A Sun (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
29 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
The Best Movie I've Seen in Ages
marshallfg1 January 2021
This is the story about a family with some issues that initially threaten to tear them apart but ultimately bring them together with a bond that's stronger than they'd ever had. At the center of it all is A-Ho, the youngest and least favored of two sons, the "black sheep", outcast and ne'er-do-well, and how he comes of age in spite of some really bad and life-altering decisions. The acting throughout is top-notch. The story is entirely credible and emotionally intense. Every scene in this over 2 hour movie held me captive and, at times, had me near tears. What a treat!
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Real, painful, thought provoking story
bumberbee28 January 2020
Set in modern day Taipei, this story about a middle class family struggling to survive some bad decisions and predicaments. Superbly acted and character building made family relationships so easily relatable.

Fantastic direction and somber tone.

Love it
33 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow
fab886 February 2020
This movie was the best i've seen in a long time. Very touching and meaningful. The beautiful music and wonderful acting fits just perfectly in this astonishing movie.
32 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
In Desperate Need Of An Editor
Blk_Ne19016 February 2021
This was a a rollercoaster for me. It started off really good. I loved the opening shots mixed with the gorgeous score and then a shocking scene juxtaposing the score so well.

Then bit by bit i lost interest. It was just so long! The editing was terrible. So much could have been chop and left on the floor. The transitions weren't great. It was just poorly edited. Which is a shame. 2 and a half hours to tell this simple of a story is unnecessary. It should have been 1:30 or 1:40 max.

I do think the story could have used some polishing up. It seemed like it was like "And then this happened but don't think about it for too long because now this other thing is happening that is totally unrelated". It seemed unfocused.

I think it was shot beautifully and the lighting especially had this golden glow that just made every frame outside look incredible.

The acting was also up and down for me. Sometimes i was like "Oh wow" but then other times it seemed like people would drop character and they would just stand emotionless in the shot.

It had lots of potential but it just didn't quite fit with me.
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
One of the most overlooked movies of 2019/2020
ShawnMHe20 December 2020
A dense, provoking and heartbreaking story that unfolds through the dialogues and faces of the dedicated actors with a unique fluidity uncommon in western movies. Mong-hong Chung isn't afraid of ditching a typical pace of storytelling and has carefully structured his visual poem to gradually challenge your perception of life. The realism of the lives of the main characters is masterfully shrouded by a sense of surrealness which is both disconnecting and provoking to the audience. A viewing that will make sure to have you wonder for a long time after the credits roll. It's currently available on Netflix and it's well worth your time and it will abundantly reward a patient audience.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Awesome movie
emailbnatrajan27 November 2020
Very interesting story line with very simple dialogues with great impact. All the characters have done excellent job. Father is the real hero, followed by his second son. Each played their role with total commitment. There is no acting in this movie everyone just lived their role.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Riveting drama
joydipkumar26 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
The movie 'Sun' is a modern Taiwan drama which is highly riveting with strong screenplay, smart direction and brilliant acting. The mix of humour and grief goes hand in hand. Witty dialogue in a harrowing situation makes you smile as well as feel for the pain that the character is going through. The film is based on the fact that the Sun burns himself to give it warmth. Here the sun is used as a metaphor to display the characters in the family. The use of shade and sun is used various times to show the good and bad times in the family. This is a story of 2 kids quite opposite in character, one who is academically brilliant and the other is in bad company. Both are being raised by their hard working parents. In the movie each character "burns like a Sun" or put themselves in line of hardship and discomfort to keep the family floating.

The movie started with a scene where an A' Ho son of Wen commits a crime and goes to jail. Father Wen, a driving instructor does not treat A' Ho as his son. On the other hand Hao is a medical student who is very nice and likes to help others. Father Wen pays all his tuition fees too. Till first half Wen believes he has only one son, till the moment Hao committed suicide. First half an hour, the characters was beautifully established and the pace of the movie at times gives a sense of purity to the characters and their sufferings. Second half became more intriguing as A' Ho, who was in the shade in the first half started burning himself for supporting the family. He was working 18 hours with 6 hours sleep. And that made his father realize that he still has one son with him. It was only in the second last scene where Wen tells his wife how he saved A' Ho by killing the bad company that was trying to spoil his son and made her realize that even though he is just a mere driving instructor yet he executed his saying "Seize the day. Decide your path"
27 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Amazing
ivonneminero-238568 February 2021
A Sun is probably one of the best films I've watched these last few months. I have never watched a Taiwanese film, and am in awe how this one was made. The cinematography was just *chefs kiss*. Also, how simple the script was but how the actors delivered flawlessly. A must watch!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not easy viewing but rewarding
msghall26 January 2020
Shining a light on the demanding, unforgiving side of Taiwanese life, director/writer Mong-Hong Chung weaves multiple layers of a family's tribulations while slowly pulling you in, even if you're not sure you want to.

Unremitting in its unsmiling grimness, this is not easy-going entertainment. Rather, it provides us with a glimpse into the souls of its characters, rarely dressing them up in the sentimentality and superficiality that permeate most films today. The payoff comes with just a smile or a warm gesture but those moments are too far between. Some wonderful animation, too. A nice touch is the convict son's name, - the humorously descriptive "A-Ho."
19 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Feel something
n-31048-4610820 April 2020
Some people want to find the sun warm, some people want to find the shadow to hide... In fact, as long as there is sunshine, there must be a shadow.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just Wow
atractiveeyes6 January 2021
It's a masterpiece. The story is amazing, brilliant, provoking, realistic and very well written. The script is so rich and deep. The character study is perfect in a way that makes you feel, understand and relate to each of the characters through the beautiful storytelling. The cinematography is at its best with many great frames. Performances by everyone are superb and real. Original score is awesome too. A Sun is flawless, it's nice in every single way, it's enjoyable and keeps you involved from the very beginning until the credits start rolling, and it's definitely a movie that you wouldn't stop thinking about for a while. A Sun is Taiwan's official submission to the Oscars and it really deserves a nomination at least. I saw 3 awesome movies from Taiwan from last year (A Sun is my favorite) and all I can say is that Im really in love with Taiwanese cinema already.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Mature and impressive award-winning film.
AJ_McAninch27 January 2020
Brilliant writing, direction, and acting in a heartbreaking but ultimately hopeful narrative. Very impressive film from Taiwan.
15 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
'Seize the day, decide your path'...
Xstal5 May 2020
As dry as a bottle of gin but not as much fun until Radish returns to spice things up. With a hefty run time this family drama from Taiwan hides behind the clouds too long before shining but does produce a ray or two before sunset.
17 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sad movie
cyndilie20 November 2020
Family movie who really related to life, you dont know inside of a person and when you do good things there always something distrub you.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A beautiful (and tragic) story about a normal family in Taiwan
MarcoParzivalRocha26 June 2020
A film about a family in Taiwan, where the mistakes, misfortunes, and the surprises that life can bring are accompanied. It is an example of how a Drama should be written and performed. The narrative is very sentimental and melancholic, typical of Asian cinema, but it does not use a formula repeated in previous films, which helps to grab the viewer and create connection with the characters. One of my favorites in 2020.
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Father and mother figure in East Asia
akio-aoki25 January 2021
Warning: Spoilers
The narrative is quite straight and well written, having the rigorous Asian discipline in a family with two children in Taipé. However during the course of the film, you start to see the mother and father figure role, so different in many aspects in the west, and not often seen in feature films. Pay attention to the non-obvious father figure.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Extremely realistic
yiyanzhao-7907421 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
With the setting in Taipei, the film blends the local culture into the family's predicament well. The academic pressure on the elder son of the family, the attempts to uphold dignity while facing the economic burden and the path of redemption of a young man with a criminal background are brought into the life of one family. The dramatic effect and tension in the plot is well controlled. It is well acted without much exaggeration. The scenes at the youth centre are outstanding. The rough living condition, as well as the character's mental and physical struggles are portrayed with details. Great film but not very easy to watch due to the painful topic.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Family
BlissQuest15 May 2020
Basically a good film based on family relations or I should say human relationships in general. And we get to glimpse some of the beautiful landscapes of Taipei, a country now on my must-visit list. The film's only flaw is it's westernized form of poetic justice, which we all know is simply a myth.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Seize The Day!
chrispule28 January 2021
Foreign - China

This Movie is Beautiful! Such a Gentle Soul type of a Film

Characters with flaws but played with so much depth & passion. This ensemble cast is brilliant.

The Score & Cinematography was Incredible! The story of redemption for A-Ho is one I was rooting for! Just an awesome character study.

Great comedic moments! Top Notch Film
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Shame and scandal in the family
rubenm22 February 2021
'Nothing is as fair as the sun, because throughout the year it gives each location on earth the exact same amount of sunlight.' This is what student A-Wen tells his girlfriend, somewhere in the middle of the movie. The viewer can't help but relate this wisdom to the story he is watching. And the unavoidable conclusion is that, indeed, life is not as fair as the sun. There is quite a lot of unfairness in this story about a family falling apart. One unfortunate incident, shown in the very first scene, sets in motion a dramatic chain of events. Afterwards, what's left of the family will never be the same. This is not a film in which a tight script explains every little detail. The focus is on the characters of the four family members: a troubled and agressive son, his kind and warm brother, the resentful and bitter father and the mother who just tries to cope with every new misfortune. Bit by bit, the viewer understands more about their characters and about the way they behave. This is a film with a lot to enjoy: meaningful dialogues, subtle acting and creative cinematograpy. But it is not an easy film to watch. It has a considerable length, and the story is only slowly moving forward. The important events are far apart. But once the movie is underway, it grips the viewer, and doesn't let go.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cinema Omnivore - A Sun (2019) 7.9/10
lasttimeisaw13 February 2021
"After Ho reenters the society at large, becomes a father and gets hitched, aspiring to a normal life, his insalubrious past catches up with the prodigal son once Radish is released from behind bars and an egress materializes only in the most mystifying way as Chung tactically blows the lid off in the coda, where Lin Sheng-Xiang's folksy score can embrace us so that we can brave the savage reveal. But the searing question is, this kind of belated redemption is pyrrhic (though Chung leaves the consequence in omission), Wen is an inadequate father, he has no real connections to both Hao and Ho despite his dichotomic attitudes, so as Qin, a doting mother to compensate her husband's asperity. A SUN is most trenchant in flagging up that wanting of parenting skill and shows us its harrowing damages, shored up by a cracking cast. My preferences are Liu's importunate roguery, Wu's headstrong sulkiness and Hsu' fresh-faced good nature that only in hindsight betrays a streak of marrow-deep taedium vitea (prefigured by an animated vignette)."

read my full review on my blog: cinema omnivore, thanks
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A moving story about a family
makaylagan7 June 2020
The actors and actresses are very good. A touching story. Unexpected ending.
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Unbearable lightness of life
clinluo3 May 2020
In order to build the inner level as much as possible, "Sunshine shines" has some too much pen in the plot setting, but in this family tragedy full of injuries and pains, the delicate emotional outline allows people to immerse themselves. I don't realize how awkward the plot is. The texture of the family relationship not only makes people see the cold contradiction, but also feels the temperature of family, the sun needs to shine, and the night is also.
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Tedious; waste of an evening
retiredERdoc18 May 2020
This movie needed serious editing. It's way too long. Despite its length, it's superficial-- it teases the viewer by hinting at developing relationships but fails miserably. The movie introduces new characters only to ignore their development. The movie's director failed to exercise a strong hand in directing its story line. Someone should have insisted on creating a movie which would grab the viewer instead of the viewer hoping it would finally end.Even a shorter version of this movie would be painful to watch. Frustrating to see these potential theme and characters so weakly developed. Don't waste an evening on this one.
6 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Badly written and totally confusing
qui_j1 February 2020
While this movie might have strong support in a small market, it certainly will not have global appeal. The movie starts off with a series of seemingly random events that has the viewer constantly wondering what's going on. It gets worse with each passing moment as the scenes appear to have little continuity and just seem to be randomly stuck together. I guess a lot is lost in the translation and subtitles but the dialog comes across as very trite. I hung on until about 2/3 of the film then ultimately gave up. It was just a waste of time!
12 out of 112 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed