The Mad Hatter (2021) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
25 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
This was definitely pretty bad...
paul_haakonsen8 September 2021
Wow. Just wow.

I was lured in on the premise of the movie's title, which turned out to be a ruse. So don't succumb to that very same mistake. While this abysmal movie might actually be based on contents of the original story, don't fall into the pit and get suckered in to watch this atrocity of a movie.

The storyline told in this 2021 movie "The Mad Hatter", as written by R. V. Romero and Cate Devaney, was just a travesty. The whole script felt rushed and lacked a proper red thread throughout the course of the movie. And that made for a less than wholesome entertainment experience, let me just tell you that. In fact, the storyline here feels like the two writers sat down apart and wrote segments for the movie without corresponding and then had to piece the segments together afterwards. It was just a scrambled heap of an attempt of making a movie.

The acting in the movie was, I suppose, fair enough, given the fact that the actors and actresses had very little to work with in terms of a proper script or interesting characters. Now, the movie has Michael Berryman on the cast list, so that counted for something and that was also one of the reasons why I sat down to watch "The Mad Hatter". But as luck would have it, he wasn't given much screen time, so don't get your hopes up.

"The Mad Hatter" is listed as a thriller and horror movie. Sure, if you are new to the genre, then you might get some thrills from this movie, or even be mildly scared. But for a horror veteran, such as myself, "The Mad Hatter" was just a swing and a miss.

Sure, the production value of the movie was actually good, but that hardly matters when a movie is devoid of a properly entertaining script and storyline, or lacking interesting characters or scary moments.

This is by no means a movie that I would recommend you rush out to waste your time, money or effort on. It was a movie that fell short of delivering on all parameters.

My rating of "The Mad Hatter" lands on a mere two out of ten stars.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The bad crapper
Stanlee10723 August 2021
Warning: Spoilers
This is just bad. The over reliant of CGI to mask & hide away a poorly executed film. The characters have no chemistry between them. The antagonists are so obvious & the ending makes you think "why did I waste 90 minutes watching this ##it?!"
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hand's down the worst movie I ever seen.
Brooklynsmagicmike25 August 2021
Extremely low budget, horrendous acting, zero scares, and boring plot. Honestly there would of been more entertainment in watching the money wasted on this be burned in a bonfire instead.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Visually Stunning
peterDM-3038011 September 2021
The movie is like a nightmare that keeps going in circles, so you feel jerked around as a viewer. It's very unsatisfying in that respect. However, whoever did the photography and special effects really deserves applause. This film is as well lit, shot and post-produced as any major Hollywood film with much more financial backing. I was getting Guillermo del Toro vibes while watching its beautiful visuals. So, while the movie, on the whole, is a miss, there's some really great talent featured here that will hopefully flourish in the film industry.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Much worse than it needed to be
LoupGarouTFTs11 September 2021
Warning: Spoilers
The title of the movie intrigued me: after all, how could a horror movie that looked at the inner workings of The Mad Hatter NOT be fun and scary? Even the Disney version of the Mad Hatter was creepy in his own right. But this movie followed the pattern of The Black Dahlia, using what should have been the main focus of the film as a set piece on which to hang the suggestion of a plot. It was truly an embarrassing effort turned out by people who should know better. Speaking of "people who should know better," I should have known better than to stick around when the professor described the hatter's parties as "drug-fueled orgies."

No effort was made to give any dimension to the hatter. At one point, he was described as "the best hatter." At another, it's explained that he may have gone mad because he lost his business. No explanation was given for any of it: did he have innovative designs that somehow went wrong? Did someone die from one of his creations? No one expects a lot of character development in a horror movie, but devoting more than two lines to his life history might have been nice. How about a few facts slipping their way in? The hatter could have gone mad simply BECAUSE he was so successful. The chemicals hatters used to cure hides for their hat-making were, in fact, poisons. Mercury could be considered a cause for his madness. Think about how much better this could have been: the popular and successful hatter invites the wealthy people of the area to his house for a fancy dress ball. A few people in the scene comment about how his behavior has changed and it's good seeing him get "back to normal." Instead of the house getting burned down, he poisons them all and watches them drop, one by one. What he didn't notice that one of the party-goers has given his daughter a poisoned petit four. She dies, too, as he cradles her in his arms. Then, having eaten nothing during his party, he goes into the dining room, props her up in a chair with food on her plate, and sits near her to consume a feast. THEN he intentionally burns the place, to "purify" it.

Dang, I might have to write that myself.

It would have taken just a few minutes to give the plot a strong premise, one that would have worked so much better. However, it's 2021 and 2021 seems to demand wokeness and debauchery. What a shame.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Yawn!
labeebster27 July 2021
The characters were interesting but it was a draggy movie. This could have been better as a short episode of a TV show but for a movie it was extremely lengthy, repetitive & boring. Even on TV it's been done way too many times when the characters will live out their worst nightmares. But those episodes were of course masterpieces as compared to this movie.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Total dud .....boring
balanvivek7 August 2021
The mat hadder ,I don't know what to say after watching this poorly written film.... I saw the poster and I thought this would be a great horror but disappoints big time ....in between the film follows same part of hallucinations till the end which is a pain to watch ....where the hell is the mad hatter in the film.....hardly for 2 min.....climax was stupid and disappointing....there wasnt head and toe to that climax ......except for the first 15 min ,it starts of really well and bgm is good ....Isadora c is beautiful in the film and her acting was good hope she gets more role in future to prove herself .....other than that no one can save this pathetic film......
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I couldn't finish it....
fjames-4645616 June 2021
I thought I would give this a shot despite all of the 1 stars I saw...I regret it!! I got 28 mins in and nothing...was this made in 1991 or 2021?! Actors, directing, quality, etc...all needs to be revamped.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What happens when you give film screw a chance to make a movie.
Have no idea what i was watching, no direction whats so ever. Let this remind people that workers on a film set to just stick to there main job. Andwhat i mean by that is the director clearly works in the art department, should of stayed that way. Dont give random crew members a chance to make a movie. If i ever made this ild delete myself from existence in the film world. Not trying to be nasty here, but as an aspiring film maker watching this movie and seeing me just cant even get a shot makes me mad.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
0 rating
roanelisa21 May 2021
Wow can't believe I actually watched the whe thing. It seemed to have had good advertising and it's in theaters so I thought the movie would get better. Ha how horrible.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I'm speechless...and not in a good way!
kjonescom27 July 2021
Wow, is all I have to say! This movie is truly horrible. I would love to go into depth about why it is so horrible, but I can't because there is simply nothing happening. There is no acting, no plot, no direction (it's all over the place). The music is downright frustratingly annoying, like make you want to rip your eyelashes out one by one annoying. I had to turn it off after a little more than an hour in. I just couldn't get through it and I'm a horror movie buff. I watch them all. I just couldn't do it here, guys. It gets 2 stars for being filmed where I live; one for Leesburg HS & one for Howey In The Hills Mansion. That's it, that's all! Skip it!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Count the chliches
dctwjxs27 May 2021
Haunted house- check Opening scene , helikopter filming a car drivning Through the woods. Check Strange cult - check Nightmares to fill out the scares- check Bad acting - check People that wont leave the house , though too much hauntings. - CHECK!!

Still it has a special weiredness to it. Although the low budget, it has some ambition . Musik is kinda good but special effects awful.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Don't waste your time.
marcuswoods-9655524 May 2021
Warning: Spoilers
I've seen some bad movie's over the years.but this must be the worst one yet.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
One stupid movie
yahislove14 September 2021
This film (if you want to call it that) started out boring worked into extreme boring and then surpassed itself by being even more boring.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful movie
jimpeters-2744018 May 2021
Warning: Spoilers
It was a few minutes in and I wanted someone to run amok with a meat cleaver. Basically I was watching to see when someone would die...but no one did! I was so bored by the end I don't really know if anyone died or not. Forgettable movie!
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Defeat snatched from the jaws of victory
earthbm-3216620 February 2021
This film seemed to have all the ingredients: credible characters, atmospheric set, decent music. The story was begging to come out, but whoever was putting it together fumbled the ball very badly. Who were the caretakers? What was the deal with the little bunnies or beavers being skinned? Was the hatter mad because of chemicals that used to go into the hats? Instead we got a boring repeat of the boy's sister drowning over and over, with the other three student background stories equally lame.
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Madhatter? BADhatter!
oneseafish7 February 2021
Worst movie I've seen in a long time...don't waste your money or time.
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie ever!
ibarraej11 February 2021
15 minutes into this movie and I was ready to walk out. I'm afraid of scary movies and this was NOT scary! The ending was even worse than the beginning. If I could I would give this a 0 star rating!
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Brought to you by Kid Pix & Microsoft PowerPoint
chacha-0557611 February 2021
Oh but it was funny. The terrible acting, the weird lighting, the even weirder camera angles, the story (or lack thereof)... this film was a mess basically. The characters were all equally unlikeable as your overused tropes: typical shy guy with no charisma, the nice girl who feels the need to remind you her parents are dead, a scream queen (a girl with no purpose other than to scream at everything), and then the boyfriend who we never can remember the name of. We laughed, we zoned out, and the story made no sense. The end.
23 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Walked out an hour in
connorclaar8 March 2021
I sat through an hour of this absolute disgrace of a movie, I kept thinking it would get better eventually, it never did. The actors make the drama class kids from my high school seem good. The dialogue makes no sense and feels like it was written by a 14 year old who's never spoken to another human. If the director or writer is out there reading this please contact me so I can give you my cash app so I can get my $20 back for my 2 tickets.
22 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Stating Facts
yaguboveyyub28 June 2021
Take out the The Mad Hatter, the pointless couple, the rest of the effortlessly picked cast, only leave the young talented Isadora Cruz and pretty much change every other single aspect such as; editing, producing, directing and we almost got ourself a good movie. The 10/10 rating above goes specifically to her! Keep on pushing girl, you'll definitely catch some talented director's/producer's attention very soon and your career will skyrocket in a flash! Stevie Wonder is blind and even he would be able to notice your god gift in this pile of trash.. Bravo!
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your time
carrie_nightingale30 July 2021
Terrible movie. I have no idea what I just watched. There was no story line at all.

Worst movie I've seen!
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your time
leonnieclark30 September 2021
This has got to be one of the most boring films I have ever watched ! It has just finished and I still couldn't tell you what it's about. I am also trying to work out how on earth the sister died in water that was shallow and could be stood up in. Please don't waste your time watching this.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring Kills. Nick Miller Was Cute
neosoulfuljojo28 November 2021
The kills sucked. The movie was dreadful. Nick Miller's character should have had a seductive kill to his nuts. Nope. Made the film way boring. Boring, boring, boring.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Why all the hate?
kennethpfisherjr17 August 2021
Yes. It's a low budget affair. But honestly, I've seen far worse acting out of many Hollywood A-listers. The score is apt. The direction is solid. The story is, while underdeveloped, quite interesting in my opinion. The film doesn't beat you senseless with cgi. There are some pretty good special effects. Lighting is solid. Character development is minimal, but it really doesn't detract from the film. Maybe five out of ten is a bit much, but it's nice to see this very unique spin on "The Mad Hatter".
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed