The Book of Eli (2010) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
401 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Great movie
monobloc11 June 2019
Hughes bro's are not trying to alter people's views on religion or any thing else. They simply made a great watchable apocalyptic movie with marvelous actors and credible story. Relax and give it the credit it deserves.
115 out of 141 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Really... You call this propaganda?
roycethat24 June 2018
This is by no way a bad movie, yes the plot is pretty simple and lacking depth. Notice all the 1 star rating people are just hating because it has something to do with the Bible lol. The acting is very well done. The visuals are also very nice. It's funny the world we live in where almost 90 percent of the one 1 star ratings are just because they can't get over the fact this movie has something to do with God and a Bible. This movie by no way forces any believes on the viewer.
127 out of 157 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Denzel Washington Is Strong In This Post-Apocalyptic Tale
atlasmb27 September 2015
Thirty years after a man-made apocalypse, Eli (Denzel Washington) hikes westward on a quest across the vast American interior--a dark and dusty scape. He encounters a number of people who survive at the expense of others. In a small town, he is captured by a local despot named Carnegie (Gary Oldman) who makes him an offer. Being a loner, Eli prefers to go his own way, but he may not have a choice.

"The Book of Eli" is a stylish film that is reminiscent of "I Am Legend" and other post-apocalyptic stories, though it carves out a niche for itself due to its strong characters and its central theme.

The film presents some religious sub-themes, which might find differing interpretations by different viewers.

I found the ending a little disappointing, but I think others may enjoy the twists in the final scenes. Mila Kunis plays a strong character--a young woman whose life undergoes a transition under the influence of Eli.
50 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A great example of post-apocalyptic film making.
garyvanhorn11 January 2011
With the recent revival of the post-apocalyptic genre in Hollywood, it would be easy to overlook this film, and that would be a mistake. Thirty years from now the world is a barren, desolate wasteland filled with the charred remains of a civilization that destroyed itself through war. In this bleak future a lone man wanders west (Denzel Washington), guided by nothing more than faith, to deliver the last remaining copy of a book that changed the world, and will do so again. While Washington seeks to deliver the book to those who would do good with it, a local warlord (Gary Oldman), an erudite student of Mussolini, wants to possess the book so he can use the words to sway the masses and become a powerful dictator. The characters are very well acted, the action is fluid and well choreographed, and the setting seeps into your skin, immersing the viewer in a world devoid of faith but in desperate need of salvation. The final plot twist is creative, unexpected, and poetically just. The Book of Eli should shoot to the top of your Netflix queue.
83 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not just another post-apocalyptic thriller.
ValianceInEnd19 January 2010
Upon first viewing the trailer I was immediately giddy to see a new post-apocalyptic film in the vein of The Road Warrior. Being a fan of the genre, one must get used to the repetitive "lone wanderer" theme so prominently used. I figured this film would go through the same formula, but prepared to enjoy myself.

Yes it did use the lone wanderer as a driving plot device, and yes it did bring the arbitrary twist. Yes all the survivors are short on t-shirts, but live in a wealth of leather and goggles. Yes everything in this film looks like and feels like a typical post-apocalyptia. But the substance of the story is far more powerful then I could ever have expected.

Without giving away too much, yes the film is essentially a Christian metaphor. Eli seems to be protected by some mysterious force, guided by "God" to head west. But it's what the meaning behind this admittedly bizarre plot that makes this film so great. It truly is a film about faith and believing in one's self. Using the dreary post-apocalyptic backdrop, the film is able to contrast this powerful message with the harsh landscape. Even amidst such despair, one can rise and accomplish anything. In a world slowly becoming apocalyptic itself, this message is much welcomed.

The other aspects lending to the power of The Book of Eli are its technical aspects. The cinematography is simply beautiful. Moody slo-mo shots abound with wonderfully toned colors. Everything looks dark and dead, the sun beating down endlessly on the dusty dunes. The soundtrack adds immensely to this feeling, using soft ambient chords and blasting action-scene drums when necessary. Overall The Book of Eli is an excellent film itself and an excellent spin on the post-apocalyptic genre.

Oh yeah, and Denzel Washington actually manages to pull off the part of a wizened, old bad ass.
425 out of 666 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Excellent!
Ernesto_Caro24 February 2021
Excellent film, the cinematography is on point and I love the colour desaturation. The cast its excellent, the Hughes Brothers did a great job with this one.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Strong visuals, weak plot.
peachs-stephanie11 June 2010
The Book of Eli has the potential to be a great film or complete rubbish depending on your expectations of what is to come. If you are looking for a film with some deeper meaning then I would not recommend it. However, if you are looking for a film with beautiful cinematography, solid acting and a little bit of fun action then you will be pleased.

The key in watching the film is to not buy into the plot too much, which is where the viewer is going to be disappointed. The ending is a little far fetched and I couldn't help but roll my eyes. Although I honestly don't see a particularly good ending for the basic premise of the film.

If you are able to put the silliness with the story behind you, the film is wonderfully done. There is great camera work with interesting angles and framing; the set showcases the contrast between the stark light of the sun and the shadows where humankind is hiding; and the acting makes you want to buy into the characters and their conflicts.

I would recommend seeing the film, just don't get too involved with the story. Instead concentrate on the acting and the scene.
264 out of 428 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Nutshell Review: The Book of Eli
DICK STEEL14 March 2010
You might be jaded already with a number of big budgeted science fiction films that are set after some apocalyptic disaster that wiped out most of humankind, and having the protagonist become some sole, lonely survivor up against others who have banded together for worse, and without law and order and faced with severely limited resources to survive, cannibalism in a wild wild west environment becomes the order of the day, with those having weapons commanding over those who don't, and a clean bed, warm food, women and clean water are precious, tradable commodities.

I assure you that The Book of Eli, despite what so many others have said, remain refreshing, with Denzel Washington in a charismatic starring role opposite Gary Oldman back to his villainous best, both being top draws in the film. Written by Gary Whitta who had fused key religious elements into science fiction, his effort triumphs against recent others such as Legion, and gets a better execution by the Hughes Brothers Albert and Allen who are sorely missed since their last film From Hell some 9 years ago, a film I enjoyed (despite the butchery here), bringing back their signature way of telling a tale through dark, brooding atmospheres. The first few minutes of the film which introduces Washington's Eli, is nothing short of brilliance relying solely on his enigmatic, silent presence, clearly surpassing that of Will Smith's turn in I Am Legend.

Washington's Eli is what carries the film, a man fixated in his sole mission for some 30 years already, doing so based on one word - faith and a vision and instruction given unto him. He's the modern day missionary, executing his god-given task without question, believing that he fulfills his calling with as little fuss as possible. He truly believes that he's being protected from harm, and of course that also meant through the use of a shotgun, pistol and one hack of a machete (pardon the pun and intentional misspelling), dispatching bandits like spreading butter on warm toast. As such he's indestructible almost, giving himself some reputation into a small town he wanders into, especially when he has in him a possession of the titular book that seems to hold the hope to mankind's salvation.

And Gary Oldman's Carnegie is the anti-thesis to Eli the messenger. For Carnegie, possession of the book is key for his power consolidation, because being able to influence the weak, the desperate and those in despair, would translate to loyal obedience. And in some ways this is quite true, in the way the power and influence religion has over the masses. In fact, Carnegie's explanation to Eli on the need for the book, is something which you'll find hard to dispute about, because even if one aspires to be a false prophet, one will require firstly the scriptures from which to twist from, since groping verses from the air just doesn't cut it even to the simple minded.

As seen in films like There Will Be Blood, false prophets are abound, and this is one of the stronger aspects of the film blatantly made so explicit. You cannot help but to think about the same concept in today's context, where one's perceived knowledge and ability would bring about tremendous power and followers because of the seeding of hope and salvation in one's mind, and top marks given if one can influentially enslave the mindsets of desperate others through faith, something which Eli also has problems trying to explain to his new follower of sorts, Solara (Mila Kunis).

For action junkies, you'll not be left out by the handful of battle sequences, where the hand to hand combat scenes have Washington showing off what he had learnt from a student of Bruce Lee, and reportedly doing so without the use of a stunt double. And if slicing and dicing opponents in close quarter combat is not your cup of team, there are also those which are laden with gun fights that just rip everything apart in their way, although I prefer the more elegant alternative of the use of the bow and arrows, with the Hughes Brothers knowing a thing or two about shooting proper action sequences that you can actually follow comfortably.

Testosterone-laden action aside, In some ways the film also touches upon the importance of culture, without which we're reduced to nothing but savages, knowledge being buried in books and encyclopedias that no longer exist save for those still in collective memory. The final act, together with its sucker punch makes it all the more satisfying and poignant even, giving you compelling reason to want to watch this a second time with that little bit of background knowledge to observe performance and nuances that had probably gone unnoticed. That said, there are still a minor loophole here and there, but as Eli puts it, it's accredited to nothing more than faith. Highly recommended!
184 out of 305 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Post-apocalyptic "Eli" covers up weak plot with solid development and action
Movie_Muse_Reviews19 January 2010
Everybody's talking about what happens after the apocalypse these days. "The Book of Eli" is sort of the boiling point of this science-fiction concept, a combination of last year's "The Road" and George Miller's "The Road Warrior." America is a post-apocalyptic wasteland and Denzel Washington is the only self-sufficient badass. So originality is not exactly "Eli's" calling card, but it clearly establishes its ruinous world and the Hughes brothers ("From Hell") take good care of its characters while supplying top-notch action. Washington stars as our stolid protagonist, Eli, journeying westward with his canteen, a large machete, a couple guns and a special leather-bound book. He lives on an Earth that was fried 30 years before by the sun because of a war that ripped a hole through the ozone layer. Sun-goggled bikers run amok pillaging, killing and raping passers-by, yet Eli is morally sound and focused on keeping his book safe no matter what so he can deliver it somewhere out west. Although written by a first-time screenwriter and former PC Gamer editor, Gary Whitta, "Eli" impressively creates its world between the sunglasses/goggles due to the sun's power, trading of goods because money's obsolete and the constant examining of hands to determine if someone is jittery from eating too much human flesh. Whitta also places Eli squarely in the story. He's a good but dangerous man who's not afraid to kill, and as he sits idly by as a couple gets attacked, it's abundantly clear that this is a world where compassion is secondary to survival and self-interest. Where the plot comes in is "Eli's" weak link. It doesn't try too hard to hide just what exactly the book is and that sort of dissolves some of the film's mystique. The plot is essentially Eli wants to protect it and take it west and he has a run in with Carnegie (Gary Oldman), an older man who runs a small town and desires it for selfish power-related reasons. Along the way, anyone who threatens to lay a hand on Eli gets sliced up or shot. In the two or three fight scenes where he takes down numerous guys at once, you can't help but wonder why after he kills the first few guys, the others don't run the hell away, especially considering people are otherwise in self-preservation mode living in a wasteland (and they know nothing of the book). The Hughes brothers make those scenes worthwhile, however. There's a style and grace to their action scenes -- they create a sort of a moving tableau in some scenes and execute a wide range of tempos in the action sequences to make them more intense. When Carnegie's men encounter Eli and the young woman (Mila Kunis) that he inspires who follows him at the home of some old folks (cameos by famous Brits Frances De La Tour and Michael Gambon), they place the camera in the middle of the action and sweep along with the gunfire (part- digitally) from one side to the other. It's very cool and is an example of one way the Hugheses keep the focus away from the plot's shaky skeleton. I only have beef with their excessive slow-motion walking-toward-the-camera shots and showing a bit too much of the cloudy green-gray sky. Some people are going to be more surprised and impressed with the film's big reveal than others, but anyone with a love of action and that post-apocalyptic context will find something to make "Eli" a worthwhile watch regardless of plot weakness. Washington is slightly under-utilized but he's an ideal fit. He brings an intensity in his demeanor that makes him an intriguing character and the film does a good job of making his character more central than anything else. ~Steven C
244 out of 425 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Epic of Biblical Proportions
soal-jack11 June 2010
This tale is one of a kind. I love the cinematography, acting, lighting, music, and sound. Watching the trailer i though it may be just another action film with no substance, boy was i wrong. Throughout the years Christianity has been skewed and manipulated to control the masses. This film demonstrates the good in spirituality in sharp contrast to the bad. Classic light against dark.

And it delivers on the action. One fight scene shot is contrast had me jumping out of my seat. This is just good film making. The Color dazzled my eyes. The sound sent shivers down my spine.

This film does not preach, and is an eerie warning of our future. We are the stewards of the earth and need to take responsibility for the people around us. Help others more than yourself. The lessons of the bible can be taken in may ways, Choose to take what is good and disregard the rest.

Bottom line, this film is masterfully shot. Solid cast that you really become invested in. Beautiful! Definably an Epic of Biblical Proportions.
125 out of 211 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
DELIvers us from a dreary winter
MrPink089 February 2010
Few things are hotter this winter than Mila Kunis walking around a post-apocalyptic town in a pair of Aviators. That and a quiet Denzel Washington wielding a sword sets up The Book of Eli, yet another post-apocalyptic thriller set in the future (or lack thereof). The post-apocalypse film may be getting old after films like Children of Men, The Road, I Am Legend, etc., but The Book of Eli manages to keep itself away from the cliché apocalypse film.

Denzel portrays the title character of Eli, a mysterious man who walks around around a destroyed world carrying a book he believes can save humanity. He wanders into a makeshift town where a sadistic villain (Gary Oldman) desperately wants the book. Enter some hacked limbs, explosions, and cannibals, and you got yourself an interesting film.

This is a different role for Denzel. Usually, he's just the calm talker who tries to make sure the bad guys don't do anything crazy (think Inside Man and last summer's remake of The Taking of Pelham 123). However, not only does Denzel do a lot of talking, but he's cutting off people's arms and shooting up the place like he's Jason Statham. One memorable scene involves Eli killing Oldman's men-who are armed with sniper rifles AB machine guns-with a simple handgun.

It's also very refreshing to see Gary Oldman return to the role of a villain. Younger audiences now see Oldman as a good guy after portraying famous literary protagonists such as Sirius Black in the Harry Potter films and Jim Gordon in the recent Batman series. While there's nothing at all wrong with that, I was starting to miss Oldman's villain days, including classic turns as a drug addicted cop in Leon The Professional and a Russian terrorist in Air Force One. Oldman shows his versatility in Eli, where he makes his character a complete psycho.

When I first saw that Kunis was cast in this film, I was a little worried. Sure, everybody loves Mila, but could the star of comedies like That 70's Show and Forgetting Sarah Marshall make the transition in a serious film? Kunis plays her role well, but she should stick with the comedies until she's given a character with more to do.

The Book of Eli isn't perfect with its choppy action sequences or pacing issues, but its a fun film nonetheless. It's films like these that keep the post-apocalyptic genre alive and well.
110 out of 189 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The style is strong but the content is nonsense (regardless of what your beliefs are))
bob the moo12 May 2012
The first thing that strikes you about this film is how horrid and beautiful it looks all at the same time. We are in a post-apocalyptic world of washed out colours, destroyed structures and dying people scrabbling to make sure they are not the next to die; and it is a world that is really well designed and really well filmed by Don Burgess. Everything looks convincing and it doesn't feel like they just shot it out in a desert location, it genuinely feels like a scorched earth. The only slight irritant about the look of the film is that it does feel very much like a great copy of the world of Fallout 3 as created by Bethseda – right down to the design of the "bandits" with their goggles and ragged clothing; this bugged me and those very familiar with this world via gaming may also feel the film is "borrowing" rather than creating.

I talk about the look and style of the film first because to me it is really one of the main reasons to watch this film and indeed for the first 20 minutes or so, it is all we are drifting on – this sense of the cool and the barren without much in the way of who's or why's. Unfortunately when the plot does start to come in, it does so with a terribly corny story and message that wouldn't be out of place in one of those overly-earnest low-budget films made by Christian companies. Indeed this is what this film is – an overly earnest religious film, it just happens to have cost millions and have massive Hollywood stars involved in it. Now, this is the point where you assume that I dislike the film because it is to do with God and the bible, but this wasn't it all at – it didn't help for sure, but this isn't the reason.

The main problem I have is that the film doesn't actually seem interested in making this message work and the plot just seems like a necessary evil to get the character walking in slow-mo around this cool landscape. There isn't much development beyond the basic dialogue about the power of this book and it is nothing but endless corn in the main; I may have respected it more if it had done something with the content, but it doesn't, indeed it seems almost embarrassed by it. The Hughes Brothers for sure aren't particularly interested in that and thus the performances and shots are all about the style, the atmosphere and the look of the film. Accordingly the cast do the same – which is fine because I wonder why they were all queuing up to be in this story. Washington is a great lead because he is all style and presence and he fits the landscape well. Kunis' character makes less sense as she goes on but she is stunning to look at and again fits the style aspect of the film. Oldman's villain is poor and as a result he is only OK.

What all this leaves then is a film that should be watched by fans of Fallout 3 and New Vegas, simply because it is a great film recreation of those worlds, from the colour of the sky down to the costumes it feels and looks like the games. Outside of this though, the casual viewer is left with very little of interest going on behind the style; the story is cloyingly religious and lacking any insight or intelligence – in terms of writing it feels like having two guys at your door trying to sell Jesus to you with platitudes and clichés. It all looks fantastic but unfortunately the script simply doesn't deserve the visuals.
101 out of 178 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Found it entertaining, enjoyable & rewarding (ignoring some flaws in plot logic)
aarinnkumarmishra10 June 2020
I liked it. I found it highly enjoyable. There are some serious plot holes, sure. I'm sincerely thankful to reviewers who have pointed them out. But if you're okay with ignoring them, the movie is terrific.

WATCH IT FOR:
  • An emotionally rewarding story
  • Great acting from Denzel, Gary Oldman & Mila Kunis.


  • Brilliant cinematography
  • Exceptional fight scenes
  • Mila Kunis - Breathtaking.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A film that you must watch twice
liggins1417 January 2010
I only write reviews for movies that I really hate or really love, and "The Book of Eli" definitely falls into the latter category. It's an intriguing tale about a man in post-apocalyptic America walking west to deliver an initially unnamed book. The fact that he's been doing so under the most bleak of circumstances for 30 years is a testament to his strong faith and determination to complete the task. The movie has a good amount of action...Eli can handle himself and takes down any of the deranged lunatics who try to get in his way in crowd pleasing fashion. The core of the movie occurs when he stops at a small town ruled by Gary Oldman's evil character and his merciless motorcycle riding thugs. The ensuing confrontation is yet another test of Eli's faith. The movie contains a surprise ending that will make you say, "WTF"??? and is absolutely impossible, but makes you think back over the entire film and want to watch it again. Denzel Washington, as Eli, is outstanding and he exhibits the amazing charisma he brings to all of his roles. The movie is well cast, and it was great seeing the fine Jennifer Beals ("Flashdance") on the big screen again. The Hughes Brothers are excellent directors, and I love the diversity of their body of work, from "Menace to Society" to "From Hell". This is a movie that I will be seeing again.
169 out of 328 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Post-Apocalyptic Western
freemantle_uk19 January 2010
In a very short space of time two post-apocalyptic films have been release, the brilliant The Road which is aiming for Oscar glory, and the action packed The Book of Eli which is appealing for the mass audience.

30 years after a massive war which blow a hole in the sky, possibly a nuclear war, Eli (Denzel Washington) is a lone traveller heading to the West Coast of America. He is a skilled martial artist, armed with guns, a long knife and a bow and is carrying the last King James Bible. On the way he has to avoid and kill hijackers and cannibals. On his travel Eli has to stop off in a ramshackle of a town to buy water and recharge his gear. The town itself run on a barter economy. The leader of the town, Carnegie (Gary Oldman), was impressed by Eli's skill and even more impressed when he found out he can read. Carnegie offer's the traveller a place in his gang. But when Carnegie finds out Eli has the Bible he ends up searching for Eli. The Bible would give Carnegie the ideological based to strengthen his position and expand his power base. Eli goes on the run, hoping to go West and is joined by a young girl Solara (Mila Kunis). He teaches Solara about the Bible and religion and why it is important he goes west.

The best thing about the film is the action. It was slick, stylist, well-edited and at times a fine long fixed shots. There are brilliant moments with the way the camera goes through buildings, and follows the action. The Hughes Brothers have good style as action directors, better then say Michael Bay or McG who throw everything at the camera.

The story is not that original, there are elements of likes like Mad Max 2 and 3, The Road and the Man With No Name trilogy. But there are interesting ideas, the use of religion as political ideology, the use of religion as political control and showing both the good and bad sides of faith. Most films only show one side of the other: but this does both and I can praise it for that. I think given a bit of fine tuning then this could have been a really good script.

As mentioned, the Hughes brothers have style as action directors, but they also filmed in a slightly washed out look, giving the film a more given a gritty, earthy feel. It doesn't camp it up like the third Max Mad film did. They pacing was good for the most part and allow you to get to the character as well as seeing the action. However some moments did drag the film and could have been sped up. Others just didn't fit, like the slightly comical scene with an elderly couple played by Frances de la Tour and Michael Gambon. 10 to 15 minutes could have been cut.

Denzel Washington is possibly one of the coolest actors in the world. He was well cast as the protagonist, and since the character is a bit older then usual action hero Washington was the right age for the film. Gary Oldman does his use villainous role he is normally good at, look at his roles in True Romance, Leon, the Fifth Element and Air Force One. He gives his character a young Jack Nicholoson quality, though my brother said he reminded him of Bill the Butcher from Gangs of New York. He was good as he normally is. However whilst Mila Kunis is easy on the eye, her performance was weak and wooden. She wasn't believable as a young girl looking for a way out and able to grow as a character. At least she has Family Guy to fall back on. Other smaller roles were also not as convincing as the lead roles.

This was a decent film, but there was room for improvement.
137 out of 265 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Masterpiece of our generation
alex202114 June 2021
The action scene is marvelous and the plot is the best. When you watched this movie, you will want to read the book.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It's like your in another world.
havoke-741213 December 2020
Atticus Ross's score albeit; trent Reznors bitting synthe, this is only a miniscule detail that helps make this a transformative experience. I'm a Sucker for Post Apocalyptic movies especially this one, the way it feels, the sound, the imagery, so hypnotic and never underused.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Pretty good stuff from the Hughes Brothers...
ajs-1015 January 2011
I saw this when it came out in the cinema and quite liked it. Now it has come round on TV I thought it might be worth a second viewing. This film is about the quest of one man to get a book to the place it's supposed to be, to use his words. Now, I'm not a religious man but I can see the value this book might have in a world torn apart by war. It is a post-apocalyptic world, thirty years after it was destroyed. Those that were not killed scratch a living out of what's left, and many have turned to cannibalism. Many were blinded by the flashes in the sky but survived. As stated in the film, after the war people destroyed the bible blaming it for what happened, but Eli has the last remaining copy. Now you know the set-up, here's a brief summary before I give you my thoughts (summary haters please don't touch Eli… not if you want to keep your hands that is… and wait here while I write the next paragraph).

Always moving west, Eli is a loner on the road. Like everyone out there he knows it's a very dangerous place. He kills animals for food and gets clean water where he can. When set upon by hijackers but Eli is a ferocious fighter and thus far has come out on top. One day he wanders into a small town run by Carnegie, a determined man who has been sending out men in search of a particular book, the very one Eli has in his possession. Carnegie has a mother and daughter, Claudia and Solara in his entourage, Claudia was blind from birth, but Solara is sighted. In trying to persuade Eli to stay, as he can see the value of a man who can fight like him, he sends Solara to his room and she discovers the book. Carnegie finds out about the book and sends his henchman, Redridge to get it but Eli has already gone. Eli starts heading west again only to find Solara following him. Redridge wants Solara and makes a deal with Carnegie to get the book in exchange for her. And now the chase is on, will Eli and Solara escape or will they be caught? I think that's enough for now… This film was shot in a similar way to 300 (2006) with a kind of washed out comic book feel to it and, for me, it looked a bit too artificial in places. A lot of the landscapes were CGI which didn't come over too well on TV. Great performances from all of the leading cast, Denzel Washington as Eli, Gary Oldman as Carnegie, Mila Kunis as Solara, Ray Stevenson as Redridge and Jennifer Beals as Claudia. Honourable mentions also go to Frances de la Tour and Michael Gambon as Martha and George, a mad old couple who Eli and Solara find on their travels.

Although it's a fairly straightforward story I found it a very entertaining and compelling film to watch, the 107 minutes went by pretty quickly, which is always a good sign. It did get a bit bogged down in the middle, but redeemed itself with a totally unexpected twist at the end. Don't worry; I'm not going give that away here. Also a haunting soundtrack backs up the visuals to great effect. Over all, although it's not been well received everywhere and although not perfect, it's a good effort… Recommended.

My score: 7.3/10
33 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
poetic
Kirpianuscus6 November 2016
one of films who reminds. values, importance of faith, force of the duty. a pledge for discover the humankind from a new perspective. an old story. or fairy tale. or parable. in fact, a special film. for the script. for atmosphere. for performances. for the rhythm. and for the science to escape from the clichés of a genre who seems be closed. Denzel Washington does a great job. sure, not surprising. but as Eli he impose not exactly a model to build his character but a form of wake up of story. a man. and a book. the poetry of ugly. and redefinition of the ideal. short, an impressive film for its profound message, for the crumbs of memories about not too different stories/films, for the precision who saves it by wrong direction. so, it is not a bad idea to see it.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great Acting...but thats it
wesleysolmon23 January 2010
The Book of Eli was an interesting idea of a movie, one man setting off to the west trying to find the best place for this one of a kind book he walks around with. Now, that is pretty much the whole plot of the movie. 2 hours of watching this man walk west, obviously encountering a few obstacles on the way. This eventually leads to him being chased by someone that really wants the book. Now, not to be hasty...but there is no real intriguing plot to the movie. I do believe that Gary Oldman did a great job in this film and as did Denzel, though at some parts the acting seemed less believable. This movie does have some interesting action scenes where Denzel goes on a killing frenzy, which was quite entertaining. If you want to see this movie, realize you are not going to be drawn in by the plot. It is a very slow-paced start that gradually builds up, and then, in my opinion, drops at the very end. I don't mean the end in general, I mean the last 10-20 seconds of the film. It really was quite a dumb ending that just should have been taken out.

Final Rating: 6.5/10
47 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Denzel Washington, the role that was underrated
KillingJoker6 October 2010
This movie, just plain and simple, was utterly great. Post apocalyptic setting always makes for interesting story to start with in my mind. This movie though to me really perfected the idea of how it would look and getting the sense of feeling of our characters due to events not seen, only heard from sad telling. Some of the action scenes are a little lacking in the department and I believe that is what makes this film not the most epic. Seeing Denzel swing his trusty blade will send anyone for a cheer. Gary Oldman does a great job as always being a villain for once in a long time. Still, I'm not the greatest critic, go see the movie, rent it, buy it if you want, to me it was one of the best films of 2010.
20 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great to be surprised
movieman5216 January 2010
Going into this movie I expected just some great fight scenes and Fallout 3 scenery. This movie from beginning to end held my attention and kept me wondering what and why all the way until the end. I take pride in my ability to see foreshadowing, but this movie did it so well that I got shivers at the end.

The fight scenes and battles were creatively done, and the acting allowed the story to continue flawlessly. Those who said that these actors would not fit right in this movie were wrong, every actor had a real character and executed the script perfectly. The production value was high, every scene I believed existed and not just a CGI drawn background with fake lighting.

I recommend this movie to people who are use to the normal story, and have not been surprised in a movie in a long time. I recommend this movie to anyone who has played Fallout 3. I recommend this movie to anyone who wants to see a good movie, and escape Avatar's amazing, but huge shadow.
49 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Fantastic Film (with a great message)
theHAMster99918 July 2010
Almost perfect. A so so script is covered up by a great story and stellar acting. The movie is mysterious and leaves you to do a lot of thinking. It leaves you to discover things on your own. Something that recent movies do not seem to do. They seem to think we are slow and point out every plot point right in front of us. The acting is great. When has Denzel not been great in his role. The movie can suck but it will still be entertaining just because of him. Gary Oldman finally gets to be bad guy after being our favorite from the Batman films and Harry Potter. He does great in this role and helps us make ourselves hate him. Mila Kunis does well but she doesn't do anything to special. The weakest part of the movie is probably her walking away into the sunset. They tried to make it a cool ending setting it up for a sequel but I just heard myself saying, "Who cares about you?". The movie puts us into a new world a world after a nuclear war and the movie puts many things into perspective. Things we take for granted we start to care about more and understand how important it is and how much we need it. Maybe I am biased because I am a Christian and maybe you are biased against the movie because you are not. It delivers a great Christian message but hides it in an awesome action movie that the rest of the public can also watch and enjoy. That is what is so great about it. If you are not a Christian and take out the message it is still an awesome action movie with cool explosions and fun performances and maybe it becomes a 7 instead of a 9 but I loved this movie. I hope this review helped if you would like to talk to me about the review send me an email at uwanttoknome@aim.com or send me a message on IMDb. Thanks.
31 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Finish the race, fight the good fight and keep the faith!
sidfargas21 January 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie on many levels. Yes, the spurts of violence seem to clash with the overall message but even that aspect is covered by dialogue and a nicely crafted story. The parallels between Denzel's character and Jesus (again minus the violence) and Mila's character to Mary Magdalene are apparent but handled well in my opinion. A big point off for the premise that apparently led to the apocalyptic times depicted but that grim world does draw you in to the film completely. Taking entertainment to a thoughtful level is always good and this film succeeds at that remarkably well. It points out that it's critical to define what's really important in life. There are no small things, just things we take for granted. (Next time I'm in KFC, I'm going to take a massive handful of wet wipes!) The reverence and reference to the need for faith and what life would be like without it is strong. "Finish the race, fight the good fight and keep the faith."
24 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Magnificent
jeandaniel-0973716 August 2021
One of the best movies ever seen. The atmosphere is so dense an mysterious and the acting of all participents is outstanding. A grim and intense sound accompaies the wonderful but rotten scenery.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed