Rhapsody of Love (2021) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Such an Amazing heart warming Romantic movie
jma-5417429 October 2021
Rhapsody of Love is one of my favourite Romantic Movies I have seen, the storyline is beautiful, unique and not to mention stunning cinematography! The first Asian Australian Romantic film ! So exciting, all the actors did an amazing job! This is a must see film. Congrats to Joy Hopwood and her team.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love is everywhere...
taufeeqnahmed4 July 2021
A cinematic treat for the audience to indulge in love romance drama emotions and a perpetual smile as you fall in love with every character so beautiful penned and captured. Well done all!
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Must see movie!!
kellymelia27 April 2021
Rhapsody of Love is such a relevant, modern age movie to watch. Captivating, funny and shows everyday relationships and the challenges they face. Hilariously funny, I couldn't stop laughing!

A great Aussie based movie... a definite must see!!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is what real romance is
paulkwchester28 April 2021
I had the chance to see Rhapsody of Love at The Gold Coast Film Festival screening this weekend and I was in for such a wonderful surprise. This film is what true romance is about and I have not seen a film like this in more than 10 years. I am 68 and an old softy who loves a romantic comedy. Kathy Luu and Damien Sato are both new to me. Both leads were outstanding in this film and you feel their chemistry, love and their journey. For laughs, there are other fun characters - Joy Hopwood (who wrote and directed the film) and Khan Chittenden are like an old Hollywood slapstick pair. The other supporting characters are also excellent actors and I enjoyed their performance and love stories. But the heart of the film really is with the Kathy Luu who is an extraordinary rare actress - her heart and joy lit up every scene for me and I felt very happy leaving the cinema. On the way out, I heard a young man tell his girlfriend "That was a really good movie, I'm so glad we got to see it. I'd go see it again." So would I. Thank you for making this film Joy Hopwood and team, and thank you for screening this Gold Coast Film Festival.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Wears its heart on the sleeve
oliverphommavanh5 July 2021
This is a tender tale between two realistic, grounded characters who have their hearts on their sleeves. In fact, that's what makes this movie shine, seeing characters who love what they do, whether it's photography, baking or fitness. Stunning cinematography, lots of genuine moments and plenty of laughs.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What did I just watch
juliancalendarblogspot3 October 2021
When the movie started, I thought it was a joke, probably the worst acting and screen writing I've ever seen. I can't get my head around how this movie has 7.6/10 rating like what! We were 6 in the whole theater and we just were blown away that this movie is even in theater. Please don't charge people for this stuff, do better :)
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Representing contemporary Australia
denise-953212 November 2021
It is refreshing to go to the cinema and watch a rom-com with such charm and character, and one that acknowledges and represents contemporary Australia in the storytelling. The story begins with a wedding, and follows the lives and loves of four very different couples. While the couples all face different challenges, their stories come together beautifully in Hopwood's script to present resolutions that are meaningful as well as happy. The movie is billed as the first Asian-Australian rom-com; it is the first Australian movie to have Asian-Australian leads. The challenges are not necessarily unique to Asian-Australians - we see the characters in relatable situations, and are drawn into their stories. I like that the story included a short film competition, the realities of living with anxiety, someone madly trying to finish their PhD and wanting to become a writer, and finding success with dreams of careers in the creative sector. Beautifully written and with great talent, I highly recommend it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A fun film providing a smile during times of pandemic
benbirken7820 October 2021
A wonderfully intimate, emotionally honest and buoyant Australian film that features some refreshing, new local talents. A fun film with a lot of heart. Looking forward to seeing what this team comes up with next.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Indie film punches above its weight
hitonygoh27 June 2021
You'd never think this film was shot amidst Covid and in only a couple of weeks. Refreshing to see rom-coms featuring Asians and 'mixed race' couples with an entertaining cast and script and makes this movie realistic. The photography, directing and acting is outstanding. I look forward to seeing more productions from Joy House.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed