The Invisible Man (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
949 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
So Many Holes In This Plot, It Was An Invisible Movie
peeedeee-942814 March 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Don't believe the hype, this movie is NOT good. Firstly, I found the acting wooden and hammy, as was the dialogue. Elizabeth Moss' ptsd act gets tiresome after a while. Now for the plot holes galore.

This technology being worked on, why isn't the government or military hovering over it? When the supposedly abusive husband (we never see a lot of evidence of that) dies, why is all of his advanced tech just sitting untouched in the house? Why is there a dog living in the house and nobody seems to care? The dog's owner had been dead for weeks. Surely there were people going to visit the house to see what was going on. The brother certainly didn't say he moved into the house. Everything was covered with sheets, leading one to believe there wasn't anyone living there, so where does the dog come from?

Why does the dog bark at the 'invisible man'? If he belongs to the pretending-to-be-dead husband, wouldn't he recognize him regardless of the suit?

Fast forward to when Elizabeth Moss' character is in some psychiatric hospital. Her 'invisible man' is supposedly there watching her, but everyone thinks she's crazy. Well, why is he also going into her room and getting locked in there with her every night? Then that fight scene with all the guards was ridiculous. Do mental hospitals really have an army of heavily armed guards? And they kept coming in 2's, but could never seem to see this 'invisible man' even though his suit was malfunctioning. Moss certainly didn't try to help by grabbing the nearest gun and shooting at him until all the guards were dead.

Then how does said 'invisible man' get away? Did he drive? Did he call an uber? Somehow these invisible suit men get around without needing a car. They also exhibit super human strength, no explanation.

And what was up with all that rain. It seemed like it was supposed to be an important plot point, by the way the camera focuses on the TV with the news story about the weather. I thought it would have a purpose, but apparently, it was only to have a really wet confrontation in the parking lot that went nowhere. And of course, the rain, which sounded like the storm of the century, magically disappears once you see the cop friend's house lol. That must have been a long trip!

And why would the brother be 'set up' by going to the cop's house? What was the set up? He's just okay with killing random people? And if he was really the killer from the hospital, why wasn't his suit malfunctioning. And speaking of the suit working properly, how was it even powered? The suit looked like it was perfectly fit to the person's body, so where was the battery? Crammed up the butt-crack? lol

Leading to the ending - were there actually three suits? The brother was killed in one suit, Moss hid another suit when she visited the house earlier, so the malfunctioning suit makes three. Assuming that the abusive husband was the one doing all of the killing/stalking. And I guess it's one size fits all suit, because apparently this suit fits everyone perfectly, including the shorter Moss.

Now, this movie is way too complicated for it's own good, kind of like my write-up lol. Half way into the film, I was thinking the good plot twist was that the brother was responsible all along, and that making Moss look crazy would mean her money could go to him. Or something to that effect. Anyway, don't believe the hype. This movie really is clumsy. Wait for it to come on Netflix.
126 out of 195 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The Invisible Plot
SuperSlim4512 March 2020
Warning: Spoilers
When you first watch the movie you're thinking okay this is pretty good. Interesting. Starts slow but it builds up and the ending is nice. She gets away with killing the abusive ex boyfriend and lives happily ever after.

But after thinking about things for a minute you realize... other than her saying it you don't see any real indication that he did much to her. You are pretty much taking her word for everything. And then when it comes to the boyfriend... what is it about him? You see yeah he can be manipulative but you barely see that. But then you see the main thing the movie is about... the invisible suit and what are they really made for? Who were they made for and how many of those suits did he really have?

Then on top of that when you're learning about the boyfriend you learn that he is supposed to be on top of everything. Very observant . And knows what is going on in his place. And especially when it comes to those suits he would know how many he has and what's going on with them. YET when she hides one of those suits that doesn't register in his mind. Like she took the suit off of the dummy, didn't replace it on the dummy in the place... and in fact was attacked moments later. So it should've been known that the suit was missing AND that it would be in the closet or somewhere leading towards the closet since that where she went and yet... nothing.

Then there is the scene where her sister gets her throat cut in the middle of a fancy restaurant. And the thing about any eating establishment... there are cameras everywhere. The fancier it is the more cameras there would be. So how is it that they were so sure she killed her sister and didn't spend a single second looking at any of the video footage? Because if they would have spent any time they would have seen a floating knife to notice... something isn't right. But nope somehow all of that was ignored and she was just immediately guilty.

And there was the when the daughter got hit while the main girl was down on the ground. Like she's starting to get back up to her feet and is a little distance away. The daughter gets hit and doesn't register that there is no way she could have hit me. Something had to have hit me. Nope. Like if you're on your hands and knees there is no way you're generating enough force to knock someone to the ground and that didn't register with the girl.

But yeah its like if you watch the movie and remove your mind from it then its pretty good. But if you start thinking about it you notice things that should've been thought through differently and at least fleshed out a lot more. So that's why the rating went from a near 8 down to a 4. Its just not as good as initially and originally thought.
185 out of 306 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Effective thrills, but with some logic issues
cardsrock28 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I really enjoyed the first 2/3 of this film. They are filled with palpable tension and a general unease at not being able to see the "monster." This is another example of how what you cannot see is often scarier than what you can see. The direction is great and perfectly places the viewer in Elizabeth Moss' shoes, which is what generates most of the tension as you the viewer are also unsure where this invisible person is at all times. The spin of domestic violence also lends a new, modern twist on the classic premise.

Where the film falters is in its third act with some significant plot holes regarding cameras and visibility of certain actions. There were also several times where the film felt like it was at its conclusion, but kept going. The ending will likely be divisive, however I didn't hate it. The Invisible Man is technically a very well-made thriller, but loses a few marks due to some issues with the plot.
203 out of 340 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Who paid these other reviewers?
ercfunk-445-95004621 March 2020
7.5 rating on here I thought this would turn out to be a pretty decent movie. What I got instead was a boring mess. Zero character development, no emotional connection to the main characters to make you care what happens to them. Do yourself a favor and find something else.
144 out of 239 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Starts brilliantly but ultimately undermines itself with plot contrivances and genre foolishness
Bertaut14 March 2020
H.G. Wells's original The Invisible Man (1897) suggests that rather than something as powerful as invisibility being used for the betterment of mankind, it would instead be used to fulfil private desires, ultimately leading to the moral corruption of otherwise good men. In probably the best cinematic adaptation, Hollow Man (2000), this is taken much further, with the suggestion that the results of invisibility would be nothing less than sexual violence, evil, and madness. However, despite the centrality of this theme in the core story, reframing the template as a tale of domestic abuse and PTSD, as happens in this latest adaptation, which focuses not on the male scientist but on a female victim of his, is a fascinating idea, creating the potential for some timely #MeToo social commentary, particularly as it relates to issues of not believing women who accuse powerful men of gaslighting. But potential only gets you so far, and what could have been a really insightful film eventually proves itself relatively incapable of using issues of domestic abuse as anything other than plot points to get from one predictable scare to the next.

The film begins as Cecilia Kass (Elisabeth Moss) is putting into motion a plan to leave her domineering and abusive boyfriend, Adrian Griffin (Oliver Jackson-Cohen), a wealthy pioneer in optics. Having drugged him, she leaves their high-tech home in the middle of the night and is picked up nearby by her sister Emily (Harriet Dyer), who takes her to stay with their childhood friend, James Lanier (Aldis Hodge), a policeman living with his daughter Sydney (Storm Reid). Although assured that Adrian can't find her, Cecilia is clearly suffering from agoraphobia and paranoia. That is until Adrian commits suicide. Contacted by his brother Tom (Michael Dorman) who's handling his estate, Cecilia learns that Adrian has left her $5 million. However, despite her best efforts to move on, she just can't shake the feeling that Adrian is still around, watching her, sometimes even in the same room as her. And the surer she becomes that he's not dead, the more everyone else becomes worried about her mental well-being.

Written and directed by Leigh Whannell, this latest adaptation of Wells's original is not actually about the invisible man. Indeed, short of a background shot of him lying in bed, a shot showing only his torso as he runs through a forest, and a close-up of his hand, actor Oliver Jackson-Cohen doesn't even appear on screen prior to his apparent suicide. Adrian is not only the invisible man of the plot, so too is his character ideologically invisible. Which makes its own statement, and it's a statement worth making - men like him don't need to be present to continue to cause harm. In this sense, at least initially, the film is more concerned with the fear Adrian has instilled in Cecilia; in the early stages, Cecilia's main enemy isn't Adrian so much her inability to move on from him. Along the same lines, the film looks at issues of how women who accuse powerful men of gaslighting are often ignored or openly disbelieved.

Aesthetically, the film looks terrific, particularly Stefan Duscio's cinematography, into which is built Cecilia's paranoia. For example, countless scenes involve the camera panning away from her, moving across the room, showing us nothing at all, and then panning back. Ordinarily, this would be textbook unmotivated camera movement, but here it conveys how Cecelia fears there may be something in the corner to which we panned. And now, thanks to that camera pan, so do we. There are also many shots which in another film would be awful framing; isolating Cecilia in the frame and filling up so much of the screen's real-estate with empty negative space. Except, again, in this film, such negative space has an ominousness not applicable to regular thrillers. In this way, Whannell can instil fear and dread simply by pointing the camera at an empty room without the need for any FX, VFX, makeup, elaborate props etc (which no doubt played a significant role in keeping the budget down to a minuscule $7 million). And I'd be remiss if I didn't mention Moss's performance, which is excellent, especially given that so much of it is her on her own reacting to nothing whatsoever, having to communicate confusion, fear, anger etc through little more than her expression.

Before talking about why I didn't like the film, however, I want to reiterate that I honestly can't say how much I admire the idea to reconstitute the genre template as a story about domestic violence. And it's an especially timely reconstitution, coming as it does in the era of #MeToo, when so many powerful men, once considered invisible in everything but name, able to perpetrate their crimes with impunity, have been revealed as the monsters they are. So I have no problem with the ideological paradigm shift. My problem is with the execution.

For one thing, we know from the get-go that Cecilia isn't imagining things, that Adrian faked his suicide and is now stalking her whilst invisible. This isn't a twist, and the film makes no attempt to hide it. Granted, this is kind of unavoidable given how well-known the property is, but had the film allowed for even a little bit of ambiguity, it could have done wonders for emotional complexity, turning a story about invisibility into a story possibly about mental collapse. This would have effectively placed the audience in the same position as the other characters, doubting Cecilia's state of mind, which would, in turn, have enhanced the potency of the socio-political allegory. Another thing that bothered me is that in a film so focused on surveillance and privacy, there are several scenes where if there is even one functioning CCTV camera, the movie ends. A pivotal scene in a restaurant is an especially egregious example of this - one grainy image from a camera, and Cecilia can prove she's not going nuts and the whole plot unravels.

However, my biggest problem is that what starts as a fascinating study of the lasting ramifications of domestic violence ultimately descends into genre stupidity, with a ridiculously over-the-top final act that says nothing of interest about anything. True, Hollow Man has a pretty over-the-top final act too, but Hollow Man never saw itself as anything other than a schlocky genre affair, whereas The Invisible Man clearly does. The fact that Whannell ultimately undermines himself in this way, deploying such important themes merely to get him to the gory dénouement, is especially frustrating insofar as he genuinely did originally seem to have some interesting things to say. Tied to this is that Adrian is introduced as such an abhorrent character from the start, void of nuance or subtlety. Domestic abusers aren't monotone evil-doers, oftentimes, they're very charming on the surface, and any film claiming to be a serious examination of this topic would make room to address this.

Although The Invisible Man was very well reviewed and a huge box-office hit, it left me disappointed and frustrated. Initially positioning itself as an insightful allegory for the difficulty victims of domestic abuse have in moving on with their lives even after the abuser is gone, it eventually privileges genre beats and cheap thrills over emotional complexity. Which is a huge shame and a massively missed opportunity.
187 out of 320 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The only thing truly invisible in the film is quality.
galaxyminotaur6 March 2020
Mediocre thriller filled with illogical plot holes. The first third of the movie is marginally alright. After it transitions into a sci fi comedy, with the main protagonist playing John Wick, while the main antagonist plays an inverse Bruce Wayne. In this fictional universe, security guards are apparently trained at a bakery. Cameras make no sound whatsoever. Are amazingly waterproof and stain-phobic. Not even paint can stain those. Little girls have a 6th sense for rape and murder. The penetration of a can of pepper spray is equal to that of a cannon ball. Physical objects are ephemeral in nature when it comes to rain drops hitting them. I mean, god damn, i need to get me a set od those god like cameras. And Nat Geo should too, probably.

This movie is not even good for making fun of, if you wish to watch a dumb movie with your friends and have a good time - go watch As Above So Below.
63 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Plot holes...you bet
I'm sorry but at times I just don't understand the reviews on this site. There were soooooooo many plot holes it just ruined what other wise could have been a half decent film. I'm afraid that a good film can easily be ruined when the narrative simply doesn't follow and this is one of those cases.
181 out of 316 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hollywood takes us for chumps
fostermarkluis1 March 2020
I can't begin to convey how bad this thing is. Elisabeth Moss spends the entire movie looking like she has to use the bathroom. The scenes are too long and the music is way too loud and overwhelming. Bottom lime is Hollywood makes another reboot that stinks up the joint. Total waste of time. Can't hold a candle to the original. Make this movie invisible!
170 out of 309 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A nail-biting thriller that has more on its mind than providing simple thrills.
DJKwa26 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
What would you do if your abusive ex figured out a way to stalk you without fear of being discovered? That's the conceit at the centre of Leigh Whannell's latest film, The Invisible Man, a nail-biting thriller that has more on its mind than providing simple thrills.

Starring Elisabeth Moss as Cecilia Kass, a woman who is rendered helpless in the face of an invisible evil, Whannell spins H.G. Wells classic science fiction novel of the same name into a timely and provocative exploration of psychological abuse.

Having escaped from a controlling relationship, Cecilia's rehabilitation is cut short by the sudden intrusion of her ex who has figured out how to regain control over her life without anyone knowing: by becoming invisible.

Expertly utilising sci-fi trappings to take gaslighting to a whole new extreme, the film depicts first-hand the anxieties faced by many modern-day survivors of abuse. As Cecilia stresses to those around her that her genius scientist ex has become invisible, we are left conflicted by knowing the truth of her words but also the understanding that, without hard evidence, it's hard to accept her story at face value.

By operating in that grey area, The Invisible Man proves the horror genre to be one of the most effective means to reflect modern day anxieties to mass audiences.

The trade-off, however, is that by focusing solely on Cecilia's plight, the films feels somewhat underexplained in terms of its villain. Certain actions of his seem straight up superhuman and, without an explanation, it feels as if some logical concessions have been made for dramatic purposes. Granted, to Whannell's credit, he wisely abides by the notion that leaving certain things up to the imagination is better than over explaining to the point of exhaustion.

Where so many would-be franchises have failed by focusing too much on setting up sequels, The Invisible Man plays squarely to its strength as a strong, character driven film. Whether it connects to an extended universe remains to be seen, but the film, much like its protagonist, feels much stronger standing on its own.
205 out of 381 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Barely just "okay"
smysteryman28 February 2020
The Invisible Man ... hmmmm. Well, it wasn't awful, but it wasn't great. I still don't understand what house she went to, her relationship with the two people that live there, and why it never occurs to her to use the camera on her phone to record video for evidence.

In today's world, films really need to go out of their way to explain a LACK of smartphone use. They are so prevalent that NOT using them is a plot hole, and not a small one. It really kind of irritates me.

There is one legit good jump scare and some good tense moments. But for the most part it just feels like a real wasted opportunity.

I hate to say it, but Hollow Man did it better.
206 out of 386 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I truly hated this
wrenchmebollix29 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I gritted my teeth the whole way through this. Being unfamiliar with the lead actress I had no frame of reference. However after nearly 2 hours of her 10 foot high head gurning at me I was traumatised. I genuinely don't understand the reviews for her acting. Like I say I have no idea who she is but good God. Apart from her character's unbelievable stupidity and awkwardness, I couldn't understand the relationship between her and her controlling husband. We were just told everything. There was no discovery. From her well-planned escape that basically consisted of her being completely unprepared, changing her clothes in the house, completely forgetting she had an enormous dog, the awkwardness of her bumping into things no one at the rendezvous, I was driven mental within the first 10 minutes. There was no descent into madness. The audience could have been given one iota of respect and offered the possibility that there was in fact no invisible man. Instead there was screaming and shouting and blubbering. Right up to the very end I got no sense of being drawn into any real story. For me the massive carbuncle in the plot was the finding of the second suit and her hiding it in the place that he actually found her. Surely he must have noticed that it was missing? I mean it was a massive suit and the only place that she could have hidden it was where she was eh, hiding. Let's forget about the fight in the corridor where she was literally lying beside a gun screaming and neglected to pick it up.

In conclusion I avoided trailers for this. I was assured by several outstanding reviews that this was fabulous and terrifying. It was neither. The reviewers were unfamiliar with true horror films probably because judging by some of the language I read, none of them had ever been to one. A final note. Giant close-ups of actors' faces deliberately lit to show bad skin may be "woke" but it put me off my massive insipid hotdog.
210 out of 401 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Plotholes larger than moon's craters
neetabora29 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
The guy puts on a suit, becomes invisible to irritate his wife. So there's no ghost but a man in suit. Then how did he commute? He's covering long distances to follow her everywhere. How is that possible for an invisible guy? Is he driving - but there was no sign of his car? If brother is driving him around - Where is his car too? Is nobody noticing a car with no driver? It would be so easy for a crazy guy like him being invisible to tie her down one night, throw in his car & take her away instead of playing with her quilts. In one scene, she got hold of another suit which she could wear & become invisible herself. Won't that make more sense? But she locked it in house & ran back only to come back later for then end stunt. One more point - roads have CCTV but not a hospital. Howcome receptionists don't see anything or call 911. Very unthoughtful movie.
222 out of 427 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Yet ANOTHER " Men Bad- Woman GOOD!" movie
jayroscoe5 March 2020
This seems to be the only type of movie Elisabeth Moss makes- where she is the strong, powerful victim of Bad Men ! Hollywood keeps churning out sad remakes but infused with Social Justice characters and plot changes that guarantees they won't sell well. The original was better ( when isn't it ?) and the directing was lame. How about The Invisible Woman ?A Psycho exgirlfriend attacks and destroys an innocent man with made up allegations ? Like in real life ?
193 out of 370 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Amazingly Bad. Rubbish. Awful. Unrealistic.
joelmasterhouse29 February 2020
It honestly makes me sad that we live in an era where a poorly written screenplay like this gets such high praise. I don't even know where to begin to express how bad this film was. I wanted to walk out with 30 minutes left and I never do that. Just when you think the pain is going to end and the movie is over, there is an additional 4th act to add to the absurdity!

The lead does a decent job acting in this film but hard to not get a bunch of filth on you in the process.

Honestly, do we live in an era where people have stopped thinking and just want to go to a film and zone out and not require it to be good anymore or have a good story?

Stay away from this trash.
150 out of 284 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Don't get all the negative reviews.
drpainters4 April 2020
Very blumhouse movie , meaning if you've seen a lot of there other random ones you'll know what this is like. Good ambience and tone set throughout. Very creepy vibe and good ending. Def worth the watch if you enjoy blumhouse movies and aren't an ahole that complains about movies with a female lead
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
An Honest Review
generationofswine21 March 2020
I haven't really seen an Invisible Man movie that I could say was good. So I had low expectations walking in.

The one with Chevy Chase was horrible. The one with Kevin Bacon was tolerable... but I wouldn't say it was particularly good. This one, however, was awful.

But at least it hit all the tropes... not sci-fi/horror tropes, but it hit all the political tropes. And, honestly, I got sick of political lectures in my entertainment about four years ago and they are only getting worse. Movies like this are made to be escapism, if I wanted to see a political film, I'd watch one that overtly claims to be a political film.

Movies like this also rely on tension and scares. And tension needs to be built through atmosphere. It needs to be built through character and story, and if it is done right it can be a slow burner of a film that is still entertaining.

There was really no tension here. The characters were created to be political representations of the narrative they were pushing and not real characters. It makes it hard to be invested in the well being of a character when they are just stereotypes.

It takes away from the tension.

Walking stereotypes of what the Twitter community thinks they should be based on race, gender, and sexuality and not real people. Who can become invested in characters that are stereotypes?

It's a situation made worse because the villain isn't ominous and intimidating, he isn't threatening at all. He's the stereotype of what the Twitter community thinks is an Incel... and there is nothing at all threatening about that. Watching him, you get the impression that you could break him down into a basket of tears with nothing more but a harsh word.

When the tension is broken, it's with a jump scare. Those are as overdone as the stereotyped political agenda driven characters.

When all is said and done, you have a movie without the tension needed to move the film along, you have a movie with stereotyped characters that it's hard to get invested in, you have a movie with a villain that is anything but threatening, and you ultimately have a movie where nothing much happens.

But, if you are the type to watch a film with a notebook and writing utensil to record all the points it needs to hit to make it Twitter posse approved... it hits enough of them for high praise.

For the rest of us, we'll go back to Chevy Chase and Kevin Bacon and be slightly less disappointed.
67 out of 121 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Mind Games Nightmare Without the Presence of the Invisible Man.
Impartial-Critic28 February 2020
An interesting modern take on the invisible man concept in this twisted mind game nightmare yet it comes with the lack of the invisible man presence! An abused wife escapes her narcissist and sadistic husband to her friend's house only to know after a couple of weeks that he committed suicide, in what seems like a happy ending for her turns out to be hell as she feels her husband's presence around here almost everywhere which leads her to suspect that he's still alive and won't let her go this easy.

So far the idea sounds interesting but for a general thriller, not revival of a classic, I believe the plot should've been approached with more of a homage to the classic adaption. I know the idea of taking chemical potions to become invisible is over used but a plot mix between modern technology and past methods would've been a better choice, I already have couple of ideas on how to do so just by writing this.

Elisabeth Moss carries the movie well, yet the movie feels more like "The Invisible Man's Wife" story more than being The Invisible Man story! Practically almost the whole movie is focused on the wife, her mental suffering and what she's going through, you can barley see/sense any character development or acting from the invisible man at all. Some scenes are very predictable like you can almost see through but it's a nice piece of a (general thriller) for the most part.
140 out of 269 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pales in Comparison to the Original
filmfangojira5429 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
This movie which they are calling a modern day reboot of the 1933 classic took a scary and tragic character and made him a one-dimensional jump scare. In the 2020 film the Invisible Man uses his invisibility to stalk and terrorize his ex which is scary for her and anybody who wants to help her but does not really fill me with any sense of dread. Now the 1933 Invisible Man he killed at random and most of the time he killed people he didn't even know. A police chief, a couple of people out trying to find him he pushed them off a cliff and he even caused a train to derail killing who knows how many innocent people.

Next we come to character himself in the 2020 film he is just a one dimensional abusive boyfriend pretty who is given no character development. Now in the 1933 film the Invisible Man he was once a good kind gentle man who truly loved his girlfriend but the drugs he took to make himself invisible gradually drive him insane and transform him into a homicidal killer. And thus there is the tragedy of the 1933 character a once good man turned evil.

And finally we come to last disappointment the means by which they achieve invisibility in the 2020 movie it is a suit which means anyone can put it on and become invisible or make copies of it and create a whole armies of invisible people.Also since it is a suit he can just take it off whenever he wants and be visible again. In the 1933 film it is a chemical formula that only he knows meaning he can be the only invisible one in the story and he as no way of becoming visible again in the movie he was trying to to cure his invisibility but eventually the madness from the drugs overtook him. And once again this makes him a tragic figure.

So there you go you have a scary but still tragic character vs. a non-scary one-dimensional character which one would you want to watch?
165 out of 321 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Do you enjoy horror? You wont enjoy this.
helle-jr8 March 2020
This is one of the worst movies I've seen in years. I dont understand the good reviews, I saw the trailer and got excited, I read the reviews and I got even more excited.. I saw the movie and Jesus, not scary at all and the story was just bad.. This is a sci-fi, not a horror movie..
47 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your money.. rent Hollow Man instead
leesa-2223722 March 2020
Slow start, slow middle, slow ending. Even the attempt at throwing in a twist couldn't help this movie. I haven't been that bored watching a movie in super long time.
51 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie of the year so far
HypnoticPoison717 March 2020
I just got back from a nearly empty theater in order to see this, and I wish I hadn't paid. I don't even wish I'd illegally downloaded it, I wish it were never made so I was never tempted to see it. Hollow Man was better, and that's a sad statement. Who in the hell is rating this positively? There was no 'there' there. No backstory on ANY of the characters, not a single memorable line delivered, and not even an explanation for the so called science fiction aspect of this. On top of that a highly unbelievable story about domestic violence in which we are to believe that a handsome, rich genius is somehow in love with and obsessed with Elizabeth Moss of all people. Leave her to the Handmaid's Tale, she is not meant to be a romantic interest. She got lucky on this because of her origins. Her acting was the usual. I get it, this is supposed to be a horror, but it wasn't even that. Just typical 'made ya flinch!' moments that weren't even that because it was so gosh darn predictable. The positive ratings must be from people who were just glad for the diversity and glad to see yet another white guy cast as a villian (which gets no explanation at all, not even a flashback to what he did that was so horrible. To the point where at the end you can't even be sure he was a villian at all). I was sure a woman wrote this at the end, but I was disappointed to see it was the guy who did Saw. That was at least entertaining. This was embarrassing.

Shame on all of you who voted this up. We shall get more of the same as Idiocracy becomes more of a documentary than a ridiculous fiction movie.
58 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Joke
rcfubar1 March 2020
Read the reviews here before heading to the movie. Walked out after 30 minutes. I mean seriously, Moss in the lead role? No explanation who are the characters Moss went to live with. She is as expressive as Mona Lisa. How can this movie be so highly rated here? I feel cheated with my hard earned money.
80 out of 152 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Was expecting at least a little more
bluestrat29 February 2020
Very poor. slow and tedious. how this film has received a score in the 7+ range is beyond me. i'm starting to believe that some of the ratings on imdb are faked and probably placed by a bot.
139 out of 279 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Amazing film: scary and anxiety inducing
hungry_nirupam26 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
First of all, let me start with how excited I was to see this movie. Luckily, I got to catch this in an advanced preview. And I will say this, the excitement, counting of days, posting on social media, all paid off.

This movie definitely scares you. It's not just jumpscares or loud noises, it's something psychological. From the first opening shot, you're immediately put inside Elisabeth Moss' character Cecilia's head. She is stuck in an abusive relationship and can't get out of it. The whole opening scene makes you uncomfortable as we see Cecilia trying to make her escape. This kind of tension is kept on throughout the film.

Another thing this film succeeds upon is the writing. The story progresses in a fast paced way which doesn't seem hurried. The 2hr runtime feels achieved. There's definitely more than one 'WTF' moment in this film to keep you on the edge of your seat.

The score and the sound design definitely puts you in Cecilia's shoes as you struggle with her to point out where exactly the invisible man might be. The camera work is exquisite, I mean did we really doubt the director who brought us Upgrade? The action sequences definitely feel thrilling and the way it's shot makes you feel like you're living it.

In my book, Elisabeth Moss can do no wrong. Her acting here is definitely something to be noted. From her being hysterically scared to her fighting back, Moss sells it. She makes us root for her. Oliver Jackson Cohen, who plays her abusive husband has a small but really pivotal role and boy o boy he is scary. The rest of supporting cast is also really good. Overall, this is Moss' movie and she carries it with ease.

This year (so far) there hasn't been many horror movies that genuinely gave me anxiety or made me jump. So I am happy this film succeeded in doing both. Leigh Whanell is an amazing horror writer/director and proves that he can still give us a solid entertaining flick.

There's some solid moments of blood so gorehounds can rejoice.

I thought about it a lot and I can't really think of anything that didn't work. Some of you might complain about the camera work and how it focuses on the actor's faces more than the action but to me that worked. I think that definitely sold the drama.

All and all this was a terrific film, really made the universal monster scary by mixing the monster with a relevant story. I will give this film a 9/10.

If you liked this review please like my page Let's Talk Horror.
168 out of 347 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Yet another 120 mins which could have been 10
radoslava_dermishkova21 March 2020
Warning: Spoilers
It is a deep mystery for me how this movie reached a score of 7.4. The idea might be interesting, but the action is so slow and most of the scenes are empty. In the very few moments that something is actually happening, it is all theatrical and expected. The whole movie represents a series of unfortunate decisions.
38 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed