Love Hard (2021) Poster

(2021)

User Reviews

Review this title
386 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
A funny comedy by Hernán Jiménez
DogePelis201513 November 2021
It is a fun, entertaining movie and the performances by Nina Dobrev and Jimmy O. Yang are excellent; it is highly recommended and can be enjoyed on Netflix.
37 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Yippie Kay Yay ...
kosmasp2 December 2021
Romantic comedies ... I mean we know how they will end, right? But it is not the goal that we look forward to, it is the way that we go together ... the experience we are having watching the movie. And how good the actors are in it. There are a few things that I am quite certain at least a few will not consider politically correct ... but the movie does try hard to be inclusive and really funny without being too offensive. Cut it some slack - comedy sometimes has to be edgy - or silly. Or both for that matter.

Nina Dobrev who I haven't seen in that TV show that made her famous is really the sweetest thing ... well she can also be quite mean. But overall the character is rather sweet. That being said, her love interest is someone I did not expect ... even though he is on the poster. Which I did not really look at before watching the movie. Neither did I watch the trailer - obviously.

A lot of funny moments, a lot of laughs and a lot of heart - or as the saying goes (there is one, right?): Love always ... wins.
63 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
a x.mas movie...
ops-525356 November 2021
For all the lonely ones out there searching for a soulmate and lovemate, try this plot of love and you will be matched for sure.

A decent christmas romantic comedy with loads of lights and props that gives a rush of x-mas, a story that you will hang on to due to its abnormalities, and last but not least the great and funny acting by the two mains, but also the rest of the cast. Its the chinese kidnapped victim from ''patriots day'' and the little sister of the balded boss of ''need for speed 1'' that recieves the price from the grumpy old man as some of the sweetest youve seen for years.

Yes its sweet, and a little sad too, it has a good screenplay, and the editing gives you quite a few surprises that is so hilarious that i lolled my way through this all on my own.

And that is not an award that i give away so easily, so try it if youre curious, you wont be dissapointed, here theyve hit the target very well.
79 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I really liked it!
brookenichole-980546 November 2021
Love Hard is amazing! I love Catfish: The show so I assumed I would enjoy this. Surprisingly, I almost loved it! This movie had gorgeous Christmas decorations, a beautiful story, and hilarious jokes. Also, I did not know Nina Dobrev could sing? The singing in the movie was something added I never knew I needed. I don't understand why they used a different voice for Harry Shum Jr. When he was on Glee, but I think it was a joke.

I will watch this every year!
89 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It's cheesy as heck but it's fine
Just-A-Girl-1412 November 2021
It's a typical love finding Christmas movie. It's really really cheesy. I usually avoid movies like that but I think it's ok if that's your taste. The acting is good enough although I have to agree that the chemistry between the two leads was a bit off. They are both cute and the acting is fine but there's something missing. I don't think it's the actors fault. They might have been miscast. As for how things play out in the movie, there's nothing new here. I was really hoping there won't be a big revelation scene. It would have been much better if they figured it out on their own without a big fiasco but that's one of the reasons why this movie is so cheesy. You can find all the cliches and cheesy moments we have seen a million times before. The bottom line is this, if you like cheesy love finding Christmas movies, this movie is for you.
31 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Easy watch
Draysan-Jennings11 November 2021
I'm not a huge fan of Christmas rom-com's but after watching the trailer I decided to give it a shot. It was a simple uncomplicated film with a decent story and some good laughs. I especially liked the cast. I'll definitely be looking out for Jimmy O. Yang films in the future. 6 stars.
21 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Actually Good
aheaven200513 November 2021
A nice charming Christmas love atory that is modern and fun. The soundtrack is impressive with some good classics. There's also a lot of references to movies and other cultural items. I actually had a good time.
17 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Pleasant Film
ThomasColquith7 November 2021
I watched "Love Hard" today and it was just what I was looking for, something light and fun. This film has a nice Christmas vibe and doesn't strain any brain cells, but it is an enjoyable even if predictable ride. Though I didn't like her taking the Baby Jesus statue. Why most films always include such jibes? But other than that nothing offensive. In summary, I give it a 7/10.
33 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very understated, wholesome and honest Christmas movie. Heartwarmingly recommended.
AristarchosTheArchivist5 November 2021
I don't usually like Christmas movies, but this one is pretty great. It has something that is lacking in many other movies: Honest feelings, no kitsch, good-hearted humor. It's not a romp and there's no gross-out stuff, just a beautiful romance. The story has been done in numerous ways, but to do something like "Love Hard" deserves merit.

Highly recommeded for cuddling into a blanket with hot cocoa.
50 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Could've been better, could've been worse
aidanratesmovies9 November 2021
Fit with charging leads and atmosphere- but lacking a fitting narrative- Love Hard is more good than bad- but it also could have been a lot more. For a while now I have been a huge fan of comedian Jimmy O. Yang and i'm so glad he finally got the leading man role he deserves. The guy just radiates charisa, along with his charismatic co-star Nina Dobrev who plays our lead character- both with perfect chemistry along the way. The film is well paced and entertaining all the way through, but the script suffers some major issues throughout and doesn't seem to know what to do with its interesting premise. There are a handful of corny moments, predictable moments, and it follows a pretty standard formula in the end. But overall, its charm and lead actors make the film better than the sum of its parts, and make it worth at the very least a one time watch. In the end, I hope to see both Dobrev and Yang in more films of this type in the future, and i'm optimistic for what the future holds for both of their blossoming careers. Its a romantic film with some subpar moments, and maybe that's all it needs to be.

My Rating: 6.2/10.
33 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Thanksgiving who?
Movi3DO8 November 2021
Wow I wish this is real I wish this is real so hard.

A Christmas romcom added to Netflix. A girl from LA got catfished by an Asian guy, but she agreed to pretend to date him until Christmas as long as he helped her dating the guy she wanted.

Make no mistake, this was a cheese fest. There ain't anything that will surprise anyone who watch a bit of romcom, so it would be a waste of time to talk about them. However, to my own surprise I actually enjoyed this movie. Only some of the jokes were cringe, and the rest did make me laugh. The cast was decent throughout and there wasn't a particular performance that I hated.

I somehow mistaken the main actress, Nina Dobrev, as the beautiful red witch Elizabeth Olsen when I watched the trailer, but I didn't complain because Dobrev is also a quarter.

Overall, Thanksgiving is a myth. Time for Christmas. 6.5/10.
25 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good wholesome Xmas(ish) fun
thekarmicnomad14 December 2021
A woman goes to meet her online boyfirend at Xmas and finds out he is not quite what his profile suggests but has to hang around anyway.

This is a great little comedy with a Christmasy coating.

The two leads are funny and the situation they find themsleves in (although a bit silly) is entertaning and has lots of room for embaressing farsces to play out.

This pulls at your heart strings as expected, but is more concerned with making you chuckle than it is spearing you with the Xmas message.

This made a nice palet clenser between the sugary courses of Xmas films that I gobble down this time of year.

I had a mini eye-roll when they started complaining about "It's cold outside" but the bit they do is actaully pretty good.

As expected there are lots of beautiful straight-teethed americans, soppy moments and silly antics - a perfect addition to the Xmas movie roster.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Run of the mill, but a great one at that
AscendeSuperius8 November 2021
Using the backstory of getting catfished, it sets the scene for yet another Christmas feel good romance. Suffice to say, it was nothing special, after the countless Christmas feel good romance that have come out over the years, it isn't much that sets it apart. But what can be seen as a bane is in fact a boon. This trope is a classic, and hey, for a Christmas feel good romance, it still does the trick, giving that flutter in your heart, the dreaminess in your head, and a warmth you feel in your bones, making yourself smile like a fool. Unlike the title, Love Hard, is not a title that is hard to love.
19 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Eh.. was hoping it'd be better
tlharrison-595468 November 2021
Predictable movie. Main character is impossible to root for as they wrote her to be shallow, selfish, and oblivious. If this were compared to a typical Hallmark Christmas movie, I'd say the acting is better but the plot is just as bad. I didn't feel the main characters had any chemistry at all. I would have preferred to see another female play the lead. Lots of cringy elements, such as Die Hard - Baby, it's Cold Outside - theme from The Breakfast Club. The writers just plucked out common pieces of pop culture to assign the main character a personality... and it was awful. Best part of the movie was probably the Lin family or Kerry. There were some enjoyable moments in the movie, but doubt I'll watch it again.
28 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
This Isn't Supposed to Be Good, I know
ryanpersaud-5941511 November 2021
The Good: I understand that the Christmas rom-com is a very unique genre; the more schmaltzy and sentimental, the better. Look, I can appreciate a bad Christmas movie and I would rarely "review" them, because I don't think they generally aspire to be anything more than cute, heart warming fare to get you in the mood for The Most Wonderful Time of the Year.

THAT ALL BEING SAID, Love Hard has some things going for it. Nina Dobrev and Jimmy O Yang are very funny people and have enough charisma and screen presence to carry forward despite the dreck script. I liked the set design of "Lake Placid," as a Christmas wonderland (I mean, what small American town isn't transformed into a Christmas wonderland in these movies, right?)

I also thought there was a fun, bouncy energy to this movie. The final scene at the steakhouse reminded me - weirdly - of Shiva Baby at times and I kinda dug it. The camerawork, editing, and Dobrev's fantastic charisma make the scene work.

The Bad: Okay, but yes, this is a BAD movie. Like really bad. Yang and Dobrev, whom I love individually and who have great chemistry as friends, have zilch as lovers. They fall in love because the script tells them to and even though WE ALL KNOW it's going to happen, it feels like the ending we're getting because we have to.

The movie's morality is also quite questionable; why is Dobrev made to feel like the bad guy when Yang is the one who catfished her, pressured her into faking a proposal, and put her in this awkward position with his family? Again, it's because the filmmakers wanted to "subvert" expectations and not because it's anything that naturally develops from the film.

Like most Christmas movies, this one comes with a cast of "wacky" side characters who are about the most unashamedly clichéd people you could imagine. You got the local hunk, the shameless editor boss, the innocent Grandma, the working class Dad with a heart of gold...all the uninspired characters are here.

The Ugly: There's a lot to nitpick here; I like how Lake Placid (an actual place) is so small that they apparently have 1 Uber and Lyft driver and everyone seems to know each other, yet this is a town with MULTIPLE rock climbing venues and a massive steakhouse. Jimmy's father and grandmother don't have accents, but Jimmy clearly does. There's an awful looking bobsledding scene that looks purposefully bad...but I digress.
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Cute but nothing special
jakethesnake-420076 November 2021
It's a cute Xmas movie that's above the hallmark films tho it's been done and there's really nothing special about the film. There's moments but not enough to make it good film but enough to make an ok one.
25 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Surprisingly Good
mpeden19875 November 2021
I wasn't expecting much out of this but I was pleasantly surprised. Storyline was put together well. Now do the leads have a lot of "romantic chemistry" lol no BUTTT the story, acting and the dive into online dating well makes up for it. It's setup to have a good storyline for a sequel. I would recommend.
35 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Really enjoyed this movie
boboceaelena6 November 2021
I didn't gave it too much credit but I have said why not? It was really entertaining with a lot of actual funny moments and jokes. I really enjoyed this movie.
23 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I truly enjoyed it!
melodyso7 November 2021
It checked all the boxes. Festive, romantic, funny. Obviously there's some chessy part. But overall they are very creative with the storyline. I'm entertained and touched at times. I love the sincerity in the characters. It's a hopeful delightful watch and also down to earth and relatable:)
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Netflix chose this for me after I watched something!
juanmuscle24 November 2021
And I want to say thank-you so much Mr. Netflix cause this was so great! At first I thought oh no, this is a formula and it was a lil' formulaic but then quickly I realized something different was transpiring! Case it was funny and witty and cute! And at the end , they used the formula to do something seminal by turning the formula upside down! Way to go, I highly recommend it , and the writers are very cool cause they are from Canada and Degrassi is from Canada and a lot of the writers there are amazing! Great job! Terrific!
24 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nice rom-com for the dating apps era.
vithiet22 November 2021
I don't really take this movie as a Christmas movie like some critics seem to think; this is just a nice little rom-com for the dating apps crowd. If you've never had to deal with online dating you might still understand the context but it hits even harder when you've actually experienced all of it. In the end, nothing exceptional but it has heart and I had a few good laughs, which is about as good as it can get for this type of movie!
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Modern Hallmark movie for the holidays
Kingslaay27 November 2021
Love Hard had an interesting set up. A lot of folks today can relate to dating apps and the frustrations of catfishing. But we always knew the ending, it was very predictable. Still an easy watch with a modern spin but it's a cookie cutter type of movie.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Cute and fun minus the chemistry
aimtrain10216 November 2021
I usually like all these Netflix Christmas rom-coms, even if they're cliche and predictable. This script was good and so was the acting. Definitely had some actual lol moments. Story was good, but lack of chemistry made it a little weird. They had more of a friend vibe than romantic.
24 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great little Christmas Movie!
cjmoviebuff8 November 2021
Really enjoyed this, much more than I thought I would! Sweet story and all the usual expected elements of your usual Christmas movie.

I particularly enjoyed the updated version of 'Baby it's cold outside' very well done.

Enjoyable Festive flick!
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the biggest surprises of 2021!
jared-253317 November 2021
I'm not the biggest fan of this Christmas Romantic Comedies, espeically the ones on Hallmark, but what drew me to watching this film was that McG was the producer on the film, & I'm a fan of McG & his owrk in both film & TV, especially the Charlie's Angels films, Babysitter films, & Supernatural.

Love Hard (2021) was fantatsic from start to finish. Does it have the traditional Christmas Movie Cliches? Yes, but McG takes those cliches & does something different with them. Throughout the film, I had a big smile on my face. Nina Dobrev & Jimmy O. Yang have fantastic chemistry with each other. Also as an added bonus, I love the spot where Nina Dobrev say that Die Hard is the greatest Christams Movie of All Time, which it is.

Overall, Love Hard (2021) is fantastic. I was smiling throughout the 100 minutes of this film. I higlhy recommend that you watch this film, especially if you're a fan of McG.
25 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed