they both were way better then this movie, but lets remember: 2 million dollars. Free to watch. In HD.

And it is easy to slag the actors and the script and the special effects, like Crazy King Ludwig pronouncing "This did not please me," but remember, 2 million dollars. Yeah, it was a little forced, like a dating site or community college full of 35-year-olds that know they just have to mate and settle down really soon.

Everybody was a bit too good looking. Maybe not Zoolander ridiculously good looking, but I agree that going with 45-year-old fading stars with some BMI issues might have made for a better movie. I don't watch horror flicks so I didn't know Robert Englund, but when he was introduced it was easy to think "this is the best actor/actress so far."

Sound was good, music was OK, walk and talk, bokeh, its really amazing to me they could make this for 2 million dollars. And two million with a child actor, that will triple your shooting time. Yeah she was precocious and yeah, I would have had her stung to death in the first ten minutes, but mothers watch made-for-TV movies, and there is no better way to keep them tuned in than to put a child in danger.

Everybody says this movie was predictable but I didn't see some of it coming. It was half-way through before it became apparent this was a modified....well, Zombie is such an ugly word, lets say, a reanimation movie. Wow, the black limo just picked up the fluff babe, the surprises never cease. Maybe its a 5 star movie. Ahhh, now that I see she is a government employee, her stiff stilted delivery is quite fitting.

Ahhh ahhh ahhh, a Goldwing with a sidecar, I am so tempted to do 5 stars now. Pride of Marysville Ohio. Oh, the kid is a wasp magnet-- now I really like this movie. If only they had the moral courage to have the priest toss her off a parking deck, this thing would be Palme d'Or material. OK, fluff babe is packing, and she is-- well, enough spoilers. Watch it. Its fun, its free, and its a tuba making art.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Solid creature feature
Adjusting to life in a small town, the discovery of wasps genetically- engineered for a secret government agency as the perfect killing machine and forces the residents to set out to destroy them before they succumb to the deadly creatures.

This was a pleasantly enjoyable creature feature. One of the strong points is the intriguing story, though this a little cliché the way it's done here is really great as this one decides to utilize a different format. There's a big change away from the usual mad-scientist- genetically-modifies-animals-into-killers routine, and decides to make them the carriers of the virus that turns the victims into drones that contain the creatures before being born, which sets up a rather nice atmosphere during the beginning by showcasing the drones mindlessly wandering around town with the buzzing going on in the background. The slow-burning mystery doesn't hurt either, as there's some nice work to be had from how it handles these scenes, from the fruits and the dead bodies appearing and disappearing, as these parts actually manage to come together to have a really nice set-up that drives the action in here. There's some really good swarming going on at the beginning to the attack in the cornfield and the whole finale, from the attack at the bridge to the revelations at the church, and everything that happens in the factory at the end are all nicely done and make for some great moments. The other good part here is the insects in here look good enough, not really obvious CGI in the glances afforded at them which actually works nicely. These here are the film's best points as there wasn't a whole lot really wrong with this one. One of the problems was that there's a big twist at the end is plain ridiculous and not all that needed. There's a lot of effort throughout which put the conspirator as one of the good guys, yet this one decides to suddenly twist all that around merely because it wants to do something shocking. The other flaw here is the extremely clichéd manner of some of the plot points, as the deadly-creatures-as-government-super-killers angle comes up as does the main engineering party trying to stop them part. There's tons upon tons of clichés to be found here, some which hurt the film, others that give it some familiarity, but overall this one isn't that bad.

Rated R: Graphic Violence and Language.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Bee Movie Thriller
wes-connors8 August 2014
Nine years ago, in Black Stone, a handsome exterminator was killed in a wasp nest removal accident. Presently, his identical twin brother Sebastien Roberts (as Devin Hall) works as the small New York town's pest controller. He's thinking of moving just as his brother's red-haired widow Sarah Allen (as Jane Kozik) moves back to Black Stone with her exceptionally mature nine-year-old daughter Rebecca Windheim (as Kelsey). Immediately installed as the town's sheriff, Ms. Allen begins to investigate some strange deaths. Meanwhile, little Miss Windheim has befriended weird-acting bee-keeper Robert Englund (as Eli Giles). He has been experimenting on wasps. Hit in his windshield by a super-wasp, Mr. Roberts decides to stay and face the menace...

The basic idea behind this monster bee thriller, by Todd Samovitz, is engaging. Considering the TV Movie budget, the make-up is also an asset. Sadly, there is little effort to make the bees a terrifying threat. It might have been better to suggest, rather than show, the initial swarming attack on homeless guitar player Andrew Shaver. When we see his body, we can imagine the horror. Later attacks are comic, with performers veering into theatrics. Also, it appears like most people in the town are slow to notice many residents have developed welts and make a buzzing noise. Zombies should be a constant peril. Roberts and Allen are attractive, play very well together and try to keep it serious for director David Winning. Unfortunately for all, it's a lackluster effort.

**** Black Swarm (12/7/07) David Winning ~ Sebastien Roberts, Sarah Allen, Robert Englund, Rebecca Windheim
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Honestly Did Not Find It To Be All That Bad
gavin694217 October 2012
A small town is overrun by wasps that not only sting, but actually infest themselves inside of human hosts...

I appreciate that Robert Englund not only appears -- and for much more than a cameo -- but is actually given a decent character. This film is nothing amazing, but Englund treated it with respect and he comes across as both devious and mysterious, while still likable.

This film has some issues with continuity -- for example, the question of who is dead. Twice the sheriff seems to be aware that people are dead without having actually witnessed the scenes we (the viewers) saw. Just because it happens earlier in the script does not mean all the characters suddenly are aware of it.

Even more odd is the relationship issue -- a woman dates a guy, leaves him for his identical twin brother... the second brother dies and she is again interested in the first. Dating brothers is awkward enough... this just steps it up to a new level. (And unless Sarah Allen ages really, really well, she seems too young to have a 10-year old daughter.)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Where can I buy the movie Black Swarm?
lady_dee_love_some31 August 2008
I think that it was a very good movie and I would like to get it on DVD. I was watching it las night and I would like to see it again..... WHERE CAN I BUY IT!!!!!!!!!! There was very good sound and it looked very real. I loved how everyone played there parts. I wish I would have taped it so I could see it right now. Any way if anyone know where I can get this movie please let me know. I could watch this movie over and over again, it is a must have. My kids even loves it and would like to see it again. If it is not going to be on DVD anytime soon, than I hope they put it back on sci-fi again.I hope to see it again real soon. Thank you I have been wanting on a good movie like this.
4 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Black Swarm
Scarecrow-8812 September 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Decent "when insects attack" sci-fi horror has genetically modified weaponized killer wasps(created by scientist Robert Englund who "tweaked the wasp genome" turning their defensive mechanism of protecting the colony into an offense operating by instinct when attacking humans entering their bodies and turning them into zombie-like drones)on the rampage in a tiny town in Black Stone, New York as pest control exterminator Devin Hall(Sebastien Roberts), former flame deputy sheriff, Jane Kozik(Sarah Allen), and Jane's daughter Kelsey(Rebecca Windheim)trying to avoid being victims of the swarm. Englund's scientist Eli Giles is attempting to uncover a means to control the wasps from attacking everyone in sight, knowing that the black ops organization behind his experiment are out to get him. Entomologist Katherine Randell(Jayne Keitmeyer)comes to Black Stone seemingly to help figure out what would cause strange welts on a dead struggling musician(who kills the town's coroner at the command of the wasps), but her true motives are later revealed and it involves Eli's work. Kelsey eats from a peach injected with pheromones by Eli and this has the wasps considering her their queen! The special effects involving the wasps actually aren't as bad as I was expecting and BLACK SWARM has a rare hero role from Englund who bonds with Kelsey, even saving her from a hive. We see insects coming out of the ears of human victims and there are welts throughout their faces which signify the presence of the wasps inside them. You could do worse with a killer wasps movie than this. Like many other bio-weapon governmental genetic engineering plots, the wasps were created as a military tool against the enemy, of course the mad science instead gives birth to an out-of-control terror. Eli wants to correct his mistake of creating these wasps by working on a device to control them while those that hired him wish to kill the scientist.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed