A Dark Path (2020) Poster

(2020)

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Terrible movie, horribly put together.
lord-blade1 September 2020
Extremely generic "lost in the woods" movie. Full of completely nonsensical situations and decisions. The monster was a pathetic showing, would have been better to get the crappy SiFi CGI than use the $5 costume they slapped together. And not only was everything very stupid all the way through, but the movie just ends abruptly too, with no real conclusion (though it's safe to assume everyone dies because everyone is an idiot).
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Complete Garbage
vegicat4 September 2020
WTF did I just watch? No plot at all. Not scary in the slightest. Terrible acting. Two women get "lost in the woods" for no reason at all. Then there was a hilarious "monster" doing Edward Scissorhands on some random victim's guts. The "monsters" back in the 1960s B-movies were more realistic. This just looked like a cheap suit and some slime. It literally made me laugh, and not in a good way. Did I mention that along with no plot, no story, no character development, there was also no ending at all? The movie just abruptly ends like they ran out of money. Avoid at all cost.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why Did I Watch This Garbage????
matrixgenereicneo3 September 2020
This movie is the main reason why b-rated movies suck and big blockbuster movies are better. You get one out of 100 b-rated horror movies that are good every year and yet people flock to them.

The acting in this movie was just atrocious. Seriously how did these people get acting jobs. The movie takes forever to get going and then the end is just awful. People avoid this movie at all costs.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Awful
kevinbriggs-854296 September 2020
This has to be one of the worst films ever made. Terrible use of language and so amateurish. What a cheek to actually charge people for watching this garbage. Refunds should be given to all buyers.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Crap Creature done perfectly.
jcallender1214 September 2020
Films like these walk a fine line. You've seen it countless times before but if it's interesting and believable then you watch it again, and this one is. Old story, two girls stranded in woods with a crap creature, but these two make reasonably sensible decisions and give the impression they'll hold their own against Old Slowpoke, with his bigass rubbery hands, salivating jaws, wristwatch and permed hair. OK he's not that bad but the budget obviously isn't Hollywood. That doesn't matter though, creatures are scarier when you can't see them but know they're coming, especially crap creatures, give this a go, you'll like it.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This scared the Hell out of me....
doorsscorpywag2 September 2020
....that perhaps the 'director' could possibly turn this garbage into a franchise.

The acting was diabolical and the script was just people wandering about talking about stuff. First at a party and then in the woods. I have to admit I did not really know why they were in the woods as I fast forwarded a bit as I could not stand the sound of their voices.

The horror component was laughable. I mean truly laughable. If you have seen The Horror On Party Beach you will have an idea how badly people can make movies. This was a quantum leap backwards from HOPB. A drunken chimp on acid could make a better movie.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wow absolutely nothing
kaefab1 September 2020
Warning: Spoilers
What did i just watch, absolutely nothing happens in this movie NOTHING until the very last minute... WOW just WOW
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie ever...?
michael_mccarroll21 November 2020
Some potential with no delivery. Took forever to get to path. Took forever for cheap antagonist to be revealed. Worst inconclusive ending ever.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Tedious nothingness
kevinrvs17 October 2020
Waste of rental money. Tedious. Lacking in any atmosphere or tension. Poor acting. Ist year film school project but with bigger budget?
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A path best forgotten
Stanlee10712 September 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Wow this British film is so amateurish. I don't know what camera in which this movie is filmed but it looks so dated.

It feels like a low budget TV movie made in the 1990s. Please avoid as the monster also look like it was taken from a computer game from that era or a cheap wannabe swamp thing. Ps this film is very dark but maybe it is done to hide the deficiency of this cinematography.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Was good for a laugh
jstar-192552 January 2021
Warning: Spoilers
Had to use closed caption to understand dialogue. What bothered me after they found the second car, was why didn't they think to get that cars spare. Both cars were small size models. Spare would have worked. Change out movie over. Been best to leave out finding second car.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie 😤
noahtacker26 September 2020
Seriously...Is the worst movie I've watched so far😤😤. Who the h£ll directed this movie. So what went through their minds after watching it themselves. For this kind of movie, I bet anyone can direct 🚶🚶
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A Dull Dark Path to Nowhere
rpaleschi4 September 2020
I was really excited to watch this and don't mind bad effects at all, however it's utter rubbish!

Takes ages to get going, dull and worst of all a lazy cut to black ending with no resolution to the story.

One to a miss. 👎🏻
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Lost in the woods.
parry_na12 December 2020
Misleading packaging isn't anything new. 'Dark Path' is a good example of this. On the DVD cover, we're treated to a close-up of a snarling, multi-fanged creature. The monsters in the actual film, however, don't appear to be of the same stock. This may explain a lot of the drubbing this production has had from some reviewers, which is fair enough. What isn't so easy to take seriously, however, is when reviewers watch a low-budget independent film and then slate it for not having a huge amount of money spent on it.

While the monsters themselves my lack bite, a lot else is well done. On the technical side of things, the mostly night-time scenes are well lit and moody, and the sound design - so often a problem in projects of this nature - is perfectly balanced. The characters are mostly well-played and defined, although main player Abi (Makenna Guyler) is relentlessly acerbic; although we find out the reason for it, her spikiness could have done with being dialled down a bit. She and wayward sister Lily (Mari Beaseley) enjoy a kind of 'ladette' banter which for the most part works well.

The story was engrossing enough for me not to have noticed that this is a mostly all-female cast until the simpering character of Peter turns up. Played by Jimmy Essex, his involvement is a brief one.

I quite enjoy the way the film is left open-ended; Abi does everything right, and yet her fate doesn't look promising. Again, some reviewers have decided the film 'just stops', which isn't fair. We're left at a pivotal moment, which is clearly a deliberate creative decision.

Associate producer is Lucinda-Rhodes Thakanacker, (along with husband Jeet Thakrar) who people may remember for her performances in 'Harry and Cosh' and 'Cavegirl' among other things. Her recent career seems to have steered her toward the horror genre, which is good to see.

'A Dark Path' doesn't try and reinvent the horror film. Rather, it provides 75 minutes that I found enjoyable, cheesy, absorbing and well produced. My score is 7 out of 10.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Average
djaho13 September 2020
Not dull or scary. Two.leads do.ok...well.acted. It's a so so movie.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
So Scary!!
roger_20201 September 2020
I watched just this movie and My heart kept racing with every scene of the movie until the end. It scared me out! After watching the movie out of my house so fast as afraid of someone followed me !!! Overall, this is awesome movie! i'm going to watch it again for sure. I'm hoping for a sequel!
2 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Eh...
tmccull5227 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Two female characters with a contentious relationship, travelling alone at night on a lonely, deserted road in the middle of nowhere. A murderous creature stalks them. This basic premise applies to both "A Dark Path" and to "The Monster", but the latter is by far the better of the two movies.

Based on other reviews that I read here, I expected "A Dark Path" to be much worse than it actually was. The relationship between the uptight, authorative older sister and the smart alecky, free-spirited younger sister was carried off well enough by the two lead actresses. When their rental car breaks down, they don't do anything abysmally stupid, like splitting up and wandering off in the dark to find help. The tired old "Oh no, there's no cell service here!" ploy is used, though. "The Monster" managed to avoid falling back on this stale trope, and actually uses the fact that there IS cell service to add to the creature's body count.

As with the female lead in ""The Monster", there are emotional revelations between the two sisters in "A Dark Path", but it takes a lot longer for anything to actually happen in the latter than it took in the former, in terms of the creature in each movie. The creature effects in "The Monster" were much, much better.

"A Dark Path" isn't the worst monster/horror movie that I've ever seen, but it is much closer to the worst than it is to the best.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Well, there was some suspense.
jmbovan-47-16017326 December 2020
Mediocre idea of a film that was fairly acted. But nothing special. Ultimately a creature feature that was too low budget. And the plotting wasn't flushed out well. Add an abrupt ending for no conclusion, this film falters majorly. A couple extra stars went for the lead actresses.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Dark enough to be creepy
lady-dead12 December 2020
As low budget UK horror films go, this one at least kept my interest. A lot was left to the imagination (always a good thing for me). Yes, I know this kind of genre has been done to death, and the acting was a little more than wooden. However, as mentioned before, it held my attention. I do recommend this to those of us that can still use our imagination.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
One Straight Road
nogodnomasters26 September 2020
Warning: Spoilers
A group of women who call themselves "The Bride Tribe" party in Eastern Europe. The 2 sisters Abby (Makenna Guyler ) and Lily (Mari Beaseley ) drive back by themselves to the airport, one straight road. Their GPS does not work after Lily vomited on it and no signal. The road eventually turns into a dirt road with spurs in the road to puncture tires. It is night, dark, and there is a creature.

We don't get to see a lot of the creature due to budget, but we get to see his shadow a lot. Characters were not half bad, but they were not great either. a film you will soon forget.

Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed