The Set Up (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Unique from Nollywood
komiyi24 April 2020
A nice concept that was poorly executed. Unnecessary flashbacks made it seem like you were watching the movie twice. The first 30minutes had poor audio making the actors sound adlibbed and the overly dark theme hid the expressions of the actors.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Worth It!!!
enosegbebright14 April 2021
The plot twist is wowing. Coming from Nollywood, this is an idea portrayed beautifully. Niyi did a wonderful job. Respect that.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The Set Up for flashbacks
colbertadrian4 May 2020
The main reason for me watching this film was Adesua Etomi-Wellington, I've watched a few of her movies and have enjoyed them, she is (IMO) very beautiful, and a good actress, so I hoping for another enjoyable film featuring her, this movie didn't deliver on that premise, flashback after flashback, left the movie very disjointed, and gave no reason to care for any particular character, looking at Adesua was the only reason I hung around, however big UP to Netflix for featuring International films, there are really good Nigerian films to watch.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nollywood has come in leaps and bounds
adjero29 April 2020
Actually I thought it was quite clever mystery. There were a few holes in the storyline but it wasnt that bad for a movie from that part of the world. I was gripped from the get go.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
DULL STORYLINE
mahommie29 April 2020
One of the worst Nigerian movies I have watched in a while. Cliche storyline, poor transition, low budget movie. I was really disappointed. However, I tried to see the movie through in view of a plotwist, but I stopped watching about 15 minutes to the end as I felt my time had been wasted enough. The only positive was the picture quality.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thrilling to watch!
bookkey2 May 2020
If you are Nigerian, then you will understand that this movie is not a cliché, the plot twist was fantastic. This movie moved from the usual Nigerian romcom and focused on suspense which was thrilling to watch and had me glued to the screen from beginning to the end! Well done to the actors, a great job, indeed!
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Tense
rurukimp8 May 2020
I never write reviews about movies i watch, but i had to for this one. It was beautifully directed. Nollywood is coming up🔥big time. The real definition of a set up, with mind blowing twist and turns.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Was glued!!!!
akinyodekemi26 April 2020
I enjoyed it. It was brilliant coming from the stables of Hollywood movies. Not a wasted time spent
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Up set
kosmasp18 June 2020
Sometimes you have to endulge or at least overlook flaws to enjoy a movie. When it is one, that is supposed to be clever and keep us guessing to where it goes (with twists and so forth), you may be more easily annoyed if it isn't coherent though, which makes perfect sense (in contrast to the movie and how certain characters act and react).

Give it a break or not. It will be a deciding factor on how you'll view the movie overall. I've seen worse but also far better movies
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great concept
kym873 May 2020
Creative storyline with talented actors. A bit excessive with some of the flashbacks but still very interesting throughout.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Interesting
morrisforall29 April 2020
This movie was interesting from start to finsh. The acting was world class.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Literally the best!!
atiladeiretioluwa8 July 2022
You have to watch it for yourself and enjoy the different and exciting plot twists. This is a movie that seats you down to connect the dots. Excellent Actors!! World-class Nollywood! If you're like me, watch with subtitle, it's sweeter.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed